DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 42 lines 4-5 recites “a first filter input to the first filter input” appears to correctly be --a first filter input to the first filter --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-33, 35-38, 41-44, 46-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi US 10,547,288.
31. Takeuchi discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5), comprising:
a first low noise amplifier (LNA; one of 31-36; e.g. 32);
a second low noise amplifier (LNA; one of 31-36; e.g. 31);
a first filter (one(s) of 13A-K; e.g., 13C,D together) comprising a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47) and coupled between an antenna (at terminal 101) and the first and second LNAs, the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first input to the first filter and a first output of the first filter (input of 13C or earlier node and output of 13C); a sub-set (empty set) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the first input to the first filter and a second output of the first filter (input of 13C or earlier node and output of 13D), the second output bypassing a portion (all) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators, wherein the first filter is configured to:
apply a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first input to the first output (signal Bc); and
apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first input and the second output (signal Bd);
a first switch (22A) coupled between the first output of the first filter and the first LNA; and
a second switches (22B) between the second output of the first filter and the second LNA.
32. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the first filter frequency response is configured for a first communication band (signal Bc) and the second filter frequency response is configured for a second communication band different from the first communication band (signal Bd).
33. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising a controller (Takeuchi: part of RFIC 40) configured to: apply one or more control signals configured to close the first switch and open the second switch based on a first operating mode associated with a first communication band; and apply the one or more control signals to open the first switch and close the second switch based on a second operating mode associated with a second communication band, wherein the first filter frequency response is configured for the first communication band and the second filter frequency response is configured for the second communication band (control signals S2A-S2D, etc. for the desired bands).
35. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a third switch (one of 21A-D) coupled between the antenna and the first input to the first filter; a second filter (other filters from 13A-K); a third low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); a fourth switch (other one of 21A-D) coupled between the antenna and the second filter; and a fifth switch (other one of 22A-D) coupled between the second filter and the third LNA.
36. The apparatus of claim 35, further comprising a controller (part of RFIC 40) configured to apply one or more control signals (S1A-S2D) configured to close the second, third, fourth, and fifth switches and open the first switch based on a first operating mode associated with a carrier aggregation mode; and apply the one or more control signals to close the second and third switches and open the first, fourth, and fifth switches based on a second operating mode (Fig. 5, switches controlled to connected as desired for intended operating mode).
37. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a second filter (other one of 13A-13K) including a second input and a third output, wherein the second input is coupled to the first input to the first filter; a third low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); and a third switch (other one of 22A-D) coupled between the third output of the second filter and the third LNA (see Fig. 5).
38. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a third low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); a third switch (other one of 22A-D); and a second filter (other one of 13A-K) including a second input and a third output, wherein the third switch is coupled between the third output of the second filter and the third LNA, wherein the second filter is configured to apply a third filter frequency response to a third signal propagating from the second input to the third output of the second filter (for other signal and responses, Fig. 5).
41. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein at least one of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators includes a surface acoustic wave (SAW) resonator or a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) resonator (Takeuchi: abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47).
42. Takeuchi discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5), comprising:
a first low noise amplifier (LNA 31-36; e.g., 32);
a first filter (one(s) of 13A-K; e.g.., 13C,D together) comprising a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47) and coupled between an antenna and the first LNA, the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first filter input to the first filter and a filter output of the first filter (input of 13 and output of 13C or L16), a sub-set (empty set) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a second filter input to the first filter and the filter output of the first filter (input to 13D and output of 13C or L16), the second filter input to the first filter bypassing a portion (all) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators, wherein the first filter is configured to:
apply a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first filter input to the filter output (for signal Bc); and
apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the second filter input to the filter output (for signal Be);
a first switch (21A; Fig. 3A,B, corresponding 211 or 212) coupled between the antenna and the first filter input; and a second switch (21A; Fig. 3A,B, corresponding 211 or 212) coupled between the antenna and the second filter input.
43. The apparatus of claim 42, wherein the first filter frequency response is configured for a first communication band (signal Bc) and the second filter frequency response is configured for a second communication band (signal Be) different from the first communication band.
44. The apparatus of claim 42, further comprising a controller (part of RFIC 40) configured to: apply one or more control signals (S2A) configured to close the first switch and open the second switch based on a first operating mode associated with a first communication band; and apply the one or more control signals to open the first switch and close the second switch based on a second operating mode associated with a second communication band, wherein the first filter frequency response is configured for the first communication band (signal Bc) and the second filter frequency response is configured for the second communication band (signal Be).
46. The apparatus of claim 42, further comprising: a second low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); a second filter (other of 13A-K) coupled between the antenna and the second LNA; and a third switch (other of 21A-D) coupled between the antenna and a third filter input to the second filter (see Fig. 5).
