DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on . The disposition of claims is as follows:
Pending:
Rejected:
Canceled:
Allowed:
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered. The Examiner proceeds below with a response.
Regarding Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. § :
Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to reference combinations being used in the current rejection.
Regarding Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. § :
Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to reference combinations being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over () in view of (US 2022/0113535) hereinafter “”.
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
An optical apparatus comprising:
a deflector configured to scan an object by deflecting illumination light from a light source unit and to deflect reflected light from the object (¶¶0003-0004, 0037, 0048-0049, 0106); and
a light receiver (650, 106) configured to receive the reflected light from the deflector (¶¶0078-0085, 0106-0108),
wherein the deflector includes a first scanning element (620, 114) configured to scan the object in a first direction by deflecting the illumination light from the light source unit (612,616) (¶¶), and
a second scanning element (640, 216) configured to scan the object in a second direction by deflecting the illumination light from the first scanning element (620) (¶¶), and
wherein the light receiver (650, 106) includes a plurality of light-receiving elements () arranged along a direction parallel to the first direction on an optical path (¶¶0052, 0078-0085, 0106-0108). (Examiner Note: Instant Application PgPub ¶0024 describes “an optical path” as both an illumination optical path and a light receiving optical path for receiving reflected light)
fail to explicitly disclose:
a first optical system configured to change a beam diameter of the illumination light
discloses:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of utilizing in order to secure sufficient illuminance and resolution of objects at varied distances. See at least ¶¶.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by to the of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would utilize in to secure sufficient illuminance and resolution of objects at varied distances. See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein a divergent angle of the illumination light emitted from the light source unit is different in two orthogonal directions, and wherein a direction in which the divergent angle is larger is the direction corresponding to the first direction (Goren et al.: ¶¶).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein an area of the object that is irradiated with the illumination light has widths that are different in two orthogonal directions, and wherein a direction in which the area has a shorter width is the first direction (Goren et al.: ¶¶).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein the second scanning element is rotatable about a rotation axis, and wherein the rotation axis is located outside an illumination optical path from the first scanning element to the second scanning element (Goren et al.: ¶¶0050, 0118-0128).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein the second scanning element has a plurality of reflective surfaces, and deflects the illumination light and the reflected light using different reflective surfaces (Goren et al.: ¶¶0052, 0078-0085, 0106-0108).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein the reflected light is deflected in an area of the second scanning element different from an area of the second scanning element for deflecting the illumination light (Goren et al.: ¶¶0046-0047, 0078-0085, 0089, 0121).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein the light source unit generates a plurality of illumination optical paths, and wherein the plurality of light-receiving elements include light-receiving elements corresponding to the plurality of illumination optical paths (Goren et al.: ¶¶0059, 0065, 0071).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
further comprising a processor configured to acquire distance information on the object based on an output of the light receiver (Goren et al.: ¶¶0038-0041, 0060, 0073).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
further comprising a processor configured to supply power to one of the plurality of light-receiving elements that receives the reflected light (Goren et al.: ¶0070).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
wherein the plurality of light-receiving elements are arranged along the first direction and the second direction, and wherein the number of light-receiving elements in the second direction is smaller than that in the first direction (Goren et al.: ¶¶0106-0108) (Goren et al.: ).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
A movable apparatus comprising the optical apparatus includes according to claim 1: wherein the movable apparatus is configured to move while holding the optical apparatus (Goren et al.: ¶¶0002-0003, 0040, 0054-0057).
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
An optical apparatus comprising:
a deflector configured to scan an object by deflecting illumination light from a light source unit and to deflect reflected light from the object (¶¶0003-0004, 0037, 0048-0049, 0106); and
a light receiver (650, 106) configured to receive the reflected light from the deflector (¶¶0078-0085, 0106-0108), and
an optical system, wherein the deflector includes a first scanning element (620, 114) configured to scan the object in a first direction by deflecting the illumination light from the light source unit (612,616) (¶¶), and
a second scanning element (640, 216) configured to scan the object in a second direction by deflecting the illumination light from the first scanning element (620) (¶¶), and
wherein the light receiver (650, 106) includes a plurality of light-receiving elements () arranged along a direction parallel to the first direction on an optical path (¶¶0052, 0078-0085, 0106-0108). (Examiner Note: Instant Application PgPub ¶0024 describes “an optical path” as both an illumination optical path and a light receiving optical path for receiving reflected light)
fail to explicitly disclose:
wherein the optical system is configured to condense the reflected light onto the plurality of light-receiving elements, and wherein the second scanning element is disposed at an entrance pupil of the optical system.
fail to explicitly disclose:
a first optical system configured to change a beam diameter of the illumination light
discloses:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of utilizing in order to secure sufficient illuminance and resolution of objects at varied distances. See at least ¶¶.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by to the of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in to secure sufficient illuminance and resolution of objects at varied distances. See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over and as applied above in view of (), hereinafter “”.
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references fail to explicitly disclose:
a processor configured to determine a collision between a vehicle and the object based on distance information on the object acquired by the optical apparatus.
The combination of references disclose:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement”.
teaches:
a prior art using a known technique that is applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of utilizing (¶¶) in order to prevent vehicle collisions with objects (¶¶).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by to the of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would utilize in to prevent vehicle collisions with objects (¶¶) (See: MPEP § 2143(I)(D)).
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to output a control signal for generating a braking force to the vehicle in a case it is determined that there is the likelihood of collision between the vehicle and the object (: ¶¶).
Regarding Claim ,
The combination of references disclose:
a processor configured to determine a collision with the object based on distance information on the object acquired by the optical apparatus.
discloses:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement”.
teaches:
a prior art using a known technique that is applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of utilizing (¶¶) in order to prevent vehicle collisions with objects (¶¶).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by to the of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would utilize in to prevent vehicle collisions with objects (¶¶) (See: MPEP § 2143(I)(D)).
Special Definitions for Claim Language - MPEP § 2111.01(III)-(IV)
No special definitions are seen as present in the specification regarding the language used in the claims. Consequently, the words and phrases of the claims are given the plain meaning to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (See MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01).
If special definitions are present, Applicant should bring them to the attention of the Examiner and the prosecution history in the next response.
To date, Applicant has provided no indication of special definitions.
Terminology
The Examiner notes that the following terms are utilized in Applicant’s specification as follows:
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0032
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0066
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0030
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0026
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0034
Light receiver:
light receiver 30 includes a condenser lens (condenser optical system) 31, an optical filter 32, and a light-receiving element group 33. See Instant PgPub: ¶0032
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶¶0074-0075
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0020
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0061
Second scanning element:
See Instant PgPub: ¶0031
Warning apparatus:
warning apparatus 400 warns the driver by, for example, emitting a warning sound, displaying warning information on the screen of a car navigation system, or applying vibration to the seat belt or steering wheel. See Instant PgPub: ¶¶0066, 0071
References Cited
R1: ()
R2: ()
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entirety of identified prior art references as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is noted that any citations to specific pages, paragraph numbers, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references presented and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2123. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT A REINBOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747