DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application filed on 02/27/2024, claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/487,078, filed on 02/27/2023, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/512,466, filed on 07/07/2023, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/519,992, filed on 08/16/2023, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/602,888, filed on 11/27/2023, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/603,262, filed on 11/28/2023, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/603,886, filed on 11/29/2023, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/553,321, filed on 02/14/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 05/07/2024, 02/12/2025, 04/15/2025, 12/12/2025, 04/24/2026, 06/04/2026, 07/08/2026 and 08/27/2026, complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits, except where noted.
DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 08/13/2026 that amended claim 65, is acknowledged. Claims 1-66 are pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s response filed on 08/13/2026 to Restriction/Election Requirement filed on 07/01/2026, is acknowledged. Applicant elected with traverse Group I drawn to a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg of a compound of Formula (I-3), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof. Claims 1-23, 65, and 66 read on the elected Group. Claims 24-47, 48-56 and 57-64 of Groups II, III and IV are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Pursuant to the Election of Species Requirement, Applicant respectively elected with traverse 1. a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) as species of the disclosed salts; 2. a solid dosage form as the species of the disclosed compositions; 3. an administration regimen of first dose and second dose three weeks apart (±3 days) as the species of the disclosed regimens; and 4. major depressive disorder as the species of the disclosed disorders. Claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 read on the elected species. Claims 10-17 and 24-64 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Thus, claims 1-66 are pending with claims 10-17 and 24-64 are withdrawn, and claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 are currently under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Applicant takes the position that searching the subject matter of all three groups would not present a burden for the Examiner. This is at least because Groups I, III, and IV are directed to a method of treating a depressive disorder with the same compound (Formula I-3) in the same amount. Indeed, claim 23 in Group I and claim 56 in Group III specify that the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy, and Group IV is directed toward an adjunctive therapy method in a subject taking an antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment. As such, Applicant takes the position that, by searching Group I, the Examiner is de facto searching Groups II, III, and IV, and respectfully requests rejoinder of these groups.
Examiner response:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Group I is directed to a method of treating depressive disorder by administering specific dosage amount of a specific crystalline form of a salt of compound I-3 with specific treatment regimen e.g., two doses 1-4 weeks apart. Group III, while directed to a method of treating depressive disorder, the method requires administering a specific composition (solid, liquid, etc.) with specific components e.g., vehicle, polymers, etc. For example, the method of Group III requires formula I-3 and citric acid. Group IV is directed to adjuvant therapy targeting treatment of different subjects, and involves different agents, i.e., antidepressant agents, serotonin, noradrenaline, etc., for example. Groups I and IV have materially different designs, modes of action, functions, and effects. The Examiner stated reasons for serious search burden for examining Groups I, III, and IV together, such as that the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; (b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter i.e., a method vs. a composition; (c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). Moreover, the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to other inventions. For these reasons, the restriction requirement is deemed to be proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim interpretation
Examination requires claim terms first be construed in terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. See MPEP § 2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01. It is also appropriate to look to how the claim term is used in the prior art, which includes prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries. MPEP § 2111.01 (III). However, specific embodiments of the specification cannot be imported into the claims, particularly where the subject claim limitation is broader than the embodiment. MPEP § 2111.01(II).
