DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to amendment, filed 1/6/2026. Applicant has amended claims 1, 4, 10 and 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see “Remarks”, made in an Amendment”, filed 1/6/2026.
With respect to Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103, the Applicant submits that the amended features of claim 1 are not taught or suggested in the cited references. In response, the Examiner agrees and finds EI-Beltagy (US 9,258,341) to teach these new features (see rejections below). The Applicant also amended independent claims 10 and 18 similar to independent claim 1.
The Applicant submits that amended independent claims 1, 10, and 18 and their respective dependent claims are in condition for allowance over the cited references for at least these reasons. In response, with respect to the applicant arguments of claims 1, 10, and 18 and their respective dependent claims, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (see rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bram Cohen, Pub No US 2015/0326657 (hereafter Cohen) and further in view of EI-Beltagy et al., Pat No US 9,258,341 (hereafter EI-Beltagy).
Regarding Claim 1, Cohen discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a server, first requests to register with a first peer-to-peer network from a first node, a second node, and a third node, the first peer-to-peer network providing transmission of live media data [para(s).0015, 0030: Discloses a tracker (element 106 - a computer system that provides content shared among peers of the network – a server) receiving join requests from peers (registration) for a peer-to-peer swarm that distributes live content. The tracker (element 106) maintains a list (IP address and port) and performs the role of receiving registration and tracking participating nodes; and para(s).0015-0016: Discloses each peer continues to send periodic updates confirming the tracker (element 106) is handling multiple concurrent peers (e.g., a first node, a second node, and a third node).];
generating a first configuration for the first peer-to-peer network comprising at least the first node, the second node, and the third node, the first configuration defining a first set of one or more media data routes to provide the live media data to one or more peer nodes of the first peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by a respective one of the first node, the second node, and the third node [para(s).0005, 0013: Discloses a source (element 104) creates connections with peers (element 108) and peers (element 108) create connections with each other to form the peer-to-peer network (element 102). The source (element 104) and peers (element 108) share content according to a peer-to-peer protocol. The source (element 104) assigns data blocks to ‘clubs’ and that data blocks are transmitted to the peers in the assigned club. That assignment defines which peers should receive and forward which data blocks (i.e., an explicit routing/configuration for media data distribution across the overlay.]; and
transmitting one or more portions of the first configuration to each of the first node, the second node, and the third node [para(s).0015-0016: Discloses the tracker (element 106) transmitting (a list or portion thereof) to joining peers to allow them to create connections. That is the disclosure of transmitting portions of the network membership/configuration (which encodes club information and peer endpoints) to nodes.].
Cohen does not explicitly disclose generating, at the server, a first configuration for the first peer-to-peer network comprising at least the first node, the second node, and the third node, the first configuration designating one or more of the first node, the second node, and the third node as child nodes of one or more other nodes and defining a first set of one or more media data routes to provide the live media data to one or more peer nodes of the first peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by a respective one of the first node, the second node, and the third node; (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Cohen). However, in analogous art, EI-Beltagy discloses a method of arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source (col.2 lines 22-24). This establishes that the arranging (configuration generation) is performed by a method external to the peers themselves. EI-Beltagy further discloses a tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides in step S102 (FIG.3) the entering peer with a list of randomly selected peers from which the data content can be downloaded (col.6 lines 2-6, and lines 54-56). This is a direct, explicit statement that a tracker (server) determines peer placement and transmits configuration information to peers. The tracker assigns this task to the peers in order for the peers to conform with this constraint (col.13 lines 39-40). This supports server-side generation and enforcement of configuration rules, not peer self-determination. Therefore, EI-Beltagy teaches generating the peer hierarchy at a server, namely a tracker that determines peer levels, assigns connectivity, and transmits configuration information to peers. EI-Beltagy teaches the following:
generating, at the server, a first configuration [col.2 lines 22-24: Discloses a method of arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source. Under BRI, the centralized device corresponds to a server that generates a configuration defining peer structure and connectivity.];
the first configuration designating one or more nodes as child nodes of one or more other nodes [col.1 lines 47-48: Discloses peers at the top of each tree feed the peers below them. Arranging peers into distribution levels establishes parent-child relationships between upstream and downstream peers.];
the first configuration defining media data routes [col.2 lines 38-40: Discloses connecting a plurality of peers from subsequent levels to said at least one of the peers having a next-highest upload capacity. The defined connections establish explicit routes for streaming media data through the hierarchy.];
to provide the live media data to the plurality of nodes [col.2 lines 22-24: Discloses arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source. The hierarchy and routing are expressly used to distribute live streaming media.];
