DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings received on 02/27/2024 are objected to because:
Figure 4 .
Specification
The specification filed on 02/27/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li '169 et al. (US 2023/0016169 A1), in view of Li '735 et al. (US 2024/0047735 A1), and in further view of Zhu et al. (“Origin of Outstanding Stability in the Lithium Solid Electrolyte Materials: Insights from Thermodynamic Analyses Based on First Principles Calculations”).
Regarding claim 1, Li ‘169 discloses the battery pack comprising a battery cell (a plurality of all-solid-state batteries may be electrically connected and optionally stacked to form a battery pack; [0081]), the battery cell comprising (the all-solid-state battery according to one embodiment comprises a first electrode layer, a first solid electrolyte layer, a second solid electrolyte layer, and a second electrode layer in this order; [0044]): an anode current collector; a composite anode layer comprising an anode active material (the second electrode layer may comprise a negative electrode active material layer, and may further comprise a negative current collector layer; [0063]) embedded with a solid-state electrolyte ([t]he negative electrode active material layer may optionally contain a solid electrolyte, a binder, a conductive aid and etc., in addition to the negative electrode active material; [0064]); the composite anode layer in direct contact with the anode current collector (see Figure 1); a cathode current collector (the first electrode layer may comprise a positive electrode active material layer, and may further comprise a positive current collector layer; [0045]); a composite cathode layer comprising a cathode active material embedded with a solid-state electrolyte (the positive electrode active material layer may optionally contain a solid electrolyte, a binder, a conductive aid and etc., in addition to the positive electrode active material; [0046]), the composite cathode layer in direct contact with the cathode current collector (see Figure 1); and a multilayer solid-state electrolyte between the composite anode layer and the composite cathode layer (by interposing two solid electrolyte layers between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer; [0002]).
Li ‘169 fails to disclose a vehicle comprising: an electric motor; and a battery pack electrically coupled to the electric motor and an interlayer solid-state electrolyte directly between the second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and the second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Li ‘735 teaches that batteries can be suitably used, for example, in at least one type of vehicles, selected from hybrid electric vehicle (HEV), plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) and battery electric vehicle (BEV); [0089]. Li ‘735 does not explicitly disclose an electric motor and the battery pack being coupled to the electric motor, however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an electric vehicle comprises an electric motor electrically coupled to the disclosed battery pack in order to function properly.
Further, Li ‘735 teaches a battery that may further include another electrolyte layer between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer; [0058].
Li ‘169 and Li ‘735 are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely solid state batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an electric vehicle comprising an electric motor electrically coupled to the disclosed battery pack with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in an improvement in the capacity of the battery in the vehicle [0089], as suggested by Li ‘735. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an interlayer solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would increase the charge capacity of the battery up to the short circuit [0114], as suggested by Li ‘735, since the difference between stability windows of the high and low voltage electrolytes could be bridged by the interlayer’s stability window.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose an anode active material embedded with a first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte, a cathode active material embedded with a first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte, and that the multilayer solid-state electrolyte comprises a second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and a second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Zhu teaches that ceramic solid electrolyte materials may provide intrinsic safety for the Li-ion batteries and may enable Li metal anode and high-voltage cathodes [page 23685, par. 1]; wherein they evaluated the electrochemical stability of solid electrolyte materials against Li metal and at low voltages (low voltage anodes) [page 23686, par. 5].
Li ‘169 and Zhu are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium solid state batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an anode active material embedded with a first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte, a cathode active material embedded with a first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte, and that the multilayer solid-state electrolyte comprises a second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and a second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would significantly increase the energy density for Li-ion batteries. [page 23685, par. 1], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 2-3, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose that the first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises a material that is electrochemically stable at a voltage measured relative to a lithium electrode reference that is below 2.5 V, and that the first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises one or more of lithium lanthanum zirconate (LLZO), lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON), lithium super ionic conductor (LISICON), and lithium germanium sulfide (LGS).
