DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig (US 20140321927 A1).
As to claim 4, Craig teaches a holder (holder body 200) on a distal end of which a cutting insert is to be mounted (cutting insert body 100, see Fig 10. The language, “to be mounted” is an intended use in this preamble. The cutting insert is not claimed.), the holder comprising: an insert pocket (cavity 220) into which the cutting insert is to be fitted (the cutting insert body 100 is capable of fitting into the cavity 220); a restriction surface (support surface 222) for contacting an outer surface of the cutting insert and holding the cutting insert (see Fig 15); and a stopper portion (locking tab 230) for elastically locking the cutting insert to be fitted into the insert pocket (this is an intended use of the stopper portion. The locking tab 230 is capable of performing this intended use as described at [0050]: “locking tab 230 elastically displaces from the obstructing position to allow insertion of the cutting insert body 100 into the cavity 220 and then, after the cutting insert body 100 is inserted to a sufficient distance into the cavity 220, the locking tab 230 snaps into the recess 114.”); and wherein the stopper portion (locking tab 230) has a cantilever-beam shape (as shown in Figs 13 and 14) with a free end on a distal end side (tip 231) and a base end (first portion 230A) connected to the holder on a rear end side (as shown in Fig 14, the “rear end side” is relative to the orientation of the cantilever beam, not the holder itself), is configured to be elastically deformable independently of the restriction surface (as described at [0050] above, the locking tab 230 “elastically displaced”).
Craig does not anticipate: wherein the stopper portion includes a convex portion having a convex curved shape in a side view, and has the curved convex portion disposed at the free end.
Craig’s stopper portion (locking tab 230) has a convex shape but isn’t curved. Instead, the convex shape is formed of several flat faces as shown for example in Fig 13. See also Fig 21 which indicates the flat surface may be connected by curved or filleted features.
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form a curved convex tip on locking tab 230 of Craig rather than from several flat faces because Applicant has not disclosed that a stopper portion having a curved surface provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem beyond the purpose and function of the locking tab 230. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Craig’s locking tab 230 and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either a convex surface formed of three flat faces taught by Nash or the claimed curved convex surface because both convex configurations would perform the same function of entering and abutting against a locking portion equally well considering the geometry of the concave locking portions of Craig and Applicant’s invention.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Craig to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Craig.
Craig further teaches and wherein the stopper portion has a locking surface between the convex portion and the base end, the locking surface tilting downward toward the rear end side of the stopper portion (as illustrated in the labeled Figure below, the locking surface is tilted down toward the rear end. The Figure shows the stopper portion of Craig Fig 13 isolated and rotated for ease of comparison to Applicant’s Fig 4. The identified surface is fairly considered a “locking surface” as it impinges on the cutting insert body 100 to prevent movement.).
As to claim 5, Craig teaches the holder according to claim 4, wherein a slit (cooling channel 240) extending in a direction in which the cutting insert is to be fitted into the insert pocket is formed on the insert pocket side at the stopper portion (see Figs 14 and 15).
As to claim 6, Craig teaches the holder according to claim 4, wherein the convex portion of the stopper portion (tip of locking portion 230) engages with a concave lock portion (recess 114) formed at the cutting insert to be fitted into the insert pocket (recess 114 is formed in stem 104 of cutting insert body 100. The locking tab 230 engages with the locking recess 114 as shown in Fig 15).
As to claim 8, Craig teaches the holder according to claim 4, through which a key hole (cavity relief area 224) communicating with a front side of the insert pocket in a direction in which the cutting insert is to be fitted is formed (see Figs 13-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 9-11, 13-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Examiner’s best art does not teach or suggest the limitations of independent claims 1 or 9. Specifically, claims 1 and 9 require a lock target surface as a tilt surface on the back side of the lock portion...the lock surface tilting downward from the lock portion to the slide surface to contact the locking surface of the holder, which is not disclosed or suggested by Craig or Nagaya. Claims 1 and 9 effectively claim the specific shape of the locking portion of the cutting insert such that there are particular locking, tilting, sliding, forward and rearward facing surface which are not disclosed in the prior art. Since the particular shape of any given locking surface is dependent on its specific geometry and the surfaces against which is impinges, it does not appear to be prima facie obvious to combine the geometry of two prior art references unless some particular motivation or acknowledgement otherwise exists. Applicants remarks filed 10 August 2026 pertaining to claims 1 and 9 are convincing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 pertaining to claim 4 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the references cited do not teach the limitations of claim 4. Examiner disagrees. See the rejection of claim 1 above. Each limitation has been clearly mapped to a feature of Craig, and helpful diagrams have been provided.
While Examiner acknowledges that the limitations of claims 1 and 9 are different from the structure of the cutting insert of Craig, the limitations of claim 4 relating to the holder, and specifically the stopper portion of the holder, are not patentably distinct from the teachings of Craig.
Conclusion
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 17 September 2026