DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BREHM (Pub. No.: US 2017/0249740A1).
With respect to claim 21:
BREHM discloses a system, comprising: at least one storage device storing executable instructions (parag. 0194, 0196-0197 discloses a storage device), and at least one processor (parag. 0056 discloses a processor) in communication with the at least one storage device, when executing the executable instructions, causing the system to perform operations including: obtaining projection data of a subject (parag. 0050 and 0060 discloses obtaining image….i.e. projection data of a subject); determining one or more adaptive reconstruction parameters associated with personalized data of the subject based on the projection data (parag. 0061-0063); and reconstructing, according to the one or more adaptive reconstruction parameters, one or more target images of a target subject based on at least a portion of the projection data (parag. 0003, 0060, 0080 discloses reconstructing the images or projection data of the subject).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BREHM (Pub. No.: US 2017/0249740A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Thibault (Pub. No.: US 2019/0108441).
With respect to claim 22:
The rejection of claim 21 is incorporated; BREHM does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining one or more adaptive reconstruction parameters based on the projection data includes: determining the one or more adaptive reconstruction parameters by inputting the projection data into a first trained machine learning model.
Thibault discloses determining the one or more adaptive reconstruction parameters by inputting the projection data into a first trained machine learning model (parag. 0006-0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teaching of BREHM into the teaching of Thibault in order to generate a final image corresponding to a computationally intensive algorithm from an input image generated using a less computationally intensive algorithm.
With respect to claim 34:
Thibault discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the one or more adaptive reconstruction parameters include at least one of an FOV, a reconstruction center, a thickness of a reconstruction slice, a phase of interest, or a reconstruction kernel (parag. 0065 discloses FOV which is field of view).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 39-40 allowed.
Claims 23-33, 35-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 21, applicant argued that the cited prior arts do not disclose the claimed limitations. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement because BREHM discloses each limitation of claim 21 as cited in the rejection above. Claims 39 and 40 are now allowed based on the new amendment to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649