transmitting one or more portions of the first configuration to each of the nodes [col.6 lines 2-6: Discloses the tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides… a list of peers from which the data content can be downloaded. Transmitting placement and connection instructions constitutes transmitting portions of the configuration.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen with these features, as taught by EI-Beltagy in order to yield predictable results such as reducing server bandwidth consumption (EI-Beltagy: col.3 lines 11-15).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 1, and Cohen further discloses wherein the first set of one or more media data routes comprises:
a first route for providing the live media data from a media distribution node to the first node [para.0040: Discloses the source (element 104) transmits each data block assigned to a club to peers (element 108) in the club with which the source (element 104) has upload connections. Thus, the source pushing data into the overlay is the first hop (a first route).];
a second route for providing the live media data from the first node to the second node [ABSTRACT, para.0005: Discloses when a peer in a club receives a data block assigned to that club, the peer distributes the data block to other peers in the club. That is a peer forwarding received data to another peer is the second hop (a second route).]; and
a third route for providing the live media data from the second node to the third node [para.0044: Discloses for each receiving peer in the club with which the peer has an upload connection, the peer transmits the data block. That same forwarding logic applies repeatedly: a second peer can forward to a third, etc.].
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 1, and EI-Beltagy further discloses further comprising:
receiving, at the server, a second request to register with the first peer-to-peer network from a fourth node [col.5 line67, col.6 lines 1-4: Discloses when a peer enters the P2P network, the tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged. Under BRI, an entering peer submitting itself for arrangement necessarily sends a registration/join request to the tracker (server).];
generating, at the server, a second configuration for a second peer-to-peer network comprising at least the first node, the second node, the third node, and the fourth node [col.6 lines 2-4: Discloses the tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged. Determining placement of the fourth peer and reorganizing distribution levels constitutes generating a new configuration including the fourth node.], the second configuration defining a second set of one or more media data routes to provide the live media data to one or more peer nodes of the second peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by a respective one of the first node, the second node, the third node, and the fourth node [col.1 lines 47-48, col.15 lines 57-59: Discloses peers at a given distribution level receive data from peers at a higher distribution level. Distribution levels define explicit media data routes for live streaming under BRI.]; and
transmitting one or more portions of the second configuration to each of the first node, the second node, the third node, and the fourth node [col.6 lines 2-6: Discloses the tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides… a list of peers from which the data content can be downloaded. Providing peer list and placement instructions constitutes transmitting portions of the configuration.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 4, and Cohen further discloses wherein the second set of one or more media data routes comprises:
node;
a first route for providing the live media data from a media distribution node to the first a second route for providing the live media data from the first node to the second node [para.0040: Discloses the source (element 104) transmits each data block assigned to a club to peers (element 108) in the club with which the source (element 104) has upload connections. Thus, the source pushing data into the overlay is the first hop (a first route).];
a third route for providing the live media data from the second node to the third node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and ABSTRACT, para.0005: Discloses when a peer in a club receives a data block assigned to that club, the peer distributes the data block to other peers in the club. That is a peer forwarding received data to another peer of the plurality of peers is the third hop (a third route).]; and
a fourth route for providing the live media data from the second node to the fourth node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and para.0044: Discloses for each receiving peer in the club with which the peer has an upload connection, the peer transmits the data block. That same forwarding logic applies repeatedly: a second peer can forward to a fourth, etc.].
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 4, and Cohen further discloses wherein the second set of one or more media data routes comprises:
node;
a first route for providing the live media data from a media distribution node to the first a second route for providing the live media data from the first node to the second node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes).];
a third route for providing the live media data from the first node to the fourth node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and ABSTRACT, para.0005: Discloses when a peer in a club receives a data block assigned to that club, the peer distributes the data block to other peers in the club. That is a peer forwarding received data to another peer of the plurality of peers.];
a fourth route for providing the live media data from the second node to the third node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and ABSTRACT, para.0005: Discloses when a peer in a club receives a data block assigned to that club, the peer distributes the data block to other peers in the club. That is a peer forwarding received data to another peer of the plurality of peers.]; and
a fifth route for providing the live media data from the fourth node to the third node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and ABSTRACT, para.0005: Discloses when a peer in a club receives a data block assigned to that club, the peer distributes the data block to other peers in the club. That is a peer forwarding received data to another peer of the plurality of peers.].
