DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11, and 13-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,189,632. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to the same invention.
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,091,314. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to the same invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,945,644. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to the same invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (US 20150020804 A1).
With regards to claims 1, 2, 11, and 16, D1 discloses an aerosol device comprising: a main device including control circuitry for controlling an array of emitters and to process signals from an array of sensors [0017-0020] (Fig. 1); and a cartridge 10 engaged with the main device, the cartridge including an aerosol chamber that is at least partially transparent (optical paths through the tube require transparent portions (e.g., windows or walls)), an array of emitters 6B, 6C arranged outside of the aerosol chamber, and an array of sensors 8B, 8C arranged outside of the aerosol chamber (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the control circuitry is in communication with the array of emitters and the array of sensors [0017-0019].
With regards to claim 5, D1 discloses wherein the main device further includes a power supply and a housing, the housing enclosing the power supply and the control circuitry [0002] (portable, battery powered device which necessarily requires the claimed configuration).
With regards to claims 6, 14, and 17, D1 discloses wherein the array of emitters includes a first emitter and a second emitter, the first emitter configured to emit light having a first wavelength, the second emitter configured to emit light having a second wavelength, the first wavelength being different from the second wavelength [0016].
With regards to claim 9, D1 discloses wherein the array of sensors includes a first sensor and a second sensor, the first sensor configured to receive the light having the first wavelength, the second sensor configured to receive the light having the second wavelength (Fig. 1; each sensor receives light from a corresponding emitter).
With regards to claim 15, D1 discloses wherein the array of emitters is opposite to the array of sensors (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 18, D1 discloses wherein the controller is configured to processes a first signal from a first sensor of the array of sensors and to process a second signal from a second sensor of the array of sensors, and the controller is configured to determine a presence of an element in the partially transparent aerosol chamber based on the first signal, the second signal, or the first signal and the second signal [0020; 0032] (wherein the detected signal represents the presence of an element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regards to claim 3, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the main device includes a sensor separate from the array of sensors. Nevertheless, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious in order to provide system level monitoring, feedback, and/or safety data.
With regards to claims 7 and 8, D1 does not teach the claimed wavelengths. However, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious depending upon the type of aerosol and/or analysis. As such, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed wavelengths in view performing infrared analysis.
With regards to claim 19, D1 does not teach the claimed controller. However, D1 does discloses measuring particle characteristics to determine particle size variations (Claim 11). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed controller in order to alert the user of detected particle sizes outside a given threshold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12, 13, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not teach the cartridge and/or controller as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884