DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson (6504379).
Jackson discloses a core wire set comprising: a first core wire (50); a second core wire (52) arranged parallel to the first core wire; a first covering layer (56) covering the first core wire and the second core wire; a second covering layer (58) covering the first covering layer, wherein a wire placement space is formed between the first covering layer and the second covering layer, wherein a bare metal wire (60) is arranged in the wire placement space, and wherein the material of the first covering is selected from heat-insulating materials (Mylar, col. 4, line 53, trade name for PET, same material disclosed by the applicant) (re-claims 1 and 10). It is noted that since the material of the first covering layer of Jackson comprises the same material as disclosed by the applicant; the material of the first covering layer of Jackson will reduce heat transfer from the bare metal wire to an insulation layer of the first core wire during a welding process (re-claims 1 and 10).
Jackson also discloses that from the cross-section of the core wire set, the center of the first core wire, the center of the second core wire, and the center of the bare metal are arranged in a triangular shape (see, Fig. 4) (re-claims 2 and 11); a first side of the first covering layer faces the first core wire and the second core wire is insulated (col. 4, line 52 to col. 5, line 3) (re-claims 3 and 12); a second side of the first covering layer opposite to the first core wire and the second core wire is conducting (aluminum coating) (re-claims 4 and 13); a second side of the first covering layer opposite to the first core wire and the second core wire is heat conductor (aluminum, as disclosed by the applicant) (re-claims 5 and 14); a first side of the second covering layer toward the bare metal wire is conducting (col. 4, line 52 to col. 5, line 3) (re-claims 6 and 15); a first side of the second covering layer toward the bare metal wire is a heat conductor (aluminum) (re-claims 7 and 16); a second side of the second covering layer opposite to the bare metal wire is insulated (re-claims 8 and 17); and a transmission cable comprising a core wire set as claimed in claim 1 and an outer insulation layer (82, Fig. 4) covering the core wire set (re-claim 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Jackson is entirely silent with respect to welding, welding heat, welding parameters, or any thermal issues associated with a welding process, and that since Jackson fails to disclose all features of the amended claims 1 and 10 of the application, the amended claims 1 and 10 should overcome the 102 rejection.
Examiner would disagree. It has been held that “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Although Jackson does not mention welding heat, welding parameters, or any thermal issues associated with a welding process, Jackson does disclose a core wire set comprising structure and material as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841