The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: the removable lid, and the biometric lock on the removable lid.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original disclosure does not teach a removable closure with a hinge. Note that the original disclosure teaches the hinge never detached from the body. “The lid is preferably attached to the body via at least one hinge such that the lid may be opened but never detached from the body.”
This claim contradicts the specification and claim 1. This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 1-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
The embodiment being shown comprises an embodiment with a hinged lid and a lock at 132. It is unclear how the hinged lid being removable along with the biometric lock. See drawing objection above.
SET I:
Claims 8-10, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodriquez.
The lock (30) itself is preferably present on the sides of the body (10) of the apparatus, as shown in FIG. 2, however in alternate embodiments, the lock(s) (30) may be present in other locations including the center of each drawer (20) as shown in FIG. 1.
Each lock (30) is preferably a combination lock, however it is envisioned that other forms of locks may be employed, including, but not limited to biometric locks, keyed locks, and other conventional locking mechanisms.
(16) The drawers (20) are preferably outfitted with removable liner compartments (25) as shown in FIG. 7. The removable liner compartments (25) function similarly to drawer organizers, exhibiting multiple cubbies (15) to segment the user's items within the drawer (20). The cubbies (15) of the removable liner compartments (25) have a bottom and four walls, and are joined together such that the entire contents of the drawers (20) may be removed easily when the removable liner compartments (25) are removed. For example, when the user arrives to his or her room, the user may easily unpack by removing the removable liner compartments (25) of the drawers if desired, and placing them on a flat surface or inside of dresser drawers of the room. The removable liner compartments (25) are preferably composed of a lightweight and sturdy fabric, or fabric sewn around thin plastic sheets. The removable liner compartment (25) of the jewelry or top drawer is preferably equipped with a top (35) (which encompasses all of the cubbies (15) of the removable liner compartments (25) which may be zippered, helping to ensure items remain in position. Other liner compartments (25) of the drawers (20) may be equipped with tops (35) as well.
a single retractable handle (120) from either the carry-on embodiment or the large embodiment may be employed to facilitate transport of the luggage ensemble via the wheels (100) of both embodiment.
Rodriquez teaches a transport case device comprising: a body comprised of an interior space and a first handle 135. Regarding a first divider wall positioned in the interior space and removably attached to the body, note (a) a drawer comprises the claimed divider as broadly recited, or (b) there are a plurality of removable liner compartments each comprises removable divider walls as claimed. In other words, one of the plurality of drawer comprising a first removable divider walls, a lid comprising a biometric locking mechanism as cited above, a second handle 120; and a drawer as claimed. With respect to a bottom surface of the lid comprises a dry-erase writing surface, note that this limitation does not impart any structure over the surface of Rodriquez. Note that the surface of Rodriquez at least can be written over by regular chalk or fabric chalk that can be dry erase by a brush or by rubbing with another fabric.
Regarding claims 9-10, note the locking mechanism in at 120.
Regarding claim 13, either the drawer or the the removable dividers in fig. 7 forms a storage compartment within the interior space.
Regarding claim 17, “a second divider wall” is comprised of the removable dividers in fig. 7 in the second drawer.
Regarding claim 18, note the locking on the drawers 30.
Claims 8-10, 12-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriquez in view of Hacking (20240091622) or Tabor et al. (20180339660), and further in view of Ryan (20130099458).
In the alternative to claim 8 and claim 12, Hacking teaches that it is known in the art to provide a whiteboard 230 on a bottom surface of lid on a pouch, and Tabor also teaches that it is known in the art to provide writable surface (phone, note pad, on pocket about 156, 162). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a dry-erase writing surface on a bottom surface of a lid and a pocket or pouch to enable one to write notes and other reminders and to store the desired object.
