DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communications received on 11/26/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Drawings
The drawing of Fig.1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
para. [0111] of the specification refers to elements in Fig. 1 that are not present in the drawing such as: “HWss[n] from r[n]”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 20200145174) (herein after “Liang”) in view of Li et al (US 20230231637 A1) (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses a communication method, comprising: receiving first indication information,
wherein the first indication information indicates first configuration information of a first signal, and the first configuration information comprises at least information about a first resource and a first antenna port number (see para. [0012] discloses receiving, by the receiving device, first indication information sent by a network device, where the first indication information is used to indicate that the receiving device uses the first DMRS; [0013] based on the first indication information, that the sending device maps, when the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource; [0024] the first antenna port information includes a quantity of first antenna ports used by the sending device to send the first data and/or at least one first antenna port number );
receiving the first signal on the first resource from the first antenna port number (see para. [0063] discloses receive a first signal on a time-frequency resource) and receiving a second signal on a second resource from a second antenna port number (see para. [0054] The first antenna port information includes a quantity of first antenna ports used by the sending device to send the first data and/or at least one first antenna port number, and the second antenna port information includes a quantity of second antenna ports used by the sending device to send the second data and/or at least one second antenna port number; [0063] ... and receive a second signal on the second time-frequency resource),
wherein a second antenna port number corresponding to the second signal is different from the first antenna port number (see para. [0033] discloses when the second antenna port number used by the sending device to send the second data is different from any first antenna port number used by the sending device to send the first data), and the first resource and the second resource overlap (see para. [0008]-[0009] receiving, by a receiving device, first data on a first time-frequency resource, and receiving second data on a second time-frequency resource; and when the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource in frequency domain); and
determining information in the second signal based on the first signal (see para. [0012] discloses the first indication information is used to indicate that the receiving device uses the first DMRS to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource).
Liang fails to disclose wherein the determining the information in the second signal based on the first signal comprises: estimating, based on the first configuration information, a channel that carries the first signal; and reducing, based on the estimated channel that carries the first signal, interference caused by the first signal to the second signal.
However, Li teaches wherein the determining the information in the second signal based on the first signal comprises: estimating, based on the first configuration information, a channel that carries the first signal (see Fig. 4 (405-420), para. [0077] discloses UE configured to use one or more communication signals to support communication); and reducing, based on the estimated channel that carries the first signal, interference caused by the first signal to the second signal (see Fig. 4 (425, 430,435), para. [0058]-[0059] discloses means for receiving sensing interference report that indicates one or more parameters for reducing interference for the sensing signal or the like).
Liang and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to include the interference estimating and reduction as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and reduction of interference.
Regarding claim 2, Liang teaches a method wherein the first configuration information further comprises at least one of the following information: sequence information or power information corresponding to the first signal, wherein the power information indicates a ratio of a transmit power of the second signal to a transmit power of the first signal on a same frequency domain resource unit (see para. [0039];[0043] information sent by the network device , where the fourth indication information is used to indicate a ratio of a transmit power of the first DMRS to a transmit power of the second data) … first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource).
Regarding claim 4, Liang teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: receiving second indication information from a network device (see para. [0018] receiving, by the receiving device, second indication information sent by a network device), wherein the second indication information indicates at least two sets of configuration information (see para. [0079] the receiving device is a terminal device, and the receiving module is further configured to receive second indication information sent by a network device), and the at least two sets of configuration information comprise the first configuration information (see para. [0082] the first antenna port information is antenna port information used by a sending device to send the first data, and the second antenna port information is antenna port information used by the sending device to send the second data).
Regarding claim 5, Liang teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: receiving third indication information from the network device (see para. [0028] receiving, by the receiving device, third indication information sent by the network device), wherein the third indication information indicates to determine the information in the second signal based on the first signal (see para. [0028];[0029];[0030] where the third indication information is used to determine a first antenna port number corresponding to the second antenna port number; and the using, by the receiving device, a first DMRS to demodulate the second data mapped to a target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource includes: using, by the receiving device, the first DMRS transmitted by using the first antenna port number corresponding to the second antenna port number to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource).
