1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Objections
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 3, 7 and 8 “capable of” is indefinite. In claim 1, lines 7-8, “the functional components” lacks antecedent basis as only one component has be previously set forth.
In claim 1, on line 4, “a first skeletonized region is provided on the screen component” is misdescriptive. The skeletonized region can be said to be “on” the heat dissipating layer, the support layer and the bonding layer, but not “on” the screen component.
In claim 3, line 9, “by enclosing” at the end of the claim is unclear. What is being enclosed?
In claim 10, “the screen component FPC is electrically connected to the screen component” is unclear. The applicant should clarify what the screen component FPC is in relation to the screen component itself to be understood. Also in claim 10, “and the screen component FPC is disposed on a side, facing the device body, of the screen component” is also unclear how the same screen component could face itself.
Dependent claims 2, 4-6 and 9 are rejected since they depend upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang US2020/0394377A1 (cited by applicant).
6. Consider claim 1. Jang teaches an electronic device (fig 3A), comprising a screen component (WM), a functional component (FSU fingerprint sensing unit), and a device body (EDC in fig 1B), wherein the screen component (par 0006 display panel) is superposed and installed on the device body (EDC), and a first skeletonized region (OP1 in fig 3A) is provided on the screen component, and the functional component (FSU) is disposed in the device body (when DD is assembled with EDC), the functional component (FSU) faces (upwards) the first skeletonized region (OP1), and an orthographic projection (reads on OP, when OP1, OP2 and OP3 are staked and form a 3D box) of the first skeletonized region in a thickness direction (perpendicular) of the electronic device is capable of accommodating at least two of the functional components (this reads on the height and width of the opening through each of the layers which allows Jang to include a plurality of sensors (see 0108).
7. Regarding claim 2. Jang teaches wherein the screen component is a flexible screen component, and the flexible screen component (fig 3A) comprises a cover plate layer (WM), a touch layer (DP-B), a bonding layer (adhesive between DP-B and ST1), a support layer (ST1), and a heat dissipation layer(ST2) that are sequentially superposed (see last line of 0095), wherein the cover plate layer is disposed away from the device body, and the first skeletonized region (opening is provided on the bonding layer, the support layer, and the heat dissipation layer (see adhesive on OP3).
8. Regarding claim 3. Jang teaches wherein a first through hole (OP1) is provided at the bonding layer (ST1), a second through hole (OP2) is provided at the support layer (ST2), and a third through hole (OP3) is provided at the heat dissipation layer (on ST3), an orthographic projection (3D rectangular opening) of the third through hole (OP3) in the thickness direction of the electronic device is capable of accommodating the first through hole and the second through hole, an area of an orthographic projection of the second through hole in the thickness direction of the electronic device is greater than or equal to an area of an orthographic projection of the first through hole in the thickness direction of the electronic device (see 0018 where it states… A thickness of the lower panel in the exposed area is equal to or less than a thickness of the fingerprint sensing unit….), and the first through hole, the second through hole, and the third through hole are connected and form the first skeletonized region (OP when assembled) by enclosing.
P).
9. Regarding claim 7. Jang teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a blocking component (adhesive on ST3), the blocking component is disposed on a side, facing the functional component (FSU), of the screen component, the blocking component blocks at least a part of the first skeletonized region, and the blocking component is capable of blocking light to enter the functional component through the screen component (see 0007 where the adhesive on the third sheet blocks the light to the fingerprint reader entering from the cavity).
10. Regarding claim 8. Jang teaches wherein the blocking component comprises a second blocking layer (adhesive on ST2) and a second protective layer (reads on second functional layer on top of the adhesive on the second layer ST2 in 0007) which has a heat dissipation function), the second blocking layer is disposed on the second protective layer, the second blocking layer faces the first skeletonized region (upwards), and an orthographic projection of the second protective layer in the thickness direction of the electronic device is capable of accommodating the second blocking layer (when assembled).
11. Regarding claim 9. Jang teaches (0069) wherein the screen component further comprises a second skeletonized region (region under the camera 100), and in a case that the functional component is a camera module (100) and/or an infrared module, the functional module faces the second skeletonized region. (… After the infrared light generated in the light emitting module 80 is outputted, the infrared light may be reflected by an external object (e.g., a user's finger or face) and the reflected infrared light may be incident to the light receiving module 90. The camera module 100 may acquire an external image…)
12. Regarding claim 10. Jang teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a screen component (EMD), the screen component (EMD) is electrically connected (PL) to the screen component (DP-B), and the screen component FPC is disposed on a side, facing the device body, of the screen component (see fig 3A from what is best understood in view of the 112 rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang US2020/0394377A1 (cited by applicant) in view of Song et al WO 2020105767A1 (cited by applicant).
16. Regarding claim 4. Jang teaches (0108), wherein the functional component comprises an optical fingerprint module and an ultrasonic fingerprint module. But doesn’t explicitly state that they could be side by side. But Jang states in 0096 that the openings can have different sizes and shapes which given what it states in 0108 allows for side-by-side configuration. However, from the same field of endeavor Song et al teaches such (see two 145’s in fig 1C). It would have been obvious, before the effective date to allow for the side-by-side sensors as taught by Song in Jang for ease of use of the mobile device.
Claim Objections
17. Claims 5 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach or make obvious wherein the first skeletonized region comprises a first sub-region and a second sub-region, the ultrasonic fingerprint module may be disposed in the first sub-region, the ultrasonic fingerprint module is connected to the touch layer through an adhesive layer, the optical fingerprint module may be disposed in the second sub-region, and the optical fingerprint module is connected to the touch layer through a first light blocking layer and a first protective layer, wherein a plane, facing the heat dissipation layer, of the first light blocking layer is coplanar with a plane, facing the heat dissipation layer, of the support layer, and a plane, facing the device body, of the first protective layer is coplanar with a plane, facing the device body, of the heat dissipation layer. Dependent claim 6 is allowable since it depends upon claim 5.
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang US-20200143134 A1 teaches in Fig 7 The display screen 10 includes the display area 11 and a non-display area, and the display area 11 and the non-display area are areas specified on the light-out surface of the display screen 10. As shown in FIG. 2, a middle part of the display screen 10 is the display area 11, and a part that encloses the display area 11 is the non-display area. The non-display area is a frame-shaped area used to cover wires on a display panel. In addition, to protect the display screen 10, a display screen protective layer 20 is disposed on the surface of the display screen 10 away from the light-out surface, and the display screen protective layer 20 is fixedly connected to the display screen 10. In addition, a through hole 21 is disposed at the display screen protective layer 20. The through hole 21 forms a path for receiving light, reflected by a finger, that is to reach the fingerprint detection area 311, and the reflected light goes through the through hole 21 to the fingerprint detection area 311. During specific configuration, the through hole 21 may be in different shapes, such as round, rectangular, or triangular.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/ Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646