Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 19, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed pump assembly since applicant claims specific structure related to the pump assembly being the claimed motor. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed head assembly since applicant claims specific structure related to the head assembly being the claimed motor. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed first drive member assembly since applicant claims specific structure related to the first drive member assembly being the claimed motor. Further, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed second drive member assembly since applicant claims specific structure related to the second drive member assembly being the claimed motor. Further, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed enclosed system since applicant claims specific structure related to the enclosed system being the claimed floor, opening and wall.
Regarding claims 10, 17 and 24, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed controller assembly and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure in pages 63-69 of applicant’s originally filed specification the controller assembly is detailed as in the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 includes control assembly 30. Control assembly 30 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control operation of system 10 and its components. In the arrangement shown, as one example, control assembly 30 includes a robot control box 384, a pump control box 386, and a remote controller 388, among other components described herein. In the arrangement shown, as one example, control assembly 30, and more specifically, robot control box 384 and pump control box 386 of control assembly 30, is operably connected to the remainder of system 10 through electrical cable 380. That is, electrical cable 380 operably connects to both robot control box 384 and pump control box 386, as well as to system 10, and the commands from control assembly 30 are communicated to various components of system 10 through electrical cable 380. Robot Control Box 384: In the arrangement shown, as one example, control assembly 30 includes a robot control box 384. Robot control box 384 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control the power delivered to motor 80 of head assembly 24 and the motors 236 of drive member assemblies 28. In the arrangement shown, as one example, robot control box 384 includes a first drive member assembly motor controller 390, a second drive member assembly motor controller 392, and a cleaning attachment motor controller 394. In the arrangement shown, as one example, robot control box 384 includes first drive member assembly motor controller 390. First drive member assembly motor controller 390 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control the amount of power delivered to the first drive member assembly 28 which, in the arrangement shown as one example, is first track assembly 190. In the arrangement shown, as one example, first drive member assembly motor controller 390 is configured to receive commands from the remote controller 388 and process those commands, and then increase or decrease the amount of power provided to first drive member assembly 28/first track assembly 190 based on the commands from the remote controller 388. In the arrangement shown, as one example, the amount of power delivered to first drive member assembly 28/first track assembly 190 controls the speed of rotation of first drive member assembly 28/ first track assembly 190, which controls the speed and steering of system 10. In the arrangement shown, as one example, robot control box 384 includes second drive member assembly motor controller 392. Second drive member assembly motor controller 392 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control the amount of power delivered to the second drive member assembly 28 which, in the arrangement shown as one example, is second track assembly 190. In the arrangement shown, as one example, second drive member assembly motor controller 392 is configured to receive commands from the remote controller 388 and process those commands, and then increase or decrease the amount of power provided to second drive member assembly 28/ second track assembly 190 based on the commands from the remote controller 388. In the arrangement shown, as one example, the amount of power delivered to second drive member assembly 28/ second track assembly 190 controls the speed of rotation of second drive member assembly 28/ second track assembly 190, which controls the speed and steering of system 10. In the arrangement shown, as one example, robot control box 384 includes cleaning attachment motor controller 394. Cleaning attachment motor controller 394 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control the amount of power delivered to the cleaning attachment 46 which, in the arrangement shown as one example, is auger member 48. In the arrangement shown, as one example, cleaning attachment motor controller 394 is configured to receive commands from the remote controller 388 and process those commands, and then increase or decrease the amount of power provided to cleaning attachment 46 based on the commands from the remote controller 388. In the arrangement shown, as one example, with cleaning attachment 46 being auger member 48, the amount of power delivered to auger member 48 controls the speed of rotation of shaft 128 and flighting 126 of auger member 48. In the arrangement shown, as one example, robot control box 384 includes various ammeters 396. Ammeters 396 are formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and are configured to measure and display the amount of current flowing through motor 80 of head assembly 24 and the motors 236 of drive member assemblies 28. In the arrangement shown, as one example, ammeters 396 are digital ammeters, however any other type of ammeter, and any brand or style of ammeter may be used as ammeters 396. In the arrangement