DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Please note there appears to be a typographical mistake for entry “56” in the June 3, 2026 IDS, in that US 6,854,254 lists “2005-02-22” as the issue date and “Melone et al.” as the inventor; however, it seems that the issue date for US 6,854,254 is --2005-02-15-- and the inventor is --Merant--.
If Applicant intended to cite another reference it is suggested that Applicant submit this other reference in a new IDS. As another issue to note, the same reference seems to be listed twice as entry “37” and entry “54.” In this regard, Colbert et al. (US D555047) appears to be listed twice (please see below):
Here also, if Applicant intended to cite another reference it is suggested that Applicant submit this other reference in a new IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Covington et al. (US 10569609) in view of Melone et al. (US 7546723).
With respect to claim 1, Covington teaches a zero-turn-radius (ZTR) riding mower system, (in lines 65-67 of column 2 and lines 1-3 of column 3, Covington discloses a lawnmower that is zero-turn) comprising:
a right front caster wheel (in figure 2, Covington discloses two caster wheels 18, the one on the left or bottom side of the page will be said to read on the left front cater wheel; as disclosed in figure 1, the caster wheels are on a lawnmower);
a left front caster wheel (in figure 2, Covington discloses two caster wheels 18, the one on the right or top side of the page will be said to read on the right front caster wheel; as disclosed in figure 1, the caster wheels are on a lawnmower);
a right rear drive wheel configured to be selectively driven into rotation by a right drive unit (in figure 1, Covington discloses a lawnmower that shows a left rear wheel and clearly teaches a right rear wheel 72; in lines 8-14 of column 4, Covington discloses that the motor provides motive force through a right hydrostatic transaxle that drives the right rear wheel – this hydrostatic transaxle reads on a right drive unit);
a left rear drive wheel configured to be selectively driven into rotation by a left drive unit (in figure 1, Covington discloses a left rear wheel 72; in lines 8-14 of column 4, Covington discloses that the motor provides motive force through a left hydrostatic transaxle that drives the left rear wheel – this hydrostatic transaxle reads on a left drive unit);
a frame system comprising:
a frame weldment (in figure 2, Covington discloses mounting plate 60; in lines 46-47 of column 2, Covington discloses that frames are metal, which leads the mounting plate to read on a frame weldment); and
a front wheel suspension system comprising:
a right front wheel suspension system configured to provide for regulated movement of the right front caster wheel relative to the frame weldment (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel held relative to the weldment 60), the right front wheel suspension system comprising (note that this clause is not repeated for the left side; this is fine, and the examiner only draws attention to it because applicant might have intended to add a similar clause of a left front wheel suspension system or, alternatively, delete this clause):
a right pivoting wheel assembly (in lines 36-37 of column 4, Covington discloses that the right articulating arm to which the right wheel is attached can pivot up and down) comprising:
a right wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 to which a caster wheel is attached; the right articulating arm 50 read on a right wheel arm) pivotably coupled to a crossmember of the frame weldment by way of a right pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 64 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 50; the bolt 64 reads on the right pivot; the crossmember portion of the weldment is not distinguished from other parts of the weldment in the claim and so the portion of the mounting plate in which the bolt 64 attaches reads on a crossmember) and the right wheel arm configured to pivot about a right pivot axis defined by the right pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 64 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 50), the right front caster wheel coupled to the right wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel 18 attached to the articulating arm 50); and
a right resilient member assembly disposed between the right wheel arm and the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81 held between the articulating wheel arm 50 and part of the mounting plate 60 – as there is no distinction made as to which parts of the weldment constitute the crossmember, the portion of the mounting plate 60 under which the pillows 81 are placed is a further portion of the crossmember), the right resilient member assembly configured to be compressed between the right wheel arm and the crossmember to dampen pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 56-58 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillow absorbs shock between the wheel and frame that is created by the caster wheel moving over uneven terrain); and
a left pivoting wheel assembly comprising (in lines 36-37 of column 4, Covington discloses that the left articulating arm to which the right wheel is attached can pivot up and down):
a left wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses left articulating arm 40 to which a caster wheel is attached; the left articulating arm 40 read on a left wheel arm) pivotably coupled to the crossmember of the frame weldment by way of a left pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses left articulating arm 40 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 62 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 40; the bolt 62 reads on the left pivot; the crossmember portion of the weldment is not distinguished from other parts of the weldment in the claim and so the portion of the mounting plate in which the bolt 62 attaches reads on a crossmember) and the left wheel arm configured to pivot about a left pivot axis defined by the left pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses left articulating arm 40 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 62 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 40), the left front caster wheel coupled to the left wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel 18 attached to the articulating arm 50); and
a left resilient member assembly disposed between the left wheel arm and the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81 held between the articulating wheel arm 40 and part of the mounting plate 60 – as there is no distinction made as to which parts of the weldment constitute the crossmember, the portion of the mounting plate 60 under which the pillows 81 are placed is a further portion of the crossmember), the left resilient member assembly configured to be compressed between the left wheel arm and the crossmember to dampen pivoting of the left wheel arm and the left front caster wheel about the left pivot axis (in lines 56-58 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillow absorbs shock between the wheel and frame that is created by the caster wheel moving over uneven terrain).
