DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “limiting boss” and “limiting groove” recited in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least two fixing parts” in claim 2 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “parts” that is coupled with functional language “fixing” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “screw or bolt” described in paragraph 0010.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the two adjacent sub-linings" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior introduction of “adjacent”. “at least two sub-linings” is different to “adjacent sub-linings.”
Claim 9 recites “the size of a part of the inner lined glue nozzle protruding from the outer glue nozzle ranges from 5 mm to 10 mm.” The claim is indefinite because the phrase “the size of a part” is unclear and fails to provide a definite scope for the claimed subject matter. The term “size” is ambiguous because it does not specify which dimension is being measure. It is unclear whether “size” refers to a length, a width, a height, or a volume or another dimensional parameter. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim. Under the principle of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets the term “size” as height.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heiko et al. (WO 2020/239283 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Heiko discloses a gluing nozzle (abstract) comprising: an inner lined glue nozzle (12) comprising at least two sub-linings (left and right 12 shown in Fig. 2a), the at least two sub-linings being detachably connected and enclosed to form a glue cavity (14, Fig. 3b) with a glue outlet (18, Fig. 3b); and an outer glue nozzle (left and right 30 shown in Fig. 2a) detachably arranged on an outer side of the inner lined glue nozzle (12) such that the at least two sub-linings (12) are relatively fixed (Fig. 2a).
With regard to claim 2, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko further discloses that the outer glue nozzle (30) comprises at least two fixing parts (43), the at least two fixing parts (43) being detachably connected to form a fixing cavity (42) matching the inner lined glue nozzle (12).
With regard to claim 3, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2. Heiko further discloses that the at least two fixing parts (43) are detachably connected into a whole by means of a screw or a bolt (43).
With regard to claim 4, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2. Heiko further discloses that the inner lined glue nozzle (12) is in interference fit with the fixing cavity (42) of the outer glue nozzle (30).
With regard to claim 5, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko further discloses that the two adjacent sub-linings (12) are connected by means of a screw or a bolt (43); and/or one of the two adjacent sub-linings (12) is provided with a limiting boss (40), and the other is provided with a limiting groove (38) matching the limiting boss (40 shown in Fig. 2a).
With regard to claim 6, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko further discloses that the number of the sub-linings is two (12), and the two sub-linings are arranged opposite to each other to form the glue cavity (14) with the glue outlet (18).
With regard to claim 8, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko further discloses that an end of the inner lined glue nozzle (12) with the glue outlet (18) protrudes from the outer glue nozzle (30).
With regard to claim 10, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko further discloses that a gluing device, comprising a gluing nozzle (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heiko in view of Hanson (US 4,521,456).
With regard to claim 7, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko does not disclose that the material of the sub-lining comprises a fluoropolymer and/or silicone.
Hanson teaches a gluing nozzle comprising a fluoropolymer and/or silicone (Col. 3 lines 7-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sub-lining of Heiko, by making it out of silicone as taught by Hanson, for the benefit of providing a non-stick surface to many compositions including most hot melt adhesives (Col. 3 lines 7-17).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heiko in view of Kraft et al. (US 2014/0203115 A1).
With regard to claim 9, the nozzle of Heiko discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Heiko does not disclose that the size of a part of the inner lined glue nozzle protruding from the outer glue nozzle ranges from 5 mm to 10 mm.
Kraft teaches a gluing nozzle comprising an inner lined glue nozzle (8) and an outer glue nozzle (9, 10), wherein the inner line protruding from the outer glue nozzle ranges from 5 mm to 10 mm (height of inner line 8 is 19.5 mm in Par. [0066] and as shown in Fig. 1, height of outer glue nozzle 9, 10 is 2/3 of the height of inner line 8, accordingly, Kraft teaches the inner line protruding from the outer glue nozzle at 19.5 mm × 1/3 = 6.5 mm that is within the ranges from 5 mm to 10 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of the inner lined glue nozzle and the outer glue nozzle of Heiko to correspond to the inner line protruding from the outer glue nozzle at 6.5 mm as taught by Kraft, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752