DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 2 contains an inconsistency in the DFS channels labeling. The bottom of the figure has a row labeled "frequency" in which there is 5490 MHz and 5710 MHz indicating the bandwidth of one of the two usable portions of the DFS channels. The reason for suggestion is due to the total bandwidth between the aforementioned values being 220 MHz, when it is indicated throughout the specification ([0022], [0029], [0030]) that the bandwidth of channels #100-#144 is 240 MHz. Therefore, it is recommended that applicant correct FIG.2, replacing 5710 MHz with 5730 MHz.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (WO 2022111632 A1, hereinafter "Huang"), in view of Chen et al (Y. Chen, B. Xu, E. Lu and O. Shanaa, "An Integrated True Zero-Wait-Time Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) Look-Ahead Scheme for WiFi-Radar System co-Existence," 2020 IEEE Radio Frequency Integrated Circuits Symposium (RFIC), Los Angeles, CA, USA, 2020, pp. 211-214; hereinafter "Chen") .
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a control method of an electronic device (FIG. 2, Access Point (AP) 10 [page 12, paragraph 3]), wherein the electronic device comprises a first antenna group (FIG. 2, at least one first antenna/group of antennas 13 [page 12, paragraphs 3 & 6]) and a second antenna (FIG. 2, at least one second antenna 14 [page 12, paragraph 3]), and the control method comprises:
using a first channel to communicate with other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group (the first antenna group 13 supports transmitting and receiving signals with other devices, including signals such as Wi-Fi signals, where the processor 11 transmits across the first antenna group 13 via the first DFS channel selected from the sub-band of the first antenna group 13 [page 12, paragraph 6; page 14, paragraph 2]);
performing a channel availability check (CAC) process (the device can perform CAC on the DFS channel of the first sub-band of the DFS channel and the second sub-band of the DFS channel at the same time, e.g. shared CAC performance time [page 17, paragraph 3]) to detect if any radar signal appears in all dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channels in a 5GHz band (5Ghz frequency band is 5150MHz-5825MHz), and DFS channel bands are defined as 5250MHz-5350MHz and the 5470MHz-5725MHz [page 2, paragraph 5; page 11, paragraph 2]) during a CAC period (shared CAC performance time) by using at least the second antenna, to generate a radar detection result (The first DFS receiving unit (which is coupled to a first antenna/group of antennas 13 in FIG. 5) may scan the DFS channel of the first sub-band to detect whether there is a radar signal in the DFS channel of the first sub-band (radar detection result). The second DFS transceiver unit (which is coupled to the second antenna) may scan the DFS channel of the second sub-band to detect whether there is radar signal on the DFS channel of the second sub-band (radar detection result). The first sub-band may be the 5470MHz-5850MHz band (which contains the 5470MHz-5725MHz DFS sub-band) and the second sub-band may be the 5150MHz-5350MHz band (which contains the 5250MHz-5350MHz DFS sub-band). Therefore, the first and second sub-channel of each antenna/antenna group cover all the DFS channel bands in a 5GHz band [page 12, paragraph 6, page 16, paragraph 8; page 17, paragraph 3; page 18, paragraph 2]);
Huang does not teach determining a second channel according to the radar detection result, and using the second channel to communicate with the other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group.
