DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group 1 and species b in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant asserts this election reads on claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 15.
Claim 15 recites inter alia “the first body includes a first receiving portion with a first slot” and “the second body includes a second receiving portion with a second slot”. There is no discussion of a first slot and a second slot in the elected embodiment. This is instead found in the non-elected embodiment of species a. Therefore, claim 15 is withdrawn from consideration.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 3 and 8-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1, 2, and 4-7 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2024 and 05/28/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morita et al. (U.S. 2023/0200551).
With respect to claim 1, Morita et al. teaches a coupling device for a medical system, comprising:
a first portion (2), wherein the first portion includes a first body (40) and a first connector (6), wherein the first connector extends from the first body and is configured to couple a first medical device to the first portion (via 6a,6b intended use); and
a second portion (1), wherein the second portion includes a second body (34) and a second connector (38/4), wherein the second connector extends from the second body and is configured to couple a second medical device to the second portion (via 73, intended use),
wherein the first portion and the second portion are removably couplable, wherein, when coupled, the second portion is rotatable relative to the first portion (para [0048]).
With respect to claim 2, Morita et al. teaches the first body includes a first coupling projection (49), and wherein the second body includes a second coupling projection (30) configured to be coupled to the first coupling projection (FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 4, Morita et al. teaches the first body includes a first magnet (25), and wherein the second body includes a second magnet of opposite polarity to the first magnet (51).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gu (U.S. 2023/0109955).
With respect to claim 1, Gu teaches a coupling device for a medical system, comprising:
a first portion (1), wherein the first portion includes a first body (11/12) and a first connector (18/19), wherein the first connector extends from the first body and is configured to couple a first medical device to the first portion (intended use); and
a second portion (2), wherein the second portion includes a second body (21) and a second connector (29), wherein the second connector extends from the second body and is configured to couple a second medical device to the second portion (intended use),
wherein the first portion and the second portion are removably couplable (via 4), wherein, when coupled, the second portion is rotatable relative to the first portion (para [0024]).
With respect to claim 4, Gu teaches the first body includes a first magnet (7), and wherein the second body includes a second magnet of opposite polarity to the first magnet (7).
With respect to claim 5, Gu teaches the first body includes a plurality of first protrusions (16), and wherein the second body includes a plurality of second protrusions (24) configured to abut and rotate relative to the first protrusions (para [0033]-[0035]).
With respect to claim 7, Gu teaches the first body further includes a circular depression, wherein the first protrusions are positioned within the circular depression (FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (U.S. 2023/0109955) in view of Bachmann (U.S. 2025/0017306).
Gu teaches a coupling device as set forth above. However, Gu does not teach the protrusions are trapezoidal.
With respect to claim 6, Bachmann teaches a toothed ring with trapezoidal teeth (para [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the protrusions of Gu to be trapezoidal in the manner taught by Bachmann in order to provide not only a rotation prevention, but at the same time also a locking connection (para [0019] of Bachmann).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799