Regarding claim 7, Liang teaches a method wherein the first indication information is carried in downlink control information (DCI) (see para. [0195] may send the first indication information to the receiving device by using downlink control signaling (for example, DCI); or the first indication information is carried in radio resource control (RRC) (DCI uses RRC).
Regarding claim 8, Liang discloses a communication method, comprising: sending first indication information to a terminal device,
wherein the first indication information indicates first configuration information of a first signal, and the first configuration information comprises at least information about a first resource and a first antenna port number (see para. [0031] According to the data transmission method provided in this possible implementation, when the second antenna port number used by the sending device to send the second data is different from any first antenna port number used by the sending device to send the first data, and the quantity of second antenna ports is less than the quantity of first antenna ports, the receiving device may use the first DMRS transmitted by using the first antenna port number corresponding to the second antenna port number to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource. In this manner, although signaling indication overheads are reduced, the receiving device can still determine a DMRS that is on a first antenna port number and that is used to demodulate the second data); and
sending the first signal to the terminal device on the first resource from the first antenna port number, and sending a second signal on a second resource from a second antenna port number (see para. [0024] the first antenna port information is antenna port information used by the sending device to send the first data, and the second antenna port information is antenna port information used by the sending device to send the second data),
wherein the first resource and the second resource overlap (see para. [0026] first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource in frequency domain, the receiving device may use the first DMRS mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the first time-frequency resource to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time- frequency resource), the second antenna port number corresponding to the second signal is different from the first antenna port number (see para. [0033] discloses when the second antenna port number used by the sending device to send the second data is different from any first antenna port number used by the sending device to send the first data), and information in the second signal is determined based on the first signal (see para. [0012] discloses the first indication information is used to indicate that the receiving device uses the first DMRS to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource).
Liang fails to disclose wherein the determining the information in the second signal based on the first signal comprises: estimating, based on the first configuration information, a channel that carries the first signal; and reducing, based on the estimated channel that carries the first signal, interference caused by the first signal to the second signal.
However, Li teaches wherein the determining the information in the second signal based on the first signal comprises: estimating, based on the first configuration information, a channel that carries the first signal (see Fig. 4 (405-420), para. [0077] discloses UE configured to use one or more communication signals to support communication); and reducing, based on the estimated channel that carries the first signal, interference caused by the first signal to the second signal (see Fig. 4 (425, 430,435), para. [0058]-[0059] discloses means for receiving sensing interference report that indicates one or more parameters for reducing interference for the sensing signal or the like).
Liang and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to include the interference estimating and reduction as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and reduction of interference.
Regarding claim 9, Liang teaches a method wherein the first configuration information further comprises at least one of the following information: sequence information or power information corresponding to the first signal, wherein the power information indicates a ratio of a transmit power of the second signal to a transmit power of the first signal (see para. [0039] information sent by the network device, where the fourth indication information is used to indicate a ratio of a transmit power of the first DMRS to a transmit power of the second data) on a same frequency domain resource unit ([0040] when the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource).
Regarding claim 11, Liang teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: sending second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates at least two sets of configuration information, and the at least two sets of configuration information comprise the first configuration information (see para. [0202] sending device is a network device, the sending device may further send second indication information to the receiving device).
Regarding claim 12, Liang teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: sending third indication information to the terminal device (see para. [0218] receiving device is a terminal device, the sending device may send third indication information to the receiving device), wherein the third indication information indicates to the terminal device to determine information in the second signal based on the first signal (see para. [0029];[0030] where the third indication information is used to determine a first antenna port number corresponding to the second antenna port number; and the using, by the receiving device, a first DMRS to demodulate the second data mapped to a target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource includes: using, by the receiving device, the first DMRS transmitted by using the first antenna port number corresponding to the second antenna port number to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource ).
Regarding claim 13, The method according to claim 10, wherein the first indication information further comprises a second index, the second index indicates second configuration information, the second configuration information is configuration information of a third signal, the third signal and the first signal are from different cells, and a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap.
Regarding claim 16, Liang teaches a method wherein the first indication information is carried in downlink control information DCI (see para. [0195] may send the first indication information to the receiving device by using downlink control signaling (for example, DCI); or the first indication information is carried in radio resource control RRC (this part is optional).