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 1, and Cohen further discloses further comprising:
responsive to detecting the second node is not part of the first peer-to-peer network, generating a second configuration for a second peer-to-peer network comprising at least the first node and the third node, the second configuration defining a second set of one or more media data routes to provide the live media data to one or more peer nodes of the second peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by a respective one of the first node and the third node, the second set of one or more media data routes [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes) and further discloses four clubs (302(a), 302(b), 302(c), and 302(d) - generating multiple configuration for a plurality of peer-to-peer networks).] comprising:
a first route for providing the live media data from a media distribution node to the first node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and para.0044: Discloses for each receiving peer in the club with which the peer has an upload connection, the peer transmits the data block. That same forwarding logic applies repeatedly.]; and
a second route for providing the live media data from the first node to the third node [FIG.3: Illustrates the combinations of routes by the plurality of peers (nodes); and para.0044: Discloses for each receiving peer in the club with which the peer has an upload connection, the peer transmits the data block. That same forwarding logic applies repeatedly.]; and
transmitting one or more portions of the second configuration to each of the first node and the third node [para(s).0015-0016: Discloses the tracker (element 106) transmitting (a list or portion thereof) to joining peers to allow them to create connections. That is the disclosure of transmitting portions of the network membership/configuration (which encodes club information and peer endpoints) to nodes.].
Regarding Claim 18, Cohen discloses a system comprising:
a memory device [FIG.2, para.0018: Discloses memory (element 206) coupled to a memory controller hub (element 220).]; and
a processing device coupled to the memory device [FIG.2, para.0018: Discloses the memory (element 206) is directly coupled to a processor (element 202).], the processing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, at a server, first requests to register with a first peer-to-peer network from a first node, a second node, and a third node, the first peer-to-peer network providing transmission of live media data [para(s).0015, 0030: Discloses a tracker (element 106 - a computer system that provides content shared among peers of the network – a server) receiving join requests from peers (registration) for a peer-to-peer swarm that distributes live content. The tracker (element 106) maintains a list (IP address and port) and performs the role of receiving registration and tracking participating nodes; and para(s).0015-0016: Discloses each peer continues to send periodic updates confirming the tracker (element 106) is handling multiple concurrent peers (e.g., a first node, a second node, and a third node).];
generating a first configuration for the first peer-to-peer network comprising at least the first node, the second node, and the third node, the first configuration defining a first set of one or more media data routes to provide the live media data to one or more peer nodes of the first peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by a respective one of the first node, the second node, and the third node [para(s).0005, 0013: Discloses a source (element 104) creates connections with peers (element 108) and peers (element 108) create connections with each other to form the peer-to-peer network (element 102). The source (element 104) and peers (element 108) share content according to a peer-to-peer protocol. The source (element 104) assigns data blocks to ‘clubs’ and that data blocks are transmitted to the peers in the assigned club. That assignment defines which peers should receive and forward which data blocks (i.e., an explicit routing/configuration for media data distribution across the overlay.]; and
transmitting one or more portions of the first configuration to each of the first node, the second node, and the third node [para(s).0015-0016: Discloses the tracker (element 106) transmitting (a list or portion thereof) to joining peers to allow them to create connections. That is the disclosure of transmitting portions of the network membership/configuration (which encodes club information and peer endpoints) to nodes.].