Instant claim 1 directed to a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising administering orally to the subject about 8-16 mg of compound I-3:
The instant specification recites:
It will be clear to those of skill in the art that a compound represented by a particular chemical structure (the subject compound) containing indicated deuterium atoms, will also contain lesser amounts of isotopologues having hydrogen atoms at one or more of the designated deuterium positions in that structure. However, as set forth herein, the relative amount of such isotopologues in total will preferably be less than 50% of the compound. With respect to the dosage amounts recited herein (e.g., 10 mg, 12 mg, 14 mg, 16 mg, etc.), it should be understood that the recited dosage amounts of the compound of Formula (I-3) (or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof) refer to the amount of the subject compound plus the total amount of any isotopologues(s) thereof that is dosed. For example, administration of 10 mg of a compound of Formula (I-3) (or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof) which has an isotopic purity of 90% is considered herein to be a dose of 10 mg (i.e., 9 mg of psilocin-d10 as the subject compound + 1 mg of total isotopologues of the subject compound). [page 25]. In some embodiments, any position in the compound of Formula (I-3) indicated as having deuterium has a minimum deuterium incorporation that is greater than that found naturally occurring in hydrogen (about 0.016 atom %). In some embodiments, any position in the compound of Formula (I-3) indicated as having deuterium has a minimum deuterium incorporation of at least 10 atom %, at least 20 atom %, at least 25 atom %, at least 30 atom %, at least 40 atom %, at least 45 atom %, at least 50 atom %, at least 60 atom %, at least 70 atom %, at least 80 atom %, at least 90 atom %, at least 95 atom %, at least 99 atom % at the site of deuteration. Typically, any position in the compound of Formula (I-3) indicated as having deuterium has a minimum deuterium incorporation of at least 40 atom %, at least 45 atom %, at least 50 atom %, at least 60 atom %, at least 70 atom %, at least 80 atom %, at least 90 atom %, at least 95 atom %, at least 99 atom % at the site of deuteration. [page 47].
As such, the claimed compound is interpreted as psilocin-d10 with percentage of deuterium at all
the site of deuteration of at least greater than the natural abundance of deuterium in hydrogen i.e., at least 10%-99%.
Abstract
The Abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract recites “the present disclosure relates generally to”. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Objection to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. The hyperlink is recited on page 1, line 26. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
§ 103 Rejection over Nivorozhkin
Claims 1-8, 18, and 65-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. Nivorozhkin et al. (US PG-PUB 20240174607 A1, 05/30/2024, “Nivorozhkin” (Effective Filing Date 03/18/2021) cited in the IDS dated 02/12/2025).
Prior Art Effect of Nivorozhkin
The earliest possible effective filing date of the subject claims is that of priority document No. 63/487,078, filed on 02/27/2023 (see Priority section above). Nivorozhkin is effective prior art under 35 USC § 102(a)(2) respecting the subject matter cited in this rejection as of the filing date of Nivorozhkin priority document US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749 (03/18/2021) because: (1) Nivorozhkin is U.S. patent application publication; (2) names another inventor; and (3) the subject matter of Nivorozhkin relied upon in this rejection is disclosed in Nivorozhkin’s priority document US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749 (03/18/2021). See MPEP § 2154.01; 35 USC § 102(d). Thus, the effective filing date of the subject matter relied upon in this rejection is 03/18/2021, which is before the claims’ earlies possible effective filing date of 02/27/2023. See MPEP § 2154.01; 35 USC § 102(d).
Joint Inventorship
Note: The prior art effect of Nivorozhkin and the Joint Inventorship are applied to all of the following 103 Rejections as Nivorozhkin is the primary reference for all the 103 Rejection.
Nivorozhkin teaches method of treating a subject with a disease or disorder associated with a serotonin 5-HT2 receptor, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of compound I-3, wherein the salt is benzenesulfonate salt [[0022], [0029] [0069][, wherein the central nervous system (CNS) disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD). [0074]:1
Nivorozhkin method differ from instantly claimed method of “treating a depressive disorder in a subject” is that Nivorozhkin does not teach administering to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
However, Nivorozhkin teaches that the amount of compound I-3 above is about 2 to about 100 mg, about 10 mg, about 20 mg2, about 30 mg, etc., in either free base or salt form, as active pharmaceutical ingredient (API), wherein the amount can be varied or adjusted within the above ranges as deemed appropriate using sound medical judgment, according to the particular application, administration route, etc. [0403]. Nivorozhkin teaches that “term “about” in association with a numerical value means that the value varies up or down by 5%.” [0310]. Thus, the amount 20 is equivalent to 19 (20x -5% = 19), whereas the claimed amount 16 is equivalent to 16.8 according to instant specification definition to the term “about in association with a numerical value means that the value varies up or down by 5%”, page 26.