In analogous art, Chen teaches determining a second channel according to the radar detection result, and using the second channel to communicate with the other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group (the system selects a channel (second channel) from available channels, which are based on radar detection outcomes/results. Wi-Fi is able to jump to an available channel instantly when detecting any type of radar presence, resuming communication with client devices using the nxn MIMO transceiver. The nxn MIMO transceiver includes an nxn array of antennas (where n is an integer no less than 2), which maps to the first antenna group [Sec. III-A; Sec. IV]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second channel selection and usage (as taught by Chen) into wireless multi-antenna device (as taught by Huang) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Huang, teaches wherein the step of performing the CAC process to detect if any radar signal appears in all the DFS channels in the 5GHz band during the CAC period by using at least the second antenna, to generate the radar detection result comprises:
performing the CAC process to detect if any radar signal appears in all the DFS channels during the CAC period by using both the first antenna group and the second antenna, to generate the radar detection result (the device can perform CAC on the DFS channel of the first sub-band of the DFS channel and the second sub-band of the DFS channel at the same time. The first DFS receiving unit (which is coupled to a first antenna/group of antennas 13 in FIG. 5) may scan the DFS channel of the first sub-band to detect whether there is a radar signal in the DFS channel of the first sub-band (radar detection result). The second DFS transceiver unit (which is coupled to the second antenna) may scan the DFS channel of the second sub-band to detect whether there is radar signal on the DFS channel of the second sub-band (radar detection result). The 5250MHz-5350MHz and the 5470MHz-5725MHz bands are defined as DFS channel bands. The first sub-band may be the 5470MHz-5850MHz band (which contains the 5470MHz-5725MHz DFS sub-band) and the second sub-band may be the 5150MHz-5350MHz band (which contains the 5250MHz-5350MHz DFS sub-band). Therefore, the first and second sub-channel of each antenna/antenna group cover all the DFS channel bands in a 5GHz band [page 11, paragraph 2; page 12, paragraph 6; page 16, paragraph 8; page 17, paragraph 3; page 18, paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Huang, teaches wherein the step of performing the CAC process to detect if any radar signal appears in all the DFS channels in the 5GHz band during the CAC period by using both the first antenna group and the second antenna, to generate the radar detection result comprises:
performing the CAC process to detect if any radar signal appears in a first portion of the DFS channels during the CAC period (shared CAC performance time) by using the first antenna group (the first processor of the device can perform CAC on the DFS channel of the first sub-band and the DFS channel of the second sub-band at the same time, e.g. shared CAC performance time. The first DFS receiving unit (which is coupled to a first antenna/group of antennas 13 in FIG. 5) may scan the DFS channel of the first sub-band to detect whether there is a radar signal in the DFS channel of the first sub-band [page 12, paragraph 6; page 17, paragraph 3; page 18, paragraph 2]); and
performing the CAC process to detect if any radar signal appears in a second portion of the DFS channels during the CAC period (shared CAC performance time) by using the second antenna (the first processor of the device can perform CAC on the DFS channel of the first sub-band and the DFS channel of the second sub-band at the same time. The second DFS transceiver unit may scan the DFS channel of the second sub-band to detect whether there is radar signal on the DFS channel of the second sub-band [page 17, paragraph 3; page 18, paragraph 2]),
wherein the first portion of the DFS channels is different from the second portion of the DFS channels, and a combination of the first portion of the DFS channels and the second portion of the DFS channels is all the DFS channels in the 5GHz band (the 5250MHz-5350MHz and the 5470MHz-5725MHz bands are defined as DFS channel bands. The first sub-band may be the 5470MHz-5850MHz band (which contains the 5470MHz-5725MHz DFS sub-band) and the second sub-band may be the 5150MHz-5350MHz band (which contains the 5250MHz-5350MHz DFS sub-band). Therefore, the first and second sub-channel of each antenna/antenna group cover separate (non-overlapping) DFS sub-bands that total all the DFS channel bands [page 11, paragraph 2; page 16, paragraph 6]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the second portion of the DFS channels has a 240 MHz bandwidth (Fig 1 shows an upper and lower DFS required channels in the 5GHz frequency band, where the upper channel has a bandwidth of 240 MHz [Sec. I]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further define the upper and lower groups of the 5GHz band DFS channels (as taught by Chen) for the splitting of the 5GHz band DFS channels between the first and second antennas (as taught by Huang) in the multi-antenna wireless control device for communicating with other devices (as taught by Huang and Chen) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the first portion of the DFS channels has an 80 MHz bandwidth (Fig 1 shows an upper and lower DFS required channels in the 5GHz frequency band, where the lower channel has a bandwidth of 80 MHz [Sec. I]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further define the upper and lower groups of the 5GHz band DFS channels (as taught by Chen) for the splitting of the 5GHz band DFS channels between the first and second antennas (as taught by Huang) in the multi-antenna wireless control device for communicating with other devices (as taught by Huang and Chen) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the second portion of the DFS channels comprises 20 MHz Wi-Fi sub-channels #100 - #144 (Fig 1 shows an upper and lower DFS required channels in the 5GHz frequency band, where the upper channel comprises 20 MHz channels #100-#144 [Sec. I]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further