DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-15, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 15, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as allegedly being anticipated by International Publication No. W02021/161482 Al ("Yoshioka") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20190274121-A1 to Wu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-15, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-6, 8, 11, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Yoshioka in view of International Publication No. W02021/031043 Al ("Li") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20190274121-A1 to Wu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-15, filed 06/11/2026with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Yoshioka and Li in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0231898 Al ("Li-898") have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US-20190274121-A1 to Wu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2021161482-A1 to Yoshioka in view of US-20190274121-A1 to Wu et al., from hereon WU.
Regarding claim 1 Yoshioka teaches…a resource selection method, comprising (Fig. 18 and 19, Page 9, Lns. 48-52 discloses the device and method for each functional block to perform the required actions or functions on multiple devices): obtaining, by a terminal, resource reservation information; and performing, by the terminal, resource selection based on the resource reservation information(Page 11, Lns. 48-54 discloses the terminal obtaining the resource reservation information and selecting the resources based on that information discloses….the receiving procedure for receiving the resource reservation information transmitted from another terminal in the sensing window ) but does not teach wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information comprises: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; wherein in a case where the terminal is a New Radio (NR) terminal, the second- type terminal is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) terminal.
Wu teaches… wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information comprises: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; wherein in a case where the terminal is a New Radio (NR) terminal, the second- type terminal is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) terminal (P.97 and 6 disclose the techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support multi-radio access technology (RAT) scheduling of sidelink interfaces. Generally, the described techniques provide an efficient mechanism that supports evolving PC5 interfaces between different RATs (e.g., a first RAT such as a Long Term Evolution (LTE) RAT and a second RAT such as a new radio (NR) RAT) and the UE may communicate the sidelink information message to the base station using the first RAT. The base station may receive the indication and respond by transmitting a configuration message that includes an identifier for the sidelink communications, providing some indication of resources that might be available for sidelink communications ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yoshioka by incorporating the teachings of Wu because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multi-radio access technology and the allocation of resources (Wu, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 14 Yoshioka and Wu teach the method according to claim 1, Yoshioka teaches… wherein after the performing, by the terminal, resource selection based on the resource reservation information, the method further comprises: indicating, by the terminal, the resource reservation information based on a selected resource(page 7, Fig. 15, Lns. 12-15 disclose the resource selection and indication via the process Fig. 15); or, wherein the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal, reevaluation and/or resource preemption detection; or, wherein the method further comprises: reporting, by the terminal, detection information and/or a candidate resource set to a network side device; or, wherein when the terminal is a second-type terminal, the obtaining resource reservation information comprises at least one of the following: obtaining periodic reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of first control information, wherein the first control information is control information of a first-type terminal; or, obtaining first transmission manner reservation information from a time gap indication field between initial transmission and retransmission; or, wherein when the terminal is a second-type terminal, the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal, resource exclusion based on resource collision and RSSI measurement sorting; or, wherein when the terminal performs resource selection, a resource detection time period of the terminal is in a range (n−T0, n−Tproc,0 SL), wherein n is a time for triggering resource selection, T0 is a time length related variable of a detection window indicated by a higher layer, and Tproc,0 SL is a parameter pre-defined in a protocol or preconfigured by a network or configured by a network; or, wherein a reservation period set of a first-type terminal is determined by using at least one of the following: a protocol pre-definition, pre-configuration, or configuration; or, wherein a quantity of transmission resources of the terminal is granted by any one of a DCI indication, an SCI indication, a higher layer indication, and a configured grant, and the quantity of transmission resources is a maximum of two; or, wherein when a quantity of transmission resources indicated by any one of a higher layer indication, a DCI indication, and an SCI indication is three, control information indicates two of the three transmission resources.
Regarding claim 15 Yoshioka teaches…a terminal(Fig. 18 and 19, Page 9, Lns. 48-52 discloses the device and method for each functional block to perform the required actions or functions on multiple devices), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform(page 11, Lns. 17-23 disclose the processor and memory coupled with instructions): obtaining resource reservation information; and performing resource selection based on the resource reservation information(Page 11, Lns. 48-54 discloses the terminal obtaining the resource reservation information and selecting the resources based on that information discloses….the receiving procedure for receiving the resource reservation information transmitted from another terminal in the sensing window and the resource to be used for transmission based on the resource reservation information but does not teach…wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information comprises: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; wherein in a case where the terminal is a New Radio (NR) terminal, the second- type terminal is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) terminal.