As described in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Therefore, the teaching of Nivorozhkin meet each and every limitation of claims 1-8, 18 and 65.
Claim 66 is met because Nivorozhkin teaches that the method include administration of an oral dosage form of the compound I-3 and a carrier e.g., water [0411], [0452].3 Note that the instant specification described the aqueous medium as water, juice, saline, etc. [page 56].
§ 103 Rejection over Nivorozhkin in view of Barth and Morissette
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. Nivorozhkin et al. (US PG-PUB 2024/0174607 A1, 05/30/2024, “Nivorozhkin” (Effective Filing Date 03/18/2021) cited in the IDS dated 02/12/2025) as applied above to claims 1-8, 18 and 65-66 in view of W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892).
The disclosures set forth above in the 103 Rejection over the same Nivorozhkin et al. reference are herein incorporated by reference.
Moreover, Nivorozhkin teaches that the compound I-3 and the benzenesulfonate salt of I-3 are crystalline form determined by X-ray powder diffraction (XRPD). Nivorozhkin teaches that crystalline forms are advantageous in terms of stability and providing well-defined physical properties, which is desirable for pharmaceutical preparation and administration [0343].4 However, Nivorozhkin does not teach the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of I-3.
In the same art area of pharmaceutical preparations and their use in treating disease, Barth teaches the following:
“[c]rystalline forms of compounds are ordinarily preferable to the non-crystalline forms thereof. The crystalline materials have superior stability, appearance and handling characteristics when compared to their amorphous counterparts. For pharmaceutical use crystalline compounds are especially advantageous in manufacturing procedures and in formation and use of acceptable dosage forms such as solutions, suspensions, elixirs, tablets, capsules and various pharmaceutically elegant preparations required by the medical and pharmaceutical professions.” [Pg. 2, col. 1, ln. 60- col. 2, ln. 2].
Morissette teaches an automated high-throughput crystallization to form polymorphs, salts, co-crystals and solvate forms of pharmaceuticals [Title, abstract]. The prior art describes the successful application of the automated high-throughput technique to several known pharmaceuticals and details how thousands of crystallization conditions can be performed in parallel, computer analyzed and then used to produce the polymorphic forms of a given pharmaceutical [Page 296, para. 2].
At the time of invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare crystalline form of the Nivorozhkin’s benzenesulfonate salt of compound I-3 because Nivorozhkin teaches the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of I-3and XRPD are determined, and that crystalline forms are preferred for stability and solubility, and Barth teaches that crystalline forms are preferred over non-crystalline forms; have superior stability; are preferred in formulation of dosage forms; and are advantageous in manufacturing procedures. [page 2, col. 1, ln. 60- col. 2, ln. 2].
One of ordinary skill in the art practicing the Nivorozhkin’s pharmaceutical compound I-3 benzenesulfonate salt would form a crystalline form in accordance with the specific teaching of Nivorozhkin’s. Utilizing the routine “High-throughput salt selection” taught by Morissette [page 285-287] one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed invention. Specifically, because Nivorozhkin teaches preparing the benzenesulfonate salt of I-3 in crystalline form. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention.
In the instant case one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in following the teaching of Nivorozhkin and utilizing the well-known and routine automated high-throughput screening described by Morissette arrive at the claimed invention because such acts are conventional and routine in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be expected to apply methods within their technical grasp (such as automated high-throughput screening) to improve that which is already known in the art. The Supreme Court stated in KSR “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill.” KSR Intern. Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1731 (2007). Here, the use of an automated system to screen a pharmaceutical salt for crystallization is well known and specifically taught by Morissette. Therefore, the method is within the technical grasp of those of ordinary skill in the art and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the same method and apply it to the Nivorozhkin compound.
