DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 23-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/10/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 4/10/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 23 recites a method to manufacture the exact product of Invention I. This is not found persuasive because the product of Invention I includes additional features not encompassed by the method such as specifics of the fibers. Examiner will consider rejoinder if an allowable product is found.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Taniguchi et al. (2014/0004308).
For claim 13, Taniguchi et al. disclose a structural component for use in a vehicle (utilized as a structure material of…automobiles and the like, [0003]), wherein the structural component is
made of a plastic material (thermoplastic resin) and is reinforced with a fiber collective (“fibers”, [0010]) in the region of a narrow side (the molded body can include variations in thickness such as a stepwise change, a linear inclination/gradient change, or non-uniform/heterogeneous change on “only one side” or “both sides” [0058]),
wherein the fiber collective comprises random fibers ([0058]).
For claim 14, the structural component comprises a thick-walled region and a thin-walled region, wherein the thin-walled region is reinforced with the fiber collective comprising random fibers.
For claim 15, the structural component is designed for use as a body component of the vehicle.
For claims 16-19, at least some of the random fibers have a length of up to 20-50 mm.
For claim 20, the fiber length can be from 5mm to 100mm ([0058]), therefore, at least some of the random fibers have lengths in a range from 10 mm to 500 mm.
For claim 21, at least some of the random fibers consist of glass fibers ([0071]).
For claim 22, at least some of the random fibers consist of carbon fibers ([0071]).
For claim 25, wherein the region of the narrow side (as seen below at the right-hand-most side of the drawing figures) is an edge region of the narrow side (where the structural component ends defines an edge and edge region).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Taniguchi does not disclose the claimed reinforcement in a region of a narrow side. Examiner disagrees.
As set forth above, Taniguchi provides a structural component of plastic material having a narrow side (see the component at the right-hand-most side of FIG.2). Within this narrow side, Taniguchi provides a “region” (interpreted as merely an area of the narrow side) and within that region (or area), Taniguchi provides a fiber collective (as “fibers” in [0010]). These fibers allow for the region to be reinforced, as broadly recited and interpreted. It is unclear what specific claim feature of the invention applicant believes is lacking in Taniguchi.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant goes on to argue that the captioned figure on page 4 of the previous office action is Figure 6. This is in error as the illustration is actually Figure 2 of Taniguchi not Figure 6.
Applicant further states neither the figure itself nor paragraph [0200] discloses a fiber collective to reinforce the structural component in a region of a narrow side. Examiner disagrees. What is shown with Taniguchi at Figure 2 and disclosed within the patent meets the limitations of claim 13 as broadly recited and interpreted.
Regarding claim 23-24, examiner will consider rejoinder at the time of allowance and not sooner. As no allowable product invention is found, the claims will remain withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ghods et al. (2023/0152061) discloses a nonuniform fiber composite structure having varying degrees of flexibility and mechanical performance by providing a first region (602) and a second region (604). The second region can have a different ratio of fiber to matrix than the ratio of the first region (602) ([0044]). The regions can be tuned to result in a composite (600) that has tailored regions of higher stiffness and performance.
JP 08118481 (JPH 08118481) (below, left) discloses a vehicle trim part comprising a member containing fibers. In particular JPH 481 teaches a part having a mixed ratio of the reinforcing fibers for a “thin portion along the peripheral flange portion (11)” of the member (20) which is made to be “higher that other portions” (Abstract).
DE 102017201834 (DE 834) (below, right) discloses a product (4) having a fiber-polymer composite system of a resin with a fiber material of glass or carbon (FIG.4) with fiber proportions (4.1, 4.2) having “different properties” to be set locally. This is accomplished by distinct/different amounts of fiber by volume, different thicknesses (H, h), and/or materials. Different materials in the fiber-polymer composite system may vary in thickness, width and/or length side by side and/or over each other with respect to the various polymer matrix and/or fibrous materials (eg, carbon, glass, etc.).
CN 106411066 (also as WO 2015-187873 A1) discloses a reinforced composite structure that includes multiple regions of different geometric configurations connected together by a transition region. The structure includes reinforcement fibers on at least a portion of the transition region (Abstract). The composite includes random orientation of fibers provided in the structure. Transition regions can be bent into any shape. The thickness and/or density of the reinforcing fiber can be the section change of the structure. For example, the middle part (502) can be relatively thick (502) or densely filled and the part (504) away from the middle becomes thinner (as seen in at least FIG.5).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B