DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 12 is cancelled.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 7, 10-11, and 13-15 are withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed on 03/19/2026, the following objection is withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on 12/29/2025.
Objection to claim 1
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/19/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,945,147 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 includes an exact limitation that now is incorporated into amended claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
The following rejections are maintained for the reason of records as given in the previous office action. The bases of these rejections are the same as given in the office action, mailed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikkila et al. (US 2019/0389104) in view of Fujioka et al. (US 2013/0242487)
Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) disclose a method of manufacturing a vehicle interior and exterior member (a method of making a vehicle interior component having an integral airbag component and a fibrous decorative covering; ¶ [0170]), the vehicle interior and exterior member, comprising:
a fiber molded body (a natural fiber, plastic composite sheet or substrate 40; ¶ [0121]), and a synthetic resin member (a support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins, a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; ¶ [0123] - ¶ [0124]), wherein the synthetic resin member (62, 68; ¶ [0123] - ¶ [0124]) has a fixed portion (a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; [0123]) which is fixed to a surface of the fiber molded body (a natural fiber, plastic composite sheet or substrate 40; ¶ [0121]),
the method comprising the steps of:
-providing a fiber laminated body (a laminated sheet 50; ¶ [0123]), wherein the fiber laminated body (50; ¶ [0123]) comprises a fiber layer (a support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) including thermoplastic synthetic resin;
-heating the fiber laminated body (the laminated sheet 50 is heated to a second softening temperature in an oven; ¶ [0125]) to soften the fiber laminated body (50);
-press molding the softened fiber laminated body (¶ [0126], FIG. 4B: the composite sheet 40 is pressed against the laminated sheet 50 after the steps of providing and the steps of heating) using a press mold (a compression mold 56, ¶ [0122]), wherein the fiber laminated body (the laminated sheet 50 including a foam layer 68 and a support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins) is formed into a three-dimensional face shape;
-pressurizing (¶ [0036]) the fiber laminated body (50; ¶ [0123]) in the press mold (a compression mold 56; ¶ [0122]);
-injection molding molten synthetic resin (¶ [0126], FIG. 4B: the injection of molten resin in the lower mold half to form the plastic components and runners on the “B” surface) toward the fiber layer (the support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) of the fiber laminated body (the laminated sheet 50) while the fiber laminated body (the laminated sheet 50) is in the press mold (a compression mold 56, ¶ [0122]) to form the fiber molded body (a natural fiber, plastic composite sheet or substrate 40) and the synthetic resin member (the support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; ¶ [0123] - ¶ [0124]), wherein the molten synthetic resin seeps (¶ [0042]) into a part of the fiber layer (the support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) of the fiber molded body (40) that faces the fixed portion (a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; [0123]) of the synthetic resin member (a support or outer skin layer 62, a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; ¶ [0123] - ¶ [0124]); and
-solidifying molten synthetic resin (the polymer melt begins to solidify when in contact with the cavity surface ¶ [0038]) in the mold (a compression mold 56; ¶ [0122])
-wherein the synthetic resin member (the support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins, a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68) is solidified in a state where the synthetic resin member (the support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins, a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68) includes gas bubbles therein (as foam layer is formed of gas bubbles).
Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) disclose a second stage pressure occurs after the initial packing pressure and is necessary during the early stages of the cooling of the molded part to counteract polymer contraction. It is required until the mold gate freezes; the injection pressure can then be released (¶ [0037]); however, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) is silent on explicitly disclosing the step of cooling the fiber laminated body (the laminated sheet 50) in the press mold (a compression mold 56) after the press molding step, as claimed in claim 1, and further, is silent on explicitly disclosing the molten synthetic resin includes a foaming agent and/or a gas configured to form a gas bubbles in the molten synthetic resin, as claimed in claim 1.
In the analogous art, Fujioka et al. (US ‘487) disclose a method for producing metal composite by heating and pressurizing a preform including a sheet substrate containing at least one thermosetting resin selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, phenol resin, benzoxazine resin and unsaturated polyester resin (¶ [0026]) comprising the steps of:
-a step 1 (¶ [0027]) for placing the preform in a mold and heating the metal material so as to raise its surface temperature in excess of 180 ̊C. while semi-curing the thermosetting resin,
-a step 2 (¶ [0028]) for applying a pressure to the preform being heated in the step 1 to form the metal composite, and
-a step 3 (¶ [0029]) for cooling down the metal composite molded in the step 2 under pressure so as to lower the surface temperature of the metal material.
