Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment, filed 07/27/2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 01/27/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending in U.S. Patent Application No.18/587,917.
Applicant’s remarks filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered and responded to below.
The claim objection for claim 10 has been removed in view of the claim amendments.
The applicant remarks regarding the prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. The Applicant notes several details from the Applicant’s specification, however these details are not represented nor required in the presented claim limitations, which are broadly recited. The Examiner specifically responds to certain remarks made by the Applicant below.
“It is asserted in the OA that Redwood teaches moving vectorized certified selfies from a central database to cached memory located on an authentication device. (OA, p. 3-4) However, the cited portions of Redwood, as described by in the OA, merely disclose obtaining facial pictures, creating vectorized representations, and comparing those representations for authentication purposes. (OA, p. 3-4)” [Page 9 from the Applicant Remarks]
The Examiner notes that the presented claim limitations only require the conversion and movement of “digital biometric data”, in which the facial images obtained by Redwood fall under “digital biometric data”.
“Applicant respectfully submits that Redwood does not disclose the particular memory-pool architecture recited by the claims and described throughout the present application. In particular, Redwood does not disclose allocating a record pool comprising fixed-sized embedding records for optimized enumeration and matching as described in paragraphs [0026]-[0028] of the present specification. The OA relies upon Redwood's disclosure of transferring vectorized certified selfies from a central database to cached storage on an authentication device. However, Redwood's disclosure, as characterized by the Office Action, is directed to an authentication process in which previously-created vectorized facial images are retrieved and compared to a newly obtained facial image.” [Pages 9-10 from the Applicant Remarks]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s remarks. The presented claim language does not require “fixed-sized embedding records for optimized enumeration and matching”. The claim language only requires the movement of an embedding from a first storage medium to a second storage medium, wherein the second storage medium has a “different storage configuration” and is closer to a processor. As noted in the OA, Redwood discloses the movement of a certified embedding from a central database to a cached memory located on a device. The cached memory is closer to a processor (i.e., the phone’s processor) and has a different storage configuration compared to the central database. The Applicant asserts that Redwood is “directed to an authentication process in which previously-created vectorized facial images are retrieved and compared to a newly obtained facial image.”, but does not clearly explain how that is different from the presented claim language. The presented claim language is broadly recited and does not explicitly require that the second embedding not be “previously created” or that the first embedding not be “newly obtained”.
The prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Redwood et al. (US 2021/0117524; hereinafter “Redwood”).
Regarding Claim 1, Redwood discloses a method of machine learning for management of biometric data, the method comprising (see Fig. 7):
receiving, by a computing device, a digital biometric data from a biometric receiving device ([0070], Fig. 7, Redwood discloses obtaining facial pictures of a passenger (step 7202).);
converting the digital biometric data into a first embedding ([0070], Fig. 7, Redwood discloses obtaining a vectorized representation (i.e., embedding) of the facial picture (step 7203).);
causing to move a second embedding from a first storage medium to a second storage medium, the second storage medium having a different storage configuration than the first storage medium and being closer to a processor (Fig. 1, Fig. 7, [0070], Redwood discloses moving/transferring vectorized certified selfies (i.e., second embedding) from a central database to a cached stored memory located directly (i.e., closer) on an authentication device.); and
determining if the first embedding substantially matches the second embedding (Fig. 7, [0070], Redwood performs a comparison between the live vectorized facial photo (i.e., first embedding) with the vectorized certified selfies (i.e., second embedding) to authenticate an individual.).
Regarding Claim 2, Redwood discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the digital biometric data comprises receiving the biometric data from an image capture device ([0030], Redwood discloses an authentication device consisting of a camera used for taking facial pictures.).
Regarding Claim 7, Redwood discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining comprises determining if the first embedding substantially matches the second embedding using distance matching ([0037], Redwood discloses using a Euclidean distance to determine a similarity between two vectors.).
Regarding Claim 8, Redwood discloses the method of claim 7, wherein using the distance matching comprises using Euclidean Distance Matching ([0037], Redwood discloses using a Euclidean distance to determine a similarity between two vectors.).