Regarding the spectroscopic characterization of the obvious product, such properties are inherent in the product (MPEP 2112.02: "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered producing the crystalline salt form 5 which would inherently show the same spectroscopic parameters as are in the claim. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, or ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977). Thus, claim 9 rejected as prima facie obvious.
§ 103 Rejection over Nivorozhkin in view of Slassi
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. Nivorozhkin et al. (US PG-PUB 2024/0174607 A1, 05/30/2024, “Nivorozhkin” (Effective Filing Date 03/18/2021) cited in the IDS dated 02/12/2025) as applied above to claims 1-8, 18 and 65-66 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892).
The disclosures set forth above in the 103 Rejection over the same Nivorozhkin et al. reference are herein incorporated by reference.
Nivorozhkin teaches that compound I-3 benzenesulfonate salt administered at once, or multiple times at intervals of time, wherein the precise dosage and duration of treatment may vary with the age, weight, and condition of the patient being treated, and may be determined empirically using known testing protocols or by extrapolation according to the individual need and the professional judgment. In the case wherein the patient's condition does not improve, upon the doctor's discretion the compounds may be administered chronically, that is, for an extended period of time, including throughout the duration of the patient's life in order to ameliorate or otherwise control or limit the symptoms of the patient's disease or condition, and in the case wherein the patient's status does improve, upon the doctor's discretion the compounds may be given continuously or temporarily suspended for a certain length of time (i.e., a “drug holiday”), and a maintenance dose is administered if necessary. Subsequently, the dosage or the frequency of administration, or both, can be reduced, as a function of the symptoms, to a level at which the improved disorder is retained. Patients can, however, require intermittent treatment on a long-term basis upon any recurrence of symptoms. [[0404]-[0407]].5 However, Nivorozhkin does not specifically teach that the interval time between two doses is one to four weeks apart.
In the same ground of endeavor, Slassi teaches a method of treating depression disorders by administering psilocin derivatives, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, for example, compound I-45 below [Title, [0212]-[0213], Fig. 2]:
Slassi teaches that salts include benzenesulfonate [0187]. Slassi teaches that in an embodiment, the compounds are administered to the subject from about one time per two weeks, one time in three weeks or one month.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the interval time between two doses of Nivorozhkin compound I-3 benzenesulfonate salt to be one to four weeks apart, for example three weeks apart. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because Slassi teaches a method of treating depressive disorder by administering salt of compound I-45 above e.g., benzenesulfonates salt three week apart, which is substantially identical to Nivorozhkin’s method, thus, skilled artisan have access to Slassi and Nivorozhkin teachings that “precise dosage and duration of treatment may vary with the age, weight, and condition of the patient, and the professional judgment, would select three weeks apart as the time interval. Therefore, claims 21 and 22 are prima facie obvious over the combination of Nivorozhkin and Slassi.
Regarding claim 23, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer Nivorozhkin’s compound I-3 as adjunctive therapy with reasonable expectation of success because Nivorozhkin teaches that the compound is co-formulated with other active ingredients which do not impair the desired therapeutic action, or with substances that supplement the desired action6, and Slassi teaches that the psilocin, I-45 is administered in combination with agent useful for treatment of depressive disorder such as selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) [0228]-[0230], wherein the psilocin and the other agent e.g., SSRI are administered contemporaneously or non-contemporaneously [0244].
§ 103 Rejection over Nivorozhkin in view of Muller
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. Nivorozhkin et al. (US PG-PUB 2024/0174607 A1, 05/30/2024, “Nivorozhkin” (Effective Filing Date 03/18/2021) cited in the IDS dated 02/12/2025) as applied above to claims 1-8, 18 and 65-66 in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892).
The disclosures set forth above in the 103 Rejection over the same Nivorozhkin et al. reference are herein incorporated by reference.
While Nivorozhkin teaches that the method target subject in need thereof, and that the treatment and dosing are depending on patients’ conditions, and teaches that the subject suffers from familial history and suffering for recurring symptoms of the depressive disorder,7 Nivorozhkin does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis teaches the use of psilocin for the treatment of severe major depression disorder. [Abstract].
