DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katayama et al. (# WO/2013008691 A1).
Katayama et al. discloses:
18. An ink jet ink (aqueous white ink; see Abstract) comprising:
Water (see Abstract);
a white pigment (see Abstract; page: 2, para [0006]); and
at least two kinds of resins (binder Acrylic resin; page 5-6 & styrene based copolymer; page: 4; see Examples),
wherein the ink jet ink has an acid value of 8.0 mgKOH/g or less (see Preparation Example | at paragraph 132 and Example | at paragraph 151): the ink contains 30% white pigment paste, water, 13.3% of R-3 resin, wherein the R-3 resin has an acid value of 18 mgKOH/g... the dispersion resin Disper byk-190 in the preparation of the white pigment paste and 25 parts of the dispersion resin in the total of 200 parts. It is well known in the art that the acid value of the dispersion resin Disper byk-190 is 10 mgKOH/g and the acid value of the ink is calculated from the composition of Example 1, i.e. The acid value of the ink is 10 mgKOH/g x (25/200) x (0/100) + 10 mgKOH/g x (13.3/200) = 2.77 mgKOH/g (i.e. Acid value is 1.5 mgKOH/g to 8.0 mgKOH/g), and the inkjet ink contains particles of acrylic acid (page: 6; see Examples).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that "Katayama et al. does address a pigment, water, resin, dispersant resin and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible pigment, water, resin, dispersant resin and surfactant. The format in which Katayama et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Katayama et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the pigment, water, resin, dispersant resin and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377
19. An ink set comprising: a first ink which is the ink jet ink according to claim 18; and a second ink which is an ink jet ink comprising water, a pigment other than a white pigment, and a resin (see Page 12; Examples).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853