DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 06/13/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1 and 3-16 are currently pending.
Claim 2, has bene cancelled.
Examiner acknowledges the Drawings correction according to the Claim interpretation in the First Action on Merit.
The rejection issued under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn on amendment.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, and 3-16 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, in lieu of the Remarks of 07/15/2025, the arts to Chen and Gao weas re-evaluated as mapped and applied to the arguments presented mutatis mutandis.
Applicants’ representative is encouraged to contact the Examiner with matter deemed to advance the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application does not currently name joint inventors.
5. Claims 1 and 3-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lien-Fei Chen et al., (hereinafter Chen) (US 2022/0210427) and Han Gao et al., (hereinafter Gao) (US 2024/0406404) in view of Bae Keun Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee) (US 2025/0071274).
Re Claim 1. Chen discloses, an image decoding device (decoder Par.[0006, 0050] Fig.4) comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit:
decodes control information (coding information Par.[0007] based on prediction information indicating a Geometric Partitioning Mode (GPM) for the current block, at Step S1210 in Fig.12 according to an index and a distance index Par.[0206, 0212-0215]) and a quantized value (quantized values Par.[0006, 0107, 0114]);
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (at Par.[0056]);
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (residual samples Par.[0058]);
generates a first predicted sample (a first reference Par.[0085] based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (generates predicted samples, Par.[0007, 0056-0058]);
accumulates the decoded sample (storing the decoded samples at 458-457 in Fig.4 Par.[0056]);
generates a second predicted sample (generates a second predicted sample at element 452 in Fig.4 Par.[0085]) based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (based on samples saved at buffer 458, Fig.4);
prepares a plurality of weighting coefficients (prepares the weighting factors according to the angle phi (φ ) and distance to the adaptive boundary line (ωGEO) between rho (ρ) min and max values, a range according to (ρmargin ) per Eq.(1) and Fig.11 Par.[0112-0115]) by which a width of a division boundary is different for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (determining a plurality of weighting factors, at Fig.12, Par.[0206] according to an index and a distance index of the partition index, Par.[0206, 0212-0215]), and
generates a third predicted sample in which the width of the division boundary is controlled by weighted averaging (obtaining the final sample predictor PB by geometric merge mode (GEM) Par.[0112-0115] i.e., a third predicted sample, used in the weighted sample prediction process, Par.[0116-0117] and the blending masks W0 and W1 at Eq.3 and 4, representing the total distance quantization steps, Par.[0118-0119, or 0120]; and
obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (obtaining the decoded sample at summer 455 in Fig.4, Par.[0056-0058]).
In an analogous art, Gao teaches the limitations,
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (the first predicted sample is generated at the intra-prediction unit (354) at the prediction block, (365) at the decoder of Fig.3);
accumulates the decoded sample (the decoded picture buffer (330) in Fig.3);
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (based on the partitioned block in Fig.10, 13 and asymmetric partitions in Fig.14, generating at decoder (30) a first and second predicted samples at the reconstruction unit (314) as reconstructed block (315) in Fig.3, or Fig.13, Par.[0138-0139, etc.], OR, as an alternative interpretation to the recited “accumulated decoded sample” the second predicted sample is generated by the inter-prediction unit (344) at the prediction block, (365) in Fig.3);
prepares a plurality of weighting coefficients (a third distance parameter for a third sample, per step (S202-S204), Fig.20) by which a width of a division boundary is different for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (generating a plurality of weight values corresponding to the sample position to the line of separation i.e., the boundary, per Fig.16, Par.[0180, 0184-0185, or 0187, 0212, 0216-0218, 0220-0226]), and
generates a third predicted sample in which the width of the division boundary is controlled by weighted averaging (generating a third prediction parameter based on angle and distance Par.[0387, or 0397-0419] where the third sample information is stored in the sample set, Par.[0420-0422]); and
obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (obtaining the reconstructed sample (315) at the summer unit (314), between the prediction block (365) and the reconstructed residual (313)).
The claimed matter may be directly associated with the adjustable boundary line in Chen where computing the distance normal to the boundary line ρi is based on averaged min/max values between ρmin and ρmax , thus representing an adaptive, hence a dynamically computed boundary “width”, in a range according to the block width and height parameters depicted at Fig.11 of the exemplary geometric partitioning mode (GEM) as cited below for brevity;
.
Based on the above similarity analysis between the instant claimed matter and the prior art to Chen, the ordinary skilled artisan would have deemed obvious to seek compression improvement, according to Gao (Par.[0004] and to combine their teachings, deemed predictable.