Regarding claim 19, note that Rodriquez teaches a lid, a storage compartment formed by a first divider wall, and a drawer, opening a biometric lock to open the lid at 30 fig. 2; placing an item into the storage compartment; closing the lid and locking the lid via a locking mechanism the biometric lock as set forth supra; pulling a handle at 120 from the body; and rolling the transport case device along a surface via wheels. Rodriquez does not teach the step of writinq on a dry-erase surface on a bottom of the lid, Hacking teaches that it is known in the art to provide a whiteboard 230 on a bottom surface of lid on a pouch, and Tabor also teaches that it is known in the art to provide writable surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to write in the dry-erase writing surface of Hacking on a bottom surface of a lid or to write note on the note pad or phone of Tabor to write note and/or communicate.
Also, in the alternative to claim 8 and to claim 17, Ryan teaches that it is known in the art to provide first removable divider on the opening a first divider wall (17) positioned in the interior space and removably attached to the body (note that adjustable dividers means removable dividers in fig. 5), and the drawers also have movable dividers in fig. 5 (second divider wall). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide first removable divider on the opening space at 14 in fig. 2 and to provide removable divider on the drawers as taught by Ryan to provide the sort out the content on the top compartment and/or to enable one to adjust the size of the different compartment on the drawers easily.
Regarding claim 20, note the retractable handle.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Rodriquez rejections, as set forth above in paragraphs 5 or 6 above, in view of Pfitzgerald (0906124) or Hunley (4093010). Rodriquez does not teach a padded storage compartment. Pfitzgerald or Hunley teaches that it is known in the art to provide padded divider forming padded storage compartments. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide padded divider in Pfitzgerald or Hunley to provide protection for the contents.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (11672314) in view of Looram et al. (7735615) or Munoz (9648933), or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of Looram et al. ‘615 or Munoz ‘933, and further in view of Ryan (20130099458). Rodriquez teaches a transport case device comprising: a body comprised of an interior space 140; a lid (110) removably attached to the body and comprising a biometric locking mechanism (30) as cited above; a handle (190). Regarding removable first divider wall, note the teaching that a plurality of drawers, each comprises removable liner compartment 25 which comprises dividers in fig. 7. Thus, (a) a drawer comprises the claimed divider as broadly recited, (b)there are a plurality of removable liner compartments each comprises removable divider walls as claimed. A drawer comprising a first removable divider walls and another drawer comprises second divider wall removably attached to the drawer. Rodriquez meets all claimed limitations except for the removable lid. Looram teaches that it is known in the art to provide removable lid
(17) To allow access to the cavity of the main compartment 4, it is preferred that a plurality of sides on the main compartment 4 and the lid 6 include a zipper track (24 and 22) for releasably attaching the non-hinged sides of the lid 6, thereby creating a closed compartment. In other embodiments, not depicted in the figures, the lid can be completely removable, such that each side of the lid is configured to be releasably zipped to the sides of the main compartment.
Munoz teaches that it is known in the art to provide removable lid (door) with biometric lock.
In such an embodiment, the access point may further include an access door that covers the access point, wherein the access door may be hinged, partially detachable, or completely detachable from the side wall to provide entry to the access point.
In some embodiments, the access point securing device may incorporate security measures that include, but are not limited to, biometric locks, digital, electronic, magnetic or mechanical password locks, and near-field communications where a user's electronic device is used to authorize access. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are a variety of suitable access point securing device that could be used to secure an access point of a bag module, and embodiments of the present invention are contemplated for use with any such access point securing device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a removable lid as taught by either Munoz or Looram to enable one to access the contents easily.
In the alternative, Ryan teaches that it is known in the art to provide first removable divider on the opening a first divider wall (17) positioned in the interior space and removably attached to the body (note that adjustable dividers means removable dividers in fig. 5), and the drawers also have movable dividers in fig. 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide first removable divider on the opening as taught by Ryan to provide the sort out the content on the top compartment.
Regarding claim 2, note the first divider wall forms a storage compartment within the interior space.
Regarding claim 4, note the lid attached via a hinge (150, fig.2).
Regarding claim 7, note the drawer locking mechanism (30).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Rodriquez rejection, as set forth above in paragraph above, in view of Pfitzgerald (0906124) or Hunley (4093010). Ryan does not teach a padded storage compartment. Pfitzgerald or Hunley teaches that it is known in the art to provide padded divider forming padded storage compartment. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide padded divider or Pfitzgerald or Hunley to provide protection for the contents.
