DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0127563 to Chainer et al. in view of US 2024/0114667 to Verzijl et al., US 2016/0278239 to Chainer et al. (hereafter Chainer-2016) and US 2023/0156959 to Malouin et al.
As to Claim 1, Chainer discloses (FIG. 4) a rack assembly (400), comprising: an autonomous direct liquid cooling rack (406, 407), comprising: an autonomous rack liquid cooling block (406) configured to internally channel a first cooling liquid (first fluid being located in circuit 498 [0060] “The circulation of the first fluid through the two-phase cooling loop 498 is described herein.”) and be positioned in direct thermal contact with an autonomous rack electronic processing assembly (407) for cooling thereof; a liquid cooling module (404) to provide liquid-to-liquid cooling via thermal energy transfer; an autonomous rack liquid conduit (498) configured to circulate the first cooling liquid through the cooling block and the liquid cooling module; and a second cooling rack (411, 414) configured to be fluidly-isolated from being fluidly-connected to the autonomous rack liquid conduit of the autonomous direct cooling liquid rack, the second cooling rack comprising: a second electronic processing assembly (414) a second liquid cooling block (411) configured to internally channel a second cooling liquid (second fluid being located in circuit 499 [0059] “the fluid circulating within the single-phase cooling loop 499 is denoted herein as the second fluid.”) and be positioned in direct thermal contact with the second electronic processing assembly, and a second liquid conduit (499) configured to circulate the second cooling liquid through the second cooling block (411) and the liquid cooling module (404); wherein the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack and the second rack are thermally-coupled via the liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger of the liquid cooling module such that thermal energy is transferred between the second liquid conduit and the autonomous rack liquid conduit within the liquid cooling module.
Chainer fails to disclose the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack and the second cooling rack being housed in separate compartments.
Verzijl teaches first (120) and second (130) server cooling circuits housed in separate compartments (108 and 112 respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to house the electronic components in separate racks as taught by Verzijl in order to thermally and functionally isolate the devices.
Chainer fails to disclose the liquid cooling module (404) comprising a liquid-liquid plate heat exchanger.
Chainer-2016 teaches that a plate heat exchanger is an exemplary, non-limiting type of liquid-liquid heat exchanger ([0040] “An exemplary, non-limiting liquid/liquid heat exchanger is a brazed-plate heat exchanger.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to substitute the liquid-liquid heat exchanger of Verzijl with a plate heat exchanger as taught by Chainer-2016 as a choice of design, a plate heat exchanger being well known in the art as characterized by Chainer.
Chainer fails to disclose the second cooling rack being an immersion cooling (IC) rack comprising: a dielectric immersion cooling liquid; an IC electronic processing assembly submerged in the immersion cooling liquid; an IC liquid cooling block configured to internally channel a second cooling liquid and be positioned in direct thermal contact with the submerged IC electronic processing assembly.
Malouin teaches an immersion cooling rack (200, FIG. 2A) comprising a dielectric immersion cooling liquid (212); an IC electronic processing assembly (204) submerged in the immersion cooling liquid; an IC liquid cooling block (206) configured to internally channel a second cooling liquid (214) and be positioned in direct thermal contact with the submerged IC electronic processing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the second cooling rack of Chainer with an immersion cooling rack as taught by Malouin in order to add a secondary means of cooling to the electronic components in addition to the cooling block alone, the combination being well known in the art and yielding predictable results.
As to Claim 4, modified Chainer teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Chainer fails to disclose wherein the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack further comprises an air-to-liquid heat exchanger configured to: receive the first cooling fluid, draw in ambient air that is cooled by the first cooling fluid, and expel cool air.
Verzijl teaches an air-to-liquid heat exchanger (347, Fig. 2) configured to receive a first cooling fluid ([0154] “The cooling device 340 is configured to pump the cooling fluid, e.g. water, into the fluid passage to pass through the second heat exchangers 347.”) draw in ambient air that is cooled by the first cooling fluid, and expel cool air ([0154] “The cooling fluid entering the second heat exchangers 347 at the first inlet temperature t1 has a lower temperature than the temperature of the surrounding air in the first compartment 311 of the server housing 310, so that heat can be transferred from the air, via the heat exchanger surface, towards the cooling fluid.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to include air-liquid heat exchangers as taught by Verzijl in order to further cool the environment of the enclosure.
As to Claim 5, modified Chainer further discloses the rack assembly of claim 1, wherein the liquid cooling module (404) further comprises a cooling module pump (403), wherein the cooling module pump is fluidly connected in series to the liquid cooling module liquid-to-liquid plate heat exchanger.
