DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the groove comprises: a first axial side having a toroidal shape; and a second axial side, opposite the first axial side, having a conical shape.” (Claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 the location/structure of the groove is unclear. Claim 15 recites that “when the coil is energized, the armature assembly is displaced and the detent is radially displaced out of the groove and rests against the armature assembly”. Parent claim 1 which recites that “an armature assembly comprising a groove”. If the groove is in the armature assembly, who does the detent displace out of thee groove and rest against the armature? Clarification is the structure of the groove is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mantoan [US 2021/0151233].
Claim 1, Mantoan discloses a detent solenoid [105], comprising: an armature assembly [111/113/116] comprising a groove [140/158]; a coil [not shown; paragraph 0020] arranged for displacing the armature assembly; and a detent [155] arranged for seating in the groove [158 is the detent; paragraph 0026].
Claim 3, Mantoan discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 wherein: the armature assembly comprises: an armature [113]; and a shaft [116] fixed in the armature; and the groove [158] is disposed in the shaft [paragraph 0026; figures 4a and 4b].
Claim 4, Mantoan discloses the detent solenoid of claim 3 wherein the armature is made of a ferrous material [paragraph 0020].
Claim 14, Mantoan discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 wherein the detent [155] is seated in the groove [140/158] when the armature assembly is in a rest position [figure 4a].
Claim 15, as best understood, Mantoan discloses the detent solenoid of claim 14 wherein, when the coil is energized, the armature assembly is displaced and the detent is radially displaced out of the groove and rests against the armature assembly [figure 4b].
Claim 17, Mantoan discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 further comprising a second detent [figure 1 discloses 4 detents], wherein: the detent and the second detent are disposed circumferentially opposite one another [figure 1]; and respective central axes of the detent and the second detent are aligned so that radial forces from the detent and the second detent acting on the armature assembly are balanced [figure 1].
Claims 1, 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith [US 3,027,772].
Claim 1, Smith discloses a detent solenoid [figure 2], comprising: an armature assembly [18/20/24] comprising a groove [28/30]; a coil [14] arranged for displacing the armature assembly; and a detent [32] arranged for seating in the groove [figures 1-5].
Claim 2, Smith discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 wherein the groove [28/30] comprises: a first axial side having a toroidal shape [right side in figures 3-5]; and a second axial side [left side in figures 3-5 generally at 46], opposite the first axial side, having a conical shape [due to 38/46].
Claim 17, Smith discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 further comprising a second detent [figure 1 discloses 4 detents], wherein: the detent and the second detent are disposed circumferentially opposite one another [figure 1]; and respective central axes of the detent and the second detent are aligned so that radial forces from the detent and the second detent acting on the armature assembly are balanced [figure 1].
Claims 1, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biser [US 3,308,410].
Claim 1, Biser discloses a detent solenoid [figure 2], comprising: an armature assembly [42/44/54] comprising a groove [60/62]; a coil [18] arranged for displacing the armature assembly; and a detent [64] arranged for seating in the groove [figures 2 AND 3].
Claim 14, Biser discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 wherein the detent [64] is seated in the groove [60/62] when the armature assembly is in a rest position [figure 4].
Claim 16, Biser discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 further comprising a drawn sleeve [20] fixed in the coil [18] and arranged to guide the armature assembly [42/44/54, as shown in figure 2, 20 provides a surface to guide armature portion 42 during actuation].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantoan [US 2021/0151233].
Claim 2, Mantoan discloses the detent solenoid of claim 1 with the exception of wherein the groove comprises: a first axial side having a toroidal shape; and a second axial side, opposite the first axial side, having a conical shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the groove, since applicant has not disclosed that a groove with a first axial side having a toroidal shape; and a second axial side, opposite the first axial side, having a conical shape solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with disclosed groove of Mantoan. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) where the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837