DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitation must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recited: “the first passage includes the stator passage, and the at least one second passage is disposed between the rotor, and a rotor shaft positioned coaxially with the rotor and fixed to the rotor”.
However, as best understood from Figure 7 of the current application, the “second passage” that appeared to be between the rotor and a rotor shaft is channel 50-2. However, such channel appeared to be only a space between the rotor 36 and rotor shaft 52. Thus, such channel cannot be fixed to the rotor as claimed. Therefore, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art.
For examination purpose, the claim has been interpreted as the second passage is formed on the rotor.
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reason as claim 7.
Claims 6-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recited:
“a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid via a first passage and a gas via at least one second passage, and direct the first liquid and the gas, via centrifugal force, into the airgap”.
In other words, the first passage needs to be in the rotor, in order for the fluid to be delivered into the air gap via centrifugal force
However, claim 6 recited: “the first passage includes the stator passage” and therefore such claim recited that the first passage is in the stator. Therefore, it would contradict claim 1 and rendered the claim being indefinite.
Claims 7 and 8 also recited “the first passage includes the stator passage” and therefore rejected for the same reason as claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected for its dependency on claim 8.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for similar reason as claims 6-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2024/0380279 A1).
RE claim 1, as best understood, Yang teaches an electric motor 106 (Figs.2-4) comprising:
a stator 110 including windings 307 disposed within winding slots 305 (Fig.3), the stator 110 having a radially inner stator core surface 110B and a radially outer stator surface 110A (Fig.2), wherein the stator 110 includes at least one stator passage 112S extending radially a first distance (distance of slot 313) (Fig.5A) from the radially inner stator core surface 110B;
a rotor 120 mounted inside the stator 110, defining a rotational axis 152, and having axially opposite rotor ends (Fig.2) and a radially outer rotor surface 120B positioned proximate the radially inner stator surface 110B, thereby establishing an airgap 130 therebetween, wherein the rotor 120 includes at least one fluid passage 112R extending radially through the rotor 120 to the radially outer rotor surface 120B; and
a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid 165 (L + G, see Fig.2 and ¶ 47) via a first passage (148, 112R) and a gas 165 (L + G) via at least one second passage (112S), and direct the first liquid and the gas (L+G), via centrifugal force (because Yang disclosed the same structure as claimed, such cooling structure is capable to deliver fluid by centrifugal force), into the airgap 130 and the at least one stator passage 112S as the rotor 120 rotates inside the stator 110 to discharge the first liquid and the gas out through the airgap 130 and the at least one stator passage 112S radially, and through the windings axially (Figs.4, 5), thereby cooling the electric motor 106 (Figs.3, 4)
[AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
RE claim 2/1, Yang teaches the at least one stator passage 112S extends a second distance (D2) from the radially inner stator core surface to an opening 114 in the radially outer stator surface 110A, the second distance (D2) greater than the first distance (D1).
RE claim 3/1, Yang teaches the fluid circulation arrangement is configured to receive a second liquid through the opening 114 in the radially outer stator surface via the at least one stator passage 112S (Fig.2).
RE claim 4/3, Yang teaches the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor shaft 140 positioned coaxially with the rotor 120, fixed to the rotor 120, and defining the first passage (148, 112R).
RE claim 5/4, Yang teaches the rotor shaft 140 defines the at least one second passage 112R.
RE claim 6/2, as best understood, Yang teaches the first passage 112S includes the stator passage 112S, and the rotor 120 defines the at least one second passage 112R.
RE claim 8/2, as best understood, Yang teaches the first passage 112S includes the stator passage 112S, and the rotor shaft 140 defines the at least one second passage 148 (112R).
RE claim 14, Yang teaches a motor vehicle 100 (¶ 21, 35) comprising:
an electric motor 106 configured to generate torque for propulsion of the motor vehicle 100, the electric motor 106 including:
a stator 110 including windings 307 disposed within winding slots 305 (Fig.3), the stator 110 having a radially inner stator core surface 110B and a radially outer stator surface 110A, wherein the stator 110 includes at least one stator passage 112S extending radially a first distance (distance of slot 313) (Fig.5A) from the radially inner stator core surface 110B;
a rotor 120 mounted inside the stator 110, defining a rotational axis 152, and having axially opposite rotor ends (Fig.2) and a radially outer rotor surface 120B positioned proximate the radially inner stator core surface 110B, thereby establishing an airgap 130 therebetween, wherein the rotor 120 includes at least one fluid passage 112R extending radially through the rotor 120 to the radially outer rotor surface 120B; and
a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid 165 (L+G, see Fig.2 and ¶ 47) via a first passage (148, 112R) and a gas (L+G) via at least one second passage (112S), and direct the first liquid and the gas (L+G), via centrifugal force (because Yang disclosed the same structure as claimed, such cooling structure is capable to deliver fluid by centrifugal force), into the airgap 130 and the at least one stator passage 112S as the rotor 120 rotates inside the stator to discharge the first liquid and the gas out through the airgap 130 and the at least one stator passage 112S radially, and through the windings axially (Figs.4, 5), thereby cooling the electric motor (Figs.3-5).
