DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 03/03/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-7 under 35 USC 102 by Inaba, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Inaba and Ohrn et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba (US 4,732,414) in view of Ohrn et al (US 6,116,290).
As to claim 1 and with reference to the following annotated figure, Inaba discloses a coupling for a double-walled pipe having an inner wall and an outer wall, the inner wall having an inner lumen, and the inner wall and the outer wall delimiting an outer lumen, the coupling comprising: an inner section (51a’) forming a passage in fluid communication with the inner lumen (Fig. 4A); and an outer section arranged radially adjacent to the inner section, wherein a material of the outer section is interrupted in a radial direction multiple times in an area corresponding to a radial range between the inner wall and the outer wall (as at 51b’ and 51c’); and wherein the outer section comprises a plurality of pockets (51b’, 51c’), including an inner pocket (51b’) and a radially outwardly arranged outer pocket (51c’), forming the interruptions of the material of the outer section, each pocket of the plurality of pockets forming a through hole open on both sides along a longitudinal direction of the coupling (Fig. 4A) and having respective ends a circumferential direction (opposing diametrical ends).
Inaba fails to teach each pocket of the plurality of pockets having respective planar walls forming ends of each pocket along a circumferential direction.
However, Ohrn et al teaches a pipeline having a plurality of pockets defined by circular openings or planar walls, as shown in his figures. Ohrn et al also teaches an insulating barrier (20) arranged in or between the passages (18) or planar walls of the pipe.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Inaba such that the plurality of pockets has planar walls forming ends of each pocket along a circumferential direction, as taught by Ohrn et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an alternative design construction, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Inaba so as to further comprise: an insulating barrier arranged in each pocket of the plurality of pockets in a fluid tight manner, wherein the plurality of pockets has planar walls forming ends of each pocket along a circumferential direction, as taught by Ohrn et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an alternative design construction that mitigates heat loss.
As to claim 4, Inaba/Ohrn et al discloses the coupling according to claim 3, wherein two or more inner pockets (51b’) are arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction (Fig. 4B), and wherein at least one inner spoke is provided which connects the inner section with the outer section in a radial direction and separating a pair of the two or more inner pockets at their respective ends in the circumferential direction. Refer to the foregoing annotated figures.
As to claim 6, Inaba/Ohrn et al discloses the coupling according to claim 4, wherein two or more outer pockets (51c’) are arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction, and wherein the coupling further comprises: an outer flange; and at least one outer spoke connecting the outer section with the outer flange in the radial direction and separating the pair of the two or more outer pockets. Refer to the foregoing annotated figures.
As to claim 7, Inaba/Ohrn et al discloses the coupling according to claim 6, wherein the at least one outer spoke is arranged at a circumferential position deviating from a circumferential position of the at least one inner spoke. Refer to the foregoing annotated figures.
As to claim 8, Inaba/Ohrn et al discloses the coupling according to claim 1, except for further comprising: an insulating barrier (20, Ohrn et al) arranged in each pocket of the plurality of pockets in a fluid tight manner.
"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba in view of Ohrn et al, and further in view of Stumm, Jr. (US 2,838,072).
As to claim 3, Inaba/Ohrn et al discloses the coupling according to claim 1, except that the plurality of pockets includes a spiral pocket spiraling around a longitudinal direction of the coupling.
However, Stumm teaches a pipe coupling which utilizes a spiral shape for grooves (37) in order to obtain a longer passage so as to manipulate fluid flow for a desired outcome (3: 32-48).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Inaba/Ohrn et al such that the plurality of pockets includes a spiral pocket spiraling around a longitudinal direction of the coupling, as taught by Stumm, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manipulate fluid flow for a particular application or design requirement, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As to claim 5, Inaba/Ohrn et al/Stumm, Jr. discloses the coupling according to claim 3, wherein two or more outer pockets are arranged adjacent to one another in the circumferential direction, and wherein the coupling further comprises: an outer flange; and at least one outer spoke connecting the outer section with the outer flange in a radial direction and separating a pair of the two or more outer pockets at their respective ends in the circumferential direction. Refer to the following annotated figure.
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dybevik et al discloses a coupling for connecting double-walled pipes, which allows for both circular pockets and pockets defined by planar walls along the circumference.
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679