Muller teaches that DSM-5 and MADRS are well known rating scale and diagnoses method for major depression disorder diagnoses [whole documents, Introduction].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of instantly claimed invention to use Nivorozhkin’s compound I-3 in treating moderate to severe major depression disorder in view of the teachings of Plakogiannis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because Plakogiannis teaches the use of psilocin for the treatment of severe major depression disorder and Nivorozhkin’s compound I-3 is a derivative of psilocin, Nivorozhkin teaches the use of I-3 for treating subject in need thereof and subject suffers recurring symptoms of the depressive disorder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with reasonable expectation of success to diagnose the major depressive disorder with DSM-5 and MADRS because Muller teaches that DSM-5 and MADRS are well known rating scales and diagnoses method for major depression disorder diagnoses. Therefore, the combination of Nivorozhkin, Plakogiannis and Muller meet the limitation of claim 19.
With regard to claim 20 limitation “the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on MADRS”, Nivorozhkin, Plakogiannis and Muller teaches a method of treat severe major depressive disorder whereas the major depressive disorder is diagnose by DSM-5 and MADRS . Nivorozhkin, Plakogiannis and Muller are silent on the subject score on MADRS but otherwise teaches a substantially identical method as claimed. As such, it is reasonable to presume that the resulting score is inherently equal to 21. The burden is on Applicant(s) to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See MPEP 2112
Double Patenting
Double Patenting over US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2
Claims 1-9, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8-11, 18 and 22-23 of US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 recites a crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of compound of Formula (I-3), including the XRPD of the crystalline form,
US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 specification recites a method of using compound I-3 above for treating major depressive disorders. [page 12].
MPEP 804 states: The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999) ("[W]ords in patent claims are given their ordinary meaning in the usage of the field of the invention, unless the text of the patent makes clear that a word was used with a special meaning."); Renishaw PLC v. Marposs Societa' per Azioni, 158 F.3d 1243, 1250, 48 USPQ2d 1117, 1122 (Fed. Cir. 1998) ("Where there are several common meanings for a claim term, the patent disclosure serves to point away from the improper meanings and toward the proper meanings."). "The Patent and Trademark Office (‘PTO’) determines the scope of the claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction ‘in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art.’ " Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc) (quoting In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also MPEP § 2111.01. Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the reference claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the reference patent or application (as distinguished from an obvious variation of the subject matter disclosed in the reference patent or application). In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 441-42, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970). The court in Vogel recognized "that it is most difficult, if not meaningless, to try to say what is or is not an obvious variation of a claim," but that one can judge whether or not the invention claimed in an application is an obvious variation of an embodiment disclosed in the patent or application which provides support for the claim. According to the court, one must first "determine how much of the patent disclosure pertains to the invention claimed in the patent" because only "[t]his portion of the specification supports the patent claims and may be considered." The court pointed out that "this use of the disclosure is not in contravention of the cases forbidding its use as prior art, nor is it applying the patent as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103, since only the disclosure of the invention claimed in the patent may be examined." In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
However, US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 does not recite administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
Slassi teaches as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. Moreover, Slassi teaches that compound I-45 is administered at a dose of 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. [0245].
As described in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Therefore, the teachings of US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 in view of Slassi meet each and every limitation of claims 1-9, 18 and 65-66.
Claims 21-23 are obvious over the same rationale discussed above, page 15.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8-11, 18 and 22-23 of US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent No. 12,735,386 B2 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 16-17.
Double Patenting over US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2
Claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2of US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 recites a pharmaceutical composition, comprising a polymer, and a compound of Formula (III-d), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein: R2 is hydrogen; R6 and R7 are hydrogen; and R8 and R9 are —CD3:
The US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 specification describes salt as benzenesulfonate salt. [col. 81].