RE claim 15/14, Yang teaches the at least one stator passage 112S extends a second distance (D2) from the radially inner stator core surface to an opening 114 in the radially outer stator surface 110A, the second distance (D2) greater than the first distance (D1).
RE claim 16/15, Yang teaches the fluid circulation arrangement is configured to receive a second liquid through the opening 114 in the radially outer stator surface via the at least one stator passage 112S (Fig.2).
RE claim 17/16, Yang teaches the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor shaft 140 positioned coaxially with the rotor 120, fixed to the rotor 120, and defining the first passage (148, 112R).
RE claim 19/15, Yang teaches the first passage 112S includes the stator passage 112S, and the rotor defines the at least one second passage (148, 112R).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Noda et al. (US 2019/0260248 A1).
RE claim 7/2, as best understood, Yang has been discussed above. Yang further teaches the first passage 112S includes the stator passage 112S.
Yang does not teach the at least one second passage 40 is disposed between the rotor, and a rotor shaft positioned coaxially with the rotor and fixed to the rotor.
Noda teaches at least one second passage 40 is disposed between the rotor, and a rotor shaft 12 positioned coaxially with the rotor 10 and fixed to (interpreted as disposed on) the rotor 10. Thereby, the clogging of the refrigerant receiving port of the rotor core is prevented, so that it is possible to cool the rotor core and the permanent magnets (¶ 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by having the at least one second passage 40 is disposed between the rotor, and a rotor shaft positioned coaxially with the rotor and fixed to the rotor, as taught by Noda, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 18/17, as best understood, Yang does not teach the rotor shaft 140 defines the at least one second passage.
Noda teaches the rotor shaft 140 defines the at least one second passage 40. Thereby, the clogging of the refrigerant receiving port of the rotor core is prevented, so that it is possible to cool the rotor core and the permanent magnets (¶ 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by having the rotor shaft defines the at least one second passage, as taught by Noda, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claim 20/15 is rejected for similar reason as claim 7/2.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2020/0235620 A1).
RE claim 9/8, Yang has been discussed above. Yang does not teach a stator ring disposed in the stator passage.
Matsumoto teaches a stator ring 28B disposed in the stator passage 44 (Figs.2, 7, 8). With this configuration, the coil can be efficiently cooled (¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by having a stator ring disposed in the stator passage, as taught by Matsumoto, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 12/1, Yang has been discussed above. Yang further teaches the stator further includes stator teeth 303 that extend radially from the inner stator core surface and alternate with the winding slots circumferentially along a channel portion of the stator 110 (300)
Yang does not teach wherein the stator teeth within the stator passage are removed.
Matsumoto teaches the stator teeth (of core 28B, see Fig.2, 7, 8) within the stator passage 44 are removed. With this configuration, the coil can be efficiently cooled (¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by having the stator teeth within the stator passage are removed, as taught by Matsumoto, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Tabuchi et al. (US 2021/0242729 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Tabuchi’729”).
RE claim 10/1, Yang has been discussed above. Yang further teaches the stator 2 further includes stator teeth 303 that extend radially from the inner stator core surface and alternate with the winding slots 305 circumferentially along a channel portion of the stator 2 (Fig.3).
Tabuchi does not teach the stator teeth within the stator passage have a tapered configuration.
Tabuchi’729 teaches the stator teeth 68 (Figs.3, 9) within the stator passage (54, 56) have a tapered configuration (Fig.9), doing so would improve the flow of coolant and improve the performance of cooling the coils (¶ 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang by having the stator teeth within the stator passage have a tapered configuration, as taught by Tabuchi’729, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 11/10, as discussed above, Tabuchi’729 teaches the stator teeth within the stator passage are narrower than the stator teeth not within the stator passage 50 (see Fig.3).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2024/0380279 A1) in view of Tanaka (US 2020/0287432 A1).