shown, as one example, ammeters 396 help a user determine if there is a problem with system 10, such as something blocking system 10 from moving. In the arrangement shown, as one example, if system 10 is being blocked from moving by an object on the ground or floor where system 10 is located, power is still being provided to drive member assemblies 28 but drive member assemblies 28 are simply spinning and not moving, and this may cause the current flowing through drive member assemblies 28 to spike. The ammeters 396 allow a user to see this spike in current and adjust the controls it is sending to system 10 in order to address the issue. Pump Control Box 386: In the arrangement shown, as one example, control assembly 30 includes a pump control box 386. Pump control box 386 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control the power delivered to the motor of pump assembly 26. In the arrangement shown, as one example, the amount of power delivered to the motor of pump assembly 26 will control the speed of rotation of the impellers in pump 150. In the arrangement shown, as one example, when impellers in pump 150 spin faster, they pull fluid through head assembly 24 at a faster rate, which helps facilitate the cleaning of the ground or floor where system 10 is located. In the arrangement shown, as one example, there may be situations where a faster rate of pulling fluid through head assembly 24 is required because pulling fluid through head assembly 24 creates stronger suction, so more material, or material which is stuck strongly on the ground or floor where system 10 is located, is able to be pulled through head assembly 24. Remote Controller 388: In the arrangement shown, as one example, control assembly 30 includes remote controller 388. Remote controller 388 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to control the amount of power being delivered to motor 80 of head assembly 24, the motor of motor assembly 154 of pump assembly 26, and the motors 236 of drive member assemblies 28 from a location remote from robot control box 384 and/or pump control box 386. In the arrangement shown, as one example, remote controller 388 is connected to robot control box 384 and pump control box 386 through an electrical cable 398. In the arrangement shown, as one example, remote controller 388 includes four knobs 400, with one knob 400 associated with each of the motor 80 of head assembly 24, the motor of motor assembly 154 of pump assembly 26, the motor 236 of the first drive member assembly 28, and the motor 236 of the second drive member assembly 28. In the arrangement shown, as one example, as the knobs 400 are turned either clockwise or counterclockwise, a command is sent to robot control box 384 or pump control box 386 which will result in more or less power being provided to the motor associated with such knob. While remote controller 388 has been described according to the arrangement shown, as one example, remote controller 388 is not so limited. In various other arrangements, as examples, remote controller 388 may be connected to robot control box 384 and/or pump control box 386 through wireless communication means. In various arrangements, as examples, remote controller 388 may be a phone, iPad, tablet, computer, or similar device which is in wireless communication with robot control box 384 and/or pump control box 386 and the power supplied to motor 80 of head assembly 24, the motor of motor assembly 154 of pump assembly 26, the motor 236 of the first drive member assembly 28, and the motor 236 of the second drive member assembly 28 may be controlled from the phone, iPad, computer, tablet, or similar device. Additional Control Assembly Components: In one or more arrangements, as examples, control assembly 30 may also include additional components such as sonar and/or a side scan sonar mount. In the arrangement shown, as one example, the sonar and/or side scan sonar mounts are configured to provide information on the position of system 10 when it is in an enclosed space and/or submerged in fluid or other materials. In one or more arrangements, as examples, there are four sonars placed in each of the four corners of a tank in which system 10 will be or is submerged. In the arrangement shown, as one example, the sonars send a signal out and, from that signal, the position of system 10 within the tank can be determined, or at least closely estimated, based on the sonar readings. In this arrangement, as one example, the sonar readings can be sent to a display which will visually display the approximate location of system 10 within the tank. Additionally or alternatively, in one or more arrangements as examples, control assembly 30 may include a side scan sonar mount. In this arrangement, as one example, the side scan sonar mount is placed at or near the forward end 12 of system 10 and sends out a signal in front of system 10 which will show if there is material located in front of system 10. In this arrangement, the signal from side scan sonar mount can be sent to a display which will visually display what is in front of system 10 and the visual display will show different materials as different colors, depending on the thickness or density of the material. From these different colored shapes a user can determine what it is that is in front of system 10. For example, sludge which should be removed from the floor where system 10 is located may be displayed as, by way of example and not limitation, a dark orange/dark red color while a solid object, such as a concrete wall, may be displayed as, by way of example and not limitation, purple. In this way, the side scan sonar mount can help a user determine which direction to move system 10. While control assembly 30 and its various components have been described according the arrangement shown, as one example, it will be understood by those skilled in the art that any other configuration of control assembly 30 and its components may be used in order to facilitate
the remote operation and control of system 10 and its various components.
