DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 11/18/2025.
Claims 1-4, 8-16, 18-20 are rejected. Claims 5, 6, 7 and 17 are objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 13, 14, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 20200029276 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method of operating a low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0101]-[0106] discloses Low Power wake up receiver that is operated by a STA in WLAN), comprising:
observing a behavior of an access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in a default operation state (see para. [0006] and [0126] discloses to reduce the power consumption of the STA, the STA may monitor for a WUR packet via WUR (wake up receiver) receiver, and turn off a WLAN receiver (e.g., WUR mode), where the WUR mode corresponds to the default operation state; when the AP has data to transmit to the STA, the AP transmits a WUR packet to the STA to wake up the WLAN transceiver);
receiving a beacon with a Traffic Indication Map (TIM) bit associated with the low power Wi-Fi device set to a value indicating there is buffered data available for the low power Wi-Fi device, after the observing (see Fig. 7 to 9 (Listen, Beacon) para. [0057];[0087] discloses AP serves to periodically transmit a beacon frame. After receiving the beacon frame, the STA that perform the scanning, stores information about a BSS; the AP may periodically transmit a beacon frame to the STA in a BSS, that may include TIM (Traffic Indicator Map). The TIM information may include information indicating that the AP has buffered traffic for STA associated with the AP); and
if the behavior previously observed differs from an expected behavior, modifying an operation of the low power Wi-Fi device following receipt of the beacon with the Traffic Indication Map (TIM) bit associated with the low power Wi-Fi device set to the value indicating there is buffered data available for the low power Wi- Fi device after the low power Wi-Fi device has returned from a power saving or sleep mode to reduce transmissions or power consumption (see Fig. 7 to 9 (STA, PS-POLL, Sleep), para. [0089];[0091] discloses STA switches from sleep state to awake state, in order to receive the beacon frame that includes TIM from the AP. STA contends with other STAs for access medium for PS-POLL frame transmission. After receiving PS-Poll frame, the AP transmits a frame to STA. STA receives data frame and sends ACK, then switch to sleep state; STA switches from sleep state the awake state, receives a TIM from AP and transmits PS-Poll frame).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a method, wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a response of the access point to PS-Poll (Power Save Poll) messages (see Fig. 7, para. [0089] discloses the STA contends with other STAs to access a medium for PS-Poll frame transmission; upon receiving the PS-Poll frame transmitted by the STA, the AP may transmit a frame to the STA, and the STA may receive the data frame and send an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the AP), and switch to the sleep state).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a method wherein if the access point does not respond to PS-Poll messages, the low power Wi-Fi device modifies the operation by transmitting packets with a power management (PM) bit set to values that indicate when the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode and a power saving mode (see Fig. 13 (Wake-up packet) para. [0117] discloses is possible to define a bit value of 1 as power-off), and
if the access point does respond to PS-Poll messages, the low power Wi-Fi device does not modify the operation and transmits a PS-Poll message (see para. [0148];[0150] discloses when STA fails to detect an intra BSS frame within certain period, the STA performs AP scanning; STA turned on transmits a frame for keep-alive check to the AP, this frame may be a PS-Poll frame).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a method wherein the packets transmitted with the PM bit set to the values are NULL packets, Quality of Service (QOS) NULL Packets, data packets or QOS data packets (see para. [0148];[0150] discloses when STA fails to detect an intra BSS frame within certain period, the STA performs AP scanning; STA turned on transmits a frame for keep-alive check to the AP, this frame may be a PS-Poll frame).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a method further comprising exiting a modified operation mode after a predetermined amount of time or a predetermined number of packets, and repeating the observing (see para [0006] discloses turning on a receiver of the STA, starting a timer as entering the mode and turning on the transceiver when the timer expires, to wake up the STA).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a low power Wi-Fi device, comprising:
a Wi-Fi network interface (see para [0048] STA provide layer management service interface in which a layer management works);
a processing unit (see Fig. 21(processor, memory) para. [0182]-[0183] discloses STA including processor, memory, and transmitting/receiving unit; techniques or methods executed by software, modules can be stored in the memory and executed by processor) ; and
a memory device, in communication with the processing unit, containing instructions, which when executed by the processing unit (see Fig. 21(processor, memory) para. [0182]-[0183] discloses STA including processor, memory, and transmitting/receiving unit; techniques or methods executed by software, modules can be stored in the memory and executed by processor), enable the low power Wi-Fi device to:
observe a behavior of an access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in a default operation state (see para. [0006] and [0126] discloses to reduce the power consumption of the STA, the STA may monitor for a WUR packet via WUR (wake up receiver) receiver, and turn off a WLAN receiver (e.g., WUR mode), where the WUR mode corresponds to the default operation state; when the AP has data to transmit to the STA, the AP transmits a WUR packet to the STA to wake up the WLAN transceiver);
receive a beacon with a Traffic Indication Map (TIM) bit associated with the low power Wi-Fi device set to a value indicating there is buffered data available for the low power Wi-Fi device after observing the behavior (see Fig. 7 to 9 (Listen (observing), Beacon) para. [0057];[0087] discloses AP serves to periodically transmit a beacon frame. After receiving the beacon frame, the STA that perform the scanning, stores information about a BSS; the AP may periodically transmit a beacon frame to the STA in a BSS, that may include TIM (Traffic Indicator Map). The TIM information may include information indicating that the AP has buffered traffic for STA associated with the AP); and
modify an operation of the low power Wi-Fi device following receipt of the beacon with the Traffic Indication Map (TIM) bit associated with the low power Wi-Fi device set to the value indicating there is buffered data available for the low power Wi-Fi device after the low power Wi-Fi device has returned from a power saving or sleep mode if the behavior previously observed differs from an expected behavior, in order to reduce transmissions or power consumption (see Fig. 7 to 9 (STA, PS-POLL, Sleep), para. [0089];[0091] discloses STA switches from sleep state to awake state, in order to receive the beacon frame that includes TIM from the AP. STA contends with other STAs for access medium for PS-POLL frame transmission. After receiving PS-Poll frame, the AP transmits a frame to STA. STA receives data frame and sends ACK, then switch to sleep state; STA switches from sleep state the awake state, receives a TIM from AP and transmits PS-Poll frame)).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a low power Wi-Fi device of claim 13, wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a response of the access point to PS-Poll (Power Save Poll) messages (see Fig. 7, para. [0089] discloses the STA contends with other STAs to access a medium for PS-Poll frame transmission; upon receiving the PS-Poll frame transmitted by the STA, the AP may transmit a frame to the STA, and the STA may receive the data frame and send an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the AP), and switch to the sleep state).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a low power Wi-Fi device wherein the memory device further comprising instructions (see para [0182]-[0183] discloses device with memory connected to processor, executing software and method techniques) that enable the low power Wi-Fi device to:
modify the operation by transmitting packets with a power management (PM) bit set to values that indicate when the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode and a power saving mode, if the access point does not respond to PS-Poll messages (see Fig. 13 (Wake-up packet) para. [0117] discloses is possible to define a bit value of 1 as power-off); and
not modify the operation and transmit a PS-Poll message if the access point does respond to PS-Poll messages (see para. [0148];[0150] discloses when STA fails to detect an intra BSS frame within certain period, the STA performs AP scanning; STA turned on transmits a frame for keep-alive check to the AP, this frame may be a PS-Poll frame).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a method of operating a low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0101]-[0106] discloses Low Power wake up receiver that is operated by a STA in WLAN), comprising:
observing a behavior of an access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in a default operation state (see para. [0006] and [0126] discloses to reduce the power consumption of the STA, the STA may monitor for a WUR packet via WUR (wake up receiver) receiver, and turn off a WLAN receiver (e.g., WUR mode), where the WUR mode corresponds to the default operation state; when the AP has data to transmit to the STA, the AP transmits a WUR packet to the STA to wake up the WLAN transceiver);
receiving a beacon with a Traffic Indication Map (TIM) associated with the low power Wi-Fi device set to a value indicating there is buffered data available for the low power Wi-Fi device, after the observing (see Fig. 7 to 9 (Listen (observing), Beacon) para. [0057];[0087] discloses AP serves to periodically transmit a beacon frame. After receiving the beacon frame, the STA that perform the scanning, stores information about a BSS; the AP may periodically transmit a beacon frame to the STA in a BSS, that may include TIM (Traffic Indicator Map). The TIM information may include information indicating that the AP has buffered traffic for STA associated with the AP); and
if the behavior previously observed differs from an expected behavior, modifying an operation of the low power Wi-Fi device following receipt of the beacon with the TIM bit associated with the low power Wi-Fi device set to the value indicating there is buffered data available for the low power Wi-Fi device after the low power Wi-Fi device has returned from a power saving or sleep mode (see Fig. 7 to 9 (STA, PS-POLL, Sleep), para. [0089];[0091] discloses STA switches from sleep state to awake state, in order to receive the beacon frame that includes TIM from the AP. STA contends with other STAs for access medium for PS-POLL frame transmission. After receiving PS-Poll frame, the AP transmits a frame to STA. STA receives data frame and sends ACK, then switch to sleep state; STA switches from sleep state the awake state, receives a TIM from AP and transmits PS-Poll frame) by transmitting a packet with a power management (PM) bit indicating that the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode (see para. [0084] discloses the WLAN system supports power management mode (PM) for the STA, the power management PM of the STA with active mode and power save (PS) mode) ; and
if the behavior previously observed does not differ from the expected behavior, transmitting a PS- Poll message (see para [0089] discloses the after the STA contends with other STAs, the STA may transmit PS-Poll frame to the AP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20200029276 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Xia et al. (US 20240008081 A1) (herein after “Xia”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a method.
Kim does not disclose a method wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number and type of TIDs (traffic identifiers) for which aggregation context is requested by the access point.
However, Xia discloses a method wherein the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number and type of TIDs (traffic identifiers) for which aggregation context is requested by the access point (see para. [0092] discloses an apparatus or method of any preceding implementation, further comprising communicating a multiple transmission identification (TID) aggregation-MAC protocol data units (A-MPDU) limit subfield in the frame indicating requested AC requirements as sent by the AP STA; and wherein said TID A-MPDU limit subfield indicates a number of MPDUs allowed in an A-MPDU and a maximum number of TIDs that can be aggregated by the non-AP STA in the A-MPDU).
Kim and Xia are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the TIDs as described by Xia.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data rate.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a method.
Kim does not disclose a method wherein if the low power Wi-Fi device has continuous or bursty data associated with the TIDs, it establishes the aggregation context.
However, Xia discloses the method wherein if the low power Wi-Fi device has continuous or bursty data associated with the TIDs, it establishes the aggregation context (see para. [0092] discloses an apparatus or method of any preceding implementation, further comprising communicating a multiple transmission identification (TID) aggregation-MAC protocol data units (A-MPDU) limit subfield in the frame indicating requested AC requirements as sent by the AP STA; and wherein said TID A-MPDU limit subfield indicates a number of MPDUs allowed in an A-MPDU and a maximum number of TIDs that can be aggregated by the non-AP STA in the A-MPDU) ; see para. [0093] discloses an apparatus or method of any preceding implementation, wherein a non-AP STA transmitting a multiple-TID A-MPDU in the allocated time as indicated by the frame containing the requested AC (Access Class) value indicated, should aggregate data units).
Kim and Xia are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the TIDs as described by Xia.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data rate.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a method wherein if the low power Wi-Fi device has occasional data associated with the TIDs, the low power Wi-Fi device modifies the operation by rejecting the request and transmitting packets with a power management (PM) bit indicating that the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode (see Fig. 13 (Wake-up packet) para. [0117] discloses is possible to define a bit value of 1 as power-off).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a device.
Kim fails to disclose a low power Wi-Fi device wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number and type of TIDs (traffic identifiers) for which aggregation context is requested by the access point.
However, Xia discloses the device wherein the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number and type of TIDs (traffic identifiers) for which aggregation context is requested by the access point (see para. [0092] discloses an apparatus or method of any preceding implementation, further comprising communicating a multiple transmission identification (TID) aggregation-MAC protocol data units (A-MPDU) limit subfield in the frame indicating requested AC requirements as sent by the AP STA; and wherein said TID A-MPDU limit subfield indicates a number of MPDUs allowed in an A-MPDU and a maximum number of TIDs that can be aggregated by the non-AP STA in the A-MPDU).
Kim and Xia are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to modify Kim to include the TIA and aggregation as described by Xia.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data rate and lower overhead.
Claims 5, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20200029276 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Jia et al. (US 20090067407 A1) (herein after “Jia”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses a method.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number of "keep alive" messages transmitted by the access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in the power saving or sleep mode by counting the number of "keep alive" messages received after one or more previous PS-Poll messages.
However, Jia teaches disclose a method wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number of "keep alive" messages transmitted by the access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in the power saving or sleep mode by counting the number of "keep alive" messages received after one or more previous PS-Poll messages (see para. [0056] discloses …when the device 500 is not actively transmitting or receiving, a mode controller 520 may set one or more of the components of the device 500 (e.g., transceiver components) to a power save state...at the times designated by the keep-alive schedule (e.g., as indicated by an interrupt or some other suitable mechanism), the mode controller 520 may switch the mode of the device 500 from a power save state to an active state (e.g., active mode); para. [0044] discloses a keep-alive schedule may take a variety of forms. For example, a schedule may relate to a keep-alive transmission rate, designated times, a count, or some other suitable criterion).
Kim and Jia are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of power saving in wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the keep-alive as described by Jia.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the use of one of the keep alive schedule scenarios.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a method.
Kim fails to disclose a method further comprising exiting a modified operation mode if a connection between the low power Wi-Fi device and the access point is terminated and repeating the observing.
However, Jia discloses the method further comprising exiting a modified operation mode if a connection between the low power Wi-Fi device and the access point is terminated and repeating the observing (see para. [0003] discloses if keep-alive messages are not received from a given device for a certain period of time, communication with that device may be terminated; para. [0025] discloses in this case, the device 102 may simply monitor the received keep-alive to determine whether to maintain or terminate the multicast session); para. [0029] discloses the device 102 includes a keep-alive monitor 116 that monitors for the keep-alive messages).
Kim and Jia are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of power saving in wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the keep-alive as described by Jia.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to maintain quality and reliability on the wireless link.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a low power Wi-Fi device.
Kim fails to disclose a low power Wi-Fi device wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number of "keep alive" messages transmitted by the access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in the power saving or sleep mode by counting the number of "keep alive" messages received after one or more previous PS-Poll messages.
However, Jia teaches a device wherein, in the default operation state, the low power Wi-Fi device observes a number of "keep alive" messages transmitted by the access point while the low power Wi-Fi device is in the power saving or sleep mode (see para. [0056] discloses …when the device 500 is not actively transmitting or receiving, a mode controller 520 may set one or more of the components of the device 500 (e.g., transceiver components) to a power save state...at the times designated by the keep-alive schedule (e.g., as indicated by an interrupt or some other suitable mechanism), the mode controller 520 may switch the mode of the device 500 from a power save state to an active state (e.g., active mode); para. [0044] discloses a keep-alive schedule may take a variety of forms. For example, a schedule may relate to a keep-alive transmission rate, designated times, a count, or some other suitable criterion).
Kim and Jia are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of power saving in wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the keep-alive as described by Jia.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the use of one of the keep alive schedule scenarios.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement of data rate and lower overhead.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20200029276 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Xia et al. (US 20240008081 A1) (herein after “Xia”) and further in view of Cariou et al (US 20230292245 A1) (herein after “Cariou”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a low power Wi-Fi device wherein the memory device further comprising instructions.
Kim fails to disclose low power Wi-Fi device wherein the memory device further comprising instructions that enable the low power Wi-Fi device to:
establish the aggregation context if the low power Wi-Fi device has continuous or bursty data associated with the TIDs; and reject request and transmit packets with a power management (PM) bit indicating that the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode if the low power Wi-Fi device has occasional data associated with the TIDs.
However, Xia discloses a device wherein the memory device further comprising instructions that enable the low power Wi-Fi device to establish the aggregation context if the low power Wi-Fi device has continuous or bursty data associated with the TIDs (see para. [0092]-[0093] discloses the apparatus or method of any preceding implementation, further comprising communicating a multiple transmission identification (TID) aggregation-MAC protocol data units (A-MPDU) limit subfield in the frame indicating requested AC requirements as sent by the AP STA; and wherein said TID A-MPDU limit subfield indicates a number of MPDUs allowed in an A-MPDU and a maximum number of TIDs that can be aggregated by the non-AP STA in the A-MPDU) ; the apparatus or method of any preceding implementation, wherein a non-AP STA transmitting a multiple-TID A-MPDU in the allocated time as indicated by the frame containing the requested AC (Access Class) value indicated, should aggregate data units).
Xia fails to disclose to reject request and transmit packets with a power management (PM) bit indicating that the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode if the low power Wi-Fi device has occasional data associated with the TIDs.
However, Cariou discloses reject request and transmit packets with a power management (PM) bit set to 0 to indicate that the low power Wi-Fi device is in an active mode if the low power Wi-Fi device has occasional data associated with the TIDs (see para. [0100]-[0101] discloses the device may set up a traffic identifier (TID) associated with data traffic to be exchanged with the non-AP MLD, wherein the setting up of the TID comprises mapping a plurality of TIDs to one or more enabled links of the plurality links. The TID comprises a TID mapping update comprising an indication a change of an initial power state of the first STA); block 406, the device may determine, based on the request frame, a power save mode associated with each of the STAs of the non-AP MLD. The power save mode may comprise an active state or a doze state based on a power management bit set 1 in the request frame).
Kim, Jia, Xia and Cariou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because are in the same field of wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to modify Kim to include the aggregation and TID as described by Xia and Cariou.
The motivation to combine both references would come to maintain quality and reliability on the wireless link.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al (CN 114466437 A) discloses “A Heartbeat Keep-alive Method, Device, Device and Readable Storage Medium”.
Merlin et al (US 20140112229 A1) discloses “Method and Apparatus sing an Ultra Low Power Signal with Scheduled Power Save Modes”.
Homchaudhuri et al (US 20180220372 A1) discloses “Adaptive Power Save with Reinforcement Learning”.
/LUIS LEMA LEMOS/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409