With respect to claim 2, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 1. Covington further teaches:
the right resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen upward movement of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel relative to the crossmember (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60), and
the left resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen upward movement of the left wheel arm and the left front caster wheel relative to the crossmember (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 40 around bolt 61, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 40 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 3, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 1. Covington further teaches:
the right wheel arm comprises a retaining plate comprising a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 which has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, a planar surface on its top),
a right end of the crossmember comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses that mounting plate 60 has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, planar sections above pillows 81), and
the right resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed between the planar surface of the right retaining plate and the planar surface of the right end of the crossmember to dampen the pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60), and
the left wheel arm comprises a left retaining plate comprising a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 which has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, a planar surface on its top),
a left end of the crossmember comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses that mounting plate 60 has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, planar sections above pillows 81), and
the left resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed between the planar surface of the left retaining plate and the planar surface of the left end of the crossmember to dampen the pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 40 around bolt 62, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 40 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 4, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 1. Covington further teaches:
the right resilient member assembly comprises a right resilient member (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81) configured to be disposed proximate a surface of the right wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the pillow 81 disposed just above the surface of articulating arm 50) and a right retaining member configured to be disposed adjacent the right resilient member and proximate a right surface of the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses structure to the wheel side of the pillow that will prevent the pillow 81 from moving laterally towards the wheel – this structure is discloses as being immediately next to the pillow and extending down from or immediately adjacent to the portion of the mounting plate that is above this pillow), and
the left resilient member assembly comprises a left resilient member (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81) configured to be disposed proximate a surface of the left wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the pillow 81 disposed just above the surface of articulating arm 40) and a left retaining member configured to be disposed adjacent the left resilient member and proximate a left surface of the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses structure to the wheel side of the pillow that will prevent the pillow 81 from moving laterally towards the wheel – this structure is discloses as being immediately next to the pillow and extending down from or immediately adjacent to the portion of the mounting plate that is above this pillow).
With respect to claim 5, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 1. Covington further teaches:
the right front caster wheel is configured to swivel about a right caster axis and the right pivot axis is oriented transverse to the right caster axis (in figure 2, Covington discloses upper or right caster wheel 18 and a horizontal pivot axis defined by bolt 64; in lines 27-29 of column 4, Covington discloses that the wheels 18 are castered, which teaches that the wheels swivel about a vertical axis; horizontal and vertical axes are transverse to one another), and
the left front caster wheel is configured to swivel about a left caster axis and the left pivot axis is oriented transverse to the left caster axis (in figure 2, Covington discloses lower or left caster wheel 18 and a horizontal pivot axis defined by bolt 62; in lines 27-29 of column 4, Covington discloses that the wheels 18 are castered, which teaches that the wheels swivel about a vertical axis; horizontal and vertical axes are transverse to one another).