SET II:
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan (20130099458) in view of Huff (20110210135) or Ruiz et al. (20250031821 with provisional 63515799 dated 07/26/2023) or Munoz (9648933)
[0019] The drawers 15,19,20 having several different sizes of depth and having adjustable dividers 17, top of the nail/manicure mobile cart 7 which may be also be lockable 11 and may be of different depths in size with adjustable dividers 17. The door(s) 3,4 and top 7 have hinges 2 for opening and closing. FIG. 5 is a drawer 15 showing the adjustable dividers.
[0019] The drawers 15,19,20 having several different sizes of depth and having adjustable dividers 17, top of the nail/manicure mobile cart 7 which may be also be lockable 11 and may be of different depths in size with adjustable dividers 17.
Ryan teaches a transport case device comprising a body comprised of an interior space, a lid a first divider wall (17) positioned in the interior space and removably attached to the body (note that adjustable dividers means removable dividers in fig. 5), a handle, a drawer 15 with removable dividers at 17. Ryan meets all claimed limitations except for the meets all claimed limitations except for the lid removably attached, a biometric locking mechanism.
A key pad 67 of the locking mechanism 30 could be electronically, mechanically or biometrically activated. FIG. 6 shows a biometric fingerprint reader with a mechanical lock 60 backup. The locking mechanism 30 could be remotely activated, such as with an IR wireless receiver 71 and a coded transmitter 73 to unlock as shown in FIG. 7.
Huff teaches that it is known in the art to provide a removable lid with biometric lock (quotation from provisional).
The locking mechanism 160 may be in the form of a traditional key lock, a combination lock, an electronic lock, or a biometric lock such as a fingerprint scanner for enhanced security. For example, a biometric lock may be useful when the kit 100 contains expensive personal care items or medication, providing an extra layer of security against unauthorized access.
7. The field kit of any one of the embodiments herein wherein the lid is removably or hingedly coupled to the first body portion or the second body portion.
Munoz teaches that it is known in the art to provide removable lid (door) with biometric lock.
In such an embodiment, the access point may further include an access door that covers the access point, wherein the access door may be hinged, partially detachable, or completely detachable from the side wall to provide entry to the access point.
In some embodiments, the access point securing device may incorporate security measures that include, but are not limited to, biometric locks, digital, electronic, magnetic or mechanical password locks, and near-field communications where a user's electronic device is used to authorize access. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are a variety of suitable access point securing device that could be used to secure an access point of a bag module, and embodiments of the present invention are contemplated for use with any such access point securing device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the 7 being removable and to provide biometric locks as taught by Huff, or Munoz or to provide added safety and to access the contents easily with the lid completely removed.
Also, in the event it is argued that adjustable divider are not removable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide removable dividers at 17 similar to that in fig. 5 to enable one to enable one to adjust to different sizes of compartment.
Regarding claim 2, note the first divider wall forms a storage compartment within the interior space.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ryan rejection, as set forth above in paragraph 10, in view of Pfitzgerald (0906124) or Hunley (4093010). Ryan does not teach a padded storage compartment. Pfitzgerald or Hunley teaches that it is known in the art to provide padded divider forming padded storage compartment. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide padded divider or Pfitzgerald or Hunley to provide protection for the contents.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Ryan rejection, as set forth above in paragraph 10, in view of MacKinnon (0113538) or Lempert (0333238). Regarding the hinge, MacKinnon or Lempert, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide hinge that are removable enable the lid to be removable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a hinge being detachable as taught by MacKinnon, or Lempert to provide an alternative means for provide a detachable lid to enable one to access the contents easily with the lid completely removed.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Ryan rejection, as set forth above in paragraph 10, in view of Rodriquez ‘314. Ryan does not teach the locks on the drawers. Rodriquez teaches that it is known in the art to provide locks on the drawers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide locks on the drawers as taught by Rodriquez to provide added security.
