Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 19 and 21 are directed to invention which is
independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed and examined for the following reasons: for example, claim s 10-12 which have been examined and newly submitted claims 19 and 21 are related but separately usable as claimed.
Claims 10-12 drawn to a two-piece axe including an axe head having a
bit with a double bevel.
Claims 19 and 21 drawn to a two-piece axe including a hatched handle
attachment end having an oval cross-sectional shape and an extension handle attachment end having an oval-cross-sectional shape.
Claim 1 link(s) inventions I-II. The restriction requirement among the linked inventions is subject to the nonallowance of the linking claim(s) 1. Upon the indication of allowability of the linking claim(s), the restriction requirement as to the linked inventions shall be withdrawn and any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable linking claim(s) will be rejoined and fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104 Claims that require all the limitations of an allowable linking claim will be entered as a matter of right if the amendment is presented prior to final rejection or allowance, whichever is earlier. Amendments submitted after final rejection are governed by 37 CFR 1.116; amendments submitted after allowance are governed by 37 CFR 1.312. Applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a continuation or divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, the allowable linking claim, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Where a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
The inventions are distinct, each from the other because of the following reasons:
3. The inventions of groups I-II are related but separately usable as
claimed. For example, the invention in group I could be used without the specific features set forth in invention II. Conversely, the inventions in group II could be used without the specific feature set forth in invention I. There is two-way patentable distinction between each group, and also each has a unique search and examination burden. See MPEP 806.05.
4. Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
In this case, the search for each individual invention may overlap but they do not coincide identically throughout. Therefore, the search for the elected invention may not be sufficient for the other non-elected inventions. Therefore, each individual invention includes a different filed of search. In addition, the text and subclass search that might be needed to look for a particular feature in one invention in not sufficient for finding another particular feature in other invention due to their divergent subject matter. In other words, each individual invention with at least a distinct feature has a separate status in the art and requires a different field of search.
There is a search and/or examination burden for groups I-II above due to the divergent searches involved, and the resultant divergent examination processes.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 19 and 21 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “A two-piece axe … thereby to form an axe” is unclear because it is ambiguous whether the resulting “axe” is the same axe defined by the two separate pieces or a different axe formed by those pieces. It is therefore unclear whether “an axe” refers to the resulting product or to the two-piece axe itself. To clarify the scope of the claim, the preamble should recite: “An axe formed from two separate pieces.”
Regarding claims 18 and 20, the phrase “the extension handle smoothly transitions from the hatchet handle to the extension handle” is unclear. Specifically, the claim recites that the extension handle transitions from the hatchet handle to the extension handle, which appears to identify the extension handle as both the starting and ending component of the transition. It is unclear how the extension handle can transition from the hatchet handle to itself. Accordingly, the claim does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Palumbo (3,845,798). Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Palumbo teaches a two-piece axe, comprising: a first piece (10, 11) comprising an axe head 10 and a hatchet handle 11 attached to the axe head and extending from the axe head to a hatchet handle attachment end (where the threaded section 19 is located, Fig. 1) spaced from the axe head 10, said axe head and attached hatchet handle forming a hatchet, and said hatchet handle attachment end having a hatchet handle attachment end coupler (14, 19); and a separate second piece 12 comprising an extension handle with an extension handle attachment end, and an extension handle attachment end coupler (20-21) configured to mate with the hatchet handle attachment end coupler (14, 19) to attach the extension handle attachment end to the hatchet handle attachment end (Fig. 1) and thereby form a longer handle attached to the axe head to thereby form an axe. See Figs. 1-3 in Palumbo.
It should be noted that under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the term “hatchet handle” does not require a particular length, shape, or configuration. Palumbo’s upper handle part 11 is attached to the hatchet head 10 and provides a portion of the handle that can be gripped by a user. Accordingly, upper handle part 11 reads on the claimed hatchet handle. Claim 1 does not require the hatchet handle to have any particular dimensions or to be independently usable as a complete hatchet before attachment of the extension handle.
Regarding claim 14, Palumbo teaches everything noted above including that the axe head includes a bit having a double bevel (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Palumbo teaches everything noted above including that when the extension handle attachment end is attached to the hatchet handle attachment end, the extension handle smoothy transitions from hatchet handle to the extension handle.
9. Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Carrington (2021/0060752 A1). Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Carrington teaches a two-piece axe, comprising: a first piece 10 comprising an axe head 12 and a hatchet handle 28 (Fig. 3) attached to the axe head 12 and extending from the axe head 12 to a hatchet handle attachment end (defined the attachment end connected to T-slot 22 of the other tool 10; Fig. 8) spaced from the axe head 12, said axe head and attached hatchet handle forming a hatchet, and said hatchet handle attachment end having a hatchet handle attachment end coupler (defined by the attachment portion connecting to the T-slot; Fig. 8); and a separate second piece 10 comprising an extension handle with an extension handle attachment end (defined by the end that includes T-slot 22; Figs. 7-8); and an extension handle attachment end coupler 22 configured to mate with the hatchet handle attachment end coupler to attach the extension handle attachment end to the hatchet handle attachment end and thereby form a longer handle attached to the axe head to thereby form an axe. See Figs, 1-8 and paragraphs [0020]-[0022] in Carrington.
Regarding claim 14, Carrington teaches everything noted above including that the axe head includes a bit having a double bevel (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Palumbo teaches everything noted above including that when the extension handle attachment end is attached to the hatchet handle attachment end, the extension handle smoothy transitions from hatchet handle to the extension handle.
10. Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Langan (2016/0176036 A1). Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Langan teaches a two-piece axe, comprising: a first piece 300 comprising an axe head 310 and a hatchet handle 320 (Fig. 283) attached to the axe head 310 and extending from the axe head 320 to a hatchet handle attachment end (defined the attachment end having attachment portion 305; Fig. 28) spaced from the axe head 310, said axe head and attached hatchet handle forming a hatchet, and said hatchet handle attachment end having a hatchet handle attachment end coupler (305, 307; Figs. 29, 34); and a separate second piece 100 (Fig. 37) comprising an extension handle with an extension handle attachment end (defined by the end which is attached to the attachment coupler 305, 307); and an extension handle attachment end coupler 106 (Fig. 5) configured to mate with the hatchet handle attachment end coupler to attach the extension handle attachment end to the hatchet handle attachment end and thereby form a longer handle attached to the axe head to thereby form an axe. See Figs, 1-37 in Langan.
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Langan teaches everything noted above including that when the extension handle attachment end is attached to the hatchet handle attachment end, the extension handle smoothy transitions from hatchet handle to the extension handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
12. Claims 2-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux et al. (6,022,055), hereinafter Coulonvaux. Regarding claim 2, Palumbo teaches the features discussed above, including that the hatchet handle attachment end coupler (14, 16) comprises a receiving opening (14) in the attachment end of the hatchet handle (11). Palumbo further teaches that the extension handle attachment end coupler includes a tapered plug (e.g., the tapered tip of section 21 or the tapered portion of threaded section 20; see Fig. 23) extending from the extension handle attachment end and configured to fit into the receiving opening (14) of the hatchet handle.
However, Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the hatchet handle attachment end coupler includes a latch component, nor that the extension handle attachment end coupler includes a corresponding latch component configured to cooperate therewith to latch the extension handle to the hatchet handle. Coulonvaux, on the other hand, teaches a two-piece handle or housing arrangement (sections 14, 15), wherein a first handle or housing section (14) includes an attachment end coupler having a latch component (17), and a second handle or housing section (15) includes a corresponding latch component (35a) configured to cooperate with latch component (17) to secure the two sections together. See Figs. 1-20 of Coulonvaux. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the handle coupling arrangement of Palumbo to include the latch components taught by Coulonvaux in order to provide an additional securing mechanism and thereby enhance the secure attachment between the handles.
Regarding claim 3, Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the hatchet handle attachment end latch component is a pair of clip latches (35a) and the extension handle attachment end latch component is a pair of spring clips 17 rotatively attached to the extension handle near the extension handle attachment end to be rotated to extend beyond the extension handle attachment end and to be rotated to engage the clip latches (35a) on the hatchet handle attachment end to secure the hatchet handle and the extension handle together or to be rotated to disengage the clip latches to allow the hatchet handle and the extension handle to be separated.
Regarding claim 4, Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above except that the hatchet handle and the extension handle are molded of a long fiber reinforced thermoplastic material. However, the process of making the apparatus (the handles of the apparatus) has nothing to do with patentability of the apparatus itself. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the handles from long fiber reinforced thermoplastic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 5, Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the extension handle has an outer surface and recesses (defined by the recesses of the latch mount 20 which receives the latches 17; Figs. 2 and 20 in Conlonvaux) are molded into the extension handle outer surface to provide room for the spring clips to be rotatively attached to the extension handle without extending beyond the outer surface of the extension handle when in locked position. It should be noted again that process of molding the recesses has nothing to do with the patentability of the apparatus itself.