Regarding Claim 9, Redwood discloses the method of claim 1, wherein causing to move the second embedding from the first storage medium to the second storage medium comprises causing to move the second embedding to a record pool (Fig. 1, Fig. 7, [0070], Redwood discloses moving/transferring vectorized certified selfies (i.e., second embedding) from a central database to a cached stored memory located directly (i.e., closer) on an authentication device. The Examiner asserts that the term “record pool” is interpreted as any pool/accumulation of records, which is analogous to the “plurality of vectorized selfies” obtained by the authentication device.).
Regarding Claim 10, Redwood discloses the method of claim 9, wherein determining if the first embedding substantially matches the second embedding comprises enumerating over the record pool (Fig. 7, [0070], Redwood discloses performing an authentication/matching step to determine if a live vectorized facial photo matches a plurality of vectorized certified selfies. The Examiner notes Step 7204-7205 where Redwood specifically discloses a “for-loop” for comparing one vectorized facial picture to many vectorized certified selfies.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected as being unpatentable over Redwood in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0397823; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 3, Redwood discloses the method of claim 1.
Redwood does not explicitly disclose wherein converting the digital biometric data into the first embedding comprises converting the digital representation using a neural network (Note in [0036] Redwood discloses using ML algorithms for extraction of biometric data.).
Zhang discloses wherein converting the digital biometric data into the first embedding comprises converting the digital representation using a neural network ([0074-0076], Zhang discloses using a deep neural network to obtain a feature vector representing a face embedding.).
Redwood and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of performing authentication using facial images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Redwood by utilizing Zhang’s usage of a neural network in order to obtain a feature vector, which can be used to performing matching to determine authentication as disclosed by Redwood. The motivation for this combination being the ability to use a neural network that can be trained for a specific usage.
Regarding Claim 4, Redwood in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 3, wherein converting the digital biometric data using the neural network comprises converting the digital representation into a fixed array of numbers ([0074-0076], Zhang discloses using a deep neural network to obtain a feature vector representing a face embedding. The Examiner asserts that the feature vector consists of an array of numbers, as noted in [0076].).
Claims 5 is rejected as being unpatentable over Redwood in view of S. Mathiassen and I. Mathiassen (US 2004/0123113; hereinafter “Mathiassen”).
Regarding Claim 5, Redwood discloses the method of claim 1.
Redwood does not explicitly disclose wherein causing to move comprises causing to move the second embedding from non-volatile memory to volatile memory.
Mathiassen discloses wherein causing to move comprises causing to move the second embedding from non-volatile memory to volatile memory ([0071], Mathiassen discloses accessing a master minutiae table of authorized users stored in non-volatile memory and comparing it to live minutiae table information stored in volatile memory.).
Redwood and Mathiassen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of determining authentication/verification by comparing information obtained from different storage locations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Redwood by incorporating Mathiassen’s disclosure of using two different storage architectures, such that the central database disclosed by Redwood is a form of non-volatile memory and the cache memory used by the authentication device is specifically a form of volatile memory. The motivation for this combination being the ability to use a stable form of memory to store the certified records, and being able to use a faster form of memory (volatile) to perform the authentication/matching step.
Claims 6 is rejected as being unpatentable over Redwood in view of Mathiassen in view of Das et al. (US 2018/0307899; hereinafter “Das”).
Regarding Claim 6, Redwood in view of Mathiassen teaches the method of claim 5.
Redwood in view of Mathiassen does not explicitly teach further comprising causing to move the second embedding from volatile memory to cache memory.
Das discloses further comprising causing to move the second embedding from volatile memory to cache memory ([0076], Das discloses a graphics multiprocessor containing multiple levels of cache (i.e., L1 and L2 cache), which transfer data between each layer. The Examiner notes the similarities in the cache architecture between Das’s disclosure the Applicant’s disclosure found in [0068-0069] and Fig. 6. Furthermore, the Examiner asserts that cache memory is considered to be a type of volatile memory, and therefore the transfer of data between L1 and L2 cache is considered to be a transfer of data between volatile memory to cache memory.).
Redwood, Mathiassen, and Das are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of determining authentication/verification by comparing information obtained from different storage locations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Redwood in view of Mathiassen such that the cache storage disclosed by Redwood in view of Mathiassen incorporated the multi-level cache architecture disclosed by Das. The motivation for this combination being the ability to have a more specific and specialized cache architecture to improve efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PROMOTTO TAJRIAN ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669