DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges receipt of for extension of time, amendment and remarks filed 05/12/2026.
Claims 27 is amended.
New claims 28-32 are added.
Claims 1, 4, 9-13, 15, 17-19 and 23-26 are canceled.
Claims 27-32 are pending.
Priority
This application is Continuation of 17/805,956 filed 06/08/2022, now US12064434 B2, which is a Continuation of 17/003,771 filed 08/26/2020, now abandoned, which is a Continuation of 15/564,534 filed 10/05/2017, now US 10799506 B2, which is a 371 of PCT/IB2016/052136 filed 04/14/2016 and which claims benefit of 62/148,240 filed 04/16/2015.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 USC 102, CAPONIGRO: Applicant argues that claim 27 is not anticipated by CAPONIGRO because CAPONIGRO does not teach the new limitation that the tablet is coated with an aqueous moisture barrier. Applicant further argues that claim 27 lists complex set of ingredients and steps which are not combined in the same fashion in CAPONIGRO.
Response: The office action mailed 12/17/2025 did not address aqueous moisture barrier because that limitation was not in the claims. Therefore, a modified rejection to address aqueous moisture barrier will be made below.
Rejections under 35 USC 102, TRINIUS: Applicant argues that claim 27 is not anticipated by TRINIUS because TRINIUS does not teach the new limitation that the tablet is coated with an aqueous moisture barrier. Applicant further argues that claim 27 lists complex set of ingredients and steps which are not combined in the same fashion in TRINIUS.
Response: The rejection over TRINIUS is being presented below with a modification to address the amendment to claim 27 including tablet coated aqueous moisture barrier. The rejection is being modified below to address the inclusion of aqueous moisture barrier.
Rejections under 35 USC 103, CAPONITRO: Applicant argues that the cancelation of claims 1, 4 and 9-13 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 103 over CAPONIGRO.
Response: The examiner agrees. New claims 28-32 will be addressed.
Rejections under 35 USC 103, TRINIUS: Applicant argues that the cancelation of claims 1, 4, 9-13, 17-19 and 23-26 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 103 over TRINIUS.
Response: The examiner agrees. New claims 28-32 will be addressed.
Double Patenting Rejections: Applicant requests the rejections be held abeyance until claims are found allowable.
Response: The rejection will be made as appropriate below until the rejections are not overcome.
Rejections are maintained below with minor modification to address the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Modified Rejection
Necessitated by Amendment
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAPONIGRO et al., (WO 2014097125 A1) as evidenced by Ando et al. “Evaluation of a novel sugar coating method for moisture protective tablets” in International Journal if Pharmaceutics, Vol. 336, pp 319-328 (2007).
Claim 27 is directed to pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The process steps make the same product of pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The product of the prior art is the same as the claimed product, pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. There is nothing in the recited steps that provide product that is different from the claimed product. Applicant has not pointed to section of the specification that teaches that the recited process produces pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate that is different form the pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate of the prior art. The pharmaceutical oral tablet is coated with an aqueous moisture barrier. The aqueous moisture barrier is a functional coating.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied by the steps is a pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate, which is the same structure in the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
CAPONIGRO teaches a formulation comprising cyclin dependent kinase inhibitor (CDK
inhibitor) compound A described as 7-Cyclopentyl-2-(5-piperazin-l-ylpyridin-2-ylamino)-7H-pyrrolo[2,3-d]pyrimidine-6-carboxylic acid dimethylamide and having the structure below:
and which is ribociclib of the claims (see the whole document with emphasis on pages 2 and 3 and claims 1 and 4-9). The preferred salt is succinate salt (see the whole document with emphasis on pages 5 and 6 and claim 3). The formulation is administered orally in the form of sugar-coated tablets or capsules (see the whole document with emphasis on page 9). The therapeutic agent is present in the formulation at from about 0.1% to about 99% and preferably from about 1% to about 60% (page 9, 4th full paragraph).
CAPONIGRO does not teach that its tablet is cracked or have cracking defects so that the limitation of the tablet being essentially free of cracking defects is met.
For Claim 27, CAPONIGRO does not say that the sugar coat is an aqueous moisture barrier. However, it is known in the art that sugar coated tablets are protected from moisture as evidenced by Ando (see at least the title, abstract, introduction of Ando). CAPONIGRO does not teach that its tablet is cracked or have cracking defects so that the limitation of the tablet being essentially free of cracking defects is met.