47. The apparatus of claim 46, further comprising a controller (part of RFIC 40) configured to apply one or more control signals configured to close the second and third switches and open the first switch based on a first operating mode associated with a carrier aggregation mode (Col. 18 lines 27-28); and apply the one or more control signals to close the second switch and open the first and third switches based on a second operating mode (Fig. 5, corresponding switches are open/close for operating modes).
48. The apparatus of claim 42, further comprising: a second low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); and a second filter (other of 13A-K) coupled between the antenna and the second LNA, wherein the second filter includes a third filter input coupled to the first filter input of the first filter (Fig. 5).
49. The apparatus of claim 42, wherein at least one of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators includes a surface acoustic wave (SAW) or bulk acoustic wave (BAW) resonator (Takeuchi: abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47).
50. Takeuchi discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5), comprising: at least one low noise amplifier (LNA; 31-36); and a filter (one(s) of 13A-K; e.g., 13C,D) comprising a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47) and coupled between an antenna and the at least one LNA, the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first port and a second port of the filter (input of 13C or earlier node and output of 13C), a sub-set (empty set) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the second port and a third port of the filter (output/input of 13D), the third port bypassing a portion (all) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators, wherein the filter is configured to:
apply a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first port to the second port of the filter (e.g., signal Bc); and apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first port to the third port of the filter (signal Bd) or from the third port to the second port of the filter.
Schmalzl discloses a filter (Fig. 2B; one or more of extractors 212-216) comprising: a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (Col. 5 lines 62-67) between a first port and output ports (shown as Band1 to Band(n)); the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first port and a second port (from input to node 3 of the “last” extractor); a sub-set of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the second port and a third port (e.g., the resonators of the bandstop of the “last extractor”), the third port bypassing a portion of the plurality of the micro-acoustic resonators (i.e., bypass the “last” bandstop portion), wherein the filter is configured to applied a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first port to the second port (the band for node 3 of the “last” extractor, e.g., band(n)); and apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first port to the third port (the band for node 2 of the “last” extractor, e.g., band(n-1)).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced one(s) of the filters in Takeuchi (e.g., 13B) with the filter of Schmalzl. The modification would have been obvious because of substitution of similar filter (MPEP 2143(B) and as taught by Schmalzl (Col. 5 lines 45-47, Col. 6 lines 31-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-41, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi US 10,547,288 in view of Schmalzl US 10,840,887.
31. Takeuchi discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5), comprising:
a first low noise amplifier (LNA; one of 31-36);
a second low noise amplifier (LNA; one of 31-36);
a first filter (one of 13A-K) comprising a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47) and coupled between an antenna (at terminal 101) and filter output, the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first input to the first filter and a first output of the first filter (see Fig. 5);
a first and second switches (one of 22A-D) between filter outputs and the LNAs.
In another interpretation, Takeuchi does not disclose a sub-set (non-empty set) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the first input to the first filter and a second output of the first filter, the second output bypassing a portion of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators, wherein the first filter is configured to: apply a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first input to the first filter to the first output of the first filter; and apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first input to the first filter to the second output of the first filter; a first switch coupled between the first output of the first filter and the first LNA; and a second switch coupled between the second output of the first filter and the second LNA.
Schmalzl discloses a filter (Fig. 2B; one or more of extractors 212-216) comprising: a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (Col. 5 lines 62-67) between an input and outputs (shown as Band1 to Band(n)); the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first input and a first output (from input to node 3 of the “last” extractor); a sub-set of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the first input and a second output (from input to node 2 of the “last extractor”), the second output bypassing a portion of the plurality of the micro-acoustic resonators (i.e., bypass the “last” bandstop portion), wherein the filter is configured to apply a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first input to the first output (the band for node 3 of the “last” extractor, e.g., band(n)); and apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first input and the second output (the band for node 2 of the “last” extractor, e.g., band(n-1)).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced one(s) of the filters in Takeuchi (e.g., 13B) with the filter of Schmalzl. The modification would have been obvious because of substitution of similar filter (MPEP 2143(B) and as taught by Schmalzl (Col. 5 lines 45-47, Col. 6 lines 31-37). As a result of the combination, the first filter would have first and second outputs correspondingly coupled with first and second switches to the first and second LNAs.
32. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the first filter frequency response is configured for a first communication band (Schmalzl: band(n); Fig. 2B) and the second filter frequency response is configured for a second communication band different from the first communication band (band(n-1)).
33. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising a controller (Takeuchi: part of RFIC 40) configured to: apply one or more control signals configured to close the first switch and open the second switch based on a first operating mode associated with a first communication band; and apply the one or more control signals to open the first switch and close the second switch based on a second operating mode associated with a second communication band, wherein the first filter frequency response is configured for the first communication band and the second filter frequency response is configured for the second communication band (control signals S2A-S2D, etc. for the desired bands).
34. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators comprise one or more series resonators and one or more parallel resonators (Schmalzl: Col. 5 lines 62-67; Fig. 10A, etc.), the sub-set of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators including at least a portion of the one or more series resonators and at least a portion of the one or more parallel resonators (the portion of the bandstop filter in the earlier extractors).
35. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a third switch (Takeuchi: one of 21A-D) coupled between the antenna and the first input to the first filter; a second filter (other filters from 13A-K); a third low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); a fourth switch (other one of 21A-D) coupled between the antenna and the second filter; and a fifth switch (other one of 22A-D) coupled between the second filter and the third LNA.
36. The apparatus of claim 35, further comprising a controller (Takeuchi: part of RFIC 40) configured to apply one or more control signals (S1A-S2D) configured to close the second, third, fourth, and fifth switches and open the first switch based on a first operating mode associated with a carrier aggregation mode; and apply the one or more control signals to close the second and third switches and open the first, fourth, and fifth switches based on a second operating mode (Fig. 5, switches controlled to connected as desired for intended operating mode).
37. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a second filter (Takeuchi: other one of 13A-13K) including a second input and a third output, wherein the second input is coupled to the first input to the first filter; a third low noise amplifier (LNA; other one of 31-36); and a third switch (other one of 22A-D) coupled between the third output of the second filter and the third LNA (see Fig. 5).
38. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a third low noise amplifier (LNA; Takeuchi: other one of 31-36); a third switch (other one of 22A-D); and a second filter (other one of 13A-K) including a second input and a third output, wherein the third switch is coupled between the third output of the second filter and the third LNA, wherein the second filter is configured to apply a third filter frequency response to a third signal propagating from the second input to the third output of the second filter (for other signal and responses, Fig. 5).
39. The apparatus of claim 38, wherein: the first filter frequency response is configured for a first communication band (Schmalzl: Fig. 2B; band(n)) and the second filter frequency response is configured for a second communication band (band(n-1)) different from the first communication band; the third filter frequency response is configured for a third communication band (simply different band; also Takeuchi’s Fig. 5 filters 13A-K are for various bands) different from the first communication band and the second communication band; and the first filter frequency response includes a notch to achieve a specified rejection associated with the third communication band (Schmalzl: Fig. 2B uses bandstop at the extractor, thus the notch is included).
40. The apparatus of claim 38, wherein: the first filter frequency response is configured for a first communication band (Schmalzl: Fig. 2B; band(n)) and the second filter frequency response is configured for a second communication band (band(n-1)) different from the first communication band; the third filter frequency response is configured for a third communication band (simply different band; also Takeuchi’s Fig. 5 filters 13A-K are for various bands) different from the first communication band and the second communication band; and the second filter frequency response includes a notch to achieve a specified rejection associated with the third communication band (Schmalzl: Fig. 2B uses bandstop at earlier extractor, thus the notch is included).
41. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein at least one of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators includes a surface acoustic wave (SAW) resonator or a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) resonator (Takeuchi: abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47; Schmalzl: Col. 5 lines 62-67).
50. Takeuchi discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5), comprising: at least one low noise amplifier (LNA; 31-36); and a filter (13A-K) comprising a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (abstract; Col. 8 lines 14-20; Col. 18 lines 43-47) and coupled between an antenna and the at least one LNA, the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first port and a second port of the filter (see Fig. 5).
In another interpretation, Takeuchi does not discloses a sub-set (non-empty set) of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the second port and a third port of the filter, the third port bypassing a portion of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators, wherein the filter is configured to: apply a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first port to the second port of the filter; and apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first port to the third port of the filter or from the third port to the second port of the filter.
Schmalzl discloses a filter (Fig. 2B; one or more of extractors 212-216) comprising: a plurality of micro-acoustic resonators (Col. 5 lines 62-67) between a first port and output ports (shown as Band1 to Band(n)); the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between a first port and a second port (from input to node 3 of the “last” extractor); a sub-set of the plurality of micro-acoustic resonators coupled between the second port and a third port (e.g., the resonators of the bandstop of the “last extractor”), the third port bypassing a portion of the plurality of the micro-acoustic resonators (i.e., bypass the “last” bandstop portion), wherein the filter is configured to applied a first filter frequency response to a first signal propagating from the first port to the second port (the band for node 3 of the “last” extractor, e.g., band(n)); and apply a second filter frequency response to a second signal propagating from the first port to the third port (the band for node 2 of the “last” extractor, e.g., band(n-1)).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced one(s) of the filters in Takeuchi (e.g., 13B) with the filter of Schmalzl. The modification would have been obvious because of substitution of similar filter (MPEP 2143(B) and as taught by Schmalzl (Col. 5 lines 45-47, Col. 6 lines 31-37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 45 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/A.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843