DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on January 20, 2026, have been entered.
The previously raised claim objections have been withdrawn in light of the amendment submitted by the Applicant on January 20, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 lines 10-12 should read “and further wherein the [[the]] first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand.”. The term “the” is duplicated and the duplicated term should be deleted. Correction or clarification is recommended to overcome this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this instance, claim 2 recites “wherein the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand” which is already been recited in the newly amended claim 1 lines 10-12. Claim 1 lines 10-12 recites “the first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand”. Therefore, claim 2 does not constitute a further limitation. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al (US 20200315309 A1, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1. Chang discloses an apparatus for bundling items (Embodiment of Fig 1A-1E and abstract, apparatus of hair tie 1 for winding around a hair bundle), comprising: a. a fastener (coupling members 113 and 114) having a first part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1A, A) and a second part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1A, B), wherein the first part of the fastener is configured to be releasably connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 1A and Fig 1B); and b. a material (material of elastic body 11) having a first end ( Fig 1A, 111) connected to the first part of the fastener (Fig 1A and ¶0018) and a second end (Fig 1A, 112) connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 1A and ¶0018) ; and wherein the apparatus is configured to bundle items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other (Fig 1B and ¶0018, the apparatus hair tie 1 is capable to bundle hair with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other), and further wherein the apparatus is configured to unbundle the items when the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are disconnected from each other (Fig 1A and ¶0018, the apparatus hair tie 1 is capable to unbundle hair when the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are disconnected from each other), and further wherein the first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (annotated Fig 1B and ¶0018. The first part of the fastener “A” and second part of the fastener “B” are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Regarding claim 2. Chang discloses the invention of claim 1. Chang further discloses the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (annotated Fig 1B above and ¶0018. The first part of the fastener “A” and second part of the fastener “B” are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Regarding claim 3. Chang discloses the invention of claim 1. Chang further discloses the fastener comprises hook (Fig 1A, hook coupling member 113, 114).
Regarding claim 4. Chang discloses the invention of claim 1. Chang further discloses the fastener is detachable and replaceable with a different fastener (¶0030, hooks coupling members can be detachable and replaced with different fasteners such as hair pins or clips).
Regarding claim 6. Chang discloses the invention of claim 1. Chang further discloses the material (material of elastic body 11) is covered with a fabric material (Fig 1A and ¶0018, fabric sleeve 12).
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuglen (US 6123086 A, hereinafter “Kuglen”).
Regarding claim 1. Kuglen discloses an apparatus for bundling items (Embodiment of Fig 4, Fig 7 and abstract, decorative hair accessory 1 for bundling hair), comprising: a. a fastener (Fig 4, attachment members 25 and 29) having a first part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1A, A) and a second part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1A, B), wherein the first part of the fastener is configured to be releasably connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 4 and Fig 7, and Col 4 lines 59-65, attachment member 25 is releasably connected to second part of the attachment member 29); and b. a material (Fig 7, material of decorative member 11) having a first end (Fig 4, first end 15) connected to the first part of the fastener (Fig 4) and a second end (Fig 4, second end 17) connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 4) ; and wherein the apparatus is configured to bundle items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other (Fig 7 and Col 1 lines 6-9, the decorative hair accessory 1 is capable to bundle hair with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other), and further wherein the apparatus is configured to unbundle the items when the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are disconnected from each other (Fig 4, the decorative hair accessory 1 is capable to unbundle hair when the first part of the fastener 25 and the second part of the fastener 29 are disconnected from each other), and further wherein the first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (annotated Fig 4. The first part of the fastener “A” and second part of the fastener “B” are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Regarding claim 2. Kuglen discloses the invention of claim 1. Kuglen further discloses the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (annotated Fig 4 above, Col 4, lines 40-45 and lines 59-65, the first part “A” and second part “B” of hook and loop fasteners are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Regarding claim 3. Kuglen discloses the invention of claim 1. Kuglen further discloses the fastener comprises hook and eye claps (Col 4 line 52-54, hook and eye fasteners).
Regarding claim 5. Kuglen discloses the invention of claim 1. Kuglen further discloses the material (material of decorative member 11) is elastic (Col 5 lines 55-56).
8. Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang Kai (CN211048630U, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claims 1-2. Huang discloses an apparatus for bundling items (embodiment of Fig 2, Fig 4 and abstract, reflective sport hair band), comprising: a. a fastener (Fig 2, female and male buckle structures 5 and 6 respectively) having a first part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1A, A) and a second part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1A, B), wherein the first part of the fastener is configured to be releasably connected to the second part of the fastener (as shown in Fig 4); and b. a material (material of headband body 1 with tightening belt 2) having a first end (annotated Fig 4, C) connected to the first part of the fastener (Fig 4) and a second end (annotated Fig 4, D) connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 4); and wherein the apparatus is configured to bundle items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other (Fig 2 and ¶0016-¶0017, the apparatus of the headband is capable to bundle hair with the first part of the fastener buckle structure 5 and the second part of the fastener buckle structure 6 connected to each other), and further wherein the apparatus is configured to unbundle the items when the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are disconnected from each other (Fig 4 and ¶0016, the apparatus of the headband is capable to unbundle hair when the first part of the fastener buckle structure 5 and the second part of the fastener buckle structure 6 are disconnected from each other), and further wherein the first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (annotated Fig 4. The first part of the fastener “A” and second part of the fastener “B” are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Regarding claim 7. Huang discloses the invention of claim 1. Huang further discloses the material (material of headband body 1 with tightening belt 2) between the first part of the fastener (female buckle structure 5) and the second part of the fastener (male buckle structure 6) can be shortened by advancing material through the second part of the fastener (¶0032).
