DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on February 27, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Allowable Subject Matter
III. Claims 2, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 1, 7, 9, 14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayesteh et al. (US 11,474,197 B2).
Regarding claim 1 Bayesteh teaches a sensing channel establishment method, comprising: establishing, by a sensing network element (sensing agent), a sensing channel with an access network device (base station) (see col. 11, lines 57-59 and Fig. 1, The sensing agent may determine the location of the electronic device (ED 110) and transmit this information to the base station 170 via the core network. This reads on a sensing channel establishment method, comprising: establishing, by a sensing network element, a sensing channel with an access network device) and sending, by the sensing network element, target sensing service configuration information to a sensing device (electronic device (ED)) through the sensing channel (see col. 11, lines 51-54; col. 27, lines 13-19 & 59-67; col. 47, lines 40-43; Fig. 15, The sensing agent may communicate configuration information, sensing information, signaling information within the communication system. The sensing signal configurations enable the coexistence or integration of sensing signals and communication signals in a communication network. The configuration may be sensing-node specific configuration for a particular or target sensing node. The sensing signal parameters may be communicated to one or more other network entities such as the electronic device. This reads on sending, by the sensing network element, target sensing service configuration information to a sensing device through the sensing channel), wherein the target sensing service configuration information is used to measure a sensing signal (see col. 47, lines 48-54, an electronic device, such as a UE, may receive the sensing signal parameters, and perform sensing and communication operations according to the received parameters. Optionally, the UE may perform measurements according to the received parameters. This reads on wherein the target sensing service configuration information is used to measure a sensing signal).
Regarding claim 7 Bayesteh teaches sending, by the sensing network element, the target sensing service configuration information to the access network device through the sensing channel, wherein the target sensing service configuration information comprises target identification information, and the target identification information comprises identification information for identifying a terminal device on a sensing interface (see col. 11, lines 51-54; col. 28, lines 7-22; col. 47, lines 40-43; Fig. 15, The sensing agent may communicate configuration information, sensing information, signaling information within the communication system. The sensing signal configurations enable the coexistence or integration of sensing signals and communication signals in a communication network. The configuration may be sensing-node specific configuration for a particular or target sensing node. Some sensing node-specific sensing signal configurations may be based on, and possibly include, unique identifiers that are specific to the transmitter of the sensing signal. The unique identifiers can allow the transmitter of a sensing signal to be determined by other network entities that receive the sensing signal. For this purpose, a sensing node in a network may be assigned a sensing node identifier (ID). The sensing node ID may be a unique identifier that is specific to the transmitter of a sensing signal. The sensing node ID may be the same as, or be associated with, another network ID such as a cell ID or UE ID. Alternatively, the sensing node ID may be different from other network IDs and be configured independently. In some implementations, the sensing node ID may be configured or assigned by the network, and may be communicated to a sensing node, such as through higher-layer signaling. The sensing signal parameters may be communicated to one or more other network entities such as the electronic device. This reads on sending, by the sensing network element, the target sensing service configuration information to the access network device through the sensing channel, wherein the target sensing service configuration information comprises target identification information, and the target identification information comprises identification information for identifying a terminal device on a sensing interface).
Regarding claim 9 Bayesteh teaches receiving, by the sensing network element, a target sensing measurement report from the access network device, wherein the target sensing measurement report comprises at least one of the following: a sensing measurement report of the access network device or a sensing measurement report of the sensing terminal device, wherein the sensing measurement report of the sensing terminal device comprises target identification information, and the target identification information comprises identification information for identifying a terminal device on a sensing interface (see col. 47, lines 48-58, The UE may perform measurements according to the received parameters. Based on the measurements, the UE may perform further operations. For example, the UE may provide feedback information to the network such as to the network device from which the UE received the sensing signal parameters, based on the measurement results. The signaling information including measurement report can be communicated to/from multiple network entities (see col. 47, lines 38-41 and Fig. 1). This reads on receiving, by the sensing network element, a target sensing measurement report from the access network device, wherein the target sensing measurement report comprises at least one of the following: a sensing measurement report of the access network device).
