Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a burdensome search exists between the distinct species of inventions. This is not found persuasive because the technical features between the species are different. The technical features of Species I includes a body having an annular shape modified by a joint projecting from a side of the body, an upper cover releasably coupled to a first surface of the body, a lower cover releasably coupled to a second surface of the body, and a through-hole extending through the body, the upper cover, and the lower cover, the through-hole having a truncated conical shape defined by a base at the second surface of the body and an apex at the first surface of the body; wherein the body comprises a pocket configured to receive an input of gas and an annular channel in fluid communication with the pocket; and wherein the annular channel is in fluid communication with a surface of the through-hole via a gap between the body and the lower cover, which are not present in the invention of Species II and III. The technical features of Species II and III include a carriage, an edge gripper coupled to a first face of the carriage; wherein the edge gripper comprises: an upper body comprising a top face having an access well configured to receive an input of gas, the well being in fluid communication with a gas storage located within an interior core of the upper body, and the gas storage being in fluid communication with a duct extending from the gas storage to a front face of the upper body; a lower body releasably coupled to the upper body at a bottom face opposite the top face, the lower body comprising a conduit having a first opening on a front face corresponding to the front face of the upper body, wherein the conduit extends through the lower body to a second opening adjacent to a rear face of the lower body opposite the front face; a guide attachment releasably coupled to the front face of the upper body, the guide attachment having a plurality of tines projecting downward from a guide body and curving toward a cross member positioned in proximity to the first opening of the conduit in the lower body; and a vent positioned between the front face of the upper body and the guide body of the guide attachment, the vent being in fluid communication with the duct in the upper body, which differs and are not present in the invention of Species I. The technical features of Species III further includes, a finger coupled to the first face of the carriage and wherein the finger comprises a top face having an access well for receiving an input of gas, the well being in fluid communication with a passage within an interior core of the finger, and the passage being in fluid communication with an outlet that can release the gas via a bottom face of the finger, the bottom face being opposite to the top face; and wherein the carriage comprises a first bracket for coupling the edge gripper to the first face of the carriage and a second bracket for coupling the finger to the first face of the carriage, which are absent Species I, and it would not be obvious to include the finger element features with the invention of Species I. Therefore, the different technical features between the species would cause a burdensome search strategy.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/18/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In Claim 1, line 3, “an upper cover releasably coupled to a first surface of the body”. From the Figures, the upper cover appears to be integral with the body, therefore the upper cover does not seem to be releasably coupled to the body.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the interior annular surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho (US20140062112A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses an air gripper (100; Figure 5) configured to lift an object, comprising: a body (20) having an annular shape (Figure 3) modified by a joint (projection comprising inlet 14) projecting from a side of the body (20); an upper cover (10) releasably coupled to a first surface (top surface of body 20) of the body (20); a lower cover (30) releasably coupled to a second surface (bottom surface of body 20) of the body (20); and a through-hole (central hole between space 31 and passage 12) extending through the body (20), the upper cover (10), and the lower cover (30), the through-hole having a truncated conical shape (hole 21) defined by a base (bottom portion of hole 21 at the bottom surface of body 20) at the second surface of the body (20) and an apex (top portion of hole 21 at the top surface of body 20) at the first surface of the body (20); wherein the body (20) comprises a pocket (14, 22) configured to receive an input of gas (indicated by arrows) and an annular channel (space between plate 33 and suction pad 30) in fluid communication with the pocket (14, 22); and wherein the annular channel is in fluid communication with a surface of the through-hole via a gap (space indicated by 2 in the suction pad 30) between the body (20) and the lower cover (30).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses a spacer (top plate portion of pad 30 acts as a spacer) between the lower cover (plate 33 of pad 30) and the body (20).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses wherein the spacer (top plate portion of pad 30 acts as a spacer) has a thickness that defines the gap (space indicated by 2 in the top plate portion of pad 30) between the body (20) and the lower cover (plate 33 of pad 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho.
Regarding claims 2-3, Cho discloses the above air gripper and further teaches wherein the truncated conical shape of the through-hole defines an interior annular surface of the body (20; shape of hole 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air gripper of Cho to include wherein the interior annular surface being pitched at an angle in a range of 30-80 degrees from the base to the apex, and/or to include wherein the interior annular surface has a slope at an angle in a range of 40-60 degrees from the base to the apex, in order to improve suction operation of the gripper. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Hukelmann (US20120032461A1).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses the above air gripper, but fails to teach wherein the lower cover comprises one or more crossbars extending over the through-hole from one side of the lower cover to an opposite side.
Hukelmann teaches a similar air gripper and further teaches wherein the lower cover (16; Figure 1) comprises one or more crossbars (grid 32) extending over the through-hole (2) from one side of the lower cover (16) to an opposite side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air gripper of Cho to include the lower cover crossbars as taught by Hukelmann in order to reduce noise development during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein the pocket is centered between lateral edges of the joint.
Cho is the closest prior art and further teaches wherein the pocket (14, 22) is positioned at least partially within the joint, but fails to teach wherein the pocket is centered between lateral edges of the joint.
Claim 8 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein a suction for lifting the object is created in the through-hole when the input of gas flows from the pocket through the annular channel, through the gap between the body and the lower cover, and to the interior annular surface of the body.
Cho is the closest prior art and further teaches wherein a suction for lifting the object is created in the through-hole, but fails to teach wherein a suction for lifting the object is created in the through-hole when the input of gas flows from the pocket through the annular channel, through the gap between the body and the lower cover, and to the interior annular surface of the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654