define the upper and lower groups of the 5GHz band DFS channels (as taught by Chen) for the splitting of the 5GHz band DFS channels between the first and second antennas (as taught by Huang) in the multi-antenna wireless control device for communicating with other devices (as taught by Huang and Chen) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the first portion of the DFS channels comprises 20 MHz Wi-Fi sub-channels #52 - #64 (Fig 1 shows an upper and lower DFS required channels in the 5GHz frequency band, where the lower channel comprises 20 MHz channels #52-#64 [Sec. I]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further define the upper and lower groups of the 5GHz band DFS channels (as taught by Chen) for the splitting of the 5GHz band DFS channels between the first and second antennas (as taught by Huang) in the multi-antenna wireless control device for communicating with other devices (as taught by Huang and Chen) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches a control method of an electronic device (FIG. 2, Access Point (AP) 10 [page 12, paragraph 3]), wherein the electronic device comprises a first antenna group (FIG. 2, at least one first antenna/group of antennas 13 [page 12, paragraphs 3 & 6]) and a second antenna (FIG. 2, at least one second antenna 14 [page 12, paragraph 3]), and the control method comprises:
using a first channel to communicate with other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group (the first antenna group 13 supports transmitting and receiving signals with other devices, including signals such as Wi-Fi signals, where the processor 11 transmits across the first antenna group 13 via the first DFS channel selected from the sub-band of the first antenna group 13 [page 12, paragraph 6; page 14, paragraph 2]);
performing a channel availability check (CAC) process (the device can perform CAC on the DFS channel of the first sub-band of the DFS channel and the second sub-band of the DFS channel at the same time, e.g. shared CAC performance time [page 17, paragraph 3]) to detect if any radar signal appears in at least a portion of dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channels in a 5GHz band (5Ghz frequency band is 5150MHz-5825MHz), and DFS channel bands are defined as 5250MHz-5350MHz and the 5470MHz-5725MHz [page 2, paragraph 5;p page 11, paragraph 2]) during a CAC period (shared CAC performance time) by using at least the second antenna, to generate a radar detection result, wherein at least the portion of DFS channels in the 5GHz band has at least 240 MHz bandwidth (The first DFS receiving unit (which is coupled to a first antenna/group of antennas 13 in FIG. 5) may scan the DFS channel of the first sub-band to detect whether there is a radar signal in the DFS channel of the first sub-band (radar detection result). The second DFS transceiver unit (which is coupled to the second antenna) may scan the DFS channel of the second sub-band to detect whether there is radar signal on the DFS channel of the second sub-band (radar detection result). The first sub-band may be the 5470MHz-5850MHz band (which contains the 5470MHz-5725MHz DFS sub-band, and has a bandwidth of 255MHz) and the second sub-band may be the 5150MHz-5350MHz band (which contains the 5250MHz-5350MHz DFS sub-band, and has a bandwidth of 100MHz). Therefore, the first and second sub-channel of each antenna cover all the DFS channel bands in a 5GHz band [page 12, paragraph 6; page 16, paragraph 8; page 17, paragraph 3; page 18, paragraph 2]);
Huang does not teach determining a second channel according to the radar detection result, and using the second channel to communicate with the other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group.
In analogous art, Chen teaches determining a second channel according to the radar detection result, and using the second channel to communicate with the other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group (the system selects a channel (second channel) from available channels, which are based on radar detection outcomes/results. Wi-Fi is able to jump to an available channel instantly when detecting any type of radar presence, resuming communication with client devices using the nxn MIMO transceiver (which encompasses the first antenna group) [Sec. III-A; Sec. IV]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second channel selection and usage (as taught by Chen) into wireless multi-antenna device (as taught by Huang) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein at least the portion of DFS channels in the 5GHz band comprises 20 MHz Wi-Fi sub-channels #100 - #144 (Fig 1 shows upper and lower DFS required channels of the 5HGz frequency band, where the upper channel comprises 20 MHz channels #100-#144 [Sec I]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further define the upper and lower groups of the 5GHz band DFS channels (as taught by Chen) for the splitting of the 5GHz band DFS channels between the first and second antennas (as taught by Huang) in the multi-antenna wireless control device for communicating with other devices (as taught by Huang and Chen) in order to reduce manufacturing cost, minimize wait time for CAC, and avoid reduction in MIMO throughput (Chen, [Sec. 1, paragraph 3; Sec. II-A, paragraph 2; Sec. III-A]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the at least the portion of DFS channels in the 5GHz band comprises 20 MHz Wi-Fi sub-channels #52 - #144 (Fig 1 shows upper and lower DFS required channels of the 5GHz frequency band, where the full DFS band of channels encompasses the range of 20 MHz Wi-Fi sub-channels #52-#64 and #100-#144 [Sec. I]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to temporarily or partially use the first antenna group for CAC in combination with the dedicated DFS receiver to reduce scan time in cases where speed of DFS scanning is more important than potential decrease in MIMO throughput. It is already stated by Chen that the conventional DFS scheme is beneficial as it can prevent significant wait time before re-establishing the wi-fi link, which is also a benefit of the LA-DFS scheme. It is expected that combining the two of these ideas taught by Chen can further shorten the time it takes to perform CAC scanning by enabling parallelization (Chen, [Sec. I, paragraph 3; Sec III]).