Regarding claim 14 Bayesteh teaches a sensing channel establishment method, comprising: establishing, by an access network device (base station), a sensing channel with a sensing network element (sensing agent) (see col. 11, lines 57-59 and Fig. 1, The sensing agent may determine the location of the electronic device (ED 110) and transmit this information to the base station 170 via the core network. This reads on a sensing channel establishment method, comprising: establishing, by an access network device, a sensing channel with a sensing network element) and receiving, by the access network device, target sensing service configuration information from the sensing network element through the sensing channel (see col. 11, lines 51-59; col. 27, lines 13-19 & 59-67; col. 47, lines 40-43; Fig. 15, The sensing agent may communicate configuration information, sensing information, signaling information within the communication system. The sensing agent may determine the location of the electronic device and transmit this information to the base station. The sensing signal configurations enable the coexistence or integration of sensing signals and communication signals in a communication network. The configuration may be sensing-node specific configuration for a particular or target sensing node. The sensing signal parameters may be communicated to one or more other network entities. This reads on receiving, by the access network device, target sensing service configuration information from the sensing network element through the sensing channel), wherein the target sensing service configuration information is used to measure a sensing signal (see col. 47, lines 48-54, an electronic device, such as a UE, may receive the sensing signal parameters, and perform sensing and communication operations according to the received parameters. Optionally, the UE may perform measurements according to the received parameters. This reads on wherein the target sensing service configuration information is used to measure a sensing signal).
Regarding claim 18 Bayesteh teaches sending, by the access network device, a target sensing measurement report to the sensing network element, wherein the target sensing measurement report comprises at least one of the following: a sensing measurement report of the access network device or a sensing measurement report of a sensing terminal device, wherein the sensing measurement report of the sensing terminal device comprises target identification information, and the target identification information comprises identification information for identifying a terminal device on a sensing interface; or sending, by the access network device, first sensing service configuration information to a sensing terminal device, wherein the first sensing service configuration information and the target sensing service configuration information are the same or different (see col. 47, lines 48-58, The UE may perform measurements according to the received parameters. Based on the measurements, the UE may perform further operations. For example, the UE may provide feedback information to the network such as to the network device from which the UE received the sensing signal parameters, based on the measurement results. The signaling information including measurement report can be communicated to/from multiple network entities (see col. 47, lines 38-41 and Fig. 1). This reads on receiving, by the sensing network element, a target sensing measurement report from the access network device, wherein the target sensing measurement report comprises at least one of the following: a sensing measurement report of the access network device).
Regarding claim 19 Bayesteh teaches a network element, wherein the network element is a sensing network element (sensing agent) comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the sensing network element (see col. 16, lines 1-14 & 42-51, The sensing agent includes at least one processor, each processing unit may be configured to perform one or more operations. Each memory may store software. This reads on to perform a network element, wherein the network element is a sensing network element comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the sensing network element) to perform: establishing a sensing channel with an access network device (base station) (see col. 11, lines 57-59 and Fig. 1, The sensing agent may determine the location of the electronic device (ED 110) and transmit this information to the base station 170 via the core network. This reads on establishing, by a sensing network element, a sensing channel with an access network device) and sending target sensing service configuration information to a sensing device (electronic device (ED)) through the sensing channel (see col. 11, lines 51-54; col. 27, lines 13-19 & 59-67; col. 47, lines 40-43; Fig. 15, The sensing agent may communicate configuration information, sensing information, signaling information within the communication system. The sensing signal configurations enable the coexistence or integration of sensing signals and communication signals in a communication network. The configuration may be sensing-node specific configuration for a particular or target sensing node. The sensing signal parameters may be communicated to one or more other network entities such as the electronic device. This reads on sending target sensing service configuration information to a sensing device through the sensing channel), wherein the target sensing service configuration information is used to measure a sensing signal (see col. 47, lines 48-54, an electronic device, such as a UE, may receive the sensing signal parameters, and perform sensing and communication operations according to the received parameters. Optionally, the UE may perform measurements according to the received parameters. This reads on wherein the target sensing service configuration information is used to measure a sensing signal).