Claims 8-10, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of Rodriguez. Regarding claim 8, Ryan teaches a transport case device comprising: a body comprised of an interior space and a first handle; a first divider wall positioned in the interior space and removably attached to the body; a lid locking mechanism; and a drawer as set forth above. Regarding a bottom surface of the lid comprises a dry-erase writing surface, note that the material comprises stainless steel and this can be written by dry erase marker (see Reddit/Frugal). Also note that the recitation “dry-erase writing surface” does not impart any structure or material over the bottom surface of the lid in Ryan. Ryan meets all claimed limitations except for the biometric locking mechanism on the lid, and a second handle.
Rodriguez teaches that it is known in the art to provide two handles 135/120 fig. 6 including retractable second retractable handle in addition to the top one. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide another two handles as taught by Rodriguez to enable one to adjust the handle to transport the device easily and/or to open the lid easily.
Rodriguez teaches that it is known in the art to provide biometric lock, as set forth supra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a biometric lock as taught by Rodriguez to provide added security.
Regarding claim 9-10, note the retractable handle as taught by Rodriguez as set forth above.
Regarding claim 13, the first divider wall forms a storage compartment within the interior space.
Regarding claim 15, note the lid attaches to the body via a hinge in Ryan.
Regarding claim 17, note wherein the drawer is comprised of a second divider wall.
Regarding claim 18, Ryan does not teach the locks on the drawers. Rodriquez teaches that it is known in the art to provide locks on the drawers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide locks on the drawers as taught by Rodriquez to provide added security.
Claims 8-10, 12-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of Rodriguez, as set forth in paragraph 14, and further in view of Terkildsen (5115893) or Tabor et al. (20180339660).
In the alternative to claim 8, and to claim 12, Terkildsen teaches that it is known in the art to provide a pocket or pouch on the lid portion in 38, and a notepad which comprises erasable surface via pencil. Tabor teaches similar as set forth above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pouch or a pocket at a bottom of the lid and a writable surface as taught by Terkildsen or Tabor to store additional contents.
Regarding claim 19, Ryan teaches the opening a biometric lock to open the lid in view of of Rodriguez, the placing an item into the storage compartment; closing the lid and locking the lid via a locking mechanism the biometric lock of Rodriguez; pulling a handle from the body; and rolling the transport case device along a surface. Ryan does not teach writinq on a dry-erase surface on a bottom of the lid, Terkildsen teaches that it is known in the art to provide a notepad which comprises erasable surface via pencil and a pocket. Tabor teaches similar as set forth above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to write on a surface of the back of the lid to enable one to take notes.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the Rodriquez reference rejection of claim 1, the arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejections. Regarding claim 8, regarding the a first divider wall positioned in the interior space and removably attached to the body. Note that “divider wall” is broad, and there are three drawers in Rodriquez and each of these removable drawers comprises the claimed “removable divider as claimed” since divider are merely structures for separating contents and each of these removable drawers comprises such a structure. Also, each divider also comprises removable liner in fig. 7 which comprises dividers for separating contents as well. Thus, each of each of these removable drawers comprises the claimed “divider wall”.
Note that Rodriquez teaches lock 30 on both the lid portion and the drawer portion, and these lock can be biometric:
Each lock (30) is preferably a combination lock, however it is envisioned that other forms of locks may be employed, including, but not limited to biometric locks, keyed locks, and other conventional locking mechanisms.
Regarding Ryan, the arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejections. Regarding the removable divider, note that dividers 17 are “adjustable dividers” and according to Ryan, “adjustable dividers” are removable dividers in fig. 5
[0019] The drawers 15,19,20 having several different sizes of depth and having adjustable dividers 17, top of the nail/manicure mobile cart 7 which may be also be lockable 11 and may be of different depths in size with adjustable dividers 17. The door(s) 3,4 and top 7 have hinges 2 for opening and closing. FIG. 5 is a drawer 15 showing the adjustable dividers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733