With respect to claim 6, Covington teaches a mower system (in the abstract, Covington discloses a riding mower) comprising:
a right front caster wheel (in figure 2, Covington discloses two caster wheels 18, the one on the left or bottom side of the page will be said to read on the left front cater wheel; as disclosed in figure 1, the caster wheels are on a lawnmower);
a left front caster wheel (in figure 2, Covington discloses two caster wheels 18, the one on the right or top side of the page will be said to read on the right front caster wheel; as disclosed in figure 1, the caster wheels are on a lawnmower);
a right rear drive wheel configured to be selectively driven into rotation by a right drive unit (in figure 1, Covington discloses a lawnmower that shows a left rear wheel and clearly teaches a right rear wheel 72; in lines 8-14 of column 4, Covington discloses that the motor provides motive force through a right hydrostatic transaxle that drives the right rear wheel – this hydrostatic transaxle reads on a right drive unit);
a left rear drive wheel configured to be selectively driven into rotation by a left drive unit (in figure 1, Covington discloses a left rear wheel 72; in lines 8-14 of column 4, Covington discloses that the motor provides motive force through a left hydrostatic transaxle that drives the left rear wheel – this hydrostatic transaxle reads on a left drive unit);
a frame system comprising:
a frame weldment (in figure 2, Covington discloses mounting plate 60; in lines 46-47 of column 2, Covington discloses that frames are metal, which leads the mounting plate to read on a frame weldment); and
a front wheel suspension system comprising:
a right front wheel suspension system configured to provide for regulated movement of the right front caster wheel relative to the frame weldment (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel held relative to the weldment 60), the right front wheel suspension system comprising (note that this clause is not repeated for the left side; this is fine, and the examiner only draws attention to it because applicant might have intended to add a similar clause of a left front wheel suspension system or, alternatively, delete this clause):
a right pivoting wheel assembly (in lines 36-37 of column 4, Covington discloses that the right articulating arm to which the right wheel is attached can pivot up and down) comprising:
a right wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 to which a caster wheel is attached; the right articulating arm 50 read on a right wheel arm) configured to be pivotably coupled to a crossmember of the frame weldment by way of a right pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 64 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 50; the bolt 64 reads on the right pivot and provides a right pivot axis; the crossmember portion of the weldment is not distinguished from other parts of the weldment in the claim and so the portion of the mounting plate in which the bolt 64 attaches reads on a crossmember) and the right wheel arm configured to pivot about a right pivot axis defined by the right pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 64 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 50), the right front caster wheel configured to be coupled to the right wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel 18 attached to the articulating arm 50); and
a right resilient member assembly configured to be disposed between the right wheel arm and the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81 held between the articulating wheel arm 50 and part of the mounting plate 60 – as there is no distinction made as to which parts of the weldment constitute the crossmember, the portion of the mounting plate 60 under which the pillows 81 are placed is a further portion of the crossmember), the right resilient member assembly configured to be compressed between the right wheel arm and the crossmember to dampen pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 56-58 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillow absorbs shock between the wheel and frame that is created by the caster wheel moving over uneven terrain); and
a left pivoting wheel assembly comprising (in lines 36-37 of column 4, Covington discloses that the left articulating arm to which the right wheel is attached can pivot up and down):
a left wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses left articulating arm 40 to which a caster wheel is attached; the left articulating arm 40 read on a left wheel arm) configured to be pivotably coupled to the crossmember of the frame weldment by way of a left pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses left articulating arm 40 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 62 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 40; the bolt 62 reads on the left pivot; the crossmember portion of the weldment is not distinguished from other parts of the weldment in the claim and so the portion of the mounting plate in which the bolt 62 attaches reads on a crossmember) and the left wheel arm configured to pivot about a left pivot axis defined by the left pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses left articulating arm 40 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 62 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 40), the left front caster wheel configured to be coupled to the left wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel 18 attached to the articulating arm 50); and
a left resilient member assembly configured to be disposed between the left wheel arm and the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81 held between the articulating wheel arm 40 and part of the mounting plate 60 – as there is no distinction made as to which parts of the weldment constitute the crossmember, the portion of the mounting plate 60 under which the pillows 81 are placed is a further portion of the crossmember), the left resilient member assembly configured to be compressed between the left wheel arm and the crossmember to dampen pivoting of the left wheel arm and the left front caster wheel about the left pivot axis (in lines 56-58 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillow absorbs shock between the wheel and frame that is created by the caster wheel moving over uneven terrain).
