DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 4-8) and species iii (claim 7) in the reply filed on 9/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Group I (claims 1-3) and species iv (claim 8) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al (US 20150015639 A1) in view of Morimoto (US 20100221507 A1).
Regarding claims 4-5, Ito teaches an aqueous inkjet ink composition comprising a pigment [0132-0135], a polymer dispersant [0139-0140], an organic amine [0113], and water [0125-0126].
The pigment reads on the claimed at least one organic coloring material.
The polymer dispersant includes a polymer having a carboxyl group and an acid value of from 25 mg KOH/g to 100 mg KOH/g [0149]. This reads on the claimed anionic resin containing a carboxyl group. The acid value overlaps the claimed acid value of 50 mgKOH/g or greater and 300 mgKOH/g or less. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The organic amine helps to improve stability [0010].
Ito does not teach that the organic amine includes the linear monoalkylamine represented by the claimed formulas (1) to (5).
In the same field of endeavor, Morimoto teaches an inkjet ink composition containing (A) an azo pigment, (B) a polymer dispersant, and (E) an amine compound which improves stability [0018, 0137]. The amine compound includes 3-butoxypropylamine [0144].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use 3-butoxypropylamine as the organic amine in Ito’s composition for the purpose of improving stability. The 3-butoxypropylamine reads on the claimed formula (1) wherein a=2, b=3.
Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches that the composition comprises glycerin, diethylene glycol, triethylene glycol, tetraethylene glycol, etc. [0280], which read on the claimed moisturizer as evidenced by the applicant [00119 spec.].
Ito teaches that the composition comprises surfactant as a surface tension adjuster including anionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant, a nonionic surfactant [0287-288], which reads on the claimed surface tension adjuster as evidenced by the applicant [00122-00124].
Regarding claim 7, Ito teaches that the polymer dispersant is a copolymer of (meth)acrylic acid [0146], which reads on the claimed copolymer that contains an addition polymerizable monomer containing the anionic functional group as a constituent monomer.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762