Regarding claim 17, Liang discloses a communication apparatus,
wherein the communication apparatus comprises a processor, and a memory, the processor is configured to execute computer instructions in the memory (see Fig. 13-17, para. [0280]-[0285] discloses device with processor, memory, transmitter and receiver; memory with computer executable program code that includes instructions) , to enable the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates first configuration information of a first signal, and the first configuration information comprises at least information about a first resource and a first antenna port number (see para. [0012] discloses receiving, by the receiving device, first indication information sent by a network device, where the first indication information is used to indicate that the receiving device uses the first DMRS; [0013] based on the first indication information, that the sending device maps, when the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource ; [0024] the first antenna port information includes a quantity of first antenna ports used by the sending device to send the first data and/or at least one first antenna port number );
receiving the first signal on the first resource from the first antenna port number (see para. [0063] discloses receive a first signal on a time-frequency resource) and receiving a second signal on a second resource from a second antenna port number (see para. [0054] The first antenna port information includes a quantity of first antenna ports used by the sending device to send the first data and/or at least one first antenna port number, and the second antenna port information includes a quantity of second antenna ports used by the sending device to send the second data and/or at least one second antenna port number; [0063] ... and receive a second signal on the second time-frequency resource),
wherein a second antenna port number corresponding to the second signal is different from the first antenna port number (see para. [0033] discloses when the second antenna port number used by the sending device to send the second data is different from any first antenna port number used by the sending device to send the first data), and the first resource and the second resource overlap (see para. [0008]-[0009] receiving, by a receiving device, first data on a first time-frequency resource, and receiving second data on a second time-frequency resource; and when the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource have an overlapped target frequency domain resource in frequency domain); and determining information in the second signal based on the first signal (see para. [0012] discloses the first indication information is used to indicate that the receiving device uses the first DMRS to demodulate the second data mapped to the target frequency domain resource of the second time-frequency resource).
Liang fails to disclose wherein the determining the information in the second signal based on the first signal comprises: estimating, based on the first configuration information, a channel that carries the first signal; and reducing, based on the estimated channel that carries the first signal, interference caused by the first signal to the second signal.
However, Li teaches wherein the determining the information in the second signal based on the first signal comprises: estimating, based on the first configuration information, a channel that carries the first signal (see Fig. 4 (405-420), para. [0077] discloses UE configured to use one or more communication signals to support communication); and reducing, based on the estimated channel that carries the first signal, interference caused by the first signal to the second signal (see Fig. 4 (425, 430,435), para. [0058]-[0059] discloses means for receiving sensing interference report that indicates one or more parameters for reducing interference for the sensing signal or the like).
Liang and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to include the interference estimating and reduction as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving performance and reduction of interference.
Regarding claim 18, Liang discloses a communication apparatus wherein the first signal is a sensing signal and the second signal is a communication signal (see para. [0108] discloses the first signal is a pilot signal and the second signal includes second data).
Regarding claim 19, Liang discloses a method wherein the first signal is a sensing signal and the second signal is a communication signal (see para. [0071] discloses the first signal is a pilot signal and the second signal includes second data).
Regarding claim 20, Liang discloses a method wherein the first signal is a sensing signal and the second signal is a communication signal (see para. [0071] discloses the first signal is a pilot signal and the second signal includes second data).
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 20200145174) (herein after “Liang”) in view of Li et al (US 20230231637 A1) (hereinafter “Li”) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above and further in view of Shen et al (US 20210376981 A1) (herein after “Shen”).
Regarding claim 3, Liang discloses a method.
Liang fails to disclose a method wherein the first indication information further comprises a first index, and the first index corresponds to the first configuration information.
However, Shen teaches a method wherein the first indication information further comprises a first index, and the first index corresponds to the first configuration information (see para. [0017], discloses indication including a time domain index information as first index).
Liang and Shen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field wireless communication and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to include a first index corresponding to the first configuration information as described by Shen.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow configuration of resources in most efficient form.
Regarding claim 6, Liang discloses a method.
Liang fails to disclose wherein the first indication information further comprises a second index, the second index indicates second configuration information, the second configuration information is configuration information of a third signal, the third signal and the first signal are from different cells, and a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap.
