DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 7, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “222” has been used to designate both a channel in Fig. 8C and an extension in Fig. 8D and 8E. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the connection” in the preamble lacks antecedent basis. Thus, the scope of the claim is indefinite. It is suggested to amend the limitation to “the electrode connection system” or “the system”.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “the mount” lacks antecedent basis. Thus, the scope of the claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “the workpiece” lacks antecedent basis. Thus, the scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claims 2-9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matt et al. (US 20190177872).
Regarding claim 1, Matt et al. teaches an electrode connection system for a sample in an electrochemical machining system, the connection system comprising:
a fixture (any one of features 50, 52, or 56 in Fig. 5 reads on the fixture) to house the sample (workpiece 14); and
an electrode (e.g., portion of contact pins 54 contacting the support plate) in electrical contact with a common return path (i.e., through the power source 20) for current from an electrolyte solution to flow through the sample.
Regarding claim 2, Matt et al. teaches a metal workpiece (Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Matt et al. teaches a mount (e.g., support plate 50, Fig. 5, reads on the mount) to support the sample, the mount being housed within the fixture (i.e., since support plate 50 is on top and within the width of base plate 52 or bearing plate 56, it reads on being housed within the fixture).
Regarding claims 6-7, Matt et al. teaches a post to position the electrode for electrical contact with the sample (the elongated, rod portion of contact pins 54 and Fig. 5 broadly reads on a post). Since a contact pin provide electrical contact to the workpiece (paragraph 102), it is inherently made of an electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 9, Matt et al. teaches a biasing element (i.e., spring under contact pins 54, Fig. 5) to force the electrode to make physical and electrical contact with the workpiece.
Regarding claim 10, Matt et al. teaches the electrode (i.e., tip portion of contact pins 54) is configured to extend through a portion of the mount (i.e., contact pins 54 is partially extended into the support plate) via an opening to make physical and electrical contact with the sample. It is noted that neither the current claim or claim 1 positively recites a mount.
Regarding claim 13, Matt et al. teaches a stage (i.e., bearing plate 56) configured to support the sample. In the instant claim, support plate 50 is interpreted to read on the fixture in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Matt et al. teaches a stage (i.e., bearing plate 56) is in electrical contact with the common return path and the sample since it is electrically connected to power source 20. In the instant claim, support plate 50 is interpreted to read on the fixture in claim 1.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronald (US 3386907).
Regarding claim 1, Ronald teaches an electrode connection system for a sample in an electrochemical machining system, the connection system comprising:
a fixture (i.e., bolster 25; Figs. 2-3) to house the sample (workpiece 10); and
an electrode (e.g., electrical contact to the bolster in Fig. 1 from the power supply 21) in electrical contact with a common return path (i.e., through the power supply 21) for current from an electrolyte solution to flow through the sample.
Regarding claim 2, Ronald teaches a conductive workpiece (column 3, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 3, Ronald teaches a mount (e.g., clamps 26 with bolts in Fig. 1 broadly read on the mount) to support the sample, the mount being housed within the fixture (i.e., since clamps 26 with bolts are on top and within the width of bolster 25, they reads on being housed within the fixture).
Regarding claim 4, Ronald teaches wherein the fixture (bolster 25) comprises an electrically conductive material (column 3, line 17-18), the common return path channeling current through the sample, the electrode, and the fixture.
Claims 1, 2, 13, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrews (US 3403084).
Regarding claim 1, Andrews teaches an electrode connection system for a sample in an electrochemical machining system, the connection system comprising:
a fixture (i.e., holding fixture 40; Fig. 7) to house the sample (workpiece 20); and
an electrode (e.g., electrical contact to the workpiece in Fig. 1 from the power source 38) in electrical contact with a common return path (i.e., through the power source 38) for current from an electrolyte solution to flow through the sample.
Regarding claim 2, Andrews teaches a conductive workpiece (column 1, lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 13, Andrews teaches a stage (i.e., indexing table 41, Fig. 7) configured to support the sample or the fixture.
Regarding claim 15, Andrews teaches an electrochemical machining system for machining a surface of a sample, the system comprising:
a nozzle (i.e., nozzle 26 in tool 18, Figs. 1, 7) configured to direct a jet of an electrolyte solution towards the surface of the sample, wherein an electrical charge is applied to the nozzle (i.e., the nozzle is connected to the cathode of the power source);
a fixture (i.e., holding fixture 40) to house the sample;
a stage (i.e., indexing table 41) in electrical contact with the sample or the fixture; and
a common return path (i.e., the workpiece and the nozzle are connected to the power source and thus form a common return path) in electrical contact with the stage to allow the electrical charge to flow from the electrolyte solution to the common return path via the sample.
Regarding claim 18, Andrews teaches a chamber (i.e., enclosure 42) to house the workpiece.
