DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-25, and 27-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi et al. (11011558, hereafter Sakaguchi) in view of Horiuchi et al. (2019/0196035, hereafter Horiuchi).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector comprising: a detection substrate including a semiconductor layer (100, Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 33) and a layer (120, Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 56); wherein the detection substrate includes a detection region (10, Fig. 1A; Col. 3, lines 7-8) in which a detection element (103, Fig. 2A, Col. 7, line 10) of radiation is provided in the semiconductor layer, and a peripheral region (20) provided outside the detection region, in at least a part of the peripheral region of the detection substrate (Fig. 1A; Col. 3, lines 8-9), the layer is provided in at least the detection region on at least one of the first main surface (101) and the second main surface (102) of the detection substrate (Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 35), and a thickness of the layer in the detection region (within D1) is smaller than a thickness of the semiconductor layer in the detection region (T1) (Fig. 1B).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose the layer being a resin layer, and a circuit board, the circuit board supports a second main surface opposite to a first main surface of the detection substrate on which the radiation is incident.
However, Horiuchi teaches the layer being a resin layer (3, Fig. 5, par. 0044), and a circuit board (52, Fig. 5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055), the circuit board supports a second main surface opposite to a first main surface of the detection substrate on which the radiation is incident (4/5, Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by providing a resin layer in the detection region in order to reduce transmission of impact to the radiation detection substrate and providing a circuit board to implement communication interface with outside devices.
Regarding claim 2, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the thickness of the semiconductor layer (T1) in the detection region is 10 μm or more and 100 μm or less (Fig. 1B, Col. 5, lines 10-11).
Regarding claim 3, Sakaguchi discloses radiation detector wherein the thickness of the resin layer (part of D1) in the detection region is 1 μm or more and half or less of the thickness of the semiconductor layer in the detection region (Fig. 1B; Col. 4, line 24; Col. 5, lines 11-12; Col. 11, lines 38-39).
Regarding claim 4, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the resin layer (120) is provided in both the detection region (10) and the peripheral region (20), and the thickness of the layer in the detection region (T1) is smaller than the thickness of the layer in the peripheral region (T2) (Fig. 1B, Col. 5, lines 4-38).
Regarding claim 5, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the resin layer is provided on both the first main surface (120) and the second main surface (140) of the detection substrate in the detection region (Fig. 3B, Col. 8, line 65).
Regarding claim 6, Sakaguchi fails to disclose a radiation detector wherein the resin layer has an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more.
However, Horiuchi teaches a radiation detector wherein the resin layer has an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more (par. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by implementing a resin layer with an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more in order to make it semi-rigid to rigid, thus balancing structural integrity and flexibility.
Regarding claim 7, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the detection substrate is fixed to the circuit board via an adhesive layer (224) in the peripheral region (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 8, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (224) covers at least a part of a side surface of the detection substrate (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 10, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (224) includes a spacer configured to define a distance between the detection substrate and the circuit board (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 11, Sakaguchi fails to disclose a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer has an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more.
However, Horiuchi teaches a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (6) has an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more (Fig. 1, par. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by implementing a resin layer with an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more in order to make it semi-rigid to rigid, thus balancing structural integrity and flexibility.
Regarding claim 12, Sakaguchi discloses radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (224) is provided apart from the resin layer (120) (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, line 11).
Regarding claim 13, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein a signal processing circuit (24) and a terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) are provided in the peripheral region (20) of the semiconductor layer (100) (Col. 7, lines 43-46), and the terminal is electrically connected to the circuit board via a connection member (110, Fig. 2C; Col. 7, line 67).
Regarding claim 14, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the detection substrate (100) is fixed to the support (210) via an adhesive layer (224) in the peripheral region (20), and in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), an end of the adhesive layer on a side closer to the detection region (10) has a smaller distance to the detection region than an end of the terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) on a side closer to the detection region (Figs. 1A-1B, 4A-4B; Col. 3, lines 32-35; Col. 7, lines 43-46; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose the support being a circuit board.
However, Horiuchi teaches the support being a circuit board (4/5/52, Fig. 1-5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by providing a circuit board to implement communication interface with outside devices.
Regarding claim 15, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), the terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) and the circuit board (IC) overlap (Fig. 1A, Col. 7, lines 45-46).