Re Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Chen discloses, an image decoding device (decoder Par.[0006, 0050] Fig.4) comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit:
decodes control information (coding information Par.[0007] based on prediction information indicating a Geometric Partitioning Mode (GPM) for the current block, at Step S1210 in Fig.12 according to an index and a distance index Par.[0206, 0212-0215]) and a quantized value (quantized values Par.[0006, 0107, 0114]);
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (at Par.[0056]);
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (residual samples Par.[0058]);
generates a first predicted sample (a first reference Par.[0085] based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (generates predicted samples, Par.[0007, 0056-0058]);
accumulates the decoded sample (storing the decoded samples at 458-457 in Fig.4 Par.[0056]);
generates a second predicted sample (generates a second predicted sample at element 452 in Fig.4 Par.[0085]) based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (based on samples saved at buffer 458, Fig.4);
prepares a plurality of weighting coefficient patterns (computing a plurality of weighting factors and a predictor corresponding to the sample of the geometric partitioning mode (GPM) i.e., coefficient patterns, Par.[0023] ) each comprising a set of weighting coefficients (thus each coefficient pattern comprising a set of weighting coefficients determined according to Par.[0016-0023] depicted at Fig.12), by which a width of a division boundary is different for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (where the width of the division boundary is computed according to a partition index based on its angle index at Equations cited below from Par.[0021], for the weight computation
and for the weighting index wIdx function where the weight is the weighting factor, partition index is partIdx and the weighting index wIdx per Equation below
, where the width of the division boundary i.e., partition is different for different weighting factors, Par.[0022] determined from a min and a max different weighting factors, where the partition of the current block under GPM mode, determines the weighting index for the sample based on position in block and the weighting factor and predictor correspond to the sample Par.[0023] and as further taught, preparing the weighting factors according to the angle phi (φ ) and distance to the adaptive boundary line (ωGEO) between rho (ρ) min and max values, a range according to (ρmargin ) per Eq.(1) and Fig.11 Par.[0112-0115] or by determining a plurality of weighting factors, at Fig.12, Par.[0206] according to an index and a distance index of the partition index, Par.[0206, 0212-0215]),
selects one of the plurality of prepared weighting coefficient patterns based on at least one video characteristic associated with a prediction target block (preparing a look-up table on the weighting indices, for the blending mask, Par.[0118 to 0133] and Look-up Tables 1 to 3), and
generates, by applying the selected weighting coefficient pattern, a third predicted sample in which the width of the division boundary is controlled by weighted averaging (obtaining the final sample predictor PB by geometric merge mode (GEM) Par.[0112-0115] i.e., a third predicted sample, used in the weighted sample prediction process, Par.[0116-0117] and the blending masks W0 and W1 at Eq.2 to 4, representing the total distance quantization steps, Par.[0117-0119, or 0120]); and
obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (obtaining the decoded sample at summer 455 in Fig.4, Par.[0056-0058] and reconstructing the samples based on the weighting factor and the predictor corresponding to the sample, Par.[0023] and using the adaptive weighting values Par.[0107]).
Though Chen is considered to anticipate the claimed limitations by inferring the boundary width from at least the Par.[0021] and Equation,
, it is determined that the analogous art to Gao defines the multiple angular partitioning methods of the prediction block, where the weighting coefficient patterns are adaptively selected based on video characteristics as claimed at,
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (the first predicted sample is generated at the intra-prediction unit (354) at the prediction block, (365) at the decoder of Fig.3);
accumulates the decoded sample (the decoded picture buffer (330) in Fig.3);
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (based on the partitioned block in Fig.10, 13 and asymmetric partitions in Fig.14, generating at decoder (30) a first and second predicted samples at the reconstruction unit (314) as reconstructed block (315) in Fig.3, or Fig.13, Par.[0138-0139, etc.], OR, as an alternative interpretation to the recited “accumulated decoded sample” the second predicted sample is generated by the inter-prediction unit (344) at the prediction block, (365) in Fig.3);
prepares a plurality of weighting coefficient patterns each comprising a set of weighting coefficients, (a third distance parameter for a third sample, per step (S202-S204), Fig.20) by which a width of a division boundary is different for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (generating a plurality of weight values corresponding to the sample position to the line of separation i.e., the boundary, per Fig.16, Par.[0180, 0184-0185, or 0187, 0212, 0216-0218, 0220-0226]), and
selects one of the plurality of prepared weighting coefficient patterns based on at least one video characteristic associated with a prediction target block (comparing according to a threshold, the motion information, in determining the distance between samples of the current block, Par.[0570-0579] etc.), and
generates, by applying the selected weighting coefficient pattern, a third predicted sample in which the width of the division boundary is controlled by weighted averaging (generating a third prediction parameter based on angle and distance Par.[0387, or 0397-0419] where the third sample information is stored in the sample set, Par.[0420-0422]); and
obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (obtaining the reconstructed sample (315) at the summer unit (314), between the prediction block (365) and the reconstructed residual (313)).
