Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of Japanese patent application JP2021-141992 filed 8/31/2021 under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) is acknowledged; however, the English language translation along with certified statement of accuracy is not found in the record.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024, and 2/27/2024 were filed before the filing of a first office action on the merits. As such, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Objections
Drawings
FIGS. 11, 12, 14, 15 are objected to for having text orientated in both landscape and portrait.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. application no. 18/427,422. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. Claim 1 of both applications for example, read upon each other. The dependent instant claims recite narrower claims than claim 1 of the ‘422 application, which is anticipated by instant Claim 1. As such, the instant claims are obvious in light of the ‘422 claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0300370 to Hotta.
With respect to Claim 1, Hotta teaches a power supply apparatus (FIGS. 1-14) comprising: secondary battery units coupled in parallel to each other (FIGS. 1-14; [0032]); and a controller that controls discharging of the secondary battery units (Abstract;[0032]), wherein the secondary battery units each include secondary batteries ([0032], and a switching unit that switches coupling of the secondary batteries ([0032]), and the controller switches coupling between a first secondary battery and each of one or more second secondary batteries from parallel coupling to series coupling ([0054], “electrically disconnected” then charged in parallel, then connected in series to discharge) by controlling the switching unit ([0021];[0032];FIGS. 8-14), the first secondary battery being any one of the secondary batteries, the one or more second secondary batteries being one or more of the secondary batteries other than the first secondary battery ([0021];[0032];FIGS. 8-14).
With respect to Claim 2, Hotta teaches wherein the secondary battery units each further include sensors (“voltage measurement devices” 12) that each detect a current flowing through corresponding one of the secondary batteries or a physical quantity having a predetermined correlation with the current ([0006], detect throughout; [0033], control circuit measures voltage to determine OCV’s), and the controller switches the coupling between the first secondary battery and each of the one or more second secondary batteries from the parallel coupling to the series coupling by controlling the switching unit based on a detection result obtained from each of the sensors ([0039];[0053];FIGS. 8-14).
With respect to Claim 3, Hotta teaches wherein, when determining that a short circuit has occurred in the first secondary battery based on the detection result obtained from corresponding one of the sensors, the controller switches the coupling between the first secondary battery and each of the one or more second secondary batteries from the parallel coupling to the series coupling by controlling the switching unit ([0039];[0032]).
With respect to Claim 4, Hotta teaches wherein, by controlling the switching unit, the controller switches the coupling between the first secondary battery and each of the one or more second secondary batteries from the parallel coupling to the series coupling, and thereafter separates the first secondary battery from a current path of each of the one or more second secondary batteries ([0054], “electrically disconnected” then charged in parallel, then connected in series to discharge).
With respect to Claim 5, Hotta teaches wherein, when determining that a direction of a current flowing through the first secondary battery is reversed, based on the detection result obtained from the corresponding one of the sensors, the controller separates the first secondary battery from a current path of each of the one or more second secondary batteries by controlling the switching unit. (going from charging to discharging teaches reversing the current flow; [0054])
With respect to Claim 6, Hotta teaches wherein the switching unit includes transistors ([0032], MOSFET).
With respect to Claim 7, Hotta teaches wherein the switching unit includes first to fourth transistors for each of the secondary batteries ([0032]), and further includes a fifth transistor provided in common to the secondary batteries (FIG. 1), a drain of the first transistor and a source of the second transistor are coupled to each other (FIG. 1; [0032], MOSFET teaches a drain), and a coupling point of the drain of the first transistor and the source of the second transistor is coupled to a positive electrode of corresponding one of the secondary batteries, a source of the first transistor is coupled to a source of the first transistor provided for another one of the secondary batteries and to a source of the fifth transistor, a drain of the second transistor is coupled to a drain of the second transistor provided for the other one of the secondary batteries and to a drain of the fifth transistor, a drain of the third transistor and a source of the fourth transistor are coupled to each other, and a coupling point of the drain of the third transistor and the source of the fourth transistor is coupled to a negative electrode of the corresponding one of the secondary batteries, a source of the third transistor is coupled to a source of the third transistor provided for the other one of the secondary batteries, and a drain of the fourth transistor is coupled to a drain of the fourth transistor provided for the other one of the secondary batteries and to the source of the fifth transistor (FIGS. 1-4, and 6-14).
With respect to Claim 8, Hotta teaches wherein a drain of the fifth transistor is coupled to a drain of the fifth transistor provided for another one of the secondary battery units, and the source of the third transistor is coupled to a source of the third transistor provided for the other one of the secondary battery units (FIGS. 1-4, and 6-14).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3696