Therefore, as to claim 1, Fujioka et al. (US ‘487) disclose cooling and pressurizing the fiber laminated body (preform 10 comprising the metal material 1 and the sheet substrate 2; ¶ [0164]) in the press mold (the upper mold 11 and the lower mold 12; ¶ [0164])
Further, as claims 1 and 5, Fujioka et al. (US ‘487) teach the molten synthetic resin includes a foaming agent (¶ [0200])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of Applicant’s invention, to modify the press molding step, as taught by Heikkila et al. (US ‘104), through cooling the fiber laminated body is in the press mold and providing the molten synthetic resin with a foaming agent in order to lower the surface temperature of the metal material to cause the thermoplastic resin to strongly be bonded to the metal materials during cooling inside the mold, as suggested by Fujioka et al. (US ‘487) (¶ [0029] and ¶ [0204])
As to claim 2, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) teach a portion of the molten synthetic resin (¶ [0141]) nearer to the fiber layer (a support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) is cooled slower than a portion of the molten synthetic resin (¶ [0141]) spaced apart from the fiber layer (a support or outer skin layer 68 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) as it is known that the fiber layer (a support or outer skin layer 62) has a lower heat conduction.
As to claim 3, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) disclose the molten synthetic resin seeps (¶ [0042]) into the part of the fiber layer (a support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) of the fiber molded body (40) that faces the fixed portion (a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; [0123]) of the synthetic resin member (a support or outer skin layer 62, a plastic cushioning or foam layer 68; ¶ [0123] - ¶ [0124]) by injecting a quantity of the molten synthetic resin sufficient to cause a portion of the molten synthetic resin to seep into the fiber layer. (see ¶ [0042])
As to claim 4, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) teach the fiber laminated body (the laminated sheet 50; ¶ [0123]) consists of a single fiber layer including thermoplastic synthetic resin (¶ [0124]: the support or outer skin layer 62 may be suitable thermoplastic materials including poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]).
As to claim 6, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) teach the bubbles located in an inside of the synthetic resin member are relatively larger than the gas bubbles located adjacent a surface of the synthetic resin member. (foamed materials of polyurethane or epoxy resins, ¶ [0010])
As to claim 8, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) disclose a melting point of the thermoplastic synthetic resin (a first melting temperature; ¶ [0062]) is the same or greater than a melting point of the synthetic resin (a second melting temperature; ¶ [0062]).
As to claim 9, Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) teach the press mold (a compression mold 56; ¶ [0122]) comprises an injection molding portion (a lower mold half 54; ¶ [0133]) and a molding portion (recesses 80; ¶ [0133]), the press mold (a compression mold 56; ¶ [0122]) is configured by combining the injection molding portion (the lower mold half 54; ¶ [0133]) and the molding portion (receptables 80; ¶ [0133]), wherein the injection molding portion (the lower mold half 54; ¶ [0133]) comprises a ferrous material or cast iron, wherein the injection molding portion has passages (passages 80 of the lower mold half 54; ¶ [0133]), the passages (80; ¶ [0133]) being configured to inject the molten synthetic resin toward the fiber layer (the support or outer skin layer 62 comprising poly-urethane resins and other co-polymers; ¶ [0124]) of the fiber laminated body (a laminated sheet 50; ¶ [0123]), wherein the molding portion (passages 80 of the lower mold half 54; ¶ [0133]) has a portion comprising aluminum alloy, wherein the molding portion (passages 80 of the lower mold half 54; ¶ [0133]]) is configured to mold the fiber laminated body into the three-dimensional face shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 03/19/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly directed to the newly added limitation to claim 1 and that neither reference of Heikkila et al. (US ‘104) and Fujioka et al. (US ‘487) disclose the molten synthetic resin includes a foaming agent and/or a gas configured to form gas bubbles in the molten synthetic resin, as claimed in claims 1 and 5. However, the arguments are not persuasive as Fujioka et al. (US ‘487) disclose “the thermoplastic resin may also contain fillers and additives as necessary according to the application… examples of a filler or additive include… foaming agent” (¶ [0200]).
Finally, after a full review of the submitted remarks in view of prior art rejections, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited references by the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
04/04/2026