The claimed matter may be directly associated with the adjustable boundary line in Chen where computing the distance normal to the boundary line ρi is based on averaged min/max values between ρmin and ρmax , thus representing an adaptive, hence a dynamically computed boundary “width”, in a range according to the block width and height parameters depicted at Fig.11 of the exemplary geometric partitioning mode (GEM) as cited below for brevity;
.
Furthermore, the art to Lee, determines the size of the partitioning the coding block and determining a size of the boundary region according to the weighted first and second prediction samples,
prepares a plurality of weighting coefficients coefficient patterns each comprising a set of weighting coefficients (as taught at Par.[0011-0014]),
Based on the above similarity analysis between the instant claimed matter and the prior art to Chen, the ordinary skilled artisan would have deemed obvious to seek compression improvement, according to Gao (Par.[0004] and to combine their teachings and in consideration to Lee teachings to filter the size of the boundary according to the weighted partitions to obtain the advantage of partitioning the coding block into a plurality of prediction blocks to improve the prediction efficiency by deriving motion information i.e., based on the coefficient patterns, for each of the prediction blocks, at Par.[0016-0018], hence deeming the combination predictable.
Re Claim 2 (Canceled).
Re Claim 3. (Original) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Gao teaches that, wherein the circuit sets, as the weighting coefficients, symmetrical weighting coefficients with respect to the division boundary (setting the weighting factors per the sample distance symmetrically from the division boundary for the Mv2(Bi) or Mv0 and Mv1 vectors per Fig.19, Par.[0189]).
Re Claim 4. (Original) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Gao teaches that, wherein the circuit sets, as the weighting coefficients, asymmetrical weighting coefficients with respect to the division boundary (asymmetric distance between Mv0 and Mv2 in Fig.19 Par.[0189]).
Re Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Gao teaches that, wherein the circuit sets the (applying inter-prediction to the triangle partition, Fig.10 Par.[0046, 0066]).
Re Claim 6. (Original) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 4,
Chen teaches that, wherein the circuit sets the weighting coefficients using a plurality of line segments according to an inter-sample distance from the division boundary (a plurality of unit-step functions applied to one of a minimum and maximum weighting factor above determined at claim 1, Par.[0022]).
Re Claim 7. (Original) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Chen teaches that, wherein the circuit uses a weighting coefficient that determines a width of a division boundary derived from a luminance component of a block, as a weighting coefficient that determines a width of a division boundary of a chrominance component of the block.
Re Claim 8. (Original) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Chen teaches that, wherein the circuit derives a weighting coefficient that determines a width of the division boundary of a chrominance component of a block, from a width of a division boundary of a luminance component of the block, in consideration of a down-sampling method (the weights mapping for luma, per Fig.10A-B, Par.[0038, 0087, 0110]).
Re Claim 9. (Currently Amended) This claim represents the image decoding method performing each and every limiting steps of the device of claim 1, hence it is rejected under the same evidence mapped mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 10. (Currently Amended) This claim represents the program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium per Chen: (at Par.[0042]), aiding to the computer to decode according to apparatus of claim 1, hence it is rejected under the same evidence mapped mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 11. (New) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Chen teaches about, wherein the at least one video characteristic comprises at least one of block shape, motion information, exposure time, frame rate, or surrounding block characteristics (motion information Par.[0012]).
Re Claim 12. (New) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding device according to claim 1,
Chen teaches about, wherein the circuit is further configured to select one of the plurality of weighting coefficient patterns based on a prediction method associated with the first predicted sample and the second predicted sample (Par.[0116-0118]).
Re Claim 13. (New) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding method according to claim 9,
Chen teaches about, wherein the at least one video characteristic comprises at least one of block shape, motion information, exposure time, frame rate, or surrounding block characteristics (motion information Par.[0012]).
Re Claim 14. (New) Chen, Gao and Lee disclose, the image decoding method according to claim 9,
Chen teaches about, further comprising selecting one of the plurality of weighting coefficient patterns based on a prediction method associated with the first predicted sample and the second predicted sample (Par.[0116-0118]).
Re Claim 15. (New) This claim represents the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to apparatus of claim 10, per Chen: (at Par.[0042] based on motion information Par.[0012]) wherein the at least one video characteristic comprises at least one of, motion information, and rejected on the same premise mutatis mutandis.
Re Claim 16. (New) This claim represents the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to apparatus of claim 10, per Chen: (at Par.[0042] based on motion information Par.[0012]) selecting one of the plurality of weighting coefficient patterns based on a prediction method associated with the first predicted sample and the second predicted sample in Chen: (Par.[0116-0118]) and rejected on the same premise mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DRAMOS . KALAPODAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/DRAMOS KALAPODAS/