With respect to claim 7, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 6. Covington further teaches:
the right resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen the pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60), and
the left resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen pivoting of the left wheel arm and the left front caster wheel about the left pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 40 around bolt 61, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 40 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 8, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 6. Covington further teaches:
the right wheel arm comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 which has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, a planar surface on its top),
a right end of the crossmember comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses that mounting plate 60 has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, planar sections above pillows 81), and
the right resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed between the planar surface of the right wheel arm and the planar surface of the right end of the crossmember to dampen the pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60), and
the left wheel arm comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 which has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, a planar surface on its top),
a left end of the crossmember comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses that mounting plate 60 has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, planar sections above pillows 81), and
the left resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed between the planar surface of the left wheel arm and the planar surface of the left end of the crossmember to dampen the pivoting of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel about the right pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 40 around bolt 62, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 40 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 9, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 6. Covington further teaches:
the right resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen upward movement of the right wheel arm and the right front caster wheel relative to the crossmember (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60), and
the left resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen upward movement of the left wheel arm and the left front caster wheel relative to the crossmember (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 40 around bolt 61, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 40 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 10, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 6. Covington further teaches:
the right resilient member assembly comprises a right resilient member (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81) configured to be disposed proximate a surface of the right wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the pillow 81 disposed just above the surface of articulating arm 50) and a right retaining member configured to be disposed adjacent the right resilient member and proximate a right surface of the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses structure to the wheel side of the pillow that will prevent the pillow 81 from moving laterally towards the wheel – this structure is discloses as being immediately next to the pillow and extending down from or immediately adjacent to the portion of the mounting plate that is above this pillow), and
the left resilient member assembly comprises a left resilient member (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81) configured to be disposed proximate a surface of the left wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the pillow 81 disposed just above the surface of articulating arm 40) and a left retaining member configured to be disposed adjacent the left resilient member and proximate a left surface of the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses structure to the wheel side of the pillow that will prevent the pillow 81 from moving laterally towards the wheel – this structure is discloses as being immediately next to the pillow and extending down from or immediately adjacent to the portion of the mounting plate that is above this pillow).
With respect to claim 11, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 6. Covington further teaches:
the right front caster wheel is configured to swivel about a right caster axis and the right pivot axis is configured to be oriented transverse to the right caster axis (in figure 2, Covington discloses upper or right caster wheel 18 and a horizontal pivot axis defined by bolt 64; in lines 27-29 of column 4, Covington discloses that the wheels 18 are castered, which teaches that the wheels swivel about a vertical axis; horizontal and vertical axes are transverse to one another), and
the left front caster wheel is configured to swivel about a left caster axis and the left pivot axis is configured to be oriented transverse to the left caster axis (in figure 2, Covington discloses lower or left caster wheel 18 and a horizontal pivot axis defined by bolt 62; in lines 27-29 of column 4, Covington discloses that the wheels 18 are castered, which teaches that the wheels swivel about a vertical axis; horizontal and vertical axes are transverse to one another).
With respect to claim 12, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 6. Covington further teaches the mower system comprises a zero-turn-radius (ZTR) riding mower system (in the abstract, Covington discloses that the mower is a riding mower; in lines 65-67 of column 2 and lines 1-3 of column 3, Covington discloses the suspension system is meant for a zero-turn lawnmower).
With respect to claim 13, Covington teaches a mower system (in the abstract, Covington discloses a riding mower), comprising:
a front wheel suspension system configured to provide for regulated movement of a front caster wheel relative to a frame weldment of the mower system (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel held relative to the weldment 60), the front wheel suspension system comprising:
a pivoting wheel assembly (in lines 36-37 of column 4, Covington discloses that the articulating arms to which the caster wheels are attached can pivot up and down) comprising:
a wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 to which a caster wheel is attached; the right articulating arm 50 read on a right wheel arm) configured to be pivotably coupled to a crossmember of the frame weldment by way of a pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 64 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 50; the bolt 64 reads on the right pivot and provides a right pivot axis; the crossmember portion of the weldment is not distinguished from other parts of the weldment in the claim and so the portion of the mounting plate in which the bolt 64 attaches reads on a crossmember) and the wheel arm configured to pivot about a pivot axis defined by the pivot (in figure 2, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 attached to mounting plate 60 by bolt 64 which, according to lines 36-38 of column 4, allows pivotal movement between the arm 50), the front caster wheel configured to be coupled to the wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the right front caster wheel 18 attached to the articulating arm 50); and
a resilient member assembly configured to be disposed between the wheel arm and the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81 held between the articulating wheel arm 50 and part of the mounting plate 60 – as there is no distinction made as to which parts of the weldment constitute the crossmember, the portion of the mounting plate 60 under which the pillows 81 are placed is a further portion of the crossmember), the resilient member assembly configured to be compressed between the wheel arm and the crossmember to dampen pivoting of the wheel arm and the front caster wheel about the pivot axis (in lines 56-58 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillow absorbs shock between the wheel and frame that is created by the caster wheel moving over uneven terrain).
