DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cassidy, UK Patent GB 2,122,505A in view of Crowther, US Patent 11,470,985.
Cassidy discloses a device including a mount (11, 30, 36) including a detachable mount portion (36) and the mount further including a base clamp (11). However, Cassidy discloses the base clamp being a threaded adjustment-type clamp. Crowther teaches within the analogous art of stroller attached apparatus, the use of a spring-loaded base clamp (104) for attachment of an apparatus to a stroller or other structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a spring-loaded base clamp as taught by Crowther with the apparatus of Cassidy so as to allow for single-handed adjustment and placement of the clamp onto the stroller. Such modification amounts to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Cassidy further discloses with respect to claim 1 that the detachable portion includes a camera mount (36). It is noted that a camera would be capable of being mounted to the detachable portion of Cassidy and the claim limitation designating the mount as a camera mount does not impart any additional specific or definite structure with respect to the mount being a camera mount.
Regarding claim 2, Cassidy further discloses the toy is a steering wheel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roddenberry, US 11,137,104 cited to show the known state of the art with respect to mounting structures.
George, US 2,408,388 cited to show the known state of the art with respect to texture applied to steering wheels to improve grip.
Rothbardt, US 2,446,721, Solomon, US 2,486,219 and Braude, US 2,455,887 are cited to shown the general state of the art in detachably mounted steering wheel toys.
Goeller, US D1,010,427, Alberstein et al., US D921,095 and Paterson et al, US D833,511 are cited to show the general state of the art of mounting brackets.
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
KIMBERLY BERONA
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647