DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation “the inner skin extends between and to an inner skin side and an outer skin side” renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nampy (US 9,704,467).
With respect to claim 1, Nampy teaches an acoustic panel assembly for an aircraft propulsion system (Col.1, Lines 7 – 10), the acoustic panel assembly comprising an acoustic panel including an acoustic core arranged along a transverse direction and a longitudinal direction, the acoustic core extends circumferentially about an axial centerline in the transverse direction (Figs.1 and 11), the acoustic core extends between and to an inner core side (Fig.12, Item 22) and an outer core side (Fig.12, Item 24), the acoustic core includes a plurality of cell rows distributed transversely along the acoustic core (Fig.11), each cell row of the plurality of cell rows extends axially in the longitudinal direction, and each cell row of the plurality of cell rows includes a plurality of cells is distributed longitudinally along the respective cell row of the plurality of cell rows (Fig.11), each cell of the plurality of cells includes a first transverse panel (Figs.11 and 12, Item 64), a second transverse panel (Figs.11 and 12, Item 64), a first longitudinal panel (Figs.11, Item 48), a second longitudinal panel (Figs.11, Item 48), and an oblique panel (Figs.11 and 12, Item 62) extending between the inner core side and the outer core side (Fig.12), each of the first transverse panel and the second transverse panel includes a plurality of apertures (Fig.12, Items 64), the first longitudinal panel and the second longitudinal panel extend between and to the first transverse panel and the second transverse panel (Fig.11), and the oblique panel extends transversely between and to the first transverse panel at the outer core side and the second transverse panel at the inner core side (Figs.11 and 12).
With respect to claim 2, Nampy teaches wherein, for each cell of the plurality of cells, the oblique panel (Fig.12, Item 62) forms and separates an inner cavity (Fig.12, volume between Item 62 and Item 22) and an outer cavity (Fig.12, volume between Item 62 and Item 24) of each respective cell of the plurality of cells, the inner cavity is disposed at the inner core side, and the outer cavity is disposed at the outer core side.
With respect to claim 3, Nampy teaches wherein the inner cavity of a first cell of the plurality of cells of a first cell row of the plurality of cell rows is connected in fluid communication with a second cell of the plurality of cells of a second cell row of the plurality of cell rows, and the first cell row is transversely adjacent the second cell row (Fig.12).
With respect to claim 4, Nampy teaches wherein the oblique panel (Figs.11 and 12, Item 62) extends circumferentially from the inner core side to the outer core side.
With respect to claim 5, Nampy teaches further comprising an inner skin (Fig.12, Item 22) extending circumferentially about the axial centerline, the inner skin extends between and to an inner skin side and an outer skin side, and the inner core side is disposed at the outer skin side (Fig.12, Item 12).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Nampy teaches wherein, for each cell of the plurality of cells, each of the first longitudinal panel and the second longitudinal panel forms a curved surface at the inner core side; and wherein the curved surface is a concave surface (Fig.11).
With respect to claim 8, Nampy teaches wherein, for at least one cell of the plurality of cells, each of the first transverse panel and the second transverse forms a curved mating surface at the inner core side (Figs.11 and 12).
Claims 1, 8 – 10 and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alonso-Miralles et al. (US 11,428,191).
With respect to claims 1 and 16, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach an acoustic panel assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, the acoustic panel assembly comprising an acoustic panel including an acoustic core arranged along a transverse direction and a longitudinal direction, the acoustic core extends circumferentially about an axial centerline in the transverse direction (Figs.3A – 4A), the acoustic core extends between and to an inner core side (Fig.6A, Item 604) and an outer core side (Fig.6A, Item 602), the acoustic core includes a plurality of cell rows distributed transversely along the acoustic core (Fig.6A, Item 606), each cell row of the plurality of cell rows extends axially in the longitudinal direction, and each cell row of the plurality of cell rows includes a plurality of cells is distributed longitudinally along the respective cell row of the plurality of cell rows (Figs.5 and 6A), each cell of the plurality of cells includes a first transverse panel (Fig.5, Item 516), a second transverse panel (Fig.5, Item 518), a first longitudinal panel (Fig.5, Item 514), a second longitudinal panel (Fig.5, Item 514), and an oblique panel (Fig.5, Item 508) extending between the inner core side and the outer core side, each of the first transverse panel and the second transverse panel includes a plurality of apertures (Fig.5, Items 5196 and 518), the first longitudinal panel and the second longitudinal panel extend between and to the first transverse panel and the second transverse panel (Fig.5), and the oblique panel extends transversely between and to the first transverse panel at the outer core side (Fig.5, Item 502) and the second transverse panel at the inner core side (Fig.5, Item 504).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach wherein, for at least one cell of the plurality of cells, each of the first transverse panel and the second transverse forms a curved mating surface at the inner core side (Figs.3A – 4A).
With respect to claims 9 and 16, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach wherein the curved mating surface of each of the first transverse panel and the second transverse of a first cell of the plurality of cells has a first curvature, the curved mating surface of each of the first transverse panel and the second transverse of a second cell of the plurality of cells has a second curvature, and the first curvature is different than the second curvature (Fig.4A, Item 458).
With respect to claims 10 and 18, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach wherein the acoustic panel further includes a conical or cylindrical back skin disposed at the outer core side (Figs.2 and 3B).
With respect to claim 17, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach wherein, for each cell of the plurality of cells, the oblique panel forms and separates an inner cavity and an outer cavity of each respective cell of the plurality of cells, the inner cavity is disposed at the inner core side, and the outer cavity is disposed at the outer core side (Fig.5).
With respect to claim 19, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach wherein the curved surface is a concave surface (Fig.3B).
With respect to claim 20, Alonso-Miralles et al. teach further comprising an inner skin (Fig.5, Item 504) extending circumferentially about the axial centerline, the inner skin extends between and to an inner skin side and an outer skin side, the inner skin includes a perforated skin portion, and the inner core side is disposed on the outer skin side at the perforated skin portion.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 1, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/588,954 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they describe the same invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 15 would be allowable when the Double Patenting rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The references of the prior art fail to disclose, or suggest any obvious combination of the limitations described in claim 11, particularly, for each cell row of the plurality of cell rows, cutting and folding a sheet to form each cell row with a plurality of cells, and each cell of the plurality of cells includes a first transverse panel, a first longitudinal panel, a second longitudinal panel, and an oblique panel extending between an inner core side of the acoustic core and an outer core side of the acoustic core, the first transverse panel includes a plurality of apertures; positioning the plurality of cell rows on an inner skin extending circumferentially about an axial centerline; and attaching each cell row of the plurality of cell rows to at least one other cell row of the plurality of cell rows, subsequent to positioning the plurality of cell rows on the inner skin, to form the acoustic core.
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
March 5, 2026