Regarding claims 11, 18 and 25, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed hose system since applicant claims specific structure related to the hose system being the claimed inner hose and outer house.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 17 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In each of claims 10, 17 and 24 applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed controller assembly as detailed earlier in paragraph 2 of this office action and as seen in pages 63-69 of applicant’s originally filed disclosure the phrases “as one example”, “more specifically”, “any suitable”, “or similar”, “as examples”, “for example” and “by way of example” renders these claims indefinite in that it is unclear to whether other structures for the claimed controller assembly than those disclosed in applicant’s originally filed specification are being contemplated by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 9-10 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,093,949 to Sloan.
Referring to claim 1, Sloan discloses a submersible robot system comprising, a pump assembly – at 42-49, the pump assembly having a motor – at 49, a head assembly – at 54-60, the head assembly having a motor – at 60, a first drive member assembly – at one of the two of items 36,38,50,52, the first drive member assembly having a motor – at associated one of 38, a second drive member assembly – the other of items 36,38,50,52, the second drive member assembly having a motor – the other of associated items 38, wherein the pump assembly – at 42-49, is configured to pull material through the head assembly – at 54-60, see at 46,58a in figure 7 and see column 6 lines 46-65, wherein the first drive member assembly – at 36,38,50,52, and the second drive member assembly – and the other of 36,38,50,52, are configured to drive the submersible robot around a floor of an enclosed system – at 10-20 – see figures 3-5, thereby cleaning the floor of the enclosed system – see figures 3-5, wherein the submersible robot system is configured to enter the enclosed system through an opening – at 18, in a wall of the enclosed system – at 10-22 – see figures 1-5 and column 5 line 42 to column 6 line 33.
Referring to claim 3, Sloan further discloses the motor – at 49, of the pump assembly is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of 49 in figures 6-7.
Referring to claim 4, Sloan further discloses the motor of the head assembly – at 60, is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of 60 in figures 6-7.
Referring to claim 5, Sloan further discloses the motor – at one of 38, of the first drive member assembly is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of 38 in figures 6-7.
Referring to claim 6, Sloan further discloses the motor – other of items 38, of the second drive member assembly is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of other of items 38 in figures 6-7.
Referring to claim 9, Sloan further discloses the pump assembly – at 44-49, is removably attached to each of the head assembly – at 54-60, the first drive member – at one of 36,38,50,52, and the second drive member – the other of 36,38,50,52 – see figures 6-7 and column 5 line 42 to column 6 line 33, and wherein when the pump assembly – at 44-49, is removed from the head assembly – at 54-60, the first drive member – one of 36,38,50,52, and the second drive member – at the other of 36,38,50,52, a hose – at 76, may be attached to the head assembly – at 54-60 – see figures 6-7 with attachment via the pump assembly – at 44-49, in order to pull material through the head assembly – see figures 6-7 and column 6 lines 46-65.
Referring to claim 10, Sloan further discloses a controller assembly – at 96-114, 210-212, wherein the controller assembly – at 96-114, 210-212, is configured to control operation of the submersible robot – at 22 – see figures 11,11a-12 and column 7 line 46 to column 8 line 24. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed controller assembly items 96-114 and 210-212 discloses a control box, motor controller and remote controller consistent with applicant’s originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7-8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan as applied to claim 1 above.
Referring to claim 2, Sloan further discloses the opening in the wall of the enclosed system is circular – see at 18 in figures 1-5, but does not disclose the opening is 24 inches in diameter. However, as seen in column 6 lines 16-27, the size of the opening can vary given the phrase “depending on the size of access opening 18” and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the access opening any suitable size including the claimed 24 inches in diameter, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the device to be used in enclosed systems of different sizes and with different access openings as desired.
