DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/588405 filed on 12/11/2025. Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, directed to an inorganic solid electrolyte as recited in claim 5 and 6, in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 7 and 8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20150147659 A1) in view of Fujii et al. (JP 2020188026 A) and Nandi et al. (US 20140377628 A1). The English translation of JP 2020188026 A is used as reference as attached.
Regarding to claim 1: Kato discloses a hybrid electric vehicle and/or an electric vehicle comprising an all-solid-state battery (10) including a cathode layer (4), an anode layer (2), and an electrolyte layer (3) arranged between the cathode layer (4) and the anode layer (2) (abstract, par. 2, 4, 31, figure 1), wherein:
the electrolyte layer (3) including a first solid electrolyte layer (3a), and a second solid electrolyte layer (3b) (abstract, par. 31, figure 1).
Kato fails to explicitly disclose the first solid electrolyte layer contains a first nonwoven fabric, and a first solid electrolyte arranged inside the first nonwoven fabric; the second solid electrolyte layer contains a second nonwoven fabric, and a second solid electrolyte arranged inside the second nonwoven fabric. However, Fujii et al. disclose all-solid-state batteries (par. 3) which includes a separator (equivalent to the electrolyte layer (3) of Kato) comprising a substrate and crystalline oxide-based inorganic solid electrolyte particles. The substrate is being made of a nonwoven fabric with a porosity in the range of 0.1 to 99.9%. (par. 8, 14). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator including the nonwoven fabric and inorganic solid electrolyte particles of Fujii et al. in the first solid electrolyte layer (3a) and the second solid electrolyte layer (3b) of Kato because Fujii et al. teach that the nonwoven fabric separator can improve battery characteristics due to high ionic conductivity provided by a thin membrane, improve processability as a battery due to the flexibility of the separator, and prevent short circuits during battery production and operation (par. 9).
Kato and Fujii et al. fail to explicitly disclose that in a plan view along a thickness direction, an angle formed by a first fabric direction in the first nonwoven fabric and a second fabric direction in the second nonwoven fabric is 45° or more and 90° or less. However, Nandi et al. disclose battery separators including reinforcing fibers (abstract). The battery separator (500'') having a plurality of bi-directionally arranged fiber strands (504 and 514) (equivalent to the first and the second nonwoven fabric) (par. 63, figure 5C). The first and the second fiber strands (504 and 514) are uni-directionally arranged fiber strands, respectively (par. 58). The second fiber strands (514) are roughly perpendicular to the first fiber strands (504) (equivalent to 90° between the first fabric direction and the second fabric direction) (par. 63, figure 5C). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the orientation angle of 90° between the first and the second fiber strands of Nandi et al. as the orientation angle of the first solid electrolyte layer (3a) and the second solid electrolyte layer (3b) of Kato which are already incorporated with nonwoven fabrics of Fujii et al. because Nandi et al. teach that the strength of battery separator (500'') may increase due to two directions of the plurality of fiber strands are provided (par. 63). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding to claim 2: Kato in view of Fujii et al. discloses the all-solid-state battery including two electrolyte layers with nonwoven fabrics as described above. Kato and Fujii et al. fail to explicitly disclose that the angle is 80° or more and 90° or less. However, Nandi et al. disclose battery separators including reinforcing fibers (abstract). The battery separator (500'') having a plurality of bi-directionally arranged fiber strands (504 and 514) (equivalent to the first and the second nonwoven fabric) (par. 63, figure 5C). The first and the second fiber strands (504 and 514) are uni-directionally arranged fiber strands, respectively (par. 58). The second fiber strands (514) are roughly perpendicular to the first fiber strands 504 (equivalent to 90° between the first fabric direction and the second fabric direction) (par. 63, figure 5C). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the orientation angle of 90° between the first and the second fiber strands of Nandi et al. as the orientation angle of the first solid electrolyte layer (3a) and the second solid electrolyte layer (3b) of Kato which are already incorporated with nonwoven fabrics of Fujii et al. because Nandi et al. teach that the strength of battery separator (500'') may increase due to two directions of the plurality of fiber strands are provided (par. 63). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding to claim 3: Kato discloses the all-solid-state battery (10) including two electrolyte layers as described above. Kato fail to explicitly disclose that each of a void rate in the first nonwoven fabric and a void rate in the second nonwoven fabric is 70% or more and 90% or less. However, Fujii et al. disclose all-solid-state batteries (par. 3) which includes a separator (equivalent to the electrolyte layer (3) of Kato) comprising a substrate and crystalline oxide-based inorganic solid electrolyte particles. The substrate is being made of a nonwoven fabric with a porosity in the range of 0.1 to 99.9%. (par. 8, 14). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator including the nonwoven fabric with a porosity in the range of 0.1 to 99.9% and inorganic solid electrolyte particles of Fujii et al. in the first solid electrolyte layer (3a) and the second solid electrolyte layer (3b) of Kato because Fujii et al. teach that the nonwoven fabric separator can improve battery characteristics due to high ionic conductivity provided by a thin membrane, improve processability as a battery due to the flexibility of the separator, and prevent short circuits during battery production and operation (par. 9). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding to claim 4: Kato discloses the all-solid-state battery (10) including two electrolyte layers as described above. Kato fail to explicitly disclose in the first nonwoven fabric, a tensile strength of the first fabric direction is larger than a tensile strength of a direction orthogonal to the first fabric direction; and in the second nonwoven fabric, a tensile strength of the second fabric direction is larger than a tensile strength of a direction orthogonal to the second fabric direction.
It is well known in the art that a nonwoven fabric has a greater strength in the machine direction (equivalent to the fabric direction) as opposed the cross direction (equivalent to the direction orthogonal to the fabric direction). This is evidenced by Tausif et al. reference (Muhammad Tausif, Achilles Pliakas, Tom O'Haire, Parikshit Goswami and Stephen J. Russell, "Mechanical Properties of Nonwoven Reinforced Thermoplastic Polyurethane Composites", Materials 2017, 10(6), 618; https://doi.org/10.3390/ma10060618. (Year: 2017)) in which tensile strength in machine direction is greater than that in cross direction as shown in figures 3 and 5. A reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
Regarding to claim 5: Kato discloses the all-solid-state battery (10) including two electrolyte layers as described above. Kato further discloses the first and the second solid electrolyte layers including sulfide solid electrolyte (equivalent to an inorganic solid electrolyte) (abstract, par. 32, 33).
Regarding to claim 6: Kato discloses the all-solid-state battery (10) including two electrolyte layers as described above. Kato further discloses the first and the second solid electrolyte layers including sulfide solid electrolyte (abstract, par. 32, 33).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 17/945,522. The two applications are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference is a vehicle comprising an all solid state battery. Kato (US 20150147659 A1) discloses a electric vehicle comprising an all-solid-state battery (par. 4, 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the all-solid-state battery in the vehicles because Kato teaches that a nonflammable solid electrolyte can make the system safe and simple (par. 5).
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717