Regarding claim 20 Bayesteh teaches an access network device (sensing agent), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, steps of the sensing channel establishment method according to claim 14 are implemented (see col. 16, lines 1-14 & 42-51, The sensing agent includes at least one processor, each processing unit may be configured to perform one or more operations. Each memory may store software. This reads on an access network device (sensing agent), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh et al. (US 11,474,197 B2) in view of Haddad et al. (US 2015/0003455).
Regarding claim 8 Bayesteh teaches the method according to claim 7 except for wherein data packet encapsulation of the target sensing service configuration information comprises sensing channel endpoint identification information of the access network device.
Haddad teaches data packet encapsulation of information (see paragraph [0042] and Fig. 7) comprises endpoint identification information of a access network device (see paragraph [0026], An endpoint identification function including an IED namespace reads on data packet encapsulation of information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Bayesteh adapt to include wherein data packet encapsulation of the target sensing service configuration information comprises sensing channel endpoint identification information of the access network device because data packet encapsulation including channel endpoint identification provides a well-known mechanism for identifying target devices as described above.
Regarding claim 10 Bayesteh and Haddad teach limitations as recited in claim 8 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh et al. (US 11,474,197 B2) in view of Gauvreau et al. (US 2012/0134328 A1).
Regarding claim 11 Bayesteh teaches the method according to claim 1 except for wherein before the establishing, by a sensing network element, a sensing channel with an access network device, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the sensing network element, sensing service information; and determining the sensing device based on the sensing service information, wherein the sensing device is a device having a sensing capability in a sensing area.
Gauvreau teaches obtaining sensing service information (see paragraphs [0101] & [0109] and TABLE 1, The sensing processor SP handles sensing request. Sensing Capabilities reads on obtaining sensing service information); and determining the sensing device based on the sensing service information, wherein the sensing device is a device having a sensing capability in a sensing area (see paragraphs [0101] & [0109] and TABLE 1, A sensing request can include a query of sensing capabilities and location information of devices. Each device has associated sensing capabilities and a geographic location the device is operable. This reads on obtaining, by the sensing network element, sensing service information; and determining the sensing device based on the sensing service information, wherein the sensing device is a device having a sensing capability in a sensing area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make before the establishing, by a sensing network element, a sensing channel with an access network device in Bayesteh adapt to include obtaining, by the sensing network element, sensing service information; and determining the sensing device based on the sensing service information, wherein the sensing device is a device having a sensing capability in a sensing area because it would further improve efficiency of channel resources when establishing communication channels between network devices (see Gauvreau, paragraphs [0003] – [0005]).
Regarding claim 13 Gauvreau teaches wherein the sensing service information comprises at least one of the following: description information of a sensing service, a service object identifier of the sensing service, or service range information of the sensing service (see paragraphs [0109] and TABLE 1, Sensing capabilities in Table 1 reads on description information of a sensing service), wherein the description information of the sensing service comprises at least one of the following: a sensing service type, a sensing service purpose, a sensing service granularity, a sensing service time, sensing data reporting information, or a quality of service requirement of the sensing service (see paragraphs [0109] and TABLE 1, Sensing capabilities such as sensing bandwidth reads on wherein the description information of the sensing service comprises at least one of the following: a sensing service type, a sensing service purpose); the service object identifier is used to indicate the terminal device that triggers the sensing service (see paragraphs [0109] and TABLE 1, Device ID of Table 1 reads on the service object identifier is used to indicate the terminal device that triggers the sensing service); and the service range information is used to indicate a range within which the service object of the sensing service performs the sensing service (see paragraphs [0109] and TABLE 1, Geographic Location within home or office reads on the service range information is used to indicate a range within which the service object of the sensing service performs the sensing service).
Conclusion
VII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roy et al. WO 2021/178941 A1 discloses methods, architectures, apparatuses and systems directed to wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) initiated active sensing including sensing configuration or a list of sensing configurations for WTRUs (see paragraphs [0238] – [0251]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
May 25, 2026