DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 18, and 21-29 are pending, claims 16, 18, 21, and 22 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 23-29 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley (U.S. 2006/0173438).
With respect to claim 1, Crowey teaches a coupling device for a medical system, comprising:
a first portion, wherein the first portion includes a first body (10) and a first strap (40), wherein the first strap extends outwardly from the first body and is configured to couple a first medical device to the first portion (para [0021]); and
a second portion, wherein the second portion includes a second body (30) and a second strap (para [0023]), wherein the second strap extends outwardly from the second body and is configured to couple a second medical device to the second portion (para [0023]),
wherein the first portion and the second portion are removably couplable (para [0020]).
While Crowley does not explicitly teach that when coupled, the second portion is rotatable relative to the first portion, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the peg and hole configuration depicted in FIG. 1 would allow for the second portion to rotate relative to the first portion.
With respect to claim 2, Crowley teaches the first body includes a first coupling projection (20), and wherein the second body includes a second coupling projection (31) configured to be coupled to the first coupling projection (FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 4, Crowley teaches the first body includes a first magnet and wherein the second body includes a second magnet of opposite polarity to the first magnet (para [0020]).
With respect to claim 26, Crowley teaches the first strap is configured to wrap around a handle of the first medical device, and wherein the second strap is configured to wrap around a handle of the second medical device (para [0021],[0023]).
Claim(s) 5-7, 24, 25, and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley (U.S. 2006/0173438) in view of Gu (U.S. 2023/0109955).
Crowley teaches a coupling device as set forth above. However, Crowley does not teach a plurality of protrusions.
With respect to claim 5, Gu teaches the first body includes a plurality of first protrusions arranged circumferentially around the first magnet (16), and wherein the second body includes a plurality of second protrusions arranged circumferentially around the second magnet, wherein the second protrusions are (24) configured to abut and rotate relative to the first protrusions (para [0033]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the coupling projections of Crowley to utilize the protrusions surrounding the magnet as taught by Gu in order to increase the frictional force required to rotate the first body with respect to the second body, thereby reducing accidental or unintended rotation between the two.
With respect to claim 6, Gu does not expressly teach the protrusions are trapezoidal with angled side surfaces. However, such a modification would only require a change of shape of the protrusions disclosed in Gu. A change of shape has generally held to be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 7, Gu teaches the first body further includes a circular depression, wherein the first protrusions are positioned within the circular depression (FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 24, Gu teaches the angled side surfaces of the first protrusions and the second protrusions are configured to guide the second portion away from the first portion during rotation of the second portion relative to the first portion (FIG. 2 for example).
With respect to claim 25, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gu so that the circular depression surrounds the first magnet, and wherein the first protrusions are positioned within the circular depression around the first magnet because doing so would require a simple rearrangement of parts; rearrangement of parts has been held to be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 27, Crowley teaches a coupling device for a medical system, comprising:
a first portion including a first body (10) and a first strap (40), wherein the first strap is configured to wrap around a handle of a first medical device to couple the first medical device to the first portion (para [0021]);
a second portion including a second body (30) and a second strap (para [0023]), wherein the second strap is configured to wrap around a handle of a second medical device to couple the second medical device to the second portion (para [0023]);
wherein the first body includes a first magnet and the second body includes a second magnet of opposite polarity to the first magnet (para [0020]).
However, Crowley does not teach a plurality of protrusions.
With respect to claim 27, Gu teaches wherein the first body includes a plurality of first protrusions arranged circumferentially around the first magnet and the second body includes a plurality of second protrusions arranged circumferentially around the second magnet, wherein the second protrusions are configured to abut and rotate relative to the first protrusions (16, 24, para [0033]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the coupling projections of Crowley to utilize the protrusions surrounding the magnet as taught by Gu in order to increase the frictional force required to rotate the first body with respect to the second body, thereby reducing accidental or unintended rotation between the two.
With respect to claim 28, Crowley does not explicitly teach that when coupled, the second portion is rotatable relative to the first portion. However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the peg and hole configuration depicted in FIG. 1 would allow for the second portion to rotate relative to the first portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799