DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1-5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). See Papa (US 2019/0274105 A1) figures 1-5.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Uses phrases which can be implied, such as, “Is disclosed,” (see line 1).
Uses the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims as “comprising” (see lines 1, 3 and 7); wherein (see line 9)
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation in the specification” Mhz” (see page 3 paragraphs [0010] and [0011]) seems to be improper because it is improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to “MHz”
The recitation in the specification” [Typically” (see page 12 paragraphs [0032]) seems to be improper because it is improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to “Typically”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein when an update to the power management profile is not needed" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the limitation "The method of claim 12" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein determining whether an update to the power management profile is needed further comprises" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 is rejected because “a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papa (US 2019/0274105 A1) in view of Chentnik (US 2020/0343852 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Papa discloses collecting data impacting power management profile for a multiple-in, multiple-out (MIMO) antenna site (figure 1 and 4 block 401 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]); generating a power management profile based on the collected data (figure 1 and 4 block 402 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]); collecting current data to apply to the power management profile (figure 1 and 4 block 403 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]); and applying data to the power management profile and scheduling a MIMO leg's on/off schedule based on the numbers of users served and other access stations in the cell area (figure 1 and 4 block 404 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]).
Papa doesn’t disclose performing grid-backfeeding using a battery at the antenna site. Chentnik discloses performing grid-backfeeding using a battery at the antenna site (figure 1 paragraphs [0003], and [0045]-[0046] “If deployed at a sufficient scale with optional, onboard modern battery technologies, these solar energy systems, which are capable of storing significant amounts of battery power, could back feed the Smart Grid in times of emergency, black outs, disaster, high demand situations, etc.”).
Papa and Chentnik are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Papa the pack feeding disclosed by Chentnik. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to use the system in times of emergency, black outs, disaster, high demand situations (see Chentnik paragraphs [0045] and [0046]). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claim 2, Papa and disclose claim 1, Papa also discloses determining whether an update to the power management profile is needed (figure 1 and 4 block 405 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Papa and disclose claim 2, Papa also discloses when an update to the power management profile is needed then repeating the steps of generating a power management profile based on the collected data, collecting current data to apply to the power management profile, and applying data to the power management profile and suggesting an action related to a leg of the MIMO (figure 4 block 405 Yes back to block 402, 403 and 404 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Papa and disclose claim 1, Papa also discloses when an update to the power management profile is not needed then repeating the steps of collecting current data to apply to the power management profile, and applying data to the power management profile and suggesting an action (figure 4 block 405 No back to block 403 and 404 paragraph [0011], [0023] and [0038]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Papa and disclose claim 1, Papa also discloses considering factors that impact the electrical power usage, the factors including at least one of: a number of users serviced by the wireless fronthaul access point; distance from other wireless base stations; power consumption by individual components including power amplifiers, base stations, processors, and other system components; traditional weather pattern in the region; number of solar panels and power generated by solar panels, standby power supply and its current capacity and condition; and a scheduling algorithm that relaxes a need to keep the power amplifiers on continuously (abstract paragraph [0016], [0018], [0021], [0038]-[0039], [0044] and [0046], claims 7, 8, 15 and 17 figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Papa and disclose claim 1, Papa also discloses the generating a power management profile is based on variables including at least one of: current weather; number of users; time of the day; day of the week; effect of scheduling algorithms; and a number of solar panels needed to produce electrical energy needed based on weather pattern (abstract paragraph [0016], [0018], [0021], [0038]-[0039], [0044] and [0046], claims 7, 8, 15 and 17 figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Papa and disclose claim 1, Papa also discloses determining whether an update to the power management profile is needed further comprises updating when collected data indicates that the power management profile needs to be updated based on changes in the data that are outside of previously observed pattern, and data that is inapplicable to generate correct predictions and instructions (abstract paragraph [0046], claims 10 and 19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Papa (US 20200229110 A1) discloses base station power management using solar panel and battery forecasting.
Papa (US 20210127339 A1) discloses base station power management using solar panel and battery forecasting.
Papa (US 20220312343 A1) discloses base station power management using solar panel and battery forecasting.
Kowalski (US 12323927 B2) discloses power management for integrated access and backhaul networks.
Papa (US 20170077979 A1) discloses antenna-integrated radio with wireless fronthaul.
Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority for WO2025184164 dated 04/09/2025.
International Search Report for WO2025184164 dated 04/09/2025.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634