Wu teaches… wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information comprises: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; wherein in a case where the terminal is a New Radio (NR) terminal, the second- type terminal is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) terminal(P.97 and 6 disclose the echniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support multi-radio access technology (RAT) scheduling of sidelink interfaces. Generally, the described techniques provide an efficient mechanism that supports evolving PC5 interfaces between different RATs (e.g., a first RAT such as a Long Term Evolution (LTE) RAT and a second RAT such as a new radio (NR) RAT) and the UE may communicate the sidelink information message to the base station using the first RAT. The base station may receive the indication and respond by transmitting a configuration message that includes an identifier for the sidelink communications, providing some indication of resources that might be available for sidelink communications ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yoshioka by incorporating the teachings of Wu because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multi-radio access technology and the allocation of resources (Wu, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 18 Yoshioka teaches…a readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions(page 10, Lns. 38-43), wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the processor of the terminal to perform (P. 10, Lns. 45-48 further disclose…The storage device 1002 may 40 be referred to as a register, a cache, a main memory (main storage device), or the like. The storage device 1002 41 can store a program (program code), a software module, or the like that can be executed to implement the 42 communication method according to the embodiment of the present disclosure):: obtaining resource reservation information; and performing resource selection based on the resource reservation information(Page 11, Lns. 48-54 discloses the terminal obtaining the resource reservation information and selecting the resources based on that information discloses….the receiving procedure for receiving the resource reservation information transmitted from another terminal in the sensing window and the resource to be used for transmission based on the resource reservation information but does not teach wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information comprises: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; wherein in a case where the terminal is a New Radio (NR) terminal, the second- type terminal is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) terminal.
Wu teaches… wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information comprises: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; wherein in a case where the terminal is a New Radio (NR) terminal, the second- type terminal is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) terminal ( P.97 and 6 disclose the echniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support multi-radio access technology (RAT) scheduling of sidelink interfaces. Generally, the described techniques provide an efficient mechanism that supports evolving PC5 interfaces between different RATs (e.g., a first RAT such as a Long Term Evolution (LTE) RAT and a second RAT such as a new radio (NR) RAT) and the UE may communicate the sidelink information message to the base station using the first RAT. The base station may receive the indication and respond by transmitting a configuration message that includes an identifier for the sidelink communications, providing some indication of resources that might be available for sidelink communications ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yoshioka by incorporating the teachings of Wu because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration multi-radio access technology and the allocation of resources (Wu, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 2-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2021161482-A1 to Yoshioka and US-20190274121-A1 to Wu et al., from hereon WU in view of WO-2021031043-A1 to LI.
Regarding claim 2 Yoshioka and Wu teach the method according to claim 1, but do not teach…wherein the resource reservation information comprises at least one of the following: a priority of a data packet, a periodicity value of a first resource reservation manner, a time domain resource of a second resource reservation manner, or a frequency domain resource of a second resource reservation manner.
Li teaches… wherein the resource reservation information comprises at least one of the following: a priority of a data packet(page 13, Lns. 53-56 discloses the resource reservation information comprises a priority data indication for the various types of , a periodicity value of a first resource reservation manner (page 13, Lns 44-47 further discloses the utilization of aperiodic services for transmitting data when there is data to be transmitted), or a frequency domain resource of a second resource reservation manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yoshioka and Wu by incorporating the teachings of Li because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration resource reservation information that includes type of data, selection of transmission windows thus reducing interference and resource conflicts on communicating devices (Li, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 3 Yoshioka, and Wu teach the method according to claim 1,but do not teach…. wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information further comprises at least one of the following: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of first control information, wherein the first control information is control information of a first-type terminal; obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of second control information, wherein the second control information is control information of the first-type terminal; obtaining resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of third control information, wherein the third control information is control information of a second-type terminal; when a second resource reservation manner and/or a resource selection manner of the terminal are a first preset manner, obtaining the resource reservation information from HARQ association indication information in the first control information, or obtaining the resource reservation information from HARQ association indication information in the second control information; when the second resource reservation manner and/or the resource selection manner of the terminal are/is a second preset manner, obtaining the resource reservation information from the resource reservation indication field in the second control information; or, when a first transmission manner and the second resource reservation manner are used by the terminal, obtaining the resource reservation information from the resource reservation indication field of the second control information and a time gap indication field between initial transmission and retransmission in the first control information.
