DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10, 15 – 21 and 49 are pending in the application with claims 2 – 6 being withdrawn and claims 7, 11 – 14 and 22 – 48 being cancelled. The amendment to the claims has overcome the claim objection set forth in the last Final Action mailed June 3, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 – 10 and 15 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manke et al. (US 2010/0147505 – herein after Manke) in view of Traylor, Leland (US 2004/0188096 – herein after Traylor; cited by applicant on IDS dated 06/06/2025) and Kelly et al. (US 8,697,997 – herein after Kelly) and further in view of Dong, Songjie (CN 203480881U – herein after Dong).
In reference to claim 1, Manke teaches a downhole pumping system (see fig. 1), comprising:
a production tubing (22) installed in a wellbore (12) from a terranean surface (ground surface) to a subterranean formation (seen in fig. 1);
a downhole pump (18+16+14) coupled to a downhole end (bottom end) of the production tubing (22) and configured to circulate a production fluid (pumped fluid) from the subterranean formation, through the production tubing, and to the terranean surface; and
a power cable (24) electrically coupled to a power supply (26, see fig. 1 and ¶13) at the terranean surface and to the downhole pump and configured to supply electrical power to the downhole pump, the power cable installed in the wellbore (see fig. 1) and within a wellbore fluid (inherent feature), the power cable comprising (see fig. 2) a sheathing (34) comprising at least one conductor bore (32) formed therethrough; and at least one power conductor (28) threaded (inserted/passes) through the at least one conductor bore (32), the sheathing (34) comprising an outer surface (as evident from fig. 2).
Manke remains silent on the downhole pumping system with the power cable having a density sufficient for the power cable to be at least substantially neutrally buoyant in the wellbore fluid and wherein the sheathing comprises an outer polymer encapsulation matrix and a low density filler material that forms a syntactic collapse resistant foam.
However, Traylor teaches a similar downhole pumping system with a power cable (2) electrically coupled to a power supply at the terranean surface and to the downhole pump (inherent feature in view of disclosure in ¶22) and configured to supply electrical power to the downhole pump, the power cable (2) installed in the wellbore and within a wellbore fluid (4), the power cable having a density sufficient for the power cable to be at least substantially neutrally buoyant in the wellbore fluid (see ¶18, ¶20 and ¶30-¶31). Traylor further states (see ¶33) “To decrease the diameter of the power conduit, a lower density material can be created by using lower density polyethylene, foaming polyethylene, or by filling the polyethylene with a low density filler such as glass microballoons, or low molecular weight filler material such as polywax 500 available from Baker-Hughes Petrolite division. At great depths, the glass microballoons may be preferred due to the tendency of foamed materials to collapse under extreme pressures”. A composite material consisting of a polymer matrix filled with hollow particles (such as glass microballoons) meets the limitation/definition of “a syntactic collapse resistant foam”.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the downhole pumping system of Manke by configuring its power cable to be substantially neutrally buoyant and to utilize the specific material composition “an outer polymer encapsulation matrix and a low density filler material that forms a syntactic collapse resistant foam” as taught by Traylor for the purpose of reducing the mechanical loading (tension) on the power cable caused by its own weight, as recognized by Traylor (see ¶18) and to ensure the buoyancy characteristics are maintained at “great depths” where standard blown foams would crush or collapse under hydrostatic pressure or the purpose of reducing the mechanical loading (tension) on the power cable caused by its own weight, as recognized by Traylor (see ¶33).
Manke further remains silent on the downhole pumping system, wherein the outer surface of the sheathing comprises: a first notch that extends along the outer surface; a second notch that extends along the outer surface apart from the first notch; a first pip that extends along the outer surface opposite the first notch, the first pip shaped to interface with the first notch; and a second pip that extends along the outer surface opposite the second notch, the second pip shaped to interface with the second notch.
However, Kelly teaches an electrical wire or cable, wherein (see fig. 3) an outer surface of the sheathing (101) comprises: a first notch (left element 311) that extends along the outer surface; a second notch (right element 311) that extends along the outer surface apart from the first notch; a first pip (left element 310) that extends along the outer surface opposite the first notch, the first pip shaped to interface with the first notch (when wire is wrapped or coiled); and a second pip (right element 310) that extends along the outer surface opposite the second notch, the second pip shaped to interface with the second notch (when wire is wrapped or coiled).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the power cable in the downhole pumping system of Manke for providing first notch, second notch, first pip and second pip as taught by Kelly on the outer surface of Manke’s power cable sheathing for the purpose of providing built-in cable management capability, as recognized by Kelly (see col. 3, lines 33-40), allowing the cable to be securely coiled and adhered to itself or neatly bundled during storage or transport without the need for additional cable-organizing devices.