Regarding claim 16, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), the support (210) is provided with an opening at a position corresponding to the detection region (Fig. 4A; Col. 9, lines 21-27).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose the support being a circuit board.
However, Horiuchi teaches the support being a circuit board (4/5/52, Fig. 1-5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by providing a circuit board as support to efficiently utilize space by implementing communication interface with outside devices.
Regarding claim 17, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein a signal processing circuit (24) and a terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) are provided in the peripheral region (20) of the semiconductor layer (100), and in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from the direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), an edge of the opening has a smaller distance from the detection region (10) than an end of the terminal on a side closer to the detection region (Fig. 1A-1B, Col. 7, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 18, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector comprising: a detection substrate including a semiconductor layer (100, Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 33) and a layer different from the semiconductor layer (120, Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 56); wherein the detection substrate includes a detection region (10, Fig. 1A; Col. 3, lines 7-8) in which a detection element (103, Fig. 2A, Col. 7, line 10) of radiation is provided in the semiconductor layer, and a peripheral region (20) provided outside the detection region, in at least a part of the peripheral region of the detection substrate (Fig. 1A; Col. 3, lines 8-9), the layer is provided in at least the detection region on at least one of the first main surface and the second main surface of the detection substrate (Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 35), and a thickness of the layer in the detection region (within D1) is smaller than a thickness of the semiconductor layer in the detection region (T1) (Fig.1B).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose that the layer has an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more, and a circuit board, the circuit board supports a second main surface opposite to a first main surface of the detection substrate on which the radiation is incident.
However, Horiuchi teaches that the layer has an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more (par. 0033), and a circuit board (52, Fig. 5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055), the circuit board supports a second main surface opposite to a first main surface of the detection substrate on which the radiation is incident (4/5, Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by implementing a layer with an elastic modulus of 100 MPa or more in order to make it semi-rigid to rigid, thus balancing structural integrity and flexibility, and providing a circuit board for support to implement efficient use of space while including communication interface with external devices.
Regarding claim 19, Sakaguchi fails to disclose a radiation detector according wherein the layer has an elastic modulus of 300 MPa or more.
However, Horiuchi teaches a radiation detector wherein the layer has an elastic modulus of 300 MPa or more (par. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by implementing a layer with an elastic modulus of 300 MPa or more in order to make it rigid, thus providing more reliable structural integrity.
Regarding claim 20, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the thickness of the semiconductor layer (T1) in the detection region is 10 μm or more and 100 μm or less (Fig. 1B, Col. 5, lines 10-11).
Regarding claim 21, Sakaguchi discloses radiation detector wherein the thickness of the layer (part of D1) in the detection region is 1 μm or more and half or less of the thickness of the semiconductor layer in the detection region (Fig. 1B; Col. 4, line 24; Col. 5, lines 11-12; Col. 11, lines 38-39).
Regarding claim 22, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the layer (100) is provided in both the detection region (10) and the peripheral region (20), and the thickness of the layer in the detection region (T1) is smaller than the thickness of the layer in the peripheral region (T2) (Fig. 1B, Col. 5, lines 4-38).
Regarding claim 23, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the layer is provided on both the first main surface (120) and the second main surface (140) of the detection substrate in the detection region (Fig. 3B, Col. 8, line 65).
Regarding claim 24, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the detection substrate is fixed to the support via an adhesive layer (224) in the peripheral region (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose the support being a circuit board.
However, Horiuchi teaches the support being a circuit board (4/5/52, Fig. 1-5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by providing a circuit board as support to efficiently utilize space by implementing communication interface with outside devices.
Regarding claim 25, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (224) covers at least a part of a side surface of the detection substrate (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 27, Sakaguchi discloses radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (224) is provided apart from the resin layer (120) (Fig. 4B; Col. 9, line 11).
Regarding claim 28, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein a signal processing circuit (24) and a terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) are provided in the peripheral region (20) of the semiconductor layer (100) (Col. 7, lines 43-46), and the terminal is electrically connected to the circuit board via a connection member (110, Fig. 2C; Col. 7, line 67).
Regarding claim 29, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein the detection substrate (100) is fixed to the support (210) via an adhesive layer (224) in the peripheral region (20), and in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), an end of the adhesive layer on a side closer to the detection region (10) has a smaller distance to the detection region than an end of the terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) on a side closer to the detection region (Figs. 1A-1B, 4A-4B; Col. 3, lines 32-35; Col. 7, lines 43-46; Col. 9, lines 8-11).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose the support being a circuit board.