Thus, the teachings of CAPONIGRO anticipates claim 27.
Claim(s) 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(l) as being anticipated by TRINIUS (EP 2 742 940 Al).
Claim 27 is directed to pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The process steps make the same product of pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The product of the prior art is the same as the claimed product, pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. There is nothing in the recited steps that provide product that is different from the claimed product. Applicant has not pointed to section of the specification that teaches that the recited process produces pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate that is difference form the pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate of the prior art.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied by the steps is a pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate, which is the same structure in the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
TRINIUS discloses film coated tablet (see the whole document with emphasis on
paragraphs [0100], [0107], [0109]) and in paragraph [0108], polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) is named
as a coating material (see also claims 37, 39). The coated tablet has a core (see the whole
document, Example 9.2 on page 17). In one aspect, the active agent is drug2 described in
Formula A below which is ribociclib or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof such as the
succinate salt, and the formulation is used to treat hyperproliferative disease (paragraphs [0024], [0025], pages 24 and 25):
The unit dosage forms have therapeutically effective amount of the drug and the amount
is at least 10%, 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% and at least 90% (see at least paragraphs
[0065]-[0066]). In paragraph [0069], it is contemplated that the amount of the active agent be
not more than 90%. In the case of Formula A, Formula A is used in combination with formula
B1 or B2 (page 25).
PVA coat is a PVA based coating and meets the limitation of aqueous moisture barrier coating because using the as filed specification as a dictionary shows that aqueous moisture barrier coating is PVA based coating. The coated tablet of TRINIUS contains disintegrants such as crosslinked polyvinyl pyrrolidone (crospovidone), sodium starch glycolate, crosslinked sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (croscarmellose sodium) (paragraph [0135]).
Thus, the PVA coated tablet having active agent represented by Formula A or its
pharmaceutically acceptable salt in the core of the tablet anticipates the tablet of claims 27 and 31.
TRINIUS does not say that its tablet has cracking defects, does not expressly or implicitly teach that its tablets have cracking defects so that the limitation of the tablet being essentially free of cracking defects is met.
Thus, TRINIUS teaches all the elements of claims 27 and 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAPONIGRO et al., (WO 2014097125 A1) ) as evidenced by Ando et al. “Evaluation of a novel sugar coating method for moisture protective tablets” in International Journal if Pharmaceutics, Vol. 336, pp 319-328 (2007).
CAPONIGRO has been described above as teaching the formulation of claim 27. Claim 28 depends on claim 27 and claims 29-30 depend directly/indirectly form claim 27. For
claims 28-30, various %amounts of the ribociclib in the tablet formulation are recited.
CAPONIGRO does not teach the exact ranges recited in these claims. However, CAPONIGRO teaches that the therapeutic agent, compound A or 7-Cyclopentyl-2-(5-piperazin-l-ylpyridin-2-
ylamino)-7H-pyrrolo[2,3-d]pyrimidine-6-carboxylic acid dimethylamide or ribociclib is present
at from about 0.1 % to about 99.9%, preferably from about 1% to about 60% (page 9, 4th full
paragraph). These disclosed amounts of from about 0.1 % to about 99.9 % and from about 1% to
about 60% overlaps and encompasses the claimed ranges of at least 32% to about 65%.
Specifically, the disclosed ranges allow for the claimed ranges and the specific amounts and the
difference is in the %amounts of the active agent, in this case, ribociclib in the claims and in the
prior art CAPONIGRO. Since the disclosed ranges encompass or overlap the recited ranges in
claims 28-30, it flows that the artisan would be motivated to optimize the formulation of
CAPONIGRO with respect to amounts of ribociclib disclosed in CAPONIGRO that would
produce the expected results from the active agent ribociclib that is disclosed in CAPONIGRO to
be effective for treating cancers such as those listed in the last full paragraph of page 4 of
CAPONIGRO. Thus, CAPONIGRO has disclosed the general conditions of the claims and
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to
discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,
456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to optimize the formulation of CAPONIGRO with respect to amounts of the active agent, ribociclib, that would be effective for treating cancers such as those listed in the last full paragraph of page 4 of CAPONIGRO.