Li teaches… wherein the obtaining the resource reservation information further comprises at least one of the following: obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of first control information (Abs), wherein the first control information is control information of a first-type terminal; obtaining the resource reservation information from a resource reservation indication field of second control information, wherein the second control information is control information of the first-type terminal; when a second resource reservation manner and/or a resource selection manner of the terminal are a first preset manner, obtaining the resource reservation information from HARQ association indication information in the first control information, or obtaining the resource reservation information from HARQ association indication information in the second control information; when the second resource reservation manner and/or the resource selection manner of the terminal are/is a second preset manner, obtaining the resource reservation information from the resource reservation indication field in the second control information; or, when a first transmission manner and the second resource reservation manner are used by the terminal, obtaining the resource reservation information from the resource reservation indication field of the second control information and a time gap indication field between initial transmission and retransmission in the first control information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yoshioka and Wu by incorporating the teachings of Li because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration resource reservation information that includes type of data, selection of transmission windows thus reducing interference and resource conflicts on communicating devices (Li, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 4 Yoshioka and Wu teach the method according to claim 3, Li teaches…wherein the first preset manner is determined by using at least one of the following: a protocol pre-definition, pre-configuration, configuration, or an indication(page 17, Lns. 52-60); and/or the second preset manner is determined by using at least one of the following: a protocol pre-definition, pre-configuration, configuration, or an indication(page 19, Lns. 54-60 further provide a configuration; additionally Page 9 provides the configuration for a manner also known and defined in the instant application as PRB).
Regarding claim 5 Yoshioka and Wu teach the method according to claim 3, Li teaches…wherein in the first preset manner, the terminal meets at least one of the following: a TB transmitted by the terminal is associated with N HARQ processes, wherein N is a positive integer, [[wherein]] a time gap between a reservation resource in the second resource reservation manner and a resource transmitted in the first transmission manner is a data processing time of the terminal (page 4, Lns. 21-24 discloses the a time gap, time length, for exclusion window, during which the device is processing or determining the resources for the other available resources for high priority services )or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sending processing time; or, when the terminal is the second-type terminal, determining the resource reservation information by detecting first control information of each HARQ of the second-type terminal and the first-type terminal, and performing resource exclusion.
Regarding claim 6 Yoshioka and Wu teach the method according to claim 5, Yoshioka teaches…wherein a value of N meets at least one of the following: determining by using at least one of the following: a protocol pre-definition, pre- configuration(page 6, Lns. 24-26 discloses the value N being preconfigured or determined on for the corresponding slots), configuration, a radio resource control (RRC) indication, a media access control control element (MAC CE) indication, a downlink control information (DCI) indication, or a sidelink control information (SCI) indication; or, being related to at least one of the following: a channel occupancy ratio, a channel busy ratio, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission, a conversion type, a quantity of receive terminals, or a maximum quantity of HARQ processes.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2021161482-A1 to Yoshioka, US-20190274121-A1 to Wu et al., from hereon WU, and WO-2021031043-A1 to LI in view of US-20220231898-A1 to Li et al., from hereon Li-898.
Regarding claim 7 Yoshioka and Wu teach the method according to claim 5, but do not teach…wherein when the terminal meets that a TB transmitted is associated with N HARQ processes, the terminal further meets at least one of the following: selecting MxN candidate resources, wherein M is 1 or 2; or, sending association indication information, wherein the association indication information is used to indicate that reservation resources of Q HARQ processes are reservation resources of a same TB, and Q is a positive integer less than or equal to N; wherein the association indication information is implemented by using at least one of the following: sending an HARQ process association indication field in a reserved bit of the first control information, to indicate at least one of a time domain resource or a frequency domain resource of the reservation resources of the Q HARQ processes; or, sending an HARQ process association indication field in the second control information, to indicate at least one of the time domain resource or the frequency domain resource of the reservation resources of the Q HARQ processes, wherein when the second control information is in a first information format, a time domain resource indication field in the second control information indicates time domain resources reserved by two or three HARQ processes, and/or a frequency domain resource indication field in the first control information indicates frequency domain resources reserved by two or three HARQ processes; wherein when the HARQ process association indication field is sent in the reserved bit of the first control information, the value of Q is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of remaining reserved bits of the first control information, a channel occupancy ratio, a channel busy ratio, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission, a conversion type, a quantity of receive terminals, or a maximum quantity of HARQ processes; or when the HARQ process association indication field is sent in the second control information, the value of Q is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of bits of the second control information, a quantity of idle bits of the second control information, a channel occupancy ratio, a channel busy ratio, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission, a conversion type, a quantity of receive terminals, or a maximum quantity of HARQ processes.