Cohen does not explicitly disclose generating, at the server, a first configuration for the first peer-to-peer network comprising at least the first node, the second node, and the third node, the first configuration designating one or more of the first node, the second node, and the third node as child nodes of one or more other nodes and defining a first set of one or more media data routes to provide the live media data to one or more peer nodes of the first peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by a respective one of the first node, the second node, and the third node; (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Cohen). However, in analogous art, EI-Beltagy discloses a method of arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source (col.2 lines 22-24). This establishes that the arranging (configuration generation) is performed by a method external to the peers themselves. EI-Beltagy further discloses a tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides in step S102 (FIG.3) the entering peer with a list of randomly selected peers from which the data content can be downloaded (col.6 lines 2-6, and lines 54-56). This is a direct, explicit statement that a tracker (server) determines peer placement and transmits configuration information to peers. The tracker assigns this task to the peers in order for the peers to conform with this constraint (col.13 lines 39-40). This supports server-side generation and enforcement of configuration rules, not peer self-determination. Therefore, EI-Beltagy teaches generating the peer hierarchy at a server, namely a tracker that determines peer levels, assigns connectivity, and transmits configuration information to peers. EI-Beltagy teaches the following:
generating, at the server, a first configuration [col.2 lines 22-24: Discloses a method of arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source. Under BRI, the centralized device corresponds to a server that generates a configuration defining peer structure and connectivity.];
the first configuration designating one or more nodes as child nodes of one or more other nodes [col.1 lines 47-48: Discloses peers at the top of each tree feed the peers below them. Arranging peers into distribution levels establishes parent-child relationships between upstream and downstream peers.];
the first configuration defining media data routes [col.2 lines 38-40: Discloses connecting a plurality of peers from subsequent levels to said at least one of the peers having a next-highest upload capacity. The defined connections establish explicit routes for streaming media data through the hierarchy.];
to provide the live media data to the plurality of nodes [col.2 lines 22-24: Discloses arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source. The hierarchy and routing are expressly used to distribute live streaming media.];
transmitting one or more portions of the first configuration to each of the nodes [col.6 lines 2-6: Discloses the tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides… a list of peers from which the data content can be downloaded. Transmitting placement and connection instructions constitutes transmitting portions of the configuration.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen with these features, as taught by EI-Beltagy in order to yield predictable results such as reducing server bandwidth consumption (EI-Beltagy: col.3 lines 11-15).
Claims 8, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bram Cohen, Pub No US 2015/0326657 (hereafter Cohen) and further in view of EI-Beltagy et al., Pat No US 9,258,341 (hereafter EI-Beltagy) and further in view of Hu et al., Pub No US 2012/0030333 (hereafter Hu).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 1, the combined teaches do not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of one or more media data routes is semi-static and changes responsive to one or more nodes joining or leaving the first peer-to-peer network. However, in analogous art, Hu discloses in FIG.5 [para.0069] operation 514 replaces the parent peers that have an incoming throughput less than a predetermined threshold. Operation 516 discards the children peers that have an outgoing throughput less than a predetermined threshold. This implies that the network dynamically adjusts parent-child relationships (i.e. which nodes serve as parents, which node serve as children) based on performance metrics (e.g., throughput). That is a form of reconfiguration of media data routes according to node behavior. This illustrates that when a peer’s connection (incoming or outgoing) fails certain criteria, it is replaced or discarded, meaning the set of parent/child links (i.e. media data routes) are changed. The mechanism is dynamic, overlay structure is adjusted in response to network or node conditions. This supports the concept that the network’s routes are semi-static / adjustable rather than completely fixed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen and EI-Beltagy wherein the first set of one or more media data routes is semi-static and changes responsive to one or more nodes joining or leaving the first peer-to-peer network, as taught by Hu in order to yield predictable result such as aiding significantly the ability to exchange and pass information among the peers (Hu: para.0008).
Regarding Claim 10, Cohen discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a first node of a peer-to-peer network, a configuration defining one or more media data routes to provide live media data to one or more peer nodes of the peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by the first node [para(s).0015, 0030: Discloses a tracker (element 106 - a computer system that provides content shared among peers of the network) receiving join requests from peers (registration) for a peer-to-peer swarm that distributes live content. The tracker (element 106) maintains a list (IP address and port) and performs the role of receiving registration and tracking participating nodes; and para(s).0015-0016: Discloses each peer continues to send periodic updates confirming the tracker (element 106) is handling multiple concurrent peers (e.g., a first node, a second node, and a third node).];