Manke, as modified, remains silent on the downhole pumping system, wherein a cross-section shape of the sheathing is a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape.
However, Dong teaches a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape sheathing for a power cable (see fig. 1 and ¶2, ¶10 of translation).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a cross-section shape of the sheathing in the downhole pumping system of Manke as a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape as taught by Dong since Dong states (see ¶10 of translation) such polygon shaped cable has “characteristics of easy installation, easy identification, easy bending, high strength and high shielding performance ,..good flexibility, is easy to maintain and has a long service life”.
In reference to claim 8, Manke, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system (see fig. 2 of Manke), wherein the at least one conductor bore (32) comprises three conductor bores, and the at least one power conductor (28) comprises three power conductors, each power conductor threaded through one of the three conductor bores (each power conductor 28 inserted/passed through its corresponding conductor bore 32).
In reference to claim 9, Manke, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system (see fig. 2 of Manke), wherein the at least one power conductor (28) comprises:
a conductor core (body of 28) comprising at least one electrically conductive material (inherent feature, see ¶15: “28” being an electrical conductor implies the conductor being made from electrically conductive material);
an electrical insulative layer (30 or 30a+30b, see ¶15-¶16) that encloses the conductor core; and
a metallic tubing (32, see ¶18) that encloses the electrical insulative layer.
In reference to claim 10, Manke, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system (see fig. 2 of Manke), wherein the at least one electrically conductive material (material of conductor(s) 28) comprises:
aluminum or an aluminum alloy;
copper or a copper alloy [see ¶16 of Manke which states “Power cable 24 is illustrated as having three electrical conductors 28 formed of copper”]; or
a combination of aluminum and copper.
In reference to claim 15, Manke, as modified, remains silent on the downhole pumping system, wherein a density of the sheathing is about 0.0188 lb./in3 (~0.52 g/cc).
However, density of the sheathing is a result effective variable since varying it affects the neutral buoyancy of the power cable. Traylor further states (see ¶32) that the density of the insulating material is a variable that is adjusted to balance the high density of the conductors (cooper ~8.93 g/cc) to achieve an overall neutral buoyancy (approx. 1.0 g/cc). Traylor teaches (see ¶33) that in instances where standard polymers (e.g. polyethylene at ~0.9 g/cc) are too heavy or result in a cable diameter that is too large, “a lower density material can be created by …foaming polyethylene, or by filling the polyethylene with a low density filler such as glass microballoons”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have “a density of the sheathing about 0.0188 lb./in3” in the modified pumping system of Manke since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on for the claimed density of the sheathing, indicating simply (see ¶107 of pg. pub of the instant application) “A specific example material of the sheathing 130 can include PA12 (i.e., Polyamide 12) and 50% by weight of Glass Bubble S32HS made by 3M™ (https://www.3m.co.uk/3M/en_GB/p/d/b5005035032/). For this example, the density of the sheathing 130 is about 0.0188 lb./in3. However, the selected material(s) for the sheathing 130 can depend on many factors including, but not limited to, density, pressure collapse resistance, abrasion resistance, friction properties, and others”.
In reference to claim 16, Manke, as modified, remains silent on the downhole pumping system, wherein a density of the power cable is about 0.046 lb./ in3 (~1.27 g/cc).
However, density of the power cable is a result effective variable since varying it affects the neutral buoyancy of the power cable. Traylor further states (see ¶31) that the density of the power cable is a variable parameter designed to match the density of the wellbore fluid to achieve neutral buoyancy. Traylor states (see ¶31) “The overall density of the cable may be adjusted if the fluid in the well has a different density”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have “a density of the power cable of about 0.046 lb./ in3” in the modified pumping system of Manke since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on for the claimed density of the sheathing, indicating simply (see ¶89 of pg. pub of the instant application) “A buoyant force of the power cable 70 can be designed or achieved due to a number of factors, such as a known or determined density of the brine 49, a material of the conductors of the power cable 70 (for example, copper, aluminum, or otherwise), and a material of a sheathing that encloses the conductors of the power cable 70 (as described in more detail herein). These factors can be used to select or design a particular density of the power cable 70 to provide a desired buoyant force of the power cable 70 in the annulus 120 and within the brine 49. As an example, the density of the power cable 70 can be about 0.046 lb./in3.”.