Referring to claim 7, Sloan further discloses at least one electrical cable – see power to the solenoids – at 116 in figure 11, provides power to each of the motor – at 49, of the pump assembly, the motor – at 60, of the head assembly, the motor – at one of 38, of the first drive member assembly, and the motor – at the other of 38, of the second drive member assembly – see figures, 11,11A and 12 and column 7 line 47 to column 8 line 24, but does not disclose a single electrical cable. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and use any suitable number of electrical cables including the claimed single cable, so as to yield the predictable result of making the device easier to manufacture, move and control as desired.
Referring to claim 8, Sloan further discloses the motor – at 38, of the first drive member includes a drive shaft – see at 38 in figures 6-7, and the motor – the other of 38, of the second drive member includes a drive shaft – see other of 38 in figures 6-7, but does not disclose wherein an axis of rotation of the drive shaft of the motor of the first drive member is perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the first drive member, and wherein an axis of rotation of the drive shaft of the motor of the second drive member is perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the second drive member. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the drive shafts of the motors in any desired configuration including the perpendicular configuration with respect to the axes of rotation of the first and second drive members as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the device to be made of sufficient size and have sufficient orientation based on where the device is to be operated.
Referring to claim 11, Sloan further discloses a hose system – at 76,78, the hose system having a first hose – at 76, another hose – at 78, wherein the hoses are positioned proximate each other – see figures 7-8, wherein a single electrical cable – at 100, extends proximate the hose system – at 76,78 – see figures 7-8, wherein the single electrical cable – at 100, is at least partially positioned outside the first hose – at 76 – see figures 7-8, and proximate the other hose – at 78 – see figures 7-8, wherein the first hose – at 76, is configured to fluidly connect to the pump assembly – at 44-49 – see at 42 in figures 6-7 and column 7 lines 1-5, wherein the other hose – at 78, is configured to be filled with a gas to allow the hose system to be at least partially buoyant – see figures 7-8 where the hose – at 78 can contain a gas such as air when not filled with material from the pump assembly and the air/gas would be lighter than the liquid/sludge material at the bottom of enclosed system and therefore make the hose – at 78 at least partially buoyant. Sloan does not disclose an inner hose, an outer hose with the inner hose positioned within the outer hose, the single electrical cable extends through the hose system, the single electrical cable is within the outer hose. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the hoses in any desired configuration including the claimed inner hose within an outer hose, so as to yield the predictable result of protecting the inner hose while making the overall size of the hose system smaller and easier to move through the enclosed system. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the single electrical cable within the hose system and within the outer hose, so as to yield the predictable result of protecting the single electrical cable as desired.
Claim(s) 12-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan.
Referring to claims 12, 14 and 19-20, Sloan discloses a submersible robot system comprising, a pump assembly – at 42-49, the pump assembly having a motor – at 49, a head assembly – at 54-60, the head assembly having a motor – at 60, a first drive member assembly – at one of the two of items 36,38,50,52, the first drive member assembly having a motor – at associated one of 38, a second drive member assembly – the other of items 36,38,50,52, the second drive member assembly having a motor – the other of associated items 38, wherein the pump assembly – at 42-49, is configured to pull material through the head assembly – at 54-60, see at 46,58a in figure 7 and see column 6 lines 46-65, wherein the first drive member assembly – at 36,38,50,52, and the second drive member assembly – and the other of 36,38,50,52, are configured to drive the submersible robot around a floor of an enclosed system – at 10-20 – see figures 3-5, thereby cleaning the floor of the enclosed system – see figures 3-5, wherein the submersible robot system is configured to enter the enclosed system through an opening – at 18, in a wall of the enclosed system – at 10-22 – see figures 1-5 and column 5 line 42 to column 6 line 33. Sloan further discloses the opening in the wall of the enclosed system is circular – see at 18 in figures 1-5, but does not disclose the opening is 24 inches in diameter. However, as seen in column 6 lines 16-27, the size of the opening can vary given the phrase “depending on the size of access opening 18” and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the access opening any suitable size including the claimed 24 inches in diameter, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the device to be used in enclosed systems of different sizes and with different access openings as desired. Specific to claims 14 and 19, Sloan further discloses at least one electrical cable – see power to the solenoids – at 116 in figure 11, provides power to each of the motor – at 49, of the pump assembly, the motor – at 60, of the head assembly, the motor – at one of 38, of the first drive member assembly, and the motor – at the other of 38, of the second drive member assembly – see figures, 11,11A and 12 and column 7 line 47 to column 8 line 24, but does not disclose a single electrical cable. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and use any suitable number of electrical cables including the claimed single cable, so as to yield the predictable result of making the device easier to manufacture, move and control as desired.