US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 specification recites a method of using compound III-d above for treating major depressive disorders. [col. 74]. MPEP 804 states: The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. The court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. [see page 19-20 above].
However, US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 does not recite administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
Slassi teaches as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. Moreover, Slassi teaches that compound I-45 is administered at a dose of 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. [0245].
The obviousness rationale of claims 1-9, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 is similar to the rationale of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection above, page 20-21.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of in view of W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 does not recite the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of III-d.
Barth and Morissette teach as discussed above, page 11-12.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 12-13.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent No. 11,958,807 B2 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 16-17.
Double Patenting over US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2
Claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 6 of US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 recites a compound of Formula (III-d), wherein: R2 is hydrogen; R6 and R7 are hydrogen, deuterium and halogen; and R8 and R9 are deuterated methyl or ethyl:
The US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 specification describes salt as benzenesulfonate salt. [col. 82].
US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 specification recites a method of using compound III-d above for treating major depressive disorders. [col. 74]. MPEP 804 states: The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. The court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. [see page 19 above].
However, US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 does not recite administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
Slassi teaches as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. Moreover, Slassi teaches that compound I-45 is administered at a dose of 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. [0245].
The obviousness rationale of claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 is similar to the rationale of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection above, page 20-21.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 6 of US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of in view of W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 does not recite the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of III-d.
Barth and Morissette teach as discussed above, page 11-12
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 12-13
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 6 of US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent No. 11,242,318 B2 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 Rejection above, page 16-17.
Double Patenting over co-pending Application 18/720,922
Claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 54-59 of co-pending Application 18/720,922 (US PG-PUB 2025/0051279 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
Co-pending Application 18/720,922 recites A method of treating a patient with a central nervous system (CNS) disorder and/or psychological disorder, comprising: administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of 2-(1H-indol-3-yl)-N,N-bis(methyl-ds)ethan-1-amine- 1,1,2,2-d4.
The co-pending Application 18/720,922 specification describes salt as benzenesulfonate salt. [page 95].
However, co-pending Application 18/720,922 does not recite administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
Slassi teaches as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. Moreover, Slassi teaches that compound I-45 is administered at a dose of 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. [0245].
The obviousness rationale of claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 is similar to the rationale of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection above, page 20-21.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 54-59 of co-pending Application 18/720,922 (US20250051279A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US20220324889A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of in view of W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application 18/720,922 does not recite the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of III-d.
Barth and Morissette teach as discussed above, page 11-12.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 12-13.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 54-59 of co-pending Application 18/720,922 (US PG-PUB 2025/0051279 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application 18/720,922 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 16-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting over co-pending Application 18/852,115
Claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 15 and 18-26 of co-pending Application 18/852,115 (US PG-PUB 2026/0240901 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
Co-pending Application 18/852,115 recites A method of treating a subject with a central nervous system (CNS) disorder or a psychiatric disease, the method comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of 2-(1H-indol-3-yl)-N,N-bis(methyl-d3)ethan-1-amine- 1,1,2,2-d4.
The co-pending Application 18/852,115 specification describes salt as benzenesulfonate salt. [page 73].
However, co-pending Application 18/852,115 does not recite administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
Slassi teaches as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. Moreover, Slassi teaches that compound I-45 is administered at a dose of 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. [0245].
The obviousness rationale of claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 is similar to the rationale of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection above, page 20-21.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 15 and 18-26 of co-pending Application 18/852,115 (US PG-PUB 2026/0240901 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of in view of W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application 18/852,115 does not recite the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of III-d.
Barth and Morissette teach as discussed above, page 11-12.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 12-13.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 15 and 18-26 of co-pending Application 18/852,115 (US PG-PUB 2026/0240901 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application 18/852,115 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 16-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting over co-pending Application 18/707,825
Claims 1-9, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 14, 24-26, 28-29, 33-34, 39-40, 80-84, and 89-95 of co-pending Application 18/707,825 (US PG-PUB 2025/0213527 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
Co-pending Application 18/707,825 recites method of treating a subject with a disease or disorder associated with a serotonin 5-HT2 receptor, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition of crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt compound I-3, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered to the subject in an amount which provides the compound of Formula (I) at a psychedelic dose of about 0.083 mg/kg to about 5 mg/kg.