RE claim 13, Yang teaches an electric motor 106 comprising:
a stator 110 including windings 307 disposed within winding slots 305 (Fig.3), the stator 110 having a radially inner stator core surface 110B and a radially outer stator surface 110A (Fig.2), wherein the stator 110 includes at least one stator passage 112S extending radially a first distance (distance of slot 313) from the radially inner stator core surface 110B;
a rotor 120 mounted inside the stator 110, defining a rotational axis 152, and having axially opposite rotor ends (Fig.2) and a radially outer rotor surface 120B positioned proximate the radially inner stator core surface 110B, thereby establishing an airgap 130 therebetween, wherein the rotor 120 includes at least one fluid passage 112R extending radially through the rotor 120 to the radially outer rotor surface 120B; and
a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid 165 (L+G, see Fig.2 and ¶ 47) via a first passage (148, 112R) and a gas 165 (L+G) via at least one second passage (112S), and direct the first liquid and the gas (L+G), via centrifugal force (because Yang disclosed the same structure as claimed, such cooling structure is capable to deliver fluid by centrifugal force), into the airgap 130 and the at least one stator passage 112S as the rotor 120 rotates inside the stator 110 to discharge the first liquid and the gas out through the airgap 130 and the at least one stator passage 112S radially, and through the windings axially (Figs.4, 5), thereby cooling the electric motor 106;
the rotor including a first lateral rotor portion 120 and a second lateral rotor portion 120 (Fig.2), wherein the rotor impeller is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion and the second lateral rotor portion
Tabuchi does not teach wherein the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor impeller defining a plurality of fluid channels, and wherein the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels; the rotor impeller is arranged along the rotational axis centrally within the rotor, wherein the rotor impeller is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion and the second lateral rotor portion.
Tanaka teaches wherein the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor impeller 83 (8) (Fig.1) defining a plurality of fluid channels (86, 87), and wherein the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures 95 fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels (86, 87); the rotor impeller 83 (8) is arranged along the rotational axis (C) centrally within the rotor 3, wherein the rotor impeller 83 (8) is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion 5 and the second lateral rotor portion 5 (Fig.1). Accordingly, a cooling efficiency of the rotor can be improved.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi in view of Vanhee by having the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor impeller defining a plurality of fluid channels, and wherein the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels; the rotor impeller is arranged along the rotational axis centrally within the rotor, wherein the rotor impeller is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion and the second lateral rotor portion, as taught by Tanaka, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claims 1-4 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuchi (JP 2021121144 A, the machine translation of which has been provided) in view of Vanhee et al. (US 2023/0261536 A1).
RE claim 1, Tabuchi teaches an electric motor 10 (Fig.1) comprising:
a stator 2 including winding 22 disposed within winding slots (between teeth 24, see translation page 2, 4th ¶), the stator 2 having a radially inner stator core surface and a radially outer stator surface (Fig.1), wherein the stator 2 includes at least one stator passage 25 extending radially a first distance (D1) from the radially inner stator core surface (see annotated Fig.4 below);
a rotor 1 mounted inside the stator 2, defining a rotational axis (of shaft 3), and having axially opposite rotor ends and a radially outer rotor surface positioned proximate the radially inner stator surface (Fig.1), thereby establishing an airgap (G) (see annotated Fig.1 below) therebetween, wherein the rotor 1 includes at least one fluid passage 42 extending radially through the rotor 1 to the radially outer rotor surface; and
a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid via a first passage 33, and direct the first liquid, via centrifugal force, into the airgap and the at least one stator passage as the rotor 1 rotates inside the stator 2 to discharge the first liquid through the airgap and the at least one stator passage 25 radially, and through the windings 22 axially, thereby cooling the electric motor 10 (see translation page 3, 3rd, 4th ¶).
[AltContent: textbox (Gap (G))][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Tabuchi does not teach a plurality of windings and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas in a second passage (as well as liquid).