Referring to claims 13 and 21, Sloan further discloses the motor – at 49, of the pump assembly is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of 49 in figures 6-7. Sloan further discloses the motor of the head assembly – at 60, is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of 60 in figures 6-7. Sloan further discloses the motor – at one of 38, of the first drive member assembly is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of 38 in figures 6-7. Sloan further discloses the motor – other of items 38, of the second drive member assembly is sealed within a housing – see outer casing/housing of other of items 38 in figures 6-7.
Referring to claims 15 and 22, Sloan further discloses the motor – at 38, of the first drive member includes a drive shaft – see at 38 in figures 6-7, and the motor – the other of 38, of the second drive member includes a drive shaft – see other of 38 in figures 6-7, but does not disclose wherein an axis of rotation of the drive shaft of the motor of the first drive member is perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the first drive member, and wherein an axis of rotation of the drive shaft of the motor of the second drive member is perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the second drive member. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the drive shafts of the motors in any desired configuration including the perpendicular configuration with respect to the axes of rotation of the first and second drive members as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing the device to be made of sufficient size and have sufficient orientation based on where the device is to be operated.
Referring to claims 16 and 23, Sloan further discloses the pump assembly – at 44-49, is removably attached to each of the head assembly – at 54-60, the first drive member – at one of 36,38,50,52, and the second drive member – the other of 36,38,50,52 – see figures 6-7 and column 5 line 42 to column 6 line 33, and wherein when the pump assembly – at 44-49, is removed from the head assembly – at 54-60, the first drive member – one of 36,38,50,52, and the second drive member – at the other of 36,38,50,52, a hose – at 76, may be attached to the head assembly – at 54-60 – see figures 6-7 with attachment via the pump assembly – at 44-49, in order to pull material through the head assembly – see figures 6-7 and column 6 lines 46-65.
Referring to claims 17 and 24, Sloan further discloses a controller assembly – at 96-114, 210-212, wherein the controller assembly – at 96-114, 210-212, is configured to control operation of the submersible robot – at 22 – see figures 11,11a-12 and column 7 line 46 to column 8 line 24. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed controller assembly items 96-114 and 210-212 discloses a control box, motor controller and remote controller consistent with applicant’s originally filed specification.
Referring to claims 18 and 25, Sloan further discloses a hose system – at 76,78, the hose system having a first hose – at 76, another hose – at 78, wherein the hoses are positioned proximate each other – see figures 7-8, wherein a single electrical cable – at 100, extends proximate the hose system – at 76,78 – see figures 7-8, wherein the single electrical cable – at 100, is at least partially positioned outside the first hose – at 76 – see figures 7-8, and proximate the other hose – at 78 – see figures 7-8, wherein the first hose – at 76, is configured to fluidly connect to the pump assembly – at 44-49 – see at 42 in figures 6-7 and column 7 lines 1-5, wherein the other hose – at 78, is configured to be filled with a gas to allow the hose system to be at least partially buoyant – see figures 7-8 where the hose – at 78 can contain a gas such as air when not filled with material from the pump assembly and the air/gas would be lighter than the liquid/sludge material at the bottom of enclosed system and therefore make the hose – at 78 at least partially buoyant. Sloan does not disclose an inner hose, an outer hose with the inner hose positioned within the outer hose, the single electrical cable extends through the hose system, the single electrical cable is within the outer hose. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the hoses in any desired configuration including the claimed inner hose within an outer hose, so as to yield the predictable result of protecting the inner hose while making the overall size of the hose system smaller and easier to move through the enclosed system. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Sloan and have the single electrical cable within the hose system and within the outer hose, so as to yield the predictable result of protecting the single electrical cable as desired.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to robot systems in general:
KR Pat. No. 10-0550056 to Kim – shows robot system
CN Pat. No. 110374159 to Fu et al. – shows robot system
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643