DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on February 27, 2024.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 27, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non- structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for’) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that’; and
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an instruction reception section”, “a calculation section”, “a consumable remaining amount acquisition section”, “a determination section” and “a notification section” of independent Claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. These limitations “an instruction reception section”, “a calculation section”, “a consumable remaining amount acquisition section”, “a determination section” and “a notification section” of indep. Claim 1 are covered by the structure(s) from the original disclosure as following:
“an instruction reception section” (see Specification, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 34 and etc., the processor 10a),
“a calculation section” (see Specification, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 35 and etc., the processor 10a),
“a consumable remaining amount acquisition section” (see Specification, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 36 and etc., the processor 10a),
“a determination section” (see Specification, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 37 and etc., the processor 10a) and
“a notification section” (see Specification, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 54 and etc., the processor 10a) of indep. Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maurin (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0273912 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a print control apparatus (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 19 and etc., disclose that “[0019] More specifically, FIG. 1 illustrates a mail processing system 100 that can include a postage printing device 102, a plurality of consumable items 104_A, 104_B, 104_C and 104_N (collectively referred to as 104), wherein N equals any suitable integer value, and a local database 106. The postage printing device 102 is in communication with a central processing device 108 coupled to a historical database 110….”) comprising:
an instruction reception section configured to receive an instruction to perform batch printing of a plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. para. 22 and etc., disclose that “[0022] In one embodiment, the postage printing device 102 can receive a printing job or batch 130 as processing from a database where the project can include instructions as to running a mailing operation including printing items for subsequent mailing, for example printing letters, printing postage for letters on envelopes and thereupon assembling the letters and envelopes for subsequent mailing. Illustrated in FIG. 1, the postage printing device 102 may generate a plurality of mailing components 132, which in the illustrated embodiment include sealed envelopes having postage printed thereon….”);
a calculation section configured to calculate, based on the plurality of print files, a predicted consumption of consumables required for batch printing of the plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 30, and etc., disclose that “[0030] The processing device 122 of FIG. 2, disposed within the postage printing device 102 of FIG. 1, can calculate a prediction for the predicted expiration of the consumable. The calculation of the prediction term can include referencing the corresponding operating speed relative to the remaining amount of the consumable. This calculation may also include threshold amounts, such as conditions that a consumable supply amount should not fall below a minimum threshold, or other associated parameter. The prediction term may a time-based term….”);
a consumable remaining amount acquisition section configured to obtain a consumable remaining amount from a printer (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 28 and etc., disclose that “[0028] The postage printing device 102 can also determine the remaining amount or capacity of the consumables. Pinging or otherwise electronically inquiring as to a status amount may determine the remaining amount. Additionally, the consumable carriers may actively supply this information. In another embodiment, the postage printing device 102 may additionally actively monitor these amounts. For example, if the first consumable is a PSD including credits usable for subsequent printing postage by the device 102, the PSD may provide an initial credit amount of the device 102 and the device 102 subtracts the proper credit for each postage printing instruction. In another example, if the consumable is ink cartridge levels, the device 102 may actively inquire as to an ink level. Regardless of the specific technique, the device 102 thereupon determines the remaining amount of the consumable in the processing system 100….”);
a determination section configured to determine, based on the predicted consumption and the consumable remaining amount, whether or not it is possible to perform batch printing without replacing the consumables (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”, and further in para. 8, disclose that “[0008] It is also known to proactively calculate consumable amounts based optimized operating speeds of the printing device. For example, a user can manually calculate that the postage printing device can process, at a maximum speed, 5000 envelopes per hour. If a project is estimated to run for two hours, the user may estimate a maximum amount of 10,000 envelopes. While these mail processing systems have optimum operating speeds, this can be a very inaccurate indicator for consumable usage because the machines operate at speeds significantly varying from the optimized amount…”); and