For human subject with average weight of 60 kg, 0.083- 5 mg/kg calculates to 4.98-300 mg. thus, 18/707,825 amount encompasses the claimed amount of 8-16 mg. As described in the MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Therefore, Co-pending Application 18/707,825 meet each and every limitation of claims 1-9, 18 and 65-66.
The obviousness rationale of claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 is similar to the rationale of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection above, page 20-21.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 14, 24-26, 28-29, 33-34, 39-40, 80-84, 89-95 of co-pending Application 18/707,825 (US PG-PUB 2025/0213527 A1) in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application 18/707,825 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 Rejection above, page 16-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting over copending Application No. 18/600,018
Claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-17 of copending Application No. 18/600,018 (US PG-PUB 2024/0270691 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 recite a method of treating a depressive disorder in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg (free base equivalence) of a compound of Formula (1-3) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, polymorph, or solvate thereof, wherein a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the compound of Formula (1-3) is a benzenesulfonate salt of the compound of Formula (1-3), wherein the depressive disorder is major depressive disorder (MDD), wherein, prior to treatment, the subject has been diagnosed with moderate to severe major depressive disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5), and the subject has scored greater than or equal to 21 on the Montgomery-Asberg Depression Scale (MADRS), wherein doses are administered to the subject one to four weeks apart, wherein the subject is taking antidepressant medication as part of ongoing treatment and the method is used as adjunctive therapy:
Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 recites an oral dosage form, comprising: a compound of Formula (III-d), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein: R2 is hydrogen; R6 and R7 are hydrogen; and R8 and R9 are -CD3.
Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 specification describes salt as benzenesulfonate salt. [col. 114].
Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 specification recites a method of using compound III-d above for treating major depressive disorders. [115]. MPEP 804 states: The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. The court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. [see page 19-20 above].
However, Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 does not recite administering orally to the subject about 8 mg to about 16 mg.
Slassi teaches as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. Moreover, Slassi teaches that compound I-45 is administered at a dose of 10 mg, 20 mg, etc. [0245].
The obviousness rationale of claims 1-8, 18, 21-23 and 65-66 is similar to the rationale of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection above, page 20-21.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-17 of Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 (US PG-PUB 2024/0270691 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of in view of W. Barth et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,987A, 02/21/1984, “Barth”, cited in the PTO-892) and S. Morissette, et al. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, Volume 56, Issue 3, 2004, Pages 275-300, “Morissette” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 does not recite the crystalline form of benzenesulfonate salt of III-d.
Barth and Morissette teach as discussed above, page 11-12.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 12-13.
Claims 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-17 of Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 (US PG-PUB 2024/0270691 A1) in view of A. Slassi et al. (US PG-PUB 2022/0324889 A1, 10/13/2022, “Slassi” cited in the PTO-892), further in view of F. Plakogiannis et al. (US PG-PUB 2021/0322447 A1, 10/21/2021, “Plakogiannis” cited in the PTO-892) and M. Muller et al. Journal of Affective Disorders 77 (2003) 255–260 ”Muller” cited in the PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending Application No. 18/600,018 does not teach that the major depressive disorder is diagnosed with DSM-5 or MADRS as moderate to severe.
Plakogiannis and Muller teaches as discussed above, page 16.
The obviousness rationale is the same as the rationale of the 103 rejection above, page 16-17.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9, 18-23 and 65-66 are rejected.
/M.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622
1 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 3, 3rd compound, page 4.
2 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 18.
3 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 17.
4 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 37, 38, 39.
5 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 19.
6 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 24
7 US Provisional Application No. 63/162,749, page 7, 19