However, Shen teaches a method wherein the first indication information further comprises a second index, the second index indicates second configuration information, the second configuration information is configuration information of a third signal, the third signal and the first signal are from different cells, and a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap (see para. [0024], discloses first identification information with first time index, and second index information).
Liang and Shen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless communication and resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to include the first indication index and second information index to implement better inter-base station interference coordination as described by Shen.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow configuration of resources in most efficient form.
Regarding claim 10, Liang discloses a method.
Liang fails to disclose a method wherein the first indication information further comprises a first index, and the first index corresponds to the first configuration information.
However, Shen teaches a method wherein the first indication information further comprises a first index, and the first index corresponds to the first configuration information (see para. [0017], discloses indication including a time domain index information as first index).
Liang and Shen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to include a first index corresponding to the first configuration information as described by Shen.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow configuration of resources in most efficient form.
Regarding claim 13, The method according to claim 10, wherein the first indication information further comprises a second index, the second index indicates second configuration information, the second configuration information is configuration information of a third signal, the third signal and the first signal are from different cells, and a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap.
Liang discloses a communication method, comprising:
sending first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates first configuration information of a first signal, and the first configuration information comprises at least information about a first resource and a first antenna port number; and sending the first signal to the terminal device on the first resource from the first antenna port number, and sending a second signal on a second resource from a second antenna port number wherein the first resource and the second resource overlap and the second antenna port number corresponding to the second signal is different from the first antenna port number.
Shen discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises a second index, the second index indicates second configuration information, the second configuration information is configuration information of a third signal, the third signal and the first signal are from different cells, and a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap (see para. [0024], discloses first identification information with first time index, and second index information).
However, Liang in view of Shen, does not disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein the first indication information further comprises a second index, the second index indicates second configuration information, the second configuration information is configuration information of a third signal, the third signal and the first signal are from different cells, and a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap.
However, the configuration information for first and second signal, the first and second resource overlap, and the first index and second index has been disclosed already.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to include configuration information of a third signal a third resource that carries the third signal and the second resource overlap as described in Liang in view of Shen.
The motivation for doing so would be implement better inter-base station interference coordination.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 20200145174) (herein after “Liang”) in view of Li et al (US 20230231637 A1) (hereinafter “Li”) as applied to claims 8 above and further in view of Zheng et al (US 20210360510 A1) (herein after “Zheng”).
Regarding claim 14, Liang discloses a method.
Liang fails to disclose a method wherein the first configuration information corresponds to different terminal devices.
However, Zheng teaches wherein the first configuration information corresponds to different terminal devices (see para. [0008], discloses the first configuration information for access the network to different devices).
Liang and Zheng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of data communications signal in wireless systems
Therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to include the first configuration information corresponding to different terminal devices as described by Zheng
The motivation for doing so would be to allow access to the network of different types of devices with different capabilities.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 20200145174) (herein after “Liang”) in view of Li et al (US 20230231637 A1) (hereinafter “Li”) as applied to claims 8 above and further in view of Duan et al (US 20220095319 A1) (herein after “Duan”).
Regarding claim 15, Liang discloses a method.
Liang fails to disclose a method wherein after the first signal and the second signal are sent to the terminal device, the method further comprises: receiving an echo signal of the first signal, wherein the echo signal is for sensing a target.
However, Duan teaches wherein after the first signal and the second signal are sent to the terminal device, the method further comprises: receiving an echo signal of the first signal, wherein the echo signal is for sensing a target (see (Fig. 3, 310) para. [0071] discloses how to sense a target after transmitting a signal, that after reflected on the target, becomes an echo signal).
Liang and Duan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of data communications signal in wireless systems for data and signal sensing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to include a reference or sensing signal that is reflected on an object or target and use the reflected echo of the signal detection of the target as described by Duan.
The motivation for doing so would be enhance the features in the communication system to include additional services with target detection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed , with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 8, 17 under Liang in view of Bayesteh have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Li.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cirik et al (WO 2021092353 A1) discloses “Downlink Reception in Multiple Transmission and reception Points”.
Su et al (WO 2020222458 A1) discloses “Transmission Method of Physical Signal, Terminal and Base Station”.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419