Li-898 teaches… wherein when the terminal meets that a TB transmitted is associated with N HARQ processes, the terminal further meets at least one of the following: selecting MxN candidate resources, wherein M is 1 or 2(P. 368);; or, sending association indication information, wherein the association indication information is used to indicate that reservation resources of Q HARQ processes are reservation resources of a same TB, and Q is a positive integer less than or equal to N; wherein the association indication information is implemented by using at least one of the following: sending an HARQ process association indication field in a reserved bit of the first control information, to indicate at least one of a time domain resource or a frequency domain resource of the reservation resources of the Q HARQ processes; or, sending an HARQ process association indication field in the second control information, to indicate at least one of the time domain resource or the frequency domain resource of the reservation resources of the Q HARQ processes, wherein when the second control information is in a first information format, a time domain resource indication field in the second control information indicates time domain resources reserved by two or three HARQ processes, and/or a frequency domain resource indication field in the first control information indicates frequency domain resources reserved by two or three HARQ processes; wherein when the HARQ process association indication field is sent in the reserved bit of the first control information, the value of Q is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of remaining reserved bits of the first control information, a channel occupancy ratio, a channel busy ratio, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission, a conversion type, a quantity of receive terminals, or a maximum quantity of HARQ processes; or when the HARQ process association indication field is sent in the second control information, the value of Q is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of bits of the second control information, a quantity of idle bits of the second control information, a channel occupancy ratio, a channel busy ratio, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission, a conversion type, a quantity of receive terminals, or a maximum quantity of HARQ processes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yoshioka, Wu, and Li by incorporating the teachings of Li-898 because the method and device allow for various modes of configuration resource reservation information that includes indicating quantities of candidate resources that include the definition of “M” (Li-898, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the main reason for objecting of the claims under discussion is the inclusion of “performing resource selection comprises: excluding a resource that meets a preset condition from a resource candidate set”, “preset condition comprises at least one of the following: a resource in which the resource reservation information is located at least partially overlaps with a resource and/or a reservation resource in the resource candidate set, and a measured RSRP is greater than the preset RSRP threshold; or a reservation resource indicated by the resource reservation information at least partially overlaps with the resource and/or the reservation resource in the resource candidate set, and a measured RSRP is greater than the preset RSRP threshold”, “wherein when the resource selection is performed, a preset RSRP threshold corresponding to a first-type terminal is different from a preset RSRP threshold corresponding to the second-type terminal”, “performing resource selection comprises: obtaining a measured RSRP;wherein the obtaining a measured RSRP comprises: obtaining the measured RSRP based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern; wherein the obtaining the measured RSRP based on a DMRS pattern comprises at least one of the following: determining the DMRS pattern based on first information, and obtaining the measured RSRP based on the DMRS pattern; or, obtaining the measured RSRP based on a DMRS transmitted on a target antenna port, wherein the target antenna port is an antenna port indicated by first control information; wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: a control information format, a resource in which control information is located, or a received signal type, type information of the terminal, a related indication field of the DMRS pattern, version information of the DMRS pattern, or a resource allocation manner of the DMRS pattern”, “the performing resource selection comprises: sorting, based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement result, resources after resource exclusion is performed in the resource candidate set”, “the terminal to perform a first-type terminal to be different from a preset RSRP threshold corresponding to a second-type terminal; changing a priority of sending data by the second-type terminal; or, changing an RSRP associated with the second-type terminal obtained through measurement”, and “a resource in which the resource reservation information is located at least partially overlaps with a resource and/or a reservation resource in the resource candidate set, and a measured RSRP is greater than the preset RSRP threshold; a reservation resource indicated by the resource reservation information at least partially overlaps with the resource and/or the reservation resource in the resource candidate set, and a measured RSRP is greater than the preset RSRP threshold; the resource in which the resource reservation information is located at least partially overlaps with the resource and/or the reservation resource in the resource candidate set”.
Claims 10, 13, 17, and 20 are objected (allowed) as they depend from an objected claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-20230107246-A1 to Kang, US-20200029340-A1 to He, WO-2021000679-A1 to Zhang disclose resource selection methods and network devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476