With respect to claim 14, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 13. Covington further teaches:
the resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen the pivoting of the wheel arm and the front caster wheel about the pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 15, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 13. Covington further teaches:
the wheel arm comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses right articulating arm 50 which has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, a planar surface on its top),
an end of the crossmember comprises a planar surface (in figures 2 and 3, Covington discloses that mounting plate 60 has, as seen from comparing figures 2 and 3, planar sections above pillows 81), and
the resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed between the planar surface of the wheel arm and the planar surface of the end of the crossmember to dampen the pivoting of the wheel arm and the front caster wheel about the pivot axis (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 50 around bolt 64, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 50 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 16, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 13. Covington further teaches:
the resilient member assembly is configured to be compressed to dampen upward movement of the wheel arm and the front caster wheel relative to the crossmember (in lines 51-62 of column 4, Covington discloses that the pillows 81 cushion between the wheel and the frame; as disclosed in figure 2, upward motion of the wheel 18 will rotate articulating arm 40 around bolt 61, thereby compressing pillow 81 between the articulating arm 40 and the mounting frame 60).
With respect to claim 17, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 13. Covington further teaches:
the resilient member assembly comprises a resilient member (in figure 2, Covington discloses pillow 81) and a retaining member configured to be disposed adjacent the resilient member (in figure 2, Covington discloses structure to the wheel side of the pillow that will prevent the pillow 81 from moving laterally towards the wheel – this structure is discloses as being immediately next to the pillow and extending down from or immediately adjacent to the portion of the mounting plate that is above this pillow; this structure reads on a retaining member), and the resilient member is configured to be disposed proximate a surface of the wheel arm (in figure 2, Covington discloses the pillow 81 disposed just above the surface of articulating arm 50) and the retaining member configured to be disposed proximate a surface of the crossmember (in figure 2, Covington discloses structure to the wheel side of the pillow that will prevent the pillow 81 from moving laterally towards the wheel – this structure is discloses as being immediately next to the pillow and extending down from or immediately adjacent to the portion of the mounting plate that is above this pillow).
With respect to claim 18, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 13. Covington further teaches:
the front caster wheel is configured to swivel about a caster axis and the pivot axis is configured to be oriented transverse to the caster axis (in figure 2, Covington discloses upper or right caster wheel 18 and a horizontal pivot axis defined by bolt 64; in lines 27-29 of column 4, Covington discloses that the wheels 18 are castered, which teaches that the wheels swivel about a vertical axis; horizontal and vertical axes are transverse to one another).
With respect to claim 19, Covington teaches the limitations of claim 13. Covington further teaches the mower system comprises a zero-turn-radius (ZTR) riding mower system (in the abstract, Covington discloses that the mower is a riding mower; in lines 65-67 of column 2 and lines 1-3 of column 3, Covington discloses the suspension system is meant for a zero-turn lawnmower).
Although Covington teaches all of the above, Covington does not specifically teach that the respective wheel arm pivot axes are angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the ZTR riding mower system.
Melone teaches another riding mower system where respective wheel arm pivot axes are angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the riding mower system (Figs. 21-26, note that arms 246 are connected at an angle as shown in Figures 22-23 and 25-26, see in particular Fig. 25 showing angle at 252 relative to axis 220). Melone’s arrangement adds an additional arm 248 on each side of the mower, these arms also being angled to each side of the mower (and also angled relative to the longitudinal axis). One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Melone’s arrangement would allow for forces from each of the front wheels to be distributed to two different points on the mower (since the forces would transmit via arms 246 and 248); thus, decreasing stress concentrations to any single point on the mower.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Covington such that the respective wheel arm pivot axes are angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the ZTR riding mower system, in view of Melone, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of allowing for two connection points for the respective suspension members on each side of the ZTR riding mower system, which would better distribute loads and decrease stress concentrations to improve durability. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Covington such that respective wheel arm pivot axes are angled relative to a longitudinal axis of the ZTR riding mower system, in view of Melone, since doing so would have amounted to the obvious simple substitution of one known suspension arm arrangement for another known suspension arm arrangement to obtain predictable results (the predictable use of a known suspension arm arrangement for a mower – that of Melone, on a known mower – that of Covington). Regarding the above modification, it is noted that although there are some structural differences between the respective suspension components of Covington and Melone, the Supreme Court in KSR observed that “the interaction of multiple components means that changing one component often requires the others to be modified as well.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 424 (2007). In other words, as KSR implies, based on the current record, even if other modifications would be needed to utilize the suspension arm arrangement of Melone on Covington’s mower, this does not defeat obviousness or show inoperability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In this regard, while the amendments overcame the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections, based on Covington et al. (US 10569609), reference Melone et al. (US 7546723) found during further search and consideration renders the amended claims obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103. Please note, in the interests of compact prosecution, the Examiner welcomes discussion of the application via a telephonic or in-person interview.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671