Regarding claim 6, Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the extension handle and the clips are configured to position ends of the clips beyond the outer surface of the extension handle when not positioned in locked position over the clip latches on the hatchet handle.
Regarding claim 7, Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the hatchet handle has an outer surface and recesses 24 are molded into the hatchet handle outer surface around the clip latches (35a) on the hatchet handle to provide room for the spring clips when rotated over the clip latches into latching position to be secured to the clip latches without extending beyond the outer surface of the hatchet handle. It should be noted again that process of molding the recesses has nothing to do with the patentability of the apparatus itself.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Palumbo teaches everything noted above including that when the extension handle attachment end is attached to the hatchet handle attachment end, the extension handle smoothy transitions from hatchet handle to the extension handle.
13. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux and in further view of Provi (4,352,381). Regarding claim 8, Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the hatchet handle is over-molded over the axe head. However, Provi teaches a hatch handle (12, 18) is over-molded (define by section 18 of the handle) over an axe head 10. See Figs. 1-5 in Provi.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Palumbo’s axe, as modified by Coylonvaux, with the over-molded portion in order to ensure tied attachment of the handle to the axe handle.
Regarding claim 9, Palumbo in view of Provi teaches everything noted above including that the axe head 10 includes an opening through the axe head in a location where the over molded hatchet handle covers the axe head 10 so that hatchet handle material extends into and through the opening to further attach the handle to the axe head. See Figs. 1-5 in Provi.
14. Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palumbo in view of Coulonvaux and Provi in and in further view of Tarran (4,287,623) or Hillinger (4,465,113). Regarding claim 10, it could be argued that Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the axe head includes a bit having a double bevel. However, Tarran teaches an axe head 18 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 54 and also sides 56, 58 of portion 52; Fig. 5). Hillinger also teaches an axe head 10 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 20 and also sides with includes rollers 126; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide axe head of Palumbo’s axe, as modified above, with the double bevel, as taught by Tarran or Hillinger, in order to enhance penetration of the axe head into a workpiece or a material to be cut.
Regarding claim 11, Palumbo, as modified by Tarran or Hillinger, teaches everything noted above including that the double bevel includes a first bevel forming a cutting edge (54, Fig. 1 in Tarran; and 20, Fig, 1 in Hillinger) and along a bit edge of the axe head and a second bevel forming a flat transition surface from the first bevel to opposite cheeks (defined by the tapered sections connected to the end of the sides surfaces 56, 58, Fig. 5 in Tarran; and defined by the sides which includes cut outs 120, 122, Fig. 5 in Hillinger ) of the axe head and wherein the second bevel forms a flat splitting surface.
Regarding claim 12, Palumbo, as modified by Hillinger, teaches everything noted above including that the axe head includes a toe and heel, and wherein the cheeks include beveled cutouts 120, 122 (Fig. 5 in Hillinger) near the toe and heel of the axe head.
Regarding claim 13, Palumbo teaches everything noted above, but Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the axe head has a weight and the weight of the axe head is about 1.5 pounds. However, Official Notice that the use of an axe head having different size and weight including a weight of about 1.5 pounds is old and well known in the art.
15. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palumbo in view Tarran or Hillinger. Regarding claim 14, it could be argued that Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the axe head includes a bit having a double bevel. However, Tarran teaches an axe head 18 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 54 and also sides 56, 58 of portion 52; Fig. 5). Hillinger also teaches an axe head 10 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 20 and also sides with includes rollers 126; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide axe head of Palumbo’s axe, as modified above, with the double bevel, as taught by Tarran or Hillinger, in order to enhance penetration of the axe head into a workpiece or a material to be cut.
Regarding claim 15, Palumbo, as modified by Tarran or Hillinger, teaches everything noted above including that the double bevel includes a first bevel forming a cutting edge (54, Fig. 1 in Tarran; and 20, Fig, 1 in Hillinger) and along a bit edge of the axe head and a second bevel forming a flat transition surface from the first bevel to opposite cheeks (defined by the tapered sections connected to the end of the sides surfaces 56, 58, Fig. 5 in Tarran; and defined by the sides which includes cut outs 120, 122, Fig. 5 in Hillinger ) of the axe head and wherein the second bevel forms a flat splitting surface.
16. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palumbo. Regarding claim 16, Palumbo teaches everything noted above, but Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the axe head has a weight and the weight of the axe head is about 1.5 pounds. However, Official Notice that the use of an axe head having different size and weight including a weight of about 1.5 pounds is old and well known in the art.
17. Claims 2-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan in view of Coulonvaux. Regarding claim 2, Langan teaches the features discussed above, including that the hatchet handle attachment end coupler (305, 307) comprises a receiving opening (307; Fig. 34) in the attachment end of the hatchet handle. Langan further teaches that the extension handle attachment end coupler includes a tapered plug 116 (Fig. 22) extending from the extension handle attachment end and configured to fit into the receiving opening (307) of the hatchet handle.
However, Langan does not explicitly teach that the hatchet handle attachment end coupler includes a latch component, nor that the extension handle attachment end coupler includes a corresponding latch component configured to cooperate therewith to latch the extension handle to the hatchet handle. Coulonvaux, on the other hand, teaches a two-piece handle or housing arrangement (sections 14, 15), wherein a first handle or housing section (14) includes an attachment end coupler having a latch component (17), and a second handle or housing section (15) includes a corresponding latch component (35a) configured to cooperate with latch component (17) to secure the two sections together. See Figs. 1–20 of Coulonvaux. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the handle coupling arrangement of Langan to include the latch components taught by Coulonvaux in order to provide an additional securing mechanism and thereby enhance the secure attachment between the handles.
Regarding claim 3, Langon in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the hatchet handle attachment end latch component is a pair of clip latches (35a) and the extension handle attachment end latch component is a pair of spring clips 17 rotatively attached to the extension handle near the extension handle attachment end to be rotated to extend beyond the extension handle attachment end and to be rotated to engage the clip latches (35a) on the hatchet handle attachment end to secure the hatchet handle and the extension handle together or to be rotated to disengage the clip latches to allow the hatchet handle and the extension handle to be separated.
Regarding claim 4, Langan in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above except that the hatchet handle and the extension handle are molded of a long fiber reinforced thermoplastic material. However, the process of making the apparatus (the handles of the apparatus) has nothing to do with patentability of the apparatus itself. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the handles from long fiber reinforced thermoplastic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 5, Langan in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the extension handle has an outer surface and recesses (defined by the recesses of the latch mount 20 which receives the latches 17; Figs. 2 and 20 in Conlonvaux) are molded into the extension handle outer surface to provide room for the spring clips to be rotatively attached to the extension handle without extending beyond the outer surface of the extension handle when in locked position. It should be noted again that process of molding the recesses has nothing to do with the patentability of the apparatus itself.
Regarding claim 6, Langan in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the extension handle and the clips are configured to position ends of the clips beyond the outer surface of the extension handle when not positioned in locked position over the clip latches on the hatchet handle.
Regarding claim 7, Langan in view of Coulonvaux teaches everything noted above including that the hatchet handle has an outer surface and recesses 24 are molded into the hatchet handle outer surface around the clip latches (35a) on the hatchet handle to provide room for the spring clips when rotated over the clip latches into latching position to be secured to the clip latches without extending beyond the outer surface of the hatchet handle. It should be noted again that process of molding the recesses has nothing to do with the patentability of the apparatus itself.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Langan teaches everything noted above including that when the extension handle attachment end is attached to the hatchet handle attachment end, the extension handle smoothy transitions from hatchet handle to the extension handle.
18. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan in view of Coulonvaux and in further view of Provi . Regarding claim 8, Langan does not explicitly teach that the hatchet handle is over-molded over the axe head. However, Provi teaches a hatch handle (12, 18) is over-molded (define by section 18 of the handle) over an axe head 10. See Figs. 1-5 in Provi.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Langan’s axe, as modified by Coylonvaux, with the over-molded portion in order to ensure tied attachment of the handle to the axe handle.
Regarding claim 9, Langan in view of Provi teaches everything noted above including that the axe head 10 includes an opening through the axe head in a location where the over molded hatchet handle covers the axe head 10 so that hatchet handle material extends into and through the opening to further attach the handle to the axe head. See Figs. 1-5 in Provi.
19. Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan in view of Coulonvaux and Provi in and in further view of Tarran (4,287,623) or Hillinger (4,465,113). Regarding claim 10, it could be argued that Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the axe head includes a bit having a double bevel. However, Tarran teaches an axe head 18 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 54 and also sides 56, 58 of portion 52; Fig. 5). Hillinger also teaches an axe head 10 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 20 and also sides with includes rollers 126; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide axe head of Langan’s axe, as modified above, with the double bevel, as taught by Tarran or Hillinger, in order to enhance penetration of the axe head into a workpiece or a material to be cut.
Regarding claim 11, Langan, as modified by Tarran or Hillinger, teaches everything noted above including that the double bevel includes a first bevel forming a cutting edge (54, Fig. 1 in Tarran; and 20, Fig, 1 in Hillinger) and along a bit edge of the axe head and a second bevel forming a flat transition surface from the first bevel to opposite cheeks (defined by the tapered sections connected to the end of the sides surfaces 56, 58, Fig. 5 in Tarran; and defined by the sides which includes cut outs 120, 122, Fig. 5 in Hillinger ) of the axe head and wherein the second bevel forms a flat splitting surface.
Regarding claim 12, Langan, as modified by Hillinger, teaches everything noted above including that the axe head includes a toe and heel, and wherein the cheeks include beveled cutouts 120, 122 (Fig. 5 in Hillinger) near the toe and heel of the axe head.
Regarding claim 13, Langan teaches everything noted above, but Langan does not explicitly teach that the axe head has a weight and the weight of the axe head is about 1.5 pounds. However, Official Notice that the use of an axe head having different size and weight including a weight of about 1.5 pounds is old and well known in the art.
20. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan in view Tarran or Hillinger. Regarding claim 14, it could be argued that Langan does not explicitly teach that the axe head includes a bit having a double bevel. However, Hillinger teaches an axe head 10 includes a bit having a double bevel (defined by the sides of the cutting edge 20 and also sides with includes rollers 126; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide axe head of Langan’s axe, with the double bevel, as taught by Tarran or Hillinger, in order to enhance penetration of the axe head into a workpiece or a material to be cut.
Regarding claim 15, Langan, as modified by Tarran or Hillinger, teaches everything noted above including that the double bevel includes a first bevel forming a cutting edge (54, Fig. 1 in Tarran; and 20, Fig, 1 in Hillinger) and along a bit edge of the axe head and a second bevel forming a flat transition surface from the first bevel to opposite cheeks (defined by the tapered sections connected to the end of the sides surfaces 56, 58, Fig. 5 in Tarran; and defined by the sides which includes cut outs 120, 122, Fig. 5 in Hillinger ) of the axe head and wherein the second bevel forms a flat splitting surface.
21. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan. Regarding claim 16, Langan teaches everything noted above, but Palumbo does not explicitly teach that the axe head has a weight and the weight of the axe head is about 1.5 pounds. However, Official Notice that the use of an axe head having different size and weight including a weight of about 1.5 pounds is old and well known in the art.
Response to Arguments
22. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “hatchet handle” recited in claim 1 is not limited to a handle having a particular length, shape, or configuration. Accordingly, Palumbo’s upper handle part 11 under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification reasonably corresponds to the claimed hatchet handle because it is attached to the hatchet head 10 and is capable of being gripped by a user. The fact that Palumbo refers to element 11 as an “upper handle part” rather than a “hatchet handle” does not preclude it from meeting the claimed limitation. Furthermore, claim 1 does not require the first piece to be independently usable as a hatchet before attachment of the separate extension handle. Therefore, Palumbo’s upper handle part 11, when considered in view of the claimed structural limitations, meets the limitation of a hatchet handle attached to the axe head, and the applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 2-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are not persuasive. Although Palumbo discloses threaded portions 19 and 20 that connect the upper handle part 11 and lower handle part 12, the existence of this threaded connection does not, by itself, establish that the claimed latch components are disclosed or that the proposed combination with Coulonvaux is improper. The rejection relies on Coulonvaux for the additional latch features not explicitly taught by Palumbo. Applicant has not established that the proposed combination would be inoperable or that the references teach away from the proposed combination. Accordingly, the arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
23. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Walker et al. (2013/0139325 A1) and Fariss, Jr. (4,347,883) teaches a two-piece axe.
Claudio et al. (6,070,491) teach an extension handle attached to a tool handle.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724
October 22, 2026