a notification section configured to give a user a notification based on a determination result (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the print control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determination section identifies the printer recommended from a plurality of printers based on the consumable remaining amount and the predicted consumption of each of the plurality of printers, and the notification section gives the notification of the identified printer (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 5, disclose the plurality of printing device 162-1 to 162-M, and in para. 38 and etc., disclose that “[0038] The printing devices 162 may be similar to the processing system 100 of FIG. 1 and can include one or more postage printing devices and ancillary systems complementing operation. These printing devices 162 can include corresponding consumable items usable in normal operation. Similar to the system of FIG. 1, these printing devices 162 may also actively monitor operating speeds and maintain local historical data used for more accurately computing operating speeds. The processing device 108 may be one or more processing devices providing for central computation of historical data 172 stored in the historical database 110….”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the print control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the determination section identifies, as the recommended printer, the printer having less variation in ink remaining amount of each ink type after batch printing (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 4 and etc., disclose that “[0004] In existing processing systems, the supply amounts of these consumable items are monitored and tracked by relatively primitive techniques. One available technique is to simply monitor the remaining amounts based on an item level indicator. For example, tracking the amount of ink left in the print system may include visually inspecting an ink quantity indicator, such as indicating the cartridge has 50% of its capacity left. In another technique, the cartridge levels may be associated with a printing amount, such as a set number of pages, but since each printed page requires differing amounts of ink….”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the print control apparatus according to The print control apparatus according to wherein when the consumable remaining amount is to be insufficient in a middle of batch printing and replacement of the consumables is required, the notification section notifies in advance that replacement of the consumables occurs in the middle of batch printing (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 4, disclose that “[0004] In existing processing systems, the supply amounts of these consumable items are monitored and tracked by relatively primitive techniques. One available technique is to simply monitor the remaining amounts based on an item level indicator. For example, tracking the amount of ink left in the print system may include visually inspecting an ink quantity indicator, such as indicating the cartridge has 50% of its capacity left. In another technique, the cartridge levels may be associated with a printing amount, such as a set number of pages, but since each printed page requires differing amounts of ink, this is very unreliable…”; and in para. 28 and etc., disclose that “[0028] The postage printing device 102 can also determine the remaining amount or capacity of the consumables. Pinging or otherwise electronically inquiring as to a status amount may determine the remaining amount. Additionally, the consumable carriers may actively supply this information. In another embodiment, the postage printing device 102 may additionally actively monitor these amounts. For example, if the first consumable is a PSD including credits usable for subsequent printing postage by the device 102, the PSD may provide an initial credit amount of the device 102 and the device 102 subtracts the proper credit for each postage printing instruction. In another example, if the consumable is ink cartridge levels, the device 102 may actively inquire as to an ink level. Regardless of the specific technique, the device 102 thereupon determines the remaining amount of the consumable in the processing system 100.”; and in para. 5, disclose that “… In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the print control apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when the consumable remaining amount is to be insufficient in the middle of batch printing and replacement of the consumable is required, the notification section transmits, to the printer, a print instruction of the print files possible to be printed before replacement and causes the printer to start batch printing, after printing of the print files possible to be printed before replacement is completed, the notification section gives a notification to perform replacement, and after replacement, the notification section transmits a print instruction of the print files remaining (in addition to the discussions above, further in para. 5-6 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge. [0006] These existing techniques are reactionary techniques providing a response to a threshold situation. In the above example of ink, notifications are provided when ink levels are below the threshold. In the high volume mail processing systems, this can be problematic due to the printing speed and subsequent volume of consumable usage.”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the print control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determination section determines whether or not batch printing is possible for each of a plurality of print settings, and the notification section gives a notification of a determination result for each of the plurality of print settings (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 5, disclose that “… one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge”; also see para. 48 and etc., disclose that “[0048] The operating speed of the processing system can be determined, step 208. A remaining amount of consumable in the processing system can be determined, step 216, e.g., based upon the determined operating speed and information about the remaining amount of consumables, historical data, etc. This can be similar to step 152 of FIG. 4. A prediction term can be calculated for the predicted expiration of the consumable based on the actual operating speed, step 218, and a time to expire can be estimated for the consumable in the processing system based on the prediction term and the remaining amount of consumable, step 220. This can be similar to steps 154 and 156 of FIG. 4…”).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to a printing system (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose the mail processing system 100) comprising:
a print control apparatus (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose the central processing device 108);
a printer that obtains a consumable remaining amount and returns the consumable remaining amount in accordance with control of the print control apparatus (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 5, disclose the plurality of printers 162_1 to 162_M); and
a terminal that performs display in accordance with information transmitted from the print control apparatus and transmits to the print control apparatus an instruction input by a user (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 2, disclose the printing device 122, and in para. 20 and etc., disclose that “…The processing device may be one or more processing elements operative to receive executable instructions 126 from the memory device 124 and performing operations as described in further detail below.”);
the print control apparatus includes
an instruction reception section that receives an instruction, transmitted from the terminal, to perform batch printing of a plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. para. 22 and etc., disclose that “[0022] In one embodiment, the postage printing device 102 can receive a printing job or batch 130 as processing from a database where the project can include instructions as to running a mailing operation including printing items for subsequent mailing, for example printing letters, printing postage for letters on envelopes and thereupon assembling the letters and envelopes for subsequent mailing. Illustrated in FIG. 1, the postage printing device 102 may generate a plurality of mailing components 132, which in the illustrated embodiment include sealed envelopes having postage printed thereon….”),
a calculation section that calculates, based on the plurality of print files, a predicted consumption of consumables required for batch printing of the plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 30, and etc., disclose that “[0030] The processing device 122 of FIG. 2, disposed within the postage printing device 102 of FIG. 1, can calculate a prediction for the predicted expiration of the consumable. The calculation of the prediction term can include referencing the corresponding operating speed relative to the remaining amount of the consumable. This calculation may also include threshold amounts, such as conditions that a consumable supply amount should not fall below a minimum threshold, or other associated parameter. The prediction term may a time-based term….”),
a consumable remaining amount acquisition section that obtains the consumable remaining amount from the printer (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 28 and etc., disclose that “[0028] The postage printing device 102 can also determine the remaining amount or capacity of the consumables. Pinging or otherwise electronically inquiring as to a status amount may determine the remaining amount. Additionally, the consumable carriers may actively supply this information. In another embodiment, the postage printing device 102 may additionally actively monitor these amounts. For example, if the first consumable is a PSD including credits usable for subsequent printing postage by the device 102, the PSD may provide an initial credit amount of the device 102 and the device 102 subtracts the proper credit for each postage printing instruction. In another example, if the consumable is ink cartridge levels, the device 102 may actively inquire as to an ink level. Regardless of the specific technique, the device 102 thereupon determines the remaining amount of the consumable in the processing system 100….”);
a determination section that determines, based on the predicted consumption and the consumable remaining amount, whether or not it is possible to perform batch printing without replacing the consumables (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”, and further in para. 8, disclose that “[0008] It is also known to proactively calculate consumable amounts based optimized operating speeds of the printing device. For example, a user can manually calculate that the postage printing device can process, at a maximum speed, 5000 envelopes per hour. If a project is estimated to run for two hours, the user may estimate a maximum amount of 10,000 envelopes. While these mail processing systems have optimum operating speeds, this can be a very inaccurate indicator for consumable usage because the machines operate at speeds significantly varying from the optimized amount…”), and
a notification section that transmits to the terminal a 61notification based on a determination result (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to a print control method comprising:
receiving an instruction to perform batch printing of a plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. para. 22 and etc., disclose that “[0022] In one embodiment, the postage printing device 102 can receive a printing job or batch 130 as processing from a database where the project can include instructions as to running a mailing operation including printing items for subsequent mailing, for example printing letters, printing postage for letters on envelopes and thereupon assembling the letters and envelopes for subsequent mailing. Illustrated in FIG. 1, the postage printing device 102 may generate a plurality of mailing components 132, which in the illustrated embodiment include sealed envelopes having postage printed thereon….”);
calculating, based on the plurality of print files, a predicted consumption of consumables required for batch printing of the plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 30, and etc., disclose that “[0030] The processing device 122 of FIG. 2, disposed within the postage printing device 102 of FIG. 1, can calculate a prediction for the predicted expiration of the consumable. The calculation of the prediction term can include referencing the corresponding operating speed relative to the remaining amount of the consumable. This calculation may also include threshold amounts, such as conditions that a consumable supply amount should not fall below a minimum threshold, or other associated parameter. The prediction term may a time-based term….”);
obtaining a consumable remaining amount from a printer (see Maurin, i.e. in abstract and etc., disclose that “…The system also determines the remaining capacity or amount of the consumable in the system…”);