As to Claim 6, modified Chainer further discloses the rack assembly of claim 1, wherein the autonomous rack liquid cooling block (406) is positioned to be fluidly connected downstream from the liquid cooling module (404).
As to Claim 13, modified Chainer teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chainer fails to disclose wherein the autonomous direct cooling rack liquid conduit comprises an inlet and an outlet and wherein a temperature difference of the first cooling liquid between the inlet and the outlet is greater than 20°C.
Verzijl teaches a fluid temperature difference between a first inlet and outlet of a first cooling fluid in a similar hybrid system being 15°C (e.g. para [0114], [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to arrive at an approaching or similar temperature difference as it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, where the ranges are close, requires only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0127563 to Chainer et al. in view of US 2024/0114667 to Verzijl et al., US 2016/0278239 to Chainer et al. (hereafter Chainer-2016) and US 2023/0156959 to Malouin et al., and further in view of US 9,844,166 to Shelnutt et al. and US 2024/0107716 to Nasr Azadani et al. (hereafter Nasr)
As to Claim 2, modified Chainer teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Chainer fails to disclose, wherein the IC rack further comprises: a plurality of immersion casings fluidly connected in parallel with one another and configured to house the dielectric immersion cooling liquid; wherein the IC liquid cooling block comprises a plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks, in which each of the plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks are housed within corresponding immersion casings.
Shelnutt teaches (FIG. 15) a plurality of immersion casings (400) fluidly connected in parallel with one another and configured to house a dielectric immersion cooling liquid (1530).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to comprise immersion casings in parallel as taught by Shelnutt in order to increase the cooling capacity of the system.
Shelnutt fails to disclose wherein the IC liquid cooling block comprises a plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks, in which each of the plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks are housed within corresponding immersion casings.
Malouin teaches an IC liquid cooling block (206) housed within a corresponding immersion casing (210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the combination of Chainer and Shelnutt, with a corresponding cooling block as taught by Malouin, in order to isolate groups of electronic devices.
As to Claim 3, modified Chainer teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Chainer fails to disclose, wherein the IC rack further comprises: a plurality of immersion casings fluidly connected in series with one another and configured to house the dielectric immersion cooling liquid; wherein the IC liquid cooling block comprises a plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks, in which each of the plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks are housed within corresponding immersion casings.
Nasr teaches a plurality of immersion casings (322, 324) fluidly connected in series with one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to comprise immersion casings in series as a means of using the same dielectric fluid to cool electronics which require different cooling temperatures as taught by Nasr ([0041]).
Nasr fails to disclose wherein the IC liquid cooling block comprises a plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks, in which each of the plurality of IC liquid cooling blocks are housed within corresponding immersion casings.
Malouin teaches an IC liquid cooling block (206) housed within a corresponding immersion casing (210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the combination of Chainer and Nasr, with a corresponding cooling block as taught by Malouin, in order to isolate groups of electronic devices.
As to Claim 9, modified Chainer teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Chainer fails to disclose the rack assembly of claim 1, wherein the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack comprises a plurality of autonomous direct liquid cooling racks fluidly connected in parallel with one another.
Shelnutt teaches (FIG. 15) a plurality of cooling racks (400) fluidly connected in parallel with one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to comprise immersion casings in parallel as taught by Shelnutt in order to increase the cooling capacity of the system.
As to Claim 10, modified Chainer teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Chainer fails to disclose the rack assembly of claim 1, wherein the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack comprises a plurality of autonomous direct liquid cooling racks fluidly connected in series with one another.
Nasr teaches a plurality of liquid cooling racks (322, 324) fluidly connected in serious with one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Chainer to comprise immersion casings in series as a means of using the same dielectric fluid to cool electronics which require different cooling temperatures as taught by Nasr ([0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The allowable features of claim 14 being wherein the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack comprises a plurality of autonomous direct liquid cooling racks, each of the autonomous direct liquid cooling racks comprising a corresponding rack liquid cooling block and a corresponding air-to-liquid heat exchanger and wherein the corresponding rack liquid cooling blocks are connected in series with one another and the corresponding air-to-liquid heat exchangers are connected in series with one another.
The allowable features of claim 15 being wherein the autonomous direct liquid cooling rack comprises a plurality of autonomous direct liquid cooling racks, each of the autonomous direct cooling racks comprising a corresponding rack liquid cooling block and a corresponding air-to-liquid heat exchanger and wherein the corresponding rack liquid cooling blocks are connected in parallel with one another and the corresponding air-to-liquid heat exchangers are connected in parallel with one another.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841