Zhu teaches that garnet LLZO shows the lowest reduction potential of as low as 0.05 V against Li and the least favorable decomposition reaction energy of only 0.021 eV/atom (49 kJ/mol of LLZO) at 0 V among all solid electrolyte materials examined [page 23688, par 3, see Figure 1 and Table 2].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first low voltage electrolyte comprise LLZO with the reasonable expectation that doing so would passivate the solid electrolyte and inhibit the continuous decomposition, due to the formation of an interphase between the solid electrolyte and electrode by the decomposition products of LLZO [page 23687, par. 4], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 4-5, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose that the first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises a material that is electrochemically stable at a voltage measured relative to a lithium electrode reference that is above 3.0 V, and that the first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises one or more of lithium aluminum titanium phosphate (LATP), lithium aluminum germanium phosphate (LAGP), and lithium lanthanum titanate (LLTO).
Zhu teaches that the NASICON materials, LATP and LAGP, show the best resistance to oxidation with the highest oxidation potential of 4.21 and 4.28 V, respectively, and the lowest decomposition energy of only ∼−0.06 eV/atom at 5 V [page 23689, par. 3, see Figure 1b and Table 3].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first high voltage electrolyte comprise LATP or LAGP with the reasonable expectation that doing so would passivate the solid electrolyte and inhibit the continuous decomposition, due to the formation of an interphase between the solid electrolyte and electrode [page 23685, par 2], by the decomposition products of LATP and LAGP being electronically insulating, and slowing the diffusion of non-Li elements [page 23689, par 4], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 6-7, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 further discloses that a content of the solid electrolyte in the negative electrode active layer may be 0% by mass or greater and 60% by mass or less [0067]. Further, Li ‘169 discloses that a content of the solid electrolyte in the positive electrode active layer may be 0% by mass or greater and 60% by mass or less [0051]. Therefore, Li ‘169 does not explicitly disclose the range of between 10 percent and 40 percent by weight.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (0% by mass or greater and 60% by mass or less overlaps with between 10 percent and 40 percent by weight) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 8, Li ‘169 discloses a battery cell comprising (the all-solid-state battery according to one embodiment comprises a first electrode layer, a first solid electrolyte layer, a second solid electrolyte layer, and a second electrode layer in this order; [0044]): an anode current collector; a composite anode layer comprising an anode active material (the second electrode layer may comprise a negative electrode active material layer, and may further comprise a negative current collector layer; [0063]) embedded with a solid-state electrolyte ([t]he negative electrode active material layer may optionally contain a solid electrolyte, a binder, a conductive aid and etc., in addition to the negative electrode active material; [0064]); the composite anode layer in direct contact with the anode current collector (Figure 1); a cathode current collector (the first electrode layer may comprise a positive electrode active material layer, and may further comprise a positive current collector layer; [0045]); a composite cathode layer comprising a cathode active material embedded with a solid-state electrolyte (the positive electrode active material layer may optionally contain a solid electrolyte, a binder, a conductive aid and etc., in addition to the positive electrode active material; [0046]), the composite cathode layer in direct contact with the cathode current collector (Figure 1); and a multilayer solid-state electrolyte between the composite anode layer and the composite cathode layer (by interposing two solid electrolyte layers between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer; [0002]).
Li ‘169 fails to disclose an interlayer solid-state electrolyte directly between the second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and the second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Li ‘735 teaches a battery that may further include another electrolyte layer between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer; [0058].
Li ‘169 and Li ‘735 are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely solid state batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an interlayer solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would increase the charge capacity of the battery up to the short circuit [0114], as suggested by Li ‘735, since the difference between stability windows of the high and low voltage electrolytes could be bridged by the interlayer’s stability window.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose an anode active material embedded with a first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte, a cathode active material embedded with a first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte, and that the multilayer solid-state electrolyte comprises a second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and a second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Zhu teaches that ceramic solid electrolyte materials may provide intrinsic safety for the Li-ion batteries and may enable Li metal anode and high-voltage cathodes [page 23685, par. 1]; wherein they evaluated the electrochemical stability of solid electrolyte materials against Li metal and at low voltages (low voltage anodes) [page 23686, par. 5].