determining, based on the predicted consumption and the consumable remaining amount, whether or not it is possible to perform batch printing without replacing the consumables (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 28 and etc., disclose that “[0028] The postage printing device 102 can also determine the remaining amount or capacity of the consumables. Pinging or otherwise electronically inquiring as to a status amount may determine the remaining amount. Additionally, the consumable carriers may actively supply this information. In another embodiment, the postage printing device 102 may additionally actively monitor these amounts. For example, if the first consumable is a PSD including credits usable for subsequent printing postage by the device 102, the PSD may provide an initial credit amount of the device 102 and the device 102 subtracts the proper credit for each postage printing instruction. In another example, if the consumable is ink cartridge levels, the device 102 may actively inquire as to an ink level. Regardless of the specific technique, the device 102 thereupon determines the remaining amount of the consumable in the processing system 100….”); and
giving a user a notification based on a determination result (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a print control program, the print control program causing a computer to perform functions comprising:
an instruction reception section configured to receive an instruction to perform batch printing of a plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. para. 22 and etc., disclose that “[0022] In one embodiment, the postage printing device 102 can receive a printing job or batch 130 as processing from a database where the project can include instructions as to running a mailing operation including printing items for subsequent mailing, for example printing letters, printing postage for letters on envelopes and thereupon assembling the letters and envelopes for subsequent mailing. Illustrated in FIG. 1, the postage printing device 102 may generate a plurality of mailing components 132, which in the illustrated embodiment include sealed envelopes having postage printed thereon….”),
a calculation section configured to calculate, based on the plurality of print files, a predicted consumption of consumables required for batch printing of the plurality of print files (see Maurin, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 30, and etc., disclose that “[0030] The processing device 122 of FIG. 2, disposed within the postage printing device 102 of FIG. 1, can calculate a prediction for the predicted expiration of the consumable. The calculation of the prediction term can include referencing the corresponding operating speed relative to the remaining amount of the consumable. This calculation may also include threshold amounts, such as conditions that a consumable supply amount should not fall below a minimum threshold, or other associated parameter. The prediction term may a time-based term….”);
a consumable remaining amount acquisition section configured to obtain a consumable remaining amount from a printer (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 28 and etc., disclose that “[0028] The postage printing device 102 can also determine the remaining amount or capacity of the consumables. Pinging or otherwise electronically inquiring as to a status amount may determine the remaining amount. Additionally, the consumable carriers may actively supply this information. In another embodiment, the postage printing device 102 may additionally actively monitor these amounts. For example, if the first consumable is a PSD including credits usable for subsequent printing postage by the device 102, the PSD may provide an initial credit amount of the device 102 and the device 102 subtracts the proper credit for each postage printing instruction. In another example, if the consumable is ink cartridge levels, the device 102 may actively inquire as to an ink level. Regardless of the specific technique, the device 102 thereupon determines the remaining amount of the consumable in the processing system 100….”);
a determination section configured to determine, based on the predicted consumption and the consumable remaining amount, whether or not it is possible to perform batch printing without replacing the consumables (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”, and further in para. 8, disclose that “[0008] It is also known to proactively calculate consumable amounts based optimized operating speeds of the printing device. For example, a user can manually calculate that the postage printing device can process, at a maximum speed, 5000 envelopes per hour. If a project is estimated to run for two hours, the user may estimate a maximum amount of 10,000 envelopes. While these mail processing systems have optimum operating speeds, this can be a very inaccurate indicator for consumable usage because the machines operate at speeds significantly varying from the optimized amount…”); and
a notification section configured to give a user a notification based on a determination result (see Maurin, i.e. in para. 5 and etc., disclose that “[0005] Another notification technique to track the remaining quantities of different consumable items, or wear of sensitive replaceable parts, is utilizing alarms or other types of notifications to alert an end user or processing system if the consumable item gets below a prescribed or threshold level. In the example of ink, one technique may include sounding an alarm or providing a warning notification if the ink level is below a threshold amount, for example below 10%. In the example of an ink cartridge, this many include a command for the user to refill or replace the depleted cartridge…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakahashi et al. (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2005/0147440 A1) disclose an invention relates to a printing apparatus, a communication apparatus for outputting a content to the printing apparatus, a consumable's order receiving apparatus for receiving an order for the consumables used by the printing apparatus. In particular, the present invention relates to a technique to activate a market of printer consumables.
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681