35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11, 15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagano et al 5779491.
Regarding claim 1, Nagano et al (front page and Figure 7) discloses an engagement structure, comprising: a body portion 4; at least one connecting portion 3, wherein the connecting portion and the body portion are movably fitted together; and, a limiting portion 1, being fixed on the connecting portion, for engaging an engaged object 100, such that the engaged object is limited to a confinement range of the limiting portion.
Regarding claim 2, Nagano et al discloses the body portion 4 is fitted to the engaged object 100 by engagement, riveting, expanded connection, resilient engagement, soldering, fastening, penetrated connection, magnetic attraction or adhesion.
Regarding claim 3, Nagano et al discloses rotation-proof portions (unnumbered guide channels which body portion 4 slides in) are disposed between the connecting portion 3 and the body portion 4, the body portion and the connecting portion are movably fitted together by an engaging portion (the lower end of body portion 4).
Regarding claim 6, Nagano et al discloses the connecting portion 3 is in a number of one or more, each said connecting portion is parallelly fixed to the body portion 4 and moves synchronously therewith.
Regarding claim 7, Nagano et al discloses the body portion 4 or the connecting portion 3 has a movement space 41, the connecting portion or the body portion has a movement portion (upper end of 3), the movement portion undergoes lateral or axial movement within the movement space, the movement portion has a rotation-proof portion (middle portion of 3) for preventing rotation of the movement portion relative to the movement space of the body portion.
Regarding claim 8, Nagano et al discloses the body portion 4 or the connecting portion 3 has an accommodating portion (outer surface of body portion 4) for accommodating the limiting portion 1.
Regarding claim 9, Nagano et al discloses the body portion 4 has a retention portion (upper surface of 4) for position-restraining and retaining the engaged object 100.
Regarding claim 11, Nagano et al discloses the connecting portion 3 has an avoidance space or an avoidance region (the lower end of 3), the avoidance space or the avoidance region that avoid interfere with a raised structure of the engaged object 100, an electronic component of the engaged object, an IC component of the engaged object, an electrically conductive component of the engaged object or a component of the engaged object.
Regarding claim 15, Nagano et al discloses the connecting portion 3 has an abutting-pushing structure that abuts and pushes the body portion.
Regarding claim 17, Nagano et al discloses the body portion 4 or the connecting portion 3 has a movement space 41, and the movement space has a restraining portion (walls of 41) for position-restraining a latch element, the limiting portion 1 or the connecting portion at an open position or closed position, the restraining portion is a structure or material capable of undergoing resilient deformation or displacement (vertical movement).
The subject matter of claims 18-22 has been discussed above.
35 USC 103 Rejection
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tadokoro 2016/0064846.
Tadokoro (paragraph 002) discloses the connecting portion (contact member) comprises a multilayer structure (base material and a gold plating), and to form the connecting portions of Nagano et al in this way thus would have been obvious, for better conductivity.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 4, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the combination of the guiding portion, resilient component and the blocking portion as recited; nor the body portions being penetratedly connected or fitted together; nor the connecting portion having an engaging portion snap-engaged with the body portion; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
Response To Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834