DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on December 1, 2025. In view of this communication, claims 10-20 are now pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 10-14) in the reply filed on December 1, 2025 is acknowledged. The Applicant canceled Group I (Claims 1-9) and withdrew Group III (Claims 15-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BIENAIME (US 20230072259 A1) in view of RAO (CN 115095391 A).
In regards to claim 10, BIENAIME teaches:
An electric generator(Fig 1; 1), comprising:
a housing(Fig 1; 3);
a stator (Fig 1; 4)disposed in the housing(Fig 1; 3)[0036];
a rotor(Fig 1; 6), disposed in the stator(Fig 1; 4)[0037]; and
a plurality of stator coils (Fig 1; 9)disposed in a plurality of slots (Fig 1; 14)in the stator(Fig 1; 4)[0043];
wherein the housing (Fig 1; 3)includes:
a hollow cylindrical (Fig 1; 17)body having an interior surface[0045] ; and
a cooling channel (Fig 1; 17’) integrated in the hollow cylindrical body(Fig 1; 17) adjacent to the interior surface[0045].
BIENAIME does not teach:
a cooling channel including a gyroid lattice structure
the gyroid lattice structure configured to receive a cooling fluid.
RAO teaches:
a cooling channel (Fig 1; 4)including a gyroid lattice structure (Fig 1; 10)[pg. 5; ln 12]integrated in interior surface, the gyroid lattice structure (Fig 1; 10) configured to receive a cooling fluid(the cooling fluid is air [pg 3; ln 52-60])(the lattice 10 is a gyroid [pg 4; ln 25-38]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling channel of BIENAIME by adding the lattice structure taught by RAO in order to provide a strong support for the cooling channels. [pg 4; ln 9-10 RAO].
In regards to claim 11, BIENAIME, in view of RAO, teaches the electric generator of claim 10.
BIENAIME does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel includes a plurality of layers of gyroid cells.
RAO teaches:
wherein the cooling channel (Fig 1; 4) includes a plurality of layers of gyroid cells(Fig 1; 10)(The cells fill the entire channel groove so they must be layered [pg 4; ln 33-42]).
In regards to claim 12, BIENAIME, in view of RAO, teaches the electric generator of claim 10.
BIENAIME does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel includes a plurality of layers of gyroid cells.
RAO teaches:
the cooling channel (Fig 1; 4) has a volume (A volume is innate to a cooling channel).
Combination BIENAIME/RAO discloses the claimed invention except for a 14 percent of a volume of the hollow cylindrical body . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the percentage by volume of the hollow cylinder to be optimal for cooling, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In regards to claim 13, BIENAIME, in view of RAO, teaches the electric generator of claim 12.
BIENAIME does not teach:
wherein the cooling channel includes a plurality of layers of gyroid cells.
RAO teaches:
a thickness of the gyroid lattice structure (Fig 1; 10) and a size of each gyroid cell (Fig 1; 10)(size and thickness are innate to a structure).
Combination BIENAIME/RAO discloses the claimed invention except for a a thickness of the gyroid lattice structure is approximately 0.04 inches and a size of each gyroid cell is 0.9 inches. . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the thickness of these parts to be optimal for cooling, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BIENAIME (US 20230072259 A1) in view of RAO (CN 115095391 A), in further view of SIBBACH (US 20220029500 A1).
In regards to claim 14, BIENAIME, in view of RAO, teaches the electric generator of claim 10.
Combination BIENAIME/RAO teaches:
the hollow cylindrical body(Fig 1; 17) is formed from a material (a material is innate to a structure).
Combination BIENAIME/RAO does not teach:
wherein the material is selected from the group consisting of a Nickel Alloy, a composition with Titanium, an Aluminum Alloy, or a selected polymer;
wherein the selection is based on an intended maximum operating temperature of the electric generator.
SIBBACH teaches:
wherein the hollow cylindrical body(Fig 1; 500) is formed from a material[0029];
wherein the material is selected from the group consisting of a Nickel Alloy, a composition with Titanium, an Aluminum Alloy, or a selected polymer[0031];
wherein the selection is based on an intended maximum operating temperature of the electric generator[0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials used in combination BIENAIME/RAO by using the materials taught by SIBBACH in order to transfer heat more efficiently. [0006 SIBBACH].
Additionally, the Applicant should note it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ
Conclusion
/N.L.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834