DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art document(s) submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 2/27/2024 have all been considered and made of record (Note the attached copy of form PTO-892).
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stratton et al. in US 20240069336 A1 (hereinafter "Stratton").
Regarding claim 1, Stratton discloses a waveguide (see Fig. 2-3; see Para. 25 and 30) comprising:
a volume of optically transparent material (necessary property of waveguides; they must be optically transparent to some wavelengths; volume is a necessary property of real objects); and
a diffraction grating carried by the volume of optically transparent material (Fig. 3 shows a cross-section where a diffraction grating is supported by, and thus interpreted as carried by, the volume of optically transparent material), wherein the diffraction grating comprises:
one or more diffraction features comprising one or more apodization features (Fig. 2 shows the diffraction grating 210 has grooveless regions 206 and 208 which change towards the edges of 210 and thus is interpreted as an apodization feature); and
one or more grooves adjacent to the one or more diffraction feature (206 and 208 are adjacent to grooves 202 and 204; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the one or more diffraction features comprises at least one portion separated by one or more sub-wavelength features (one or more diffraction features comprises at least one portion separated by one or more sub-wavelength features since Para. 29 discloses a 350 nm diffraction period which is below the visible wavelengths of light used in the device).
Regarding claim 3, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the one or more apodization features are implemented by varying a ratio of a filled region of a diffraction ratio to a total period (see Fig. 4 where the duty cycle may be varied as a ratio of a filled region of a diffraction ratio to a total period; see Para. 33, “ON” is interpreted as the filled region, “OFF” is interpreted as an unfilled region).
Regarding claim 4, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the one or more apodization features are implemented at a portion of one or more edges of the one or more diffraction features (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein the one or more apodization features includes one or more sub-wavelength features disposed at the one or more diffraction features (one or more apodization features includes one or more sub-wavelength features disposed at the one or more diffraction features since Para. 29 discloses a 350 nm diffraction period which is below the visible wavelengths of light used in the device).
Regarding claim 7, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein the one or more apodization features are implemented by varying a ratio of a grating line width of the one or more diffraction features to a grating pitch between successive diffraction features of the one or more diffraction features (the duty cycle is a measure of how much of a period, or pitch, is groove and how much is ridge, i.e., grating line width; Stratton teaches varying duty cycle over the surface of the grating; see Para. 25-30).
Regarding claim 8, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 7 as discussed above, wherein the one or more apodization features includes a first grating bar and a second grating bar, the first grating bar is adjacent to the second grating bar, the first grating bar has a first grating line width greater in size than a second grating line width of the second grating bar (see Fig. 2A where grating bars such as 206 and 208 are adjacent; each grating bar is different from one directly adjacent and thus one is necessarily larger than the other; these increase in size from right to left as viewed in Fig. 2A while groove size decreases).
Regarding claim 9, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 7 as discussed above, wherein the one or more apodization features includes a first grating bar and a second grating bar, the first grating bar is adjacent to the second grating bar, the grating pitch increases between the successive diffraction features of the one or more diffraction features (annotated Fig. 2B shows the grating pitch increasing between two successive diffraction features).
Regarding claim 10, Stratton discloses a set of augmented reality glasses implementing the waveguide of claim 1 as discussed above (see Para. 35 and see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stratton et al. in US 20240069336 A1 (hereinafter "Stratton") in view of Saarikko et al. in US 20160231568 A1 (hereinafter "Saarikko") and as evidenced by Kuo in US 20220381991 A1 (hereinafter "Kuo").
Regarding claim 5, Stratton discloses the waveguide of claim 4 as discussed above, but fails to teach wherein the one or more apodization features are implemented by varying a height of the one or more diffraction features.
Saarikko teaches a similar device wherein the one or more apodization features are implemented by varying a height of the one or more diffraction features (see Fig. 11A and Para. 130).
Kuo provides evidence that apodization may be accomplished with width or height variance (see Fig. 3; see Para. 8 and 28) thus both are known structures for accomplishing apodization.
Therefore, because these two were art-recognized equivalents, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute height variance for width variance.
Conclusion
/DARBY M. THOMASON/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874