DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are no longer objected to in view of the amendments filed 3 September 2025.
Claim Interpretation
Specification
The disclosure is no longer objected to in view of the amendments filed 3 September 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (“Stellite alloy mixture hardfacing via laser cladding for control valve seat sealing surfaces”) in view of Lin et al. (“Characteristics of thin surface layers of cobalt-based alloys deposited by laser cladding”).
As to claim 1, Ding teaches a method of manufacturing a fluid contact member (seat surface of a control valve), comprising: a melting step of melting the raw material (the laser cladding step described in section 2.1 Hardfacing fabrication includes the melting of a metal powder), which contains cobalt, chromium, and carbon (Stellite alloys contain these three elements as shown in Table 1) on a substrate while moving the nozzle thereby moving a supply position of the raw material to the substrate (section 2.1 describes the laser and feeder (interpreted to be a nozzle) attached to robotic arms for laying town “tracks”), wherein the melting in the melting step is performed such that when a heat input amount to the raw material per movement distance is set to Q (kJ/cm), and a supply amount (g/cm) of the raw material to the substrate per movement distance is set to W (g/cm) (see Table 2 which indicates the laser powder is 1700W, which is 1.7 kJ/s; scanning speed is 6mm/s, which is 0.6cm/s; and feeding rate is 13g/min, which is 0.2g/s.), Q≤12 kJ/cm (Q=1.7 kJ/s ÷ 0.6 cm/s = 2.83 kJ/cm) and 2 kJ/g≤Q/W≤60 kJ/g (1.7 kJ/s ÷ 0.2g/s = 8.5kJ/g. Thus Q/W = 8.5 kJ/g).
Ding does not teach supplying a raw material between an inner portion and an outer portion of a double-structured nozzle.
Ding is silent as to the particulars of the shape of the feeder/nozzle. However, in the field of laser cladding, it was known at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide for a double-structured nozzle and supplying raw material between an inner and outer portion of the nozzle.
See Lin, which teaches a method of laser cladding cobalt-based alloys including Stellite in powder form for the purpose of adding a wear resistant, corrosion resistant, and high strength clad to a metal substrate. Lin teaches at Fig 1 a “schematic diagram of the coaxial powder feed nozzle used in laser cladding.” Fig 1 illustrated a double-structured nozzle such that the powder and the laser are coaxial. The powder is fed between and inner portion and an outer portion of the nozzle.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have used the nozzle of Lin in the method of Ding. See MPEP § 2143 D which describes the prima facie obviousness of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. In this case, the known technique is the use of a double-structured nozzle for laser cladding Stellite powder. It appears that a nozzle of any reasonable configuration useful for laser cladding powdered Stellite (including Lin) would be understood by such an artisan to be obvious to use in the method of Ding.
As to claim 2, Ding in view of Lin teaches the method of manufacturing a fluid contact member according to claim 1, wherein the melting in the melting step is performed by an additive manufacturing technique (the laser cladding process described in Ding section 2.1 is an additive manufacturing technique) using at least one raw material of a powder containing the raw material and a wire rod containing the raw material (Ding section 2.1 described the Stellite as raw powder form).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beste (US 11,492,682).
As to claim 3, Ding in view of Lin teaches the method of manufacturing a fluid contact member according to claim 1, but does not teach in the melting step, lamination molding is performed in a state where at least one of a substrate temperature and an inter-pass temperature is 200° C. or higher and 700° C. or lower.
However, in the field of laser cladding, and specifically laser cladding Stellite, it was known at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide for keeping the workspace at controlled temperatures in order to maximize material properties at least to avoid cracks. See Beste which teaches at Column 17 lines 52: “The temperature of the component is, as indicated above, of importance. … The temperature of a body under construction needs to be kept at an elevated temperature as discussed above, such as higher than 300° C or preferably higher than 430° C.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided for the substrate temperature as claimed. Such a person would have been motivated to have followed Beste’s teachings in order to achieve the good adhesion, desirable solidification rate, and crack avoidance as described by Beste Col 17 lines 52+.
As to claim 4, Ding in view of Lin teaches the method of manufacturing a fluid contact member according to claim 1, but does not teach: a cooling step of performing cooling at a speed, at which a heat dissipation speed from the substrate to an outside is slower than a natural cooling speed, after the melting step.
However, in the field of laser cladding, and specifically laser cladding Stellite, it was known at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide for keeping the workspace at controlled temperatures in order to maximize material properties at least to avoid cracks. See Beste which teaches at Column 17 lines 52: “The temperature of the component is, as indicated above, of importance. … The temperature of a body under construction needs to be kept at an elevated temperature as discussed above, such as higher than 300° C or preferably higher than 430° C.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided for the heat dissipation and cooling step slower than natural cooling speed, as claimed. Such a person would have been motivated to have followed Beste’s teachings in order to achieve the good adhesion, desirable solidification rate, and crack avoidance as described by Beste Col 17 lines 52+.
As to claim 5, Ding in view of Lin and Beste teaches the method of manufacturing a fluid contact member according to claim 4, wherein the cooling in the cooling step is performed by bringing a heat dissipation suppressing member for suppressing heat dissipation from the substrate to an outside into contact with the substrate (Beste teaches the heating of the working table to achieve the temperatures described in relation to claim 4. See Col 18 lines 1-3.).
As to claim 6, Ding in view of Lin teaches the method of manufacturing a fluid contact member according to claim 1, but does not teach a heat treatment step of performing heat treatment at a temperature of 200° C. or more and 700° C. or less after the melting step.
However, in the field of laser cladding, and specifically laser cladding Stellite, it was known at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide for keeping the workspace at controlled temperatures after a melting step in order to maximize material properties at least to avoid cracks. See Beste which teaches at Column 17 lines 52: “The temperature of the component is, as indicated above, of importance. … The temperature of a body under construction needs to be kept at an elevated temperature as discussed above, such as higher than 300° C or preferably higher than 430° C.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided for the heat dissipation and cooling step slower than natural cooling speed, as claimed. Such a person would have been motivated to have followed Beste’s teachings in order to achieve the good adhesion, desirable solidification rate, and crack avoidance as described by Beste Col 17 lines 52+.
Moreover, Beste teaches at Col 16 lines 46-47, “The heat treatment may further increase the mechanical properties of the product.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 3 September 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under Ding and Beste have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ding in view of Lin and further with Beste.
Specifically, Applicant argues Ding doesn’t teach a double-structured nozzle. Examiner agrees. Ding is silent as to the structure of the feeder useful for supplying powdered Stellite to the substrate. However, double-structured nozzles were known in the art for laser cladding Stellite at the time the invention was effectively filed. See Lin.
A new rejection has been made in view of the Amendments filed 3 September 2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 17 September 2025