Li ‘169 and Zhu are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium solid state batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an anode active material embedded with a first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte, a cathode active material embedded with a first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte, and that the multilayer solid-state electrolyte comprises a second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and a second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would significantly increase the energy density for Li-ion batteries [page 23685, par. 1], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 9-10, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose that the first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises a material that is electrochemically stable at a voltage measured relative to a lithium electrode reference that is below 2.5 V, and that the first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises one or more of lithium lanthanum zirconate (LLZO), lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON), lithium super ionic conductor (LISICON), and lithium germanium sulfide (LGS).
Zhu teaches that garnet LLZO shows the lowest reduction potential of as low as 0.05 V against Li and the least favorable decomposition reaction energy of only 0.021 eV/atom (49 kJ/mol of LLZO) at 0 V among all solid electrolyte materials examined [page 23688, par 3, see Figure 1 and Table 2].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first low voltage electrolyte comprise LLZO with the reasonable expectation that doing so would passivate the solid electrolyte and inhibit the continuous decomposition, due to the formation of an interphase between the solid electrolyte and electrode by the decomposition products of LLZO [page 23687, par 4], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 11-12, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose that the first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises a material that is electrochemically stable at a voltage measured relative to a lithium electrode reference that is above 3.0 V, and that the first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises one or more of lithium aluminum titanium phosphate (LATP), lithium aluminum germanium phosphate (LAGP), and lithium lanthanum titanate (LLTO).
Zhu teaches that the NASICON materials, LATP and LAGP, show the best resistance to oxidation with the highest oxidation potential of 4.21 and 4.28 V, respectively, and the lowest decomposition energy of only ∼−0.06 eV/atom at 5 V [page 23689, par. 3, see Figure 1b and Table 3].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first high voltage electrolyte comprise LATP or LAGP with the reasonable expectation that doing so would passivate the solid electrolyte and inhibit the continuous decomposition, due to the formation of an interphase between the solid electrolyte and electrode [page 23685, par 2], by the decomposition products of LATP and LAGP being electronically insulating, and slowing the diffusion of non-Li elements [page 23689, par 4], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 13-14, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 further discloses that a content of the solid electrolyte in the negative electrode active layer may be 0% by mass or greater and 60% by mass or less [0067]. Further, Li ‘169 discloses that a content of the solid electrolyte in the positive electrode active layer may be 0% by mass or greater and 60% by mass or less [0051]. Therefore, Li ‘169 does not explicitly disclose the range of between 10 percent and 40 percent by weight.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (0% by mass or greater and 60% by mass or less overlaps with between 10 percent and 40 percent by weight) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 15, Li ‘169 discloses a method comprising ([t]he manufacturing method for an all-solid-state battery; [0023]): forming an anode current collector [0114]; forming a composite anode layer [0114] comprising an anode active material (the second electrode layer may comprise a negative electrode active material layer, and may further comprise a negative current collector layer; [0063]) embedded with a solid-state electrolyte ([t]he negative electrode active material layer may optionally contain a solid electrolyte, a binder, a conductive aid and etc., in addition to the negative electrode active material; [0064]); the composite anode layer in direct contact with the anode current collector (Figure 1); forming [0107] a cathode current collector (the first electrode layer may comprise a positive electrode active material layer, and may further comprise a positive current collector layer; [0045]); a forming a composite cathode layer [0107] comprising a cathode active material embedded with a solid-state electrolyte (the positive electrode active material layer may optionally contain a solid electrolyte, a binder, a conductive aid and etc., in addition to the positive electrode active material; [0046]), the composite cathode layer in direct contact with the cathode current collector (Figure 1); and forming a multilayer [0108-0109] solid-state electrolyte between the composite anode layer and the composite cathode layer (by interposing two solid electrolyte layers between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer; [0002]).