establishing one or more media data connections to the one or more peer nodes based on the one or more media data routes [para(s).0005, 0013: Discloses a source (element 104) creates connections with peers (element 108) and peers (element 108) create connections with each other to form the peer-to-peer network (element 102). The source (element 104) and peers (element 108) share content according to a peer-to-peer protocol. The source (element 104) assigns data blocks to ‘clubs’ and that data blocks are transmitted to the peers in the assigned club. That assignment defines which peers should receive and forward which data blocks (i.e., an explicit routing/configuration for media data distribution across the overlay; an para.0032: Discloses the joining peer uses the list of peers (element 108) provided by the tracker (element 106) to create the connections necessary under the protocol (i.e., connections with peers in the selected clubs and connections with peers not in the selected clubs).];
Cohen does not explicitly disclose receiving, at a first node of a peer-to-peer network, a configuration generated at a server, the configuration designating the first node as a child nodes of one or more parent nodes and defining one or more media data routes to provide live media data to one or more peer nodes of the peer-to-peer network upon receipt of the live media data by the first node; (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by Cohen). However, in analogous art, EI-Beltagy discloses a method of arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source (col.2 lines 22-24). This establishes that the arranging (configuration generation) is performed by a method external to the peers themselves. EI-Beltagy further discloses a tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides in step S102 (FIG.3) the entering peer with a list of randomly selected peers from which the data content can be downloaded (col.6 lines 2-6, and lines 54-56). This is a direct, explicit statement that a tracker (server) determines peer placement and transmits configuration information to peers. The tracker assigns this task to the peers in order for the peers to conform with this constraint (col.13 lines 39-40). This supports server-side generation and enforcement of configuration rules, not peer self-determination. Therefore, EI-Beltagy teaches generating the peer hierarchy at a server, namely a tracker that determines peer levels, assigns connectivity, and transmits configuration information to peers. EI-Beltagy teaches the following:
generating, at the server, a first configuration [col.2 lines 22-24: Discloses a method of arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source. Under BRI, the centralized device corresponds to a server that generates a configuration defining peer structure and connectivity.];
the first configuration designating one or more nodes as child nodes of one or more other nodes [col.1 lines 47-48: Discloses peers at the top of each tree feed the peers below them. Arranging peers into distribution levels establishes parent-child relationships between upstream and downstream peers.];
the first configuration defining media data routes [col.2 lines 38-40: Discloses connecting a plurality of peers from subsequent levels to said at least one of the peers having a next-highest upload capacity. The defined connections establish explicit routes for streaming media data through the hierarchy.];
to provide the live media data to the plurality of nodes [col.2 lines 22-24: Discloses arranging a plurality of peers at distribution levels in a P2P network with respect to a streaming source. The hierarchy and routing are expressly used to distribute live streaming media.];
transmitting one or more portions of the first configuration to each of the nodes [col.6 lines 2-6: Discloses the tracker determines the level at which the entering peer is to be arranged and provides… a list of peers from which the data content can be downloaded. Transmitting placement and connection instructions constitutes transmitting portions of the configuration.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen with these features, as taught by EI-Beltagy in order to yield predictable results such as reducing server bandwidth consumption (EI-Beltagy: col.3 lines 11-15).
the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy do not explicitly disclose receiving live media data from a first parent node of the first node via a first media data connection of the one or more media data connections; and retransmitting the live media data to a first child node of the first node via a second media data connection of the one or more media data connections (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by the combination). However, in analogous art, Hu discloses [para(s).0005,0016] in a tree-based approach, peers or nodes (peers and nodes are used interchangeably throughout this document) form one or multiple trees to disseminate the streaming packets. Within each tree, the node receives packets from its parent nodes and delivers their copies to its child nodes. Multiple trees are usually disjointed, i.e., each node is an interior node of one tree and the leaf node of all the other trees. This conveys the idea of receiving data from parent and passing it child nodes. This also teaches retransmission of the data. Receiving the node gets streaming packets from one or more parent nodes. The same packets are forwarded onward (retransmission) to the child nodes. This is explicitly retransmission, the first node is not just consuming the data, but sending it again to others. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen and EI-Beltagy with receiving live media data from a first parent node of the first node and retransmitting the live media data to a first child node of the first node via a second media data connection, as taught by Hu in order to yield predictable result such as aiding significantly the ability to exchange and pass information among the peers (Hu: para.0008).