In reference to claim 17, Manke, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system, wherein the wellbore fluid is brine or a completion fluid.
Manke teaches an ESP deployed in a wellbore environment (see ¶13). While Manke does not explicitly name the specific composition of the wellbore fluid, the presence of fluid is inherent to the operation of a submersible pump. Traylor explicitly teaches that the wellbore fluid may be brine (a completion fluid) [see ¶35: “brine” = water with dissolved salt]. The motivation to select brine is explicitly tied to the primary concept of neutral buoyancy taught by Traylor (see ¶35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention designing Manke’s pumping system to be neutrally buoyant would be motivated to identify the specific wellbore fluid (such as brine or completion fluid) to ensure the cable’s density is properly calibrated to achieve the desired buoyancy.
Claims 1, 18 – 21 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschauner et al. (US 2024/0280007 – herein after Tschauner) in view of Traylor, Leland (US 2004/0188096 – herein after Traylor; cited by applicant on IDS dated 06/06/2025) and Kelly et al. (US 8,697,997 – herein after Kelly) and further in view of Dong, Songjie (CN 203480881U – herein after Dong).
In reference to claim 1, Tschauner teaches a downhole pumping system (see figs. 1-2), comprising:
a production tubing (130) installed in a wellbore (see fig. 1 or ¶47) from a terranean surface (114; ground surface) to a subterranean formation (seen in fig. 1);
a downhole pump (102 = 110+142+140+138+206+204) coupled to (see fig. 2) a downhole end (bottom end) of the production tubing (130) and configured to circulate a production fluid (pumped fluid; see arrows 210, 212) from the subterranean formation, through the production tubing, and to the terranean surface; and
a power cable (146) electrically coupled to a power supply (see ¶51) at the terranean surface and to the downhole pump and configured to supply electrical power to the downhole pump, the power cable installed in the wellbore and within a wellbore fluid (arrow 212, see fig. 2), the power cable (146) comprising (see fig. 4) a sheathing (406) comprising at least one conductor bore (404A-404C) formed therethrough; and at least one power conductor (400A-400C+402A-402C) threaded (inserted/passes) through the at least one conductor bore, the sheathing comprising an outer surface (as evident from fig. 4).
Tschauner remains silent on the downhole pumping system with the power cable having a density sufficient for the power cable to be at least substantially neutrally buoyant in the wellbore fluid and wherein the sheathing comprises an outer polymer encapsulation matrix and a low density filler material that forms a syntactic collapse resistant foam.
However, Traylor teaches a similar downhole pumping system with a power cable (2) electrically coupled to a power supply at the terranean surface and to the downhole pump (inherent feature in view of disclosure in ¶22) and configured to supply electrical power to the downhole pump, the power cable (2) installed in the wellbore and within a wellbore fluid (4), the power cable having a density sufficient for the power cable to be at least substantially neutrally buoyant in the wellbore fluid (see ¶18, ¶20 and ¶30-¶31). Traylor further states (see ¶33) “To decrease the diameter of the power conduit, a lower density material can be created by using lower density polyethylene, foaming polyethylene, or by filling the polyethylene with a low density filler such as glass microballoons, or low molecular weight filler material such as polywax 500 available from Baker-Hughes Petrolite division. At great depths, the glass microballoons may be preferred due to the tendency of foamed materials to collapse under extreme pressures”. A composite material consisting of a polymer matrix filled with hollow particles (such as glass microballoons) meets the limitation/definition of “a syntactic collapse resistant foam”.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the downhole pumping system of Tschauner by configuring its power cable to be substantially neutrally buoyant and to utilize the specific material composition “an outer polymer encapsulation matrix and a low density filler material that forms a syntactic collapse resistant foam” as taught by Traylor for the purpose of reducing the mechanical loading (tension) on the power cable caused by its own weight, as recognized by Traylor (see ¶18) and to ensure the buoyancy characteristics are maintained at “great depths” where standard blown foams would crush or collapse under hydrostatic pressure or the purpose of reducing the mechanical loading (tension) on the power cable caused by its own weight, as recognized by Traylor (see ¶33).
Tschauner further remains silent on the downhole pumping system, wherein the outer surface of the sheathing comprises: a first notch that extends along the outer surface; a second notch that extends along the outer surface apart from the first notch; a first pip that extends along the outer surface opposite the first notch, the first pip shaped to interface with the first notch; and a second pip that extends along the outer surface opposite the second notch, the second pip shaped to interface with the second notch.