Regarding claim 13, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1, including an electronic device (FIG. 2, Access Point (AP) 10 [page 12, paragraph 3]), comprising a first antenna group (FIG. 2, at least one first antenna/group of antennas 13 [page 12, paragraphs 3 & 6]), a second antenna (FIG. 2, at least one second antenna 14 [page 12, paragraph 3]), and a wireless communication circuit (implements transmission and reception of radio frequency signals via a baseband processor, radio frequency integrated circuit, power amplifier, and switching circuitry forming transmit and receive paths. The baseband signal is converted to a radio frequency signal by the RF integrated circuit, amplified, and transmitted via the antenna(s), and received signals follow the reverse path for processing [page 11, paragraphs 3-4; page 12, paragraph 1; page 12, paragraph 1]) and the wireless communication circuit is configured to perform the steps (same as those in claim 1), as taught by Huang.
Regarding claim 14, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Claim(s) 8, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Chen, and in further view of Kadiyala et al (US 20150249990 A1, hereinafter "Kadiyala").
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Huang and Chen, specifically Chen, teaches wherein the step of determining the second channel according to the radar detection result, and using the second channel to communicate with the other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group comprises:
determining a plurality of available channels with different bandwidths according to the radar detection result (a list of available DFS channels populated by radar detection results of both antennas (first antenna group and second antenna) [Sec. III-A]);
using the second channel to communicate with the other electronic device(s) via the first antenna group (Wi-Fi is able to jump to an available channel (second channel), resuming communication with client devices using the nxn MIMO transceiver (which encompasses the first antenna group) [Sec. III-A; Sec. IV]) .
The combination of Huang and Chen does not teach selecting the second channel (best channel to switch to) having a maximum bandwidth from the plurality of available channels;
In analogous art, Kadiyala teaches selecting the second channel having a maximum bandwidth from the plurality of available channels (teaches that available channels have different bandwidths, such as 20 MHz, 40 MHz, and so on, and that channel selection prioritizes channels with higher bandwidth to improve throughput and efficiency. Once an access point has determined to switch to another channel, it can estimate the best channel to switch to (second channel), prioritizing maximum bandwidth [0040, 0044, 0051]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the second channel for transmission at from the AP based off bandwidth size (as taught by Kadiyala) into the multiantenna transceiver that can utilize DFS channels (as taught by the combination of Huang and Chen) in order to achieve better available channels with higher efficiency and throughput while continuing to follow restrictions applied for FDS channels of the 5 GHz band (Kadiyala, [0011]).
Regarding claim 12, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Changlani et al (US 20210409961 A1) discloses a System and Method for Optimizing a Channel Switch Mechanism Between DFS Channels.
Chen et al (US 20210211335 A1) discloses IQ Generator for Mixer, where a DFS receiver is described along with a digital filter than can divide the scanned channel into subchannels.
Cizdziel et al (US 20190246324 A1) discloses Radar Client Assurance in Wireless Networks.
Horisaki (US 20160014724 A1) discloses a Wireless Communication device and Wireless Communication Method.
Katague et al (US 12317234 B1) discloses Dynamic Frequency selection (DFS) Avoidance.
Tsai et al (US 20170142728 A1) discloses Multiple Detector Coordination for Monitoring of Multiple Channels in the Dynamic Frequency Selection Band.
/A.R.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413