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, and Hu further discloses further comprising receiving the live media data from a second parent node via a third media data connection of the one or more media data connections [para.0005: Discloses a node receives from parent nodes (plural – i.e., more than one parent). Thus, supports the concept of a “second parent node” sending live media; and para.0008: Discloses peer (nodes) can be any combination of parent and child, this shows flexible parent/child relationships and the possibility of multiple upstream links; and para.0050: Discloses the mechanism by which a peer establishes additional parent relationships (i.e., additional incoming media connections). That is the practical analog of “establishing a third media connection” and receiving media data over it; and para.0048: Discloses peers maintain multiple active parent/child connections and react per-connection, consistent with distinct media data connections.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, and Hu further discloses further comprising retransmitting the live media data to a second child node via a third media data connection of the one or more media data connections [para.0005: Discloses within each tree, the node receives packets from its parent node and delivers their copies to its child nodes; and para.0050: Discloses that peers explicitly add and manage multiple parent/child relationships. When a node accepts a peer as a child, it necessarily transmits copies of media to that child over a new connection; and para.0048: Discloses “out-degree” to be the number of children a node serves. Multiple children are expected; each child corresponds to a distinct outgoing connection carrying the retransmitted media stream.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, and Hu further discloses wherein the first parent node is a media distribution node [para(s).0016, 0020: Discloses a directed graph P2P streaming model. In this model, a source video server continuously generates streaming packets and delivers those packets to its children peers. All the other peers cooperate and exchange the video packets among one another. The streaming source itself is a node in the network, it generates and injects the media stream. The first peers that connect directly to the streaming source receive the stream from it. In that sense, for those peers, “the first parent node” is indeed the streaming source, which functions as the media distribution node.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, and Hu further discloses wherein the first parent node is a peer node of the peer-to-peer network [para.0005: Discloses in the tree-based approach, peers or nodes (peers and nodes are used interchangeably throughout this document) form one or multiple trees to disseminate the streaming packets. Within each tree, the node receives packets from its parent nodes and delivers their copies to its child nodes. Multiple trees are usually disjointed, i.e., each node is an interior node of one tree and the leaf node of all the other trees. The parent/child relationship in this system is explicitly peer-to-peer and a “first parent node” in this context is clearly a peer node within the peer-to-peer overlay.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, and Hu further discloses wherein retransmitting the live media data to the first child node comprises copying the live media data provided via the first media data connection of the one or more media data connections with the first parent node for transmission via the second media data connection of the one or more media data connections with the first child node without inspecting the live media data [para(s).0005,0016]: Discloses in a tree-based approach, peers or nodes (peers and nodes are used interchangeably throughout this document) form one or multiple trees to disseminate the streaming packets. Within each tree, the node receives packets from its parent nodes and delivers their copies to its child nodes. Multiple trees are usually disjointed, i.e., each node is an interior node of one tree and the leaf node of all the other trees. This conveys the idea of receiving data from parent and passing it child nodes. This also teaches retransmission of the data. Receiving the node gets streaming packets from one or more parent nodes. The same packets are forwarded onward (retransmission) to the child nodes. This is explicitly retransmission, the first node is not just consuming the data, but sending it again to others. The nodes just relay packets, thus do not decode nor inspect the content.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, and Cohen further discloses further comprising causing the live media data to be reproduced [Cohen – para.0003: Discloses each peer acts
both as a supplier (i.e., sender) and consumer (i.e., receiver - reproducing) of resources.].
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bram Cohen, Pub No US 2015/0326657 (hereafter Cohen) and further in view of EI-Beltagy et al., Pat No US 9,258,341 (hereafter EI-Beltagy) and further in view of Begen et al., Pat No US 8,787,153 (hereafter Begen).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 1, the combined teachings do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the media data routes of the first set of one or more media data routes is a forward error correction media data route. However, in analogous art, Begen discloses in FIG.5A, col.6, lines 64-67, an example of how forward error correction (FEC) repair with path diversity is implemented. The media source (element 12) sends the source packets (element 14) over the first media path (element 52) in the network (element 30). The FEC packets (element 18) used for repairing the source packets (element 14) are sent over the second media path (element 54) in the network (element 30). Thus, describing two distinct media paths, a “first media path” for sending the original source packets, and a “second media path” for sending FEC (repair) packets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen and EI-Beltagy wherein at least one of the media data routes of the first set of one or more media data routes is a forward error correction media data route, as taught by Begen in order to yield predictable result such as providing a robust video delivery, losses will be repaired within the time frame that would satisfy the real-time requirements of the video application (Begen: col.1, lines 36-39).