However, Horiuchi teaches the support being a circuit board (4/5/52, Fig. 1-5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by providing a circuit board as support to efficiently utilize space by implementing communication interface with outside devices.
Regarding claim 30, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), the terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) and the circuit board (IC) overlap (Fig. 1A, Col. 7, lines 45-46).
Regarding claim 31, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), the circuit board (210) is provided with an opening at a position corresponding to the detection region (Fig. 4A; Col. 9, lines 21-7).
Regarding claim 32, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation detector wherein a signal processing circuit (24) and a terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output) are provided in the peripheral region (20) of the semiconductor layer (100), and in a case where the radiation detector is seen through from the direction perpendicular to the first main surface (101), an edge of the opening has a smaller distance from the detection region (10) than an end of the terminal on a side closer to the detection region (Fig. 1A-1B, Col. 7, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 33, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation imaging system (EQP) comprising: the radiation detector (IC); and a signal processing unit (PRCS) configured to process a signal output from the radiation detector (Fig. 12A, Col. 13, lines 36-43).
Regarding claim 34, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation imaging system (EQP) comprising: the radiation detector (IC); and a signal processing unit (PRCS) configured to process a signal output from the radiation detector (Fig. 12A, Col. 13, lines 36-43).
Regarding claim 35, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation imaging system (EQP comprising: the radiation detector (IC); and a radiation source (OPT) (Fig. 12A, Col. 13, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 36, Sakaguchi discloses a radiation imaging system (EQP comprising: the radiation detector (IC); and a radiation source (OPT) (Fig. 12A, Col. 13, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 37, Sakaguchi discloses a method for manufacturing a radiation detector, the method comprising: preparing a semiconductor substrate in which a detection element (103, Fig. 2A; Col. 7, lines 10) of radiation is provided in a detection region (10, Fig. 1A; Col. 3, lines 7-8) of a first main surface (101, Fig. 1B; Col. 3, line 35) and a terminal (23/26 corresponding to input/output, Fig. 1A) is provided in a peripheral region (20, Fig. 1A) of the first main surface, forming a layer (120) having a thickness (within D1) smaller than a thickness (T1) of the semiconductor substrate in the detection region (10) at least at a position overlapping the detection region as seen through from a direction orthogonal to the first main surface on at least one of the first main surface and a second main surface (102) opposite to the first main surface (Fig. 1A; Col. 4, lines 18-21); fixing the semiconductor substrate on which the layer is formed to the support such that the second main surface is supported in the peripheral region (Col. 9, lines 21-27); and electrically connecting the terminal and the support with a connection member (110, Fig. 1A-1B; Col. 7, lines 43-46).
Sakaguchi fails to disclose the layer being a resin layer and a circuit board such that the support is a circuit board.
However, Horiuchi teaches the layer being a resin layer (3, Fig. 5, par. 0044) and a circuit board such that the support is a circuit board (4/5/52, Fig. 1-5, par. 0041, 0047, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Horiuchi by providing a resin layer in the detection region in order to reduce transmission of impact to the radiation detection substrate and providing a circuit board as support to implement communication interface with outside devices while efficiently utilizing space.
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi in view of Horiuchi as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Nagano et al. (2004/0178350, hereafter Nagano).
Regarding claim 9, Sakaguchi and Horiuchi discussed above fail to disclose a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer includes a resin material in which metal particles are dispersed.
However, Nagano teaches a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (107) includes a resin material (110) in which metal particles are dispersed (Fig. 1, par. 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi with Nagano by implementing an adhesive including resin material to provide a protective barrier for the sensor, planarization, and passivation for the surface of the semiconductor layer, and metal particles to enable electrical signal transfer and increased thermal conductivity.
Regarding claim 26, Sakaguchi and Horiuchi discussed above fail to disclose a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer includes a resin material in which metal particles are dispersed.
However, Nagano teaches a radiation detector wherein the adhesive layer (107) includes a resin material (110) in which metal particles are dispersed (Fig. 1, par. 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sakaguchi and Horiuchi with Nagano by implementing an adhesive including resin material to provide a protective barrier for the sensor, planarization, and passivation for the surface of the semiconductor layer, and metal particles to enable electrical signal transfer and increased thermal conductivity.
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817