DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending in Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagelstein et al. (US 6,396,191) in view of Huikai et al. (USPGPub 8,908,728). As per claim 1, Hagelstein discloses an electrocaloric photovoltaic conversion device having an electrocaloric device, comprising: an electrocaloric device, comprising a cooling plate, a heating plate (see at least Figure 30; items COLD, HOT), and a diode array (see at least Figure 30; items Dn), wherein an area of the cooling plate is smaller than an area of the heating plate (see at least Figure 30; items COLD, HOT), and the diode array is disposed between the cooling plate and the heating plate (see at least Figure 30; items COLD, HOT, Dn). Hagelstein does not explicitly mention a protective base, surrounding the cooling plate to envelop the diode array; and a photovoltaic conversion module, disposed in the protective base, the photovoltaic conversion module passing through the protective base to be in direct contact with the cooling plate. However Huikai does disclose: a protective base, surrounding the cooling plate to envelop the diode array (see at least column 2 lines 4-7; wherein since the thermoelectric cooler and the chip with the laser diode are also arranged in a vertical manner with respect to the upper surface of the base, the photodiode is arranged line of sight to the window of the cap); and a photovoltaic conversion module, disposed in the protective base, the photovoltaic conversion module passing through the protective base to be in direct contact with the cooling plate (see at least Figure 2). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Huikai with the teachings as in Hagelstein. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the heat dissipation, see Huikai column 4 lines 42-44. As per claim 2, Huikai discloses wherein the protective base is disposed on the heating plate (see at least column 1 lines 62-64; wherein a heatsink extends from the upper surface of the base in a vertical direction with respect to the base into the mounting space). As per claim 5, Huikai discloses further comprising a cover covering the photovoltaic conversion module and the protective base (see at least Figure 1; item 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach wherein the photovoltaic conversion module comprises a light emitting component, a secondary adhesive base, a lens, and an optical fiber, the secondary adhesive base is in direct contact with the cooling plate, the light emitting component and the lens are disposed at the secondary adhesive base, and the optical fiber is located at a focus of the lens. Claim 4 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2023/0138483 – Provide thermoelectric energy harvesting and powering of Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices and systems. The thermoelectric energy harvesting device includes a thermoelectric converter electrically coupled to voltage rectifier and a power storage medium. The first side of the thermoelectric converter is exposed to ambient air with fluctuating temperatures, while the second side is anchored to a stable temperature. Power generated across the temperature differential can be captured in the power storage medium. The harvester may also include a device to move the harvester relative to the air and, by generating convection cooling of the first side, increase the net energy harvested. USPGPub 2015/0221846 – Provide a Peltier module for laser diode, and particularly to a Peltier module for laser diode in which a thermoelectric conversion element is disposed on an electrode of a substrate with a solder joint layer interposed therebetween.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662