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the system of claim 18, the combined teachings do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the media data routes of the first set of one or more media data routes is a forward error correction media data route. However, in analogous art, Begen discloses in FIG.5A, col.6, lines 64-67, an example of how forward error correction (FEC) repair with path diversity is implemented. The media source (element 12) sends the source packets (element 14) over the first media path (element 52) in the network (element 30). The FEC packets (element 18) used for repairing the source packets (element 14) are sent over the second media path (element 54) in the network (element 30). Thus, describing two distinct media paths, a “first media path” for sending the original source packets, and a “second media path” for sending FEC (repair) packets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen and EI-Beltagy wherein at least one of the media data routes of the first set of one or more media data routes is a forward error correction media data route, as taught by Begen in order to yield predictable result such as providing a robust video delivery, losses will be repaired within the time frame that would satisfy the real-time requirements of the video application (Begen: col.1, lines 36-39).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bram Cohen, Pub No US 2015/0326657 (hereafter Cohen) and further in view of EI-Beltagy et al., Pat No US 9,258,341 (hereafter EI-Beltagy) and further in view of Dickson et al., Pat No US 10,951,890 (hereafter Dickson).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the method of claim 1, the combined teachings do not explicitly disclose wherein the live media data is an individual frame of a media item. However, in analogous art, Dickson discloses capturing a video frame from a first graphics processing unit (GPU) on the first peer; compressing the video frame to form a compressed video frame in a first hardware encode on the first GPU; and transmitting the compressed video frame from the first peer to the second peer (col.1, lines 56-63; col.2, lines 7-8; col.3, lines 1-5; and claim 1). Thus, Dickson repeatedly and explicitly treats live media as individual video frames, where frames are captured, converted, compressed, and transmitted frame-by-frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen and EI-Beltagy wherein the live media data is an individual frame of a media item, as taught by Dickson in order to yield predictable result such as providing much lower latency than other video streaming technology (Dickson: col.4, lines 27-28).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Cohen and EI-Beltagy discloses the system of claim 18, the combined teachings do not explicitly disclose wherein the live media data is an individual frame of a media item. However, in analogous art, Dickson discloses capturing a video frame from a first graphics processing unit (GPU) on the first peer; compressing the video frame to form a compressed video frame in a first hardware encode on the first GPU; and transmitting the compressed video frame from the first peer to the second peer (col.1, lines 56-63; col.2, lines 7-8; col.3, lines 1-5; and claim 1). Thus, Dickson repeatedly and explicitly treats live media as individual video frames, where frames are captured, converted, compressed, and transmitted frame-by-frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen and EI-Beltagy wherein the live media data is an individual frame of a media item, as taught by Dickson in order to yield predictable result such as providing much lower latency than other video streaming technology (Dickson: col.4, lines 27-28).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bram Cohen, Pub No US 2015/0326657 (hereafter Cohen) and further in view of EI-Beltagy et al., Pat No US 9,258,341 (hereafter EI-Beltagy) and further in view of Hu et al., Pub No US 2012/0030333 (hereafter Hu) and further in view of Dickson et al., Pat No US 10,951,890 (hereafter Dickson).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu discloses the method of claim 10, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the live media data is an individual frame of a media item. However, in analogous art, Dickson discloses capturing a video frame from a first graphics processing unit (GPU) on the first peer; compressing the video frame to form a compressed video frame in a first hardware encode on the first GPU; and transmitting the compressed video frame from the first peer to the second peer (col.1, lines 56-63; col.2, lines 7-8; col.3, lines 1-5; and claim 1). Thus, Dickson repeatedly and explicitly treats live media as individual video frames, where frames are captured, converted, compressed, and transmitted frame-by-frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Cohen, EI-Beltagy and Hu wherein the live media data is an individual frame of a media item, as taught by Dickson in order to yield predictable result such as providing much lower latency than other video streaming technology (Dickson: col.4, lines 27-28).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abdelaziz et al., (US 7,197,565) – Discloses FIGS. 1A and 1B are examples illustrating the peer-to-peer model. FIG. 1A shows two peer devices 104A and 104B that are currently connected. Either of the two peer devices 104 may serve as a client of or a server to the other device. FIG. 1B shows several peer devices 104 connected over the network 106 in a peer group. In the peer group, any of the peer devices 104 may serve as a client of or a server to any of the other devices (col.2, lines 37-45). In one embodiment, the peer nodes in the peer-to-peer network may be configured to implement a peer-to-peer environment according to a peer-to-peer platform which includes one or more peer-to-peer platform protocols for enabling the peer nodes to discover each other, communicate with each other, and find and exchange content in the peer-to-peer environment (col.3, lines 34-40). The peer-to-peer platform protocols may be used to provide and support ad hoc, pervasive, and multi-hop peer-to-peer (P2P) network computing. Using the protocols, peers can cooperate to form self-organized and self-configured peer groups independently of their positions in the network (e.g., edges, firewalls, network address translators, public vs. private address spaces, etc.), and without the need of a centralized management infrastructure (col.61, lines 56-64).
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426