Further, with respect to the ribociclib being in the core of the tablet, one embodiment of
the tablet of CAPONIGRO is a sugar-coated tablet (4th full paragraph of page 9) and generally a coated tablet has a core; and with the case of sugar-coating, it flows that the active agent is in the core and protected by the sugar coating from objectionable taste.
Claim 27 is directed to pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The process steps make the same product of pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The product of the prior art is the same as the claimed product, pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. There is nothing in the recited steps that provide product that is different from the claimed product. Applicant has not pointed to section of the specification that teaches that the recited process produces pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate that is difference form the pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate of the prior art.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied by the steps is a pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate, which is the same structure in the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Therefore, CAPONIGRO as evidenced by Ando renders claims 28-30 prima facie obvious.
Claims 27-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TRINIUS (EP 2 742 940 Al).
TRINIUS has been described above as anticipating claims 27 and 31.
Claim 28-30 depends on claim 27. Claim 32 depends on claim 31
TRINIUS teaches that the active agent is at least 10%, 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80% and at least 90% (see at least paragraphs [0065]-[0066]) but not more than 90% (paragraph [0069]). Thus, the active agent is present from at least 10% to about 90%.
TRINIUS does not teach the exact ranges recited in claims 4, 9-13, 17-19 and 23-26.
These disclosed amounts of from at least 10% to about 90 % but not more than 90%
overlaps and encompasses the claimed ranges of at least 32% to about 60%. Specifically, the
disclosed ranges allow for the claimed ranges and the specific amounts and the difference is in
the %amounts of the active agent, in this case, ribociclib in the claims and in the prior art
TRINIUS. Since the disclosed ranges encompass or overlap the recited ranges in claims 28-30 and 32, it flows that the artisan would be motivated to optimize the formulation of TRINIUS
with respect to amounts of ribociclib disclosed in TRINIUS that would produce the expected
results from the active agent ribociclib that is disclosed in TRINIUS to be effective for treating hyperproliferative disease (paragraphs [0024], [0025] , pages 24 and 25).
Thus, TRINIUS has disclosed the general conditions of the claims and "[W]here the
general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the
optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to optimize the formulation of TRINIUS with respect
to amounts of the active agent, ribociclib, that would be effective for treating hyperproliferative disease guided by the disclosed ranges of the active agent.
Claim 27 is directed to pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The process steps make the same product of pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The product of the prior art is the same as the claimed product, pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. There is nothing in the recited steps that provide product that is different from the claimed product. Applicant has not pointed to section of the specification that teaches that the recited process produces pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate that is difference form the pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate of the prior art.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied by the steps is a pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate, which is the same structure in the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 28-30 and 32 are rendered prima facie obvious by the teachings of TRINIUS.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 27-32 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14; 1-6; and 1-4 of U.S. Patent Nos. 10799506 B2 and 12064434 B2 and 12419894 B2 respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued coated oral tablets of the issued claims teach all the elements of the coated oral tablet of the examined claims (see claims 15-17). The comprising language of the examined claims is open to coated oral tablets. The issued claims do not say that the tablets have cracking defects
Claim 27 are directed to pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The process steps make the same product of pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The product of the prior art is the same as the claimed product, pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. There is nothing in the recited steps that provide product that is different from the claimed product. Applicant has not pointed to section of the specification that teaches that the recited process produces pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate that is difference form the pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate of the prior art.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied by the steps is a pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate, which is the same structure in the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 27-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 27-30 of co-pending Application No. 18977210 (reference application) respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending coated oral tablets of the co-pending claims teach all the elements of the coated oral tablet of the examined claims (see claims 15-17). The comprising language of the examined claims is open to coated oral tablets. The co-pending claims do not say that the tablets have cracking defects.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 27 are directed to pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The process steps make the same product of pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. The product of the prior art is the same as the claimed product, pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate. There is nothing in the recited steps that provide product that is different from the claimed product. Applicant has not pointed to section of the specification that teaches that the recited process produces pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate that is difference form the pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate of the prior art.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS claims are not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. In the instant case, the structure implied by the steps is a pharmaceutical oral tablet comprising ribociclib succinate, which is the same structure in the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
No claim is allowed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613