DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are pending.
Claim(s) 10 is/are cancelled.
Claim Objections
The objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
This rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 3, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey et al, US Patent Pub US 20190327862 A1 (hereinafter Bailey).
Claim 1
Bailey discloses a controller device for cooling a sealed enclosure via closed loop cooling (Bailey, para 4, Fig. 2 refs (202, 208, 234, 272, 282) – An air handling unit controller for closed loop cooling of a modular data center/”sealed enclosure”.), comprising: a non-transitory storage device comprising executable instructions (Bailey, para 46 – Memory storing executable instructions.) configured to: access, from a temperature sensor, an ambient temperature value indicative of temperature outside of the sealed enclosure (Bailey, para 27 – Exterior ambient air temperature sensor.); the temperature sensor being disposed at an outside position relative to the sealed enclosure (Bailey, para 27 fig. 1 ref(130) – An outside air temperature transducer.); wherein the sealed enclosure protects contents of the sealed enclosure from ambient air, sealing out the ambient air (Bailey, para 26, fig. 1 refs(108, 118, 120, 122, 128) - The air handling unit controller selects an air handling mode for cooling air to be solely recirculated IT return air from the return by closing intake and exhaust dampers and opening a recirculation damper.); begin operation of an auxiliary component responsive to the ambient temperature value being within a predetermined range (Bailey, para 23, 30 – Closed mode is activated when the AHU controller determines that outside/ambient air is unsuitable to use for cooling air as being too cold and/or too humid. Closed mode recirculates all IT return air and generally uses only mechanical cooling to remove heat from AHU. Closed mode can also be used with supplemental heating/”auxiliary component” instead of mechanical cooling when the temperature of the cooling air is less than a minimum temperature threshold/”predetermined range” and/or the humidity value of the cooling air is greater than a humidity threshold/”predetermined range”.); access, from the temperature sensor, an updated ambient temperature value (Bailey, para 37 – Monitoring/updated ambient temperature readings from the external temperature sensor.); begin operation of an air conditioner responsive to determining the updated ambient temperature value is outside of the predetermined range. (Bailey, para 27 – Operating the air handling unit in response to the outdoor ambient temperature being outside the predetermined range, by adding heating or cooling as needed.)
This rejection also applies to claims 11 and 20.
Claim 2
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bailey further discloses the auxiliary component is a heat exchanger. (Bailey, para 32 – Heat exchanger coils in the HVAC unit.)
This rejection also applies to claim 12
Claim 3
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bailey further discloses ceasing operation of the auxiliary component where the updated ambient temperature value indicates the value is outside of the predetermined range. (Bailey, para 30-31 – The controller transitions a blower and intake chamber damper/”auxiliary component” to a closed state reducing or blocking the intake of outside air if the outdoor ambient temperature is outside an acceptable/predetermined range.)
This rejection also applies to claim 13
Claim 4
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bailey further discloses re-activate operation of the auxiliary component where the updated ambient temperature value indicates the value is at or above a high temperature set point. (Bailey, para 31 – The controller transitions a blower and intake chamber damper/”auxiliary component” to a closed state reducing or blocking the intake of outside air if the outdoor ambient temperature is above an acceptable range/”high temperature setpoint”.)
This rejection also applies to claim 14
Claim 5
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bailey further discloses to begin operation of the air conditioner comprises operating the air conditioner to provide cooling to the enclosure. (Bailey, para 27 – Operating the air handling unit in response to the outdoor ambient temperature being outside the predetermined range, by adding heating or cooling as needed.)
This rejection also applies to claim 15
Claim 6
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bailey further discloses to begin operation of the air conditioner comprises operating the air conditioner to provide heating to the enclosure. (Bailey, para 27 – Operating the air handling unit in response to the outdoor ambient temperature being outside the predetermined range, by adding heating or cooling as needed.)
This rejection also applies to claim 16
Claim 9
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Bailey further discloses after beginning operation of the air conditioner responsive to determining the updated ambient temperature value is outside of the predetermined range, confirm an internal temperature value for the enclosure prior to continuing operation of the air conditioner. (Bailey, para 27 – Comparing/confirming indoor and outdoor temperatures to determine the type of continued operation of the air handling unit.)
This rejection also applies to claim 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al, US Patent Pub US 20190327862 A1 (hereinafter Bailey) as applied to claims 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 above, and in view of Liebert, US Patent Num US 4271678 A (hereinafter Liebert)
Claim 7
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Bailey fails to specify the predetermined temperature range is 40 degrees Fahrenheit (F) to 70 degrees F.
However Liebert teaches the predetermined temperature range is 35 degrees Fahrenheit (F) to 65 degrees F. (Liebert, C12 L60 – C13 L35 – In the ambient outdoor temperature range of 35-65 degrees F, precooling return air using the ambient air.)
Bailey and Liebert are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to air cooling systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above air cooling system, as taught by Bailey, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Liebert.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce energy consumption by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Liebert (C13 L1-2).
This rejection also applies to claim 17
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al, US Patent Pub US 20190327862 A1 (hereinafter Bailey) as applied to claims 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 above, and in view of De Felice et al, US Patent Pub US 20200029459 A1 (hereinafter De Felice)
Claim 8
Bailey discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Bailey fails to specify executable instructions configured to provide an alarm.
However De Felice teaches executable instructions configured to provide an alarm. (De Felice, para 25-26, 48 – Generating alarms and notifications by the control system processor.)
Bailey and De Felice are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to air cooling systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above air cooling system, as taught by Bailey, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by De Felice.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to prevent damage by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by De Felice (para 48).
This rejection also applies to claim 18
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID EARL OGG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119