Vanhee teaches a plurality of windings (see ¶ 24 and Fig.4 for plurality of windings 107) and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas in second passage 403 (see ¶ 55 for air passage for air to enter rotor in addition to the liquid passage 160). In this way, a mix of air and coolant (e.g., oil) can be formed in the set of open coolant channels. The pressure in the open coolant channels is therefore decreased when compared to closed channels while allowing coolant to flow therethrough. The machine may therefore achieve desired cooling characteristics while decreasing the chance of coolant leakage through the rotor assembly and degradation to the rotor laminations caused by high pressure coolant, in some cases (¶ 44). In addition, the number winding/coil can be duplicate/increase to increase power of the motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi by having a plurality of windings and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas, as taught by Vanhee, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 2/1, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the at least one stator passage 25 extends a second distance (D2) from the radially inner stator core surface to an opening in the radially outer stator surface, the second distance (D2) greater than the first distance (D1) (see annotated Fig.4 above).
RE claim 3/2, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the fluid circulation arrangement is configured to receive a second liquid through the opening in the radially outer stator surface via the at least one stator passage 25 (see translation page 3, 4th ¶).
RE claim 4/3, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor shaft 3 positioned coaxially with the rotor 1, fixed to the rotor 1, and defining the first passage 33 (Fig.1).
RE claim 14, Tabuchi teaches a motor 10 (Fig.1) comprising:
a stator 2 including winding 22 disposed within winding slots (between teeth 24, see translation page 2, 4th), the stator 2 having a radially inner stator core surface and a radially outer stator surface (Fig.1), wherein the stator 2 includes at least one stator passage 25 extending radially a first distance (D1) from the radially inner stator core surface (see annotated Fig.4 below);
a rotor 1 mounted inside the stator 2, defining a rotational axis (of shaft 3), and having axially opposite rotor ends and a radially outer rotor surface positioned proximate the radially inner stator core surface (Fig.1), thereby establishing an airgap (G) (see annotated Fig.1 above) therebetween, wherein the rotor 1 includes at least one fluid passage 42 extending radially through the rotor to the radially outer rotor surface; and
a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid via a first passage 33, into the airgap (G) and the at least one stator passage 25 as the rotor rotates inside the stator to discharge the first liquid and the gas out through the airgap (G) and the at least one stator passage 25 radially, and through the windings 22 axially, thereby cooling the electric motor 10 (see translation page 3, 3rd, 4th ¶).
Tabuchi does not teach:
a plurality of windings and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas in a second passage (as well as liquid).
the motor being configured to generate torque for propulsion of the motor vehicle
RE (i) above, Vanhee teaches a plurality of windings (see ¶ 24 and Fig.4 for plurality of windings 107) and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas in second passage 403 (see ¶ 55 for air passage for air to enter rotor in addition to the liquid passage 160). In this way, a mix of air and coolant (e.g., oil) can be formed in the set of open coolant channels. The pressure in the open coolant channels is therefore decreased when compared to closed channels while allowing coolant to flow therethrough. The machine may therefore achieve desired cooling characteristics while decreasing the chance of coolant leakage through the rotor assembly and degradation to the rotor laminations caused by high pressure coolant, in some cases (¶ 44). In addition, the number winding/coil can be duplicate/increase to increase power of the motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi by having a plurality of windings and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas, as taught by Vanhee, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE (ii) above, Vanhee evidenced that electric motor is well-known for being configured to generate torque for propulsion of the motor vehicle as well as any applicable application (¶ 91).
Tabuchi further suggests that the cooling system provided made it possible to suppress insufficient strength of the rotor core at high rotation of the rotary electric machine (see translation page 5 last two ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilized the electrical motor disclosed by Tabuchi in any applicable application such as for propulsion of the motor vehicle as suggested by Vanhee for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 15/14, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the at least one stator passage 25 extends a second distance (D2) from the radially inner stator core surface to an opening in the radially outer stator surface, the second distance (D2) greater than the first distance (D1) (see annotated Fig.4 above).
RE claim 16/15, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the fluid circulation arrangement is configured to receive a second liquid through the opening in the radially outer stator surface via the at least one stator passage 25 (see translation page 3, 4th ¶).
RE claim 17/16, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor shaft 3 positioned coaxially with the rotor 1, fixed to the rotor 1, and defining the first passage 33 (Fig.1)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuchi in view of Vanhee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2020/0235620 A1).
RE claim 12/1, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi in view of Vanhee further teaches the stator further includes stator teeth 24 that extend radially from the inner stator core surface and alternate with the winding slots circumferentially along a channel portion of the stator.
Yang does not teach wherein the stator teeth within the stator passage are removed.
Matsumoto teaches the stator teeth (of core 28B, see Fig.2, 7, 8) within the stator passage 44 are removed. With this configuration, the coil can be efficiently cooled (¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi in view of Vanhee by having the stator teeth within the stator passage are removed, as taught by Matsumoto, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuchi in view of Vanhee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tabuchi et al. (US 2021/0242729 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Tabuchi’729”).