Li ‘169 fails to disclose an interlayer solid-state electrolyte directly between the second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and the second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Li ‘735 teaches a battery that may further include another electrolyte layer between the first electrolyte layer and the second electrolyte layer; [0058].
Li ‘169 and Li ‘735 are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely solid state batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an interlayer solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would increase the charge capacity of the battery up to the short circuit [0114], as suggested by Li ‘735, since the difference between stability windows of the high and low voltage electrolytes could be bridged by the interlayer’s stability window.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose an anode active material embedded with a first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte, a cathode active material embedded with a first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte, and that the multilayer solid-state electrolyte comprises a second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and a second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Zhu teaches that ceramic solid electrolyte materials may provide intrinsic safety for the Li-ion batteries and may enable Li metal anode and high-voltage cathodes [page 23685, par. 1]; wherein they evaluated the electrochemical stability of solid electrolyte materials against Li metal and at low voltages (low voltage anodes) [page 23686, par. 5].
Li ‘169 and Zhu are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium solid state batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an anode active material embedded with a first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte, a cathode active material embedded with a first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte, and that the multilayer solid-state electrolyte comprises a second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte and a second high-voltage solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would significantly increase the energy density for Li-ion batteries [page 23685, par. 1], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 16-17, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose that the first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises a material that is electrochemically stable at a voltage measured relative to a lithium electrode reference that is below 2.5 V, and that the first low-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises one or more of lithium lanthanum zirconate (LLZO), lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON), lithium super ionic conductor (LISICON), and lithium germanium sulfide (LGS).
Zhu teaches that garnet LLZO shows the lowest reduction potential of as low as 0.05 V against Li and the least favorable decomposition reaction energy of only 0.021 eV/atom (49 kJ/mol of LLZO) at 0 V among all solid electrolyte materials examined [page 23688, par 3, see Figure 1 and Table 2].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first low voltage electrolyte comprise LLZO with the reasonable expectation that doing so would passivate the solid electrolyte and inhibit the continuous decomposition, due to the formation of an interphase between the solid electrolyte and electrode by the decomposition products of LLZO [page 23687, par 4], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claims 18-19, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose that the first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises a material that is electrochemically stable at a voltage measured relative to a lithium electrode reference that is above 3.0 V, and that the first high-voltage solid-state electrolyte comprises one or more of lithium aluminum titanium phosphate (LATP), lithium aluminum germanium phosphate (LAGP), and lithium lanthanum titanate (LLTO).
Zhu teaches that the NASICON materials, LATP and LAGP, show the best resistance to oxidation with the highest oxidation potential of 4.21 and 4.28 V, respectively, and the lowest decomposition energy of only ∼−0.06 eV/atom at 5 V [page 23689, par. 3, see Figure 1b and Table 3].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first high voltage electrolyte comprise LATP or LAGP with the reasonable expectation that doing so would passivate the solid electrolyte and inhibit the continuous decomposition, due to the formation of an interphase between the solid electrolyte and electrode [page 23685, par 2], by the decomposition products of LATP and LAGP being electronically insulating, and slowing the diffusion of non-Li elements [page 23689, par 4], as suggested by Zhu.
Regarding claim 20, Li ‘169 discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Li ‘169 fails to disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising forming an anode-side interlayer directly between the composite anode layer and the second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte.
Li ‘735 teaches a lithium sulfur battery that may have another electrolyte layer between the second electrolyte layer and the negative electrode; [0058].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have an interlayer solid-state electrolyte between the composite anode layer and the second low-voltage solid-state electrolyte with the reasonable expectation that doing so would increase the charge capacity of the battery up to the short circuit [0114], as evidenced by Li ‘735, since the difference between the stability windows of the two different low voltage electrolytes could be bridged by the interlayer’s stability window.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nagamine et al. (US 2023/0067002 A1) discloses a battery comprising an electrolyte layer that includes a first electrolyte layer and a second electrolyte layer.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725