DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the anchorage mountings of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Schiffer (DE 103 02 212).
Regarding claim 1, Schiffer discloses Electric or hybrid car (fig 1) comprising: - a pair of front wheels (fig 1) and a pair of rear wheels (fig 1); - an outer body having a floor (generally outer body 2 and floor 3, fig 2), a front bonnet (fig 1), a roof (generally at 4, fig 2), and a windscreen (5) extending between the front bonnet and the roof; and - a passenger compartment (fig 2) formed within said outer body between said front and rear wheels, bounded at the front by said windscreen and defining at least one driver's position (15) and one front passenger's position (15) side by side (fig 2); wherein the floor comprises at least one pair of oblique side members (shown in dotted lines of fig 4) converging from a front portion and/or from a rear portion of the floor towards a central portion of the floor, which comprises a central node to which one end of each oblique side member is mounted (center of X shape created by oblique members shown in dotted lines of fig 4); characterised in that it further comprises a central pillar (10) extending within said passenger compartment between said floor and said roof and arranged in correspondence with an intermediate longitudinal axis of said passenger compartment between said driver's position and said front passenger position (figs 2, 4); wherein said central pillar comprises a first end connected to said central node and a second end connected to said roof (at least figs 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Schiffer discloses wherein said outer body further comprises two front flanks extending to opposite sides of said front bonnet, and two opposing rear flanks aligned with, and spaced from, said respective front flanks and in which each of said front flank and the corresponding rear flank delimit between themselves and with said floor and said roof a single, totally free side door compartment (at least figs 1, 4 wherein these limitations simply describe conventional vehicle body structures).
Regarding claim 3, Schiffer discloses wherein said outer body further comprises two windscreen pillars (generally at 7, figs 1 and 4) which laterally contain said windscreen and protrude superiorly from said respective front sides up to touch said roof, and wherein each of said single side door compartment is also delimited laterally by said windscreen pillar (figs).
Regarding claim 4, Schiffer discloses wherein said central pillar has a main portion substantially plate-shaped, parallel to said longitudinal axis, and an upper end portion which widens towards said roof from said main portion (see annotated fig below).
Regarding claim 5, Schiffer discloses wherein said passenger compartment has, between said driver's seat and said front passenger's seat, a central tunnel; and wherein said central pillar crosses said central tunnel to extend from said central node to said roof (figs 2 and 4 at least inasmuch as is the case in the instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Schiffer discloses wherein said roof has a central portion laterally tapered with respect to a front portion and a rear portion; and wherein said central pillar is arranged in correspondence with said tapered central portion of said roof (at least figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Schiffer discloses wherein said passenger compartment further comprises at least two rear passenger seats arranged on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis (rear seats 19, at least fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Schiffer discloses wherein said floor comprises at least four slanted side members, of which one pair of rear side members and one pair of front side members (fig 4, shown in dotted lines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzoni (US 2023/0347987) in view of Favaretto (EP 3 674 122) [provided by Applicant].
Regarding claim 1, Manzoni discloses an electric or hybrid car (fig 1) comprising: - a pair of front wheels (2, fig 1) and a pair of rear wheels (3, fig 1); - an outer body having a floor, a front bonnet, a roof, and a windscreen extending between the front bonnet and the roof (at least Abst, fig 1); and - a passenger compartment (at least Abst, fig 1) formed within said outer body between said front and rear wheels, bounded at the front by said windscreen and defining at least one driver's position and one front passenger's position side by side (at least Abst, fig 1); further comprising a central pillar (20) extending within said passenger compartment between said floor and said roof and arranged in correspondence with an intermediate longitudinal axis of said passenger compartment between said driver's position and said front passenger position (at least fig 2).
Manzoni does not specifically disclose wherein the floor comprises at least one pair of oblique side members converging from a front portion and/or from a rear portion of the floor towards a central portion of the floor, which comprises a central node to which one end of each oblique side member is mounted; wherein said central pillar comprises a first end connected to said central node and a second end connected to said roof.
However, at least Favaretto discloses an electric or hybrid car comprising wherein the floor comprises at least one pair of oblique side members converging from a front portion and/or from a rear portion of the floor towards a central portion of the floor, which comprises a central node to which one end of each oblique side member is mounted (at least fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the electric vehicle battery floor mounting technique of Favaretto with the central pillar body and frame technique of Manzoni to provide wherein the floor comprises at least one pair of oblique side members converging from a front portion and/or from a rear portion of the floor towards a central portion of the floor, which comprises a central node to which one end of each oblique side member is mounted; wherein said central pillar comprises a first end connected to said central node and a second end connected to said roof, since it would have provided an upgraded vehicle arrangement, since vehicles are more commonly utilizing a central battery arrangement for electric vehicles over traditional vehicle structure and such an arrangement would have provided structural rigidity to the passenger compartment and battery pack arrangement.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Manzoni in view of Favaretto discloses wherein said outer body further comprises two front flanks extending to opposite sides of said front bonnet, and two opposing rear flanks aligned with, and spaced from, said respective front flanks and in which each of said front flank and the corresponding rear flank delimit between themselves and with said floor and said roof a single, totally free side door compartment; wherein said outer body further comprises two windscreen pillars which laterally contain said windscreen and protrude superiorly from said respective front sides up to touch said roof, and wherein each of said single side door compartment is also delimited laterally by said windscreen pillar (at least figs 1-3 and associated description of Manzoni).
Regarding claim 4, Manzoni in view of Favaretto discloses wherein said central pillar has a main portion (21) substantially plate-shaped, parallel to said longitudinal axis, and an upper end portion (22) which widens towards said roof from said main portion (at least fig 2 of Manzoni).
Regarding claim 5, Manzoni in view of Favaretto discloses wherein said passenger compartment has, between said driver's seat and said front passenger's seat, a central tunnel (19); and wherein said central pillar crosses said central tunnel to extend from said central node to said roof (at least figs 2-3 of Manzoni in view of combination above).
Regarding claims 6-7, Manzoni in view of Favaretto discloses wherein said roof has a central portion laterally tapered with respect to a front portion and a rear portion; and wherein said central pillar is arranged in correspondence with said tapered central portion of said roof; wherein said passenger compartment further comprises at least two rear passenger seats (17) arranged on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis (at least figs 1-3 of Manzoni).
Regarding claim 8, Manzoni in view of Favaretto discloses wherein said centre pillar defines on its opposite sides respective anchorage mountings for seat belt restraint systems for the driver's position and for the front passenger's position (at least fig 2, para 40 of Manzoni).
Regarding claims 9-12, Manzoni in view of Favaretto discloses wherein said floor comprises at least four slanted side members (at least BF11, SBR of fig 7 of Favaretto), of which one pair of rear side members and one pair of front side members; wherein the floor comprises a front cross-member (front end of BF1) extending transversely from side to side of the automobile (fig 7 inasmuch as is the case in the instant application); wherein the pair of front side members extends from the front cross-member converging at the centre node (at least fig 7); wherein said floor accommodates at least one battery pack (generally at BT2), in particular surrounding the oblique side members (at least fig 7); wherein said battery pack comprises a plurality of cylindrical batteries arranged with their own axis of rotation perpendicular to a plane of said floor, so as to occupy all available space within at least one triangular structure (at least fig 7, paragraphs 71-83 of Favaretto).
Conclusion
JACOB B. MEYER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3613
/JACOB B MEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613