However, Kelly teaches an electrical wire or cable, wherein (see fig. 3) an outer surface of the sheathing (101) comprises: a first notch (left element 311) that extends along the outer surface; a second notch (right element 311) that extends along the outer surface apart from the first notch; a first pip (left element 310) that extends along the outer surface opposite the first notch, the first pip shaped to interface with the first notch (when wire is wrapped or coiled); and a second pip (right element 310) that extends along the outer surface opposite the second notch, the second pip shaped to interface with the second notch (when wire is wrapped or coiled).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the power cable in the downhole pumping system of Tschauner for providing first notch, second notch, first pip and second pip as taught by Kelly on the outer surface of Tschauner’s power cable sheathing for the purpose of providing built-in cable management capability, as recognized by Kelly (see col. 3, lines 33-40), allowing the cable to be securely coiled and adhered to itself or neatly bundled during storage or transport without the need for additional cable-organizing devices.
Tschauner, as modified, remains silent on the downhole pumping system, wherein a cross-section shape of the sheathing is a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape.
However, Dong teaches a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape power cable (see fig. 1 and ¶2, ¶10 of translation).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a cross-section shape of the sheathing in the downhole pumping system of Tschauner as a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape as taught by Dong since Dong states (see ¶10 of translation) such polygon shaped cable has “characteristics of easy installation, easy identification, easy bending, high strength and high shielding performance ,..good flexibility, is easy to maintain and has a long service life”.
In reference to claim 18, Tschauner, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system, wherein the power cable (modified power cable 146; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) is installed in the production tubing (130; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) and within the wellbore fluid (indicated by arrow 212; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) in the production tubing.
In reference to claim 19, Tschauner, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system, wherein the wellbore fluid is the production fluid (inherent feature).
In reference to claim 20, Tschauner, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system, wherein the sheathing (406, Tschauner’s fig. 4) comprises (see ¶81-¶82) three conductor bores (404A, 404B, 404C) formed therethrough; and at least one power conductor (402A+400A, 402B+400B, 402C+400C) comprises a power conductor (400A, 400B, 400C) threaded (inserted/passed) through each of the three conductor bores (each power conductor is inserted/passed through its corresponding conductor bore as evident from fig. 4).
In reference to claim 21, Tschauner, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system, wherein the power cable (modified power cable 146; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) is unconstrained within the production tubing (130; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) between a cable hanger (structure that top end of the power cable 146 couples to, wherein this structure acts as a cable hanger and provides power signal to be supplied to the pump via the power cable; see Tschauner’s ¶51) at or near the terranean surface (114) and a mechanical and electrical connection (at connector 204, see Tschauner’s fig. 2) at the downhole pump (102 = 110+142+140+138+206+204) [as evident from Tschauner’s fig. 2: the asserted power cable 146, between ground surface (where cable hanger is present) and asserted electrical connection, is unconstrained (i.e. not supported by any additional means)].
In reference to claim 49, Tschauner, as modified, teaches the downhole pumping system, wherein the power cable (modified power cable 146; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) is installed in the production tubing (130; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) and within the wellbore fluid (indicated by arrow 212; see Tschauner’s fig. 2) in the production tubing exclusive of cable clamps [as evident from Tschauner’s fig. 2 and its relevant disclosure: the asserted power cable 146, between ground surface (where cable hanger is present) and connector 204, is not disclosed as being supported by additional means such as cable clamps; also, in view of the proposed modification discussed above in claim 1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's following arguments filed October 20, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant merely states “amended claim 1 recites the features of "wherein a cross-section shape of the sheathing is a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape, and the sheathing comprises an outer polymer encapsulation matrix and a low density filler material that forms a syntactic collapse resistant foam." It has not been shown that the references of record teach or suggest at least these features of amended claim 1 or, indeed, render claim 1 obvious as a whole”.
Argument with respect to feature of “wherein a cross-section shape of the sheathing is a substantially diamond or rhomboid shape” is moot in view of new grounds of rejections made above over newly found reference of Dong.
Argument with respect to feature of “the sheathing comprises an outer polymer encapsulation matrix and a low density filler material that forms a syntactic collapse resistant foam” is not found to be persuasive because this feature is taught by Traylor, as discussed above as well as in the last office action.
Furthermore, applicant’s request for the interview is acknowledged and is presently denied as it is not deemed to advance prosecution at this time in view of new grounds of rejection made in this office action.
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746