9. Claim 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by E. Hoffmann (US 3301266 A, hereinafter “Hoffmann”).
Regarding claims 1-2. Hofmann discloses an apparatus for bundling items (Embodiment of Fig 1-2, apparatus 10 for bundling hair), comprising: a. a fastener (Fig 2, beads 14) having a first part of the fastener (annotated Fig 2, A) and a second part of the fastener (annotated Fig 2, B), wherein the first part of the fastener is configured to be releasably connected to the second part of the fastener (as shown in Fig 1 vs Fig 2); and b. a material (Fig 2, material of rubber band 12) having a first end (annotated Fig 2, C) connected to the first part of the fastener (Fig 2) and a second end (annotated Fig 2, D) connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 2); and wherein the apparatus is configured to bundle items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other (Fig 1, the apparatus 10 is capable to bundle hair with the first part of the fastener 14 and the second part of the fastener 14 connected to each other), and further wherein the apparatus is configured to unbundle the items when the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are disconnected from each other (Fig 2, the apparatus 10 is capable to unbundle hair when the first part of the fastener 14 and the second part of the fastener 14 are disconnected from each other), and further wherein the first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (Fig 1 and annotated Fig 2. The first part of the fastener “A” and second part of the fastener “B” are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20090116226 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claims 1-2. Wang discloses an apparatus for bundling items (Fig 5-6 and abstract, apparatus 43 to bundle user’s arm), comprising: a. a fastener (fastener tapes 431) having a first part of the fastener (annotated Fig 6, A) and a second part of the fastener (annotated Fig 6, B), wherein the first part of the fastener is configured to be releasably connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 5 and Fig 6); and b. a material (material of strap arm ring 43) having a first end (annotated Fig 6, C) connected to the first part of the fastener (Fig 6) and a second end (annotated Fig 6, D) connected to the second part of the fastener (Fig 6) ; and wherein the apparatus is configured to bundle items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other (¶0024, apparatus 43 is capable to bundle an arm with the first part of the fastener tape 431 and the second part of the fastener tape 431 connected to each other), and further wherein the apparatus is configured to unbundle the items when the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener are disconnected from each other (Fig 5 and ¶0027, apparatus 43 is capable to unbundle the arm when the first part of the fastener tape 431 and the second part of the fastener tape 431 are disconnected from each other), and further wherein the first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand (Fig 4 and annotated Fig 6. The first part of the fastener “A” and second part of the fastener “B” are capable to be disconnected with one hand).
Regarding claim 9. Wang discloses the invention of claim 1. Wang further discloses electrical components such as lights (Fig 5 and ¶0029, light emitting device 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over E. Hoffmann (US 3301266 A, hereinafter “Hoffmann”).
Regarding claim 8. Hofmann discloses the invention of claim 1. Hofmann further discloses the material is replaceable (Col 3 line 14-18, rubber band 12 is replaceable with a new band), but silent to the material is detachable from the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener, and replaceable with a different material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to make the rubber band material detachable/separable from the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener, since it had been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill. In this instance, having the rubber band material 12 separable from the first part of the fastener 14 and the second part of the fastener 14 would allow the user to efficiently clean the slots 38, shown in Fig 2, inside the first and second fasteners and remove any dirt or unwanted foreign materials to meet to the user’s needs.
Hofmann further teaches in an alternative embodiment (Fig 3), a different material (material of braided fabric covered strand 12’) to provide alternately an elastic cord decoratively braided fabric covered strand 12’ (Col 2 lines 33-34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the material 12 of Hofmann first embodiment with a different material, as taught by Hofmann’s second embodiment. Thus, would provide the user with an alternately elastic cord decoratively braided fabric in order to meet different user’s needs and preferences.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remark and argument: Applicant submits that the currently amended claim 1 has functional claim language not present in any of the cited references.
In the present instance, the functional language "the apparatus is configured to bundle the items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other". Applicant alleges that this is a distinct differentiation from the cited references.
Also, in the present instance, the functional language "first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand". Applicant alleges that this is a distinct differentiation from the cited references.
In response: The Examiner disagree with the Applicant’s assertion. Chang discloses the apparatus (annotated Fig 1 B) is configured to bundle the items with the first part of the fastener and the second part of the fastener connected to each other (annotated Fig 1B and ¶0018, the apparatus is capable to bundle hair with the first part of the fastener “A” and the second part of the fastener “B” connected to each other).
Regarding the newly amended limitation "first part of the fastener and second part of the fastener are configured to be disconnected with one hand". Cheng discloses first part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1B above, “A”) and second part of the fastener (annotated Fig 1B above, “B”) are capable to be disconnected with one hand.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP§ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772