RE claim 10/1, Tabuchi in view of Vanhee has been discussed above. Tabuchi further teaches the stator 2 further includes stator teeth 24 (Fig.4) that extend radially from the inner stator core surface and alternate with the winding slots circumferentially along a channel portion of the stator 2 (Fig.4).
Tabuchi does not teach the stator teeth within the stator passage have a tapered configuration.
Tabuchi’729 teaches the stator teeth 68 (Figs.3, 9) within the stator passage (54, 56) have a tapered configuration (Fig.9), doing so would improve the flow of coolant and improve the performance of cooling the coils (¶ 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi in view of Vanhee by having the stator teeth within the stator passage have a tapered configuration, as taught by Tabuchi’729, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 11/10, as discussed above, Tabuchi’729 teaches the stator teeth within the stator passage are narrower than the stator teeth not within the stator passage 50 (see Fig.3).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuchi (JP 2021121144 A) in view of Vanhee et al. (US 2023/0261536 A1) and Tanaka (US 2020/0287432 A1).
RE claim 13, Tabuchi teaches an electric motor 10 (Fig.1) comprising:
a stator 2 including windings 22 disposed within winding slots (between teeth 24, see translation page 2, 4th), the stator 2 having a radially inner stator core surface and a radially outer stator surface (Fig.1), wherein the stator 2 includes at least one stator passage 25 extending radially a first distance (D1) from the radially inner stator core surface (see annotated Fig.4 above);
a rotor 1 mounted inside the stator 2, defining a rotational axis (of shaft 3), and having axially opposite rotor ends and a radially outer rotor surface positioned proximate the radially inner stator core surface (Fig.1), thereby establishing an airgap (G) therebetween, wherein the rotor 1 includes at least one fluid passage 42 extending radially through the rotor 1 to the radially outer rotor surface; and
a fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive a first liquid via a first passage 33, and direct the first liquid, via centrifugal force, into the airgap (G) and the at least one stator passage 25 as the rotor 1 rotates inside the stator 2 to discharge the first liquid and the gas out through the airgap (G) and the at least one stator passage radially 25, and through the windings axially, thereby cooling the electric motor (see translation page 3, 3rd-4th ¶);
the rotor structure including a first lateral rotor portion 4 and a second lateral rotor portion 4,
Tabuchi does not teach:
a plurality of windings and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas in a second passage (as well as liquid).
wherein the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor impeller defining a plurality of fluid channels, and wherein the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels; the rotor impeller is arranged along the rotational axis centrally within the rotor, wherein the rotor impeller is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion and the second lateral rotor portion
RE (i) above, Vanhee teaches a plurality of windings (see ¶ 24 and Fig.4 for plurality of windings 107) and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas in second passage 403 (see ¶ 55 for air passage for air to enter rotor in addition to the liquid passage 160). In this way, a mix of air and coolant (e.g., oil) can be formed in the set of open coolant channels. The pressure in the open coolant channels is therefore decreased when compared to closed channels while allowing coolant to flow therethrough. The machine may therefore achieve desired cooling characteristics while decreasing the chance of coolant leakage through the rotor assembly and degradation to the rotor laminations caused by high pressure coolant, in some cases (¶ 44). In addition, the number winding/coil can be duplicate/increase to increase power of the motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi by having a plurality of windings and the fluid circulation arrangement configured to receive gas, as taught by Vanhee, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE (ii) above, Tanaka teaches wherein the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor impeller 83 (8) (Fig.1) defining a plurality of fluid channels (86, 87), and wherein the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures 95 fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels (86, 87); the rotor impeller 83 (8) is arranged along the rotational axis (C) centrally within the rotor 3, wherein the rotor impeller 83 (8) is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion 5 and the second lateral rotor portion 5 (Fig.1). Accordingly, a cooling efficiency of the rotor can be improved.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabuchi in view of Vanhee by having the fluid circulation arrangement further includes a rotor impeller defining a plurality of fluid channels, and wherein the radially outer rotor surface defines circumferentially distributed apertures fluidly connected to a respective plurality of fluid channels; the rotor impeller is arranged along the rotational axis centrally within the rotor, wherein the rotor impeller is disposed adjacent to both the first lateral rotor portion and the second lateral rotor portion, as taught by Tanaka, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Conclusion
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834