Regarding claim 20, Andrews inherently teaches an electrode in contact with the common return path and the sample since the workpiece is electrically connected to the power source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US 3403084) in view of Ronald (US 3386907).
Regarding claim 3, Andrews not explicitly teach a mount to support the workpiece. However, Ronald teaches a mount (shown in the annotated figure below) house within the fixture (i.e., since the clamps 26 with bolts is on top and within the width of bolster 25, it reads on being housed within the fixture).
Alternatively, slab 28 and/or sponge rubber 29 (Figs. 2-3) can be interpreted to read on the mount. Slab 28 and sponge rubber 29 function to support the slab 28 across the recess 27 in position to contact against the workpiece 10 (column 3, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the electrode connection system of Andrews by incorporating the mount of Ronald because it would help further secure and support the workpiece for the machining process.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Andrews does not explicitly teach the fixture comprising an electrically conductive material. Ronald teaches bolster 25 that is made of an electrically conductive material to provide an anodic potential to the workpiece (column 3, line 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have modified the fixture of Andrews to comprise an electrically conductive material, as taught by Ronald, because it would provide an electrical potential to the workpiece.
Regarding claim 19, in the alternative interpretation of Ronald, slab 28 and/or sponge rubber 29 (Figs. 2-3) can be interpreted to read on the mount. Slab 28 and sponge rubber 29 function to support the slab 28 and is housed within the fixture (column 3, lines 30-34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the electrode connection system of Andrews by incorporating the mount of Ronald because it would help further secure and support the workpiece for the machining process.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US 3403084) in view of Cochran (US 6355148).
Andrews does not explicitly teach that the fixture is a ring fixture having a substantially circular shape.
Cochran teaches a system for electrochemical machining comprising a fixture for holding a circular workpiece (column 5 lines 23-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the fixture of Andrews to have a substantially circular shape, as suggested by Cochran, because it would allow the fixture to hold a circular shaped workpiece.
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 14 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US 3403084) in view of Matt et al. (US 20190177872).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Andrews does not teach a post to position the electrode for electrical contact with the workpiece and that it is electrically conductive.
Matt et al. teaches a post to position the electrode for electrical contact with the sample (the rod portion of the contact pins 54 and Fig. 5 broadly reads on a post). Since a contact pin provide electrical contact to the workpiece (paragraph 102), it is inherently made of an electrically conductive material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the system of Andrews by incorporating the electrically conductive post or contact pin of Matt et al. because such contact structure is suitable for providing electric current to the workpiece.
Regarding claim 9, Matt et al. teaches a biasing element (i.e., spring under the contact pins 54, Fig. 5) to force electrode to make physical and electrical contact with the workpiece.
Regarding claim 10, Matt et al. teaches the electrode (i.e., tip of contact pins 54) is configured to extend through a portion of the mount (i.e., contact pins 54 is partially extended into the support plate) via an opening to make physical and electrical contact with the sample. It is noted that neither the current claim or claim 1 positively recites a mount.
Regarding claim 14, Andrews teaches stage 41 (Fig. 7) but does not explicitly teach the stage is in electrical contact with the common return path and the sample. Matt et al. teaches that a stage (i.e., bearing plate 56) is in electrical contact with the common return path and the sample since it is electrically connected to power source 20.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the system of Andrews by providing an electrical contact to the stage, as taught by Matt et al., to provide electrical current to the workpiece.
Regarding claim 16, Andrews does not explicitly teach a mount to house that workpiece. However, Matt et al. teaches a mount (e.g., support plate 50, Fig. 5, reads on the mount) to support the workpiece (paragraph 99-100). The support plate 50 is electrically conductive because current supplied by the contact pins 54 is conducted through the support plate to the workpiece 14.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporated the mount of Matt et al. in the system of Andrews to provide additional support to the workpiece.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US 3403084) in view of Matt et al. (US 20190177872), and further in view of Batz et al. (US 6939448).
Andrews does not explicitly teach the post comprises an electrically insulating material.
Batz et al. teaches a contact assembly for an electrochemical plating apparatus. Batz et al. coating dielectric material 758 on an electrical contact to inhibit the solution from plating on the contact (paragraph 32; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the electrical contact of Andrews in view of Matt et al. by forming an insulating or dielectric coating on the contact, as taught by Batz et al., to protect the electrical contact from the electrolyte.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US 3403084) in view of Fairbourn et al. (US 20020108868).
Andrews does not explicitly teach an electrode connector (claim 11) or the specific type of connectors (claim 12).
Fairbourn et al. teaches a system for cleaning metal workpieces using a counter electrode coupled to metal workpieces. The samples of the invention were dc coupled to a counter electrode by means of a wire and alligator clips (paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the system of Andrews by connecting the electrodes using an electrode connector such as a clip, as taught by Fairbourn et al., because it would facilitate the connection the